DETAILED ACTION
The amendments filed 3/3/2026 have been entered. Claims 1-3, 5-7, and 9-11 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (US Publication No. 2019/0126473) in view of Utsuo et al. (JP 2010-032258).
Sato teaches:
Re claim 1. A designation device comprising:
a touch panel configured to: receive an input designating at least a portion of an external form of an object to be moved in a robot system that moves the object to be moved by following a predetermined algorithm in accordance with a work goal (paragraphs [0099-0102]: “the operator inputs a region by performing an operation of tracing a contour of the article 3 displayed on the display 46 of the touch panel 43.”; paragraph [0125]: “the operator inputs a contour of the article 3 by tracing the contour of the article 3 on an image on the operation terminal 13. The operation terminal 13 teaches information indicating the contour of the article 3 to the information processing apparatus 12, and thus the information processing apparatus 12 recalculates contact points.”),
a memory configured to store instructions (memory 45, Fig. 3); and
a processor configured to execute the instructions to (processor 44, Fig. 3)
make a display device display a two-dimensional image including the object to be moved, and the external form received by the touch panel (Fig. 13; and paragraph [0101]: “The control unit 42 specifies a region 54 on the image on the basis of a trajectory of touch positions on the touch sensor 47 when the operator performs the tracing operation.”).
Sato fails to specifically teach: (re claim 1) receive an input for changing a shape generated based on data in an external system that manages the object to be moved.
Sato does teach a touch panel configured to: … receive an input for identifying a contour of an article at paragraph [0100]. This allows for human judgement and experience to be used in identifying the contour of an article to be handled.
Utsuo teaches, at paragraphs [0031-0035] and Fig. 2, comparing a master image pattern 6 with an image of a workpiece portion, and if not all of the workpieces are identified in this manner, registering another master image pattern 6 to be compared with images of workpiece portions. The master image pattern 6 is selected by determining which of plural workpieces have the highest contour matching degree (Step S4, paragraph [0031]). The shapes of the workpieces are obtained from a separate entity (warehouse management PC 16, paragraph [0028]) from the image processing device 14 performing the steps of Fig. 2 (see paragraphs [0024-0025]). This master image pattern 6 is compared to each workpiece (paragraph [0032]), and if any workpieces cannot be identified based on the master image pattern 6, a new master image pattern 6 is registered as the master image pattern 6 in step S9 (paragraphs [0032-0035]). This new master image pattern 6 is selected using the contour information of the further workpieces (paragraphs [0031 and 0035]). That is, the image processing device 14 changes a shape generated as the master image pattern 6 based on data of the image processing device 14, which is separate from the entity providing the shapes of the workpieces (warehouse management PC 16).
In view of Utsuo’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include, with the designation device as taught by Sato, (re claim 1) receive an input for changing a shape generated based on data in an external system that manages the object to be moved, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Sato teaches a touch panel configured to receive an input for identifying a contour of an article to be handled, which allows for human judgement and experience to be used in identifying the contour of an article to be handled; and Utsuo teaches using such contour data when changing a shape generated as a master image pattern. Updating a master image pattern allows for automated recognition of plural workpieces to be handled, by a specialized image processing device, thus allowing for a greater degree of automation in the management of the objects to be moved.
Sato further teaches:
Re claim 2. Wherein the touch panel is configured to receive the input of the external form as a shape defined by tracing the external form of the object to be moved (paragraphs [0099-0102]: “the operator inputs a region by performing an operation of tracing a contour of the article 3 displayed on the display 46 of the touch panel 43.”; paragraph [0125]: “the operator inputs a contour of the article 3 by tracing the contour of the article 3 on an image on the operation terminal 13. The operation terminal 13 teaches information indicating the contour of the article 3 to the information processing apparatus 12, and thus the information processing apparatus 12 recalculates contact points.”).
