DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 12/23/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 9, 17 are amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-15, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pukari (US 2015/0332527), and further in view of Stephens (WO 2018/005458).
Regarding claims 1, 9, 17, Pukari discloses a method and system comprising:
sending, using a proximity communication antenna, an initial communication to a digital lock (The electronic circuitry of the lock is powered by the short-range transmission 110 of the communication device and a transaction is initiated, Para. 21);
receiving, via the proximity communication antenna, an authentication request from the digital lock (In an authentication procedure the communication device reads an authentication challenge from the electronic circuitry of the lock, Para. 21);
providing, from a battery of the mobile device, wireless power to the digital lock via a wireless power protocol (The electronic circuitry of the lock is powered by the short-range transmission 110 of the communication device, Para. 21); and
sending an authorization to the digital lock to cause the digital lock to open (The communication device 106 computes a response and transmits the response to the electronic circuitry of the lock. Next, the lock performs the authentication. In the authentication, the lock authenticates the response. In an embodiment, the response is authenticated against the challenge. If the authentication succeeds the lock is set to an openable state, Para. 21).
Pukari fails to disclose the wireless power protocol is separate from the proximity communication antenna.
Stephens teaches a mobile device (120) can be configured to transfer wireless power using Qi protocol to power an electronic lock (202, Para. 4, 23), and the mobile device can communicate wirelessly with the electronic lock using a separate proximity communication antenna (via Zigbee; Para. 20, 25).
From the teachings of Stephens, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pukari to include the wireless power protocol is separate from the proximity communication antenna as taught by Sephens to use two different protocols to improve efficiency of wireless data communications.
Regarding claim 2, 10, 19, Pukari discloses wherein the proximity communication antenna is a near field communication (NFC) antenna (Para. 18, 20).
Regarding claims 3, 4, 12-13, 20, Pukari fails to disclose wireless power protocol is a reverse Qi protocol, and wherein sending the authorization includes sending the authorization using a reverse Qi protocol.
Stephens teaches wireless power can be transferred using Qi protocol, and the Qi protocol can also be used to transmit and receive data (Para. 4, 25; Fig. 3B).
From the teachings of Stephens, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Pukari to include wireless power protocol is a reverse Qi protocol in order to power the lock, and wherein sending the authorization includes sending the authorization using a reverse Qi protocol in order to allow communications between the mobile device and the lock.
Regarding claim 5, 11, Pukari discloses wherein sending the authorization includes sending the authorization using a near field communication (NFC) antenna of the mobile device (Para. 32).
Regarding claim 6, 14, Pukari discloses wherein providing the wireless power includes providing the wireless power to charge a capacitor of the digital lock (Para. 39).
Regarding claim 7, 15, 18, Pukari discloses wherein the digital lock does not include a battery (Para. 14).
Claim(s) 8, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pukari in view of Stephens, and further in view of Chis (US 20180173907 A1).
Regarding claims 8, 16, Pukari and Stephens fail to disclose before sending the authorization to the digital lock, determining, using a processor of the mobile device, whether a user of the mobile device is authorized to open the digital lock based on credentials stored at the mobile device.
Chis teaches mutual authentication between NFC devices before establishing communication between the NFC devices (access to the communication channel 116 (and more specifically the device interface 220 of the reader 105) may be restricted to credentials 112 having a valid mobile access application 152 stored thereon, Para. 28).
From the teachings of Chis, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Pukari and Stephens to include before sending the authorization to the digital lock, determining, using a processor of the mobile device, whether a user of the mobile device is authorized to open the digital lock based on credentials stored at the mobile device in order to ensure the lock is authorized to communicate with the mobile device, thereby improve security.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments on page 6 regarding amended claims 1, 9 and 17 have been considered, the examiner cited the teachings of Stephens in the rejections above to address the amended claims.
Applicant argues in the first paragraph of page 7 that establishing a communication channel is not the same as determining whether a user is authorized to open a digital lock. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Chis teaches mutual authentication between NFC devices before establishing communication between the NFC devices (access to the communication channel 116 (and more specifically the device interface 220 of the reader 105) may be restricted to credentials 112 having a valid mobile access application 152 stored thereon, Para. 28). The process of mutual authentication of two devices is equivalent to determining whether a user’s mobile device is authorized to open a digital lock. When a device is authenticated by the digital lock, authority to unlock the digital lock can be safely granted to the device by the digital lock. Therefore, Chis cures the deficiencies of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YONG HANG JIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689