DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species IB and Species IIA in the reply filed on July 10, 2026 is acknowledged. Applicant has canceled claims 6, 7, 14 and 17. Accordingly, claims 1-5, 8-13, 15 and 16 have been examined as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 8-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Umada et al. of Fujitsu Ltd. (JP 2011-197236), of record in IDS, hereinafter “Fujitsu”.
Regarding claim 1, Fujitsu discloses a head up display apparatus for a transportation (Fig. 1), the head up display apparatus comprising:
a video display (within 210; para. [0017]) configured to generate and emit video light of a video (para. [0020]);
a video light projector (210) configured to project the video light emitted from the video display to a display region (350) of the transportation so as to be reflected, thereby displaying a virtual image in front of the transportation (para. [0022]); and
a switching unit (230) provided on an optical path of the video light and configured to switch to an optical path forming state in which the optical path of the video light is formed or an optical path non-forming state in which the optical path of the video light is not formed (para. [0022]),
wherein a length of time when the switching unit is switched to the optical path non-forming state is a length of time in which the video light can be continuously visually recognized as the virtual image (paras. [0022-0023]).
Regarding claim 5, Fujitsu discloses wherein the switching unit (230) transmits light in the optical path forming state and diffuses light in the optical path non-forming state (para. [0022]).
Regarding claim 8, Fujitsu discloses a controller (300) configured to control the video display and the switching unit (para. [0021]).
Regarding claim 9, Fujitsu discloses wherein the controller (300) controls the switching unit so as to switch between the optical path forming state and the optical path non-forming state (paras. [0021-0023]).
Regarding claim 10, Fujitsu discloses wherein the controller (300) controls the switching unit (230) so as to periodically switch between the optical path forming state and the optical path non-forming state (paras. [0003, 0026-0029]).
Regarding claim 11, Fujitsu discloses wherein the video display includes:
a light source (within 210; para. [0017]) configured to turn on backlight when it is controlled on and turn off the backlight when it is controlled off (paras. [0017, 0020, 0022-0023, 0025, 0046, 0048]); and
a display panel (within 210; para. [0017]) configured to display the video by modulating the backlight from the light source (para. [0025]), and
wherein the controller (300) controls ON/OFF of the light source by PWM control and controls the switching unit to the optical path forming state and the optical path non-forming state in conjunction with the ON/OFF of the light source (paras. [0021-0023, 0026, 0033-0035, 0043-0048]).
Regarding claim 12, Fujitsu discloses wherein the controller (300) performs a condition judgment and controls the switching unit (230) by using a first control mode in which the switching unit periodically switches between the optical path forming state and the optical path non-forming state or a second control mode in which the switching unit is fixed to the optical path forming state, based on a judgment result of the condition judgment (paras. [0025, 0039-0048]).
Regarding claim 15, Fujitsu discloses
wherein the controller (300) further controls the video light projector (210) (para. [0020]),
wherein the video light projector (210) includes:
a mirror (350) configured to reflect the video light to the display region (paras. [0017, 0022]); and
a drive mechanism (610) configured to adjust an installation angle of the mirror (Figs. 1, 9; paras. [0051-0052]), and
wherein the controller (300) controls the video light projector (210) to a non-projection mode in which the video light is not projected to the display region or a projection mode in which the video light is projected to the display region, by adjusting the installation angle of the mirror via the drive mechanism (para. [0049]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umada et al. of Fujitsu Ltd. (JP 2011-197236), as applied to claims 1, 12 and 15 above, and further in view of Shimoda et al. of Maxell Holdings Ltd. (JP 2020-052070), translation provided herewith, hereinafter “Maxell”.
Regarding claim 2, Fujitsu fails to explicitly disclose a video light reflector provided on the optical path of the video light between the video display and the video light projector and configured to reflect the video light from the video display to the video light projector.
However, Maxell discloses a head up display apparatus (Figs. 1-16) comprising a video light reflector (36) provided on the optical path of the video light between the video display (35) and the video light projector (37) and configured to reflect the video light from the video display to the video light projector (Figs. 2, 3, 10, 16; para. [0015]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a video light reflector provided on the optical path of the video light between the video display and the video light projector and configured to reflect the video light from the video display to the video light projector, as in Maxell, into the head up display apparatus of Fujitsu to prevent damage to the video display (Maxell, para. [0018]).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Fujitsu fails to explicitly disclose wherein the switching unit is provided on the optical path of the video light between the video display and the video light reflector, and wherein the switching unit is provided on the optical path of the video light between the video light reflector and the video light projector.
However, Maxell discloses wherein the switching unit (71a) is provided on the optical path of the video light between the video display (35) and the video light reflector (36) (Figs. 3, 16), and
wherein the switching unit (71b) is provided on the optical path of the video light between the video light reflector (36) and the video light projector (37) (Fig. 10; para. [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the switching unit is provided on the optical path of the video light between the video display and the video light reflector, and wherein the switching unit is provided on the optical path of the video light between the video light reflector and the video light projector, as in Maxell, into the head up display apparatus of Fujitsu to prevent damage to the video display (Maxell, para. [0018]).
Regarding claim 13, Fujitsu discloses an external light detector (120; paras. [0017, 0020]), but fails to explicitly disclose a temperature detector configured to detect a temperature of the video display, wherein the controller controls the switching unit by using the first control mode when the temperature detected by the temperature detector exceeds a threshold value and controls the switching unit by using the second control mode when the temperature detected by the temperature detector does not exceed the threshold value.
However, Maxell discloses a temperature detector (52+61) configured to detect a temperature of the video display (35) (Figs. 2, 3, 10, 16; paras. [0018-0020, 0028]),
wherein the controller (10) controls the switching unit (71a) by using the first control mode when the temperature detected by the temperature detector exceeds a threshold value and controls the switching unit by using the second control mode when the temperature detected by the temperature detector does not exceed the threshold value (paras. [0019, 0022-0023, 0039]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a temperature detector configured to detect a temperature of the video display, wherein the controller controls the switching unit by using the first control mode when the temperature detected by the temperature detector exceeds a threshold value and controls the switching unit by using the second control mode when the temperature detected by the temperature detector does not exceed the threshold value, as in Maxell, into the head up display apparatus of Fujitsu to protect the video display (Maxell, para. [0039]).
Regarding claim 16, Fujitsu fails to explicitly disclose wherein the controller controls the switching unit by using a third control mode in which the switching unit is fixed to the optical path non-forming state when an abnormality in an operation of the drive mechanism is detected.
However, Maxell discloses wherein the controller (10) controls the switching unit (71a) by using a third control mode in which the switching unit is fixed to the optical path non-forming state when an abnormality in an operation of the drive mechanism is detected (paras. [0036-0037]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the controller controls the switching unit by using a third control mode in which the switching unit is fixed to the optical path non-forming state when an abnormality in an operation of the drive mechanism is detected, as in Maxell, into the head up display apparatus of Fujitsu to ensure that the driver’s field of vision is maintained for safe driving (Maxell, para. [0037]).
Conclusion
/PAISLEY L WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871