Re claim 5. A designation device comprising:
a touch panel configured to: receive an input designating at least a portion of an external form of an object to be moved in a robot system that moves the object to be moved by following a predetermined algorithm in accordance with a work goal (paragraphs [0099-0102]: “the operator inputs a region by performing an operation of tracing a contour of the article 3 displayed on the display 46 of the touch panel 43.”; paragraph [0125]: “the operator inputs a contour of the article 3 by tracing the contour of the article 3 on an image on the operation terminal 13. The operation terminal 13 teaches information indicating the contour of the article 3 to the information processing apparatus 12, and thus the information processing apparatus 12 recalculates contact points.”),
a memory configured to store instructions (memory 45, Fig. 3); and
a processor configured to execute the instructions to (processor 44, Fig. 3)
make a display device display a two-dimensional image including the object to be moved, and the external form received by the touch panel (Fig. 13; and paragraph [0101]: “The control unit 42 specifies a region 54 on the image on the basis of a trajectory of touch positions on the touch sensor 47 when the operator performs the tracing operation.”).
Sato fails to specifically teach: (re claim 5) receive an input for changing a shape generated by an external system capturing an image of the object to be moved.
Sato does teach a touch panel configured to: … receive an input for identifying a contour of an article at paragraph [0100]. This allows for human judgement and experience to be used in identifying the contour of an article to be handled.
Utsuo teaches, at paragraphs [0031-0035] and Fig. 2, comparing a master image pattern 6 with an image of a workpiece portion, and if not all of the workpieces are identified in this manner, registering another master image pattern 6 to be compared with images of workpiece portions. The master image pattern 6 is selected by determining which of plural workpieces have the highest contour matching degree (Step S4, paragraph [0031]). The shapes of the workpieces are obtained from a separate entity (warehouse management PC 16, paragraph [0028]) from the image processing device 14 performing the steps of Fig. 2 (see paragraphs [0024-0025]). This master image pattern 6 is compared to each workpiece (paragraph [0032]), and if any workpieces cannot be identified based on the master image pattern 6, a new master image pattern 6 is registered as the master image pattern 6 in step S9 (paragraphs [0032-0035]). This new master image pattern 6 is selected using the contour information of the further workpieces (paragraphs [0031 and 0035]). That is, the image processing device 14 changes a shape generated as the master image pattern 6 based on data of the image processing device 14, which is separate from the entity providing the shapes of the workpieces (warehouse management PC 16).
In view of Utsuo’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include, with the designation device as taught by Sato, (re claim 5) receive an input for changing a shape generated by an external system capturing an image of the object to be moved, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Sato teaches a touch panel configured to receive an input for identifying a contour of an article to be handled, which allows for human judgement and experience to be used in identifying the contour of an article to be handled; and Utsuo teaches using such contour data when changing a shape generated as a master image pattern. Updating a master image pattern allows for automated recognition of plural workpieces to be handled, by a specialized image processing device, thus allowing for a greater degree of automation in the management of the objects to be moved.
Sato further teaches:
Re claim 6. A robot system comprising:
the designation device according to claim 1 (operation terminal 13, Fig. 1);
a robot configured to be capable of grasping an object to be moved (robot arm 11, Fig. 1); and
a control device configured to make the robot grasp the object to be moved based on an external form of the object to be moved, received by the designation device (controller 25, Fig. 1; paragraph [0054]: “the controller 25 controls the arm mechanism 22 to move the suction pad of the holding mechanism 21 to a suction point indicated by the coordinate information.”; and paragraph [0125]: “The operation terminal 13 teaches information indicating the contour of the article 3 to the information processing apparatus 12, and thus the information processing apparatus 12 recalculates contact points. The operator may input two or more contact points on a contour of the article 3 on an image on the operation terminal 13. The operation terminal 13 teaches information indicating contact points where the article 3 can be held to the information processing apparatus 12, so as to cause the robot arm 11 to continuously perform sorting.”).
Re claim 7. A designation method executed by a designation device (operation terminal 13, Figs. 1 and 3), comprising:
receiving an input designating at least a portion of an external form of an object to be moved in a robot system that moves the object to be moved by following a predetermined algorithm in accordance with a work goal (paragraphs [0099-0102]: “the operator inputs a region by performing an operation of tracing a contour of the article 3 displayed on the display 46 of the touch panel 43.”; paragraph [0125]: “the operator inputs a contour of the article 3 by tracing the contour of the article 3 on an image on the operation terminal 13. The operation terminal 13 teaches information indicating the contour of the article 3 to the information processing apparatus 12, and thus the information processing apparatus 12 recalculates contact points.”);
making a display device display a two-dimensional image including the object to be moved, and the external form that has been received (Fig. 13; and paragraph [0101]: “The control unit 42 specifies a region 54 on the image on the basis of a trajectory of touch positions on the touch sensor 47 when the operator performs the tracing operation.”); and
receiving, by a touch panel of the designation device, an input for changing a shape generated by an external system capturing an image of the object to be moved (paragraph [0100]: “the operator inputs a region by performing an operation of tracing a contour of the article 3 displayed on the display 46 of the touch panel 43.”).
Re claim 9. Wherein the touch panel is configured to receive the input of the external form as a shape defined by tracing the external form of the object to be moved (paragraph [0100]: “the operator inputs a region by performing an operation of tracing a contour of the article 3 displayed on the display 46 of the touch panel 43.”).
Re claim 11. A robot system comprising:
the designation device according to claim 5 (operation terminal 13, Fig. 1);
a robot configured to be capable of grasping an object to be moved (robot arm 11, Fig. 1); and
a control device configured to make the robot grasp the object to be moved based on an external form of the object to be moved, received by the designation device (controller 25, Fig. 1; paragraph [0054]: “the controller 25 controls the arm mechanism 22 to move the suction pad of the holding mechanism 21 to a suction point indicated by the coordinate information.”; and paragraph [0125]: “The operation terminal 13 teaches information indicating the contour of the article 3 to the information processing apparatus 12, and thus the information processing apparatus 12 recalculates contact points. The operator may input two or more contact points on a contour of the article 3 on an image on the operation terminal 13. The operation terminal 13 teaches information indicating contact points where the article 3 can be held to the information processing apparatus 12, so as to cause the robot arm 11 to continuously perform sorting.”).
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (US Publication No. 2019/0126473) as modified by Utsuo et al. (JP 2010-032258) as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Ueyama (US Publication No. 2008/0249659).
The teachings of Sato have been discussed above. Sato fails to specifically teach: (re claims 3 and 10) wherein the touch panel is configured to receive the input of the external form as a shape defined by designating a vertex of the object to be moved.
Ueyama teaches, at paragraph [0179], an operator specifying a closed region in an image detected by a robotic system by specifying apexes on a screen. Specifying apexes allows for a user to identify a closed region without dragging their finger across a screen, thus providing straighter edges than could be manually input.
In view of Ueyama’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include, with the apparatus as taught by Sato, (re claims 3 and 10) wherein the touch panel is configured to receive the input of the external form as a shape defined by designating a vertex of the object to be moved, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Ueyama teaches an operator specifying a closed region in an image detected by a robotic system by specifying apexes on a screen. Specifying apexes allows for a user to identify a closed region without dragging their finger across a screen, thus providing straighter edges than could be manually input.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed 3/3/2026, with respect to the 35 USC § 112 rejection of claims 1-6 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC § 112 rejection of claims 1-6 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 3/3/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant remarks on pages 8-9:
In the rejection of claim 4, the Examiner concedes that Sato fails to disclose "receive an input for changing a shape generated based on data in an external system that manages the object to be moved" and further cites to Utsuo as allegedly teaching the deficiencies. See Office Action at 8.
However, according to paras. [0023] and [0028] of Utsuo, Utsuo describes that the shape data of the workpiece is pre-entered data and that a contour is generated from the pre-entered shape data of the workpiece. Utsuo is silent as to receiving an input for changing the shape data or receiving an input for changing the contour.
As such, Sato and Utsuo, alone and in combination, fail to disclose "a touch panel configured to: receive an input designating at least a portion of an external form of an object to be moved in a robot system that moves the object to be moved by following a predetermined algorithm in accordance with a work goal, and receive an input for changing a shape generated based on data in an external system that manages the object to be moved."
Sato teaches receiving an input for identifying a contour of an article to be handled at paragraph [0100], and Utsuo teaches using such a contour of an article to be handled to change a shape of a master image pattern at paragraphs [0031-0035]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the identified contour of Sato, which benefits from human judgement and experience in selecting the contours of the article, to update the master image pattern of Utsuo so as to allow for automated recognition of plural workpieces to be handled.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SPENCER D PATTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656