Claim Interpretation
Extension of rubber by an extender oil is understood as a combination of plasticization, lubrication and partial replacement of the polymer which improves processability and final properties. This is achieved by mixing rubber and the oil which results in reducing intermolecular forces which makes compounds easier to handle Consequently “extension” of rubber is not viewed as chemical change but physical modification. It is an interaction between rubber and oil.
The rejection will cite supporting evidence to meet limitation of properties which are considered inherent based on the chemical structure of the compound utilized. In this case the compound will be the oil.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moutinho (EP 2,986,647) in view of supporting evidence within body of the rejection.
With respect to claim 1, Moutinho discloses oil-extended functionalized styrene butadiene rubber (Abstract). The rubber is mixed with extender oil which is vegetable oil (claim 1), wherein vegetable oil includes linseed oil out of total 16 possible oils (claim 7). Extender oil is utilized in an amount of 25-42 parts per 100 parts of rubber.
With respect to the UV and DSC measurements, it should be noted that linseed oil is also type of oil utilized by the applicants therefore it meets the limitation of the properties of the instant claim. Further to support this position, as evidenced in Zhang article showing melt profile of linseed oil:
Linseed oil has more than one transition profiles some of which occur at temperature below 0oC. The same can be seen is article of Rzoska (Figure 1) as first melt peak occurs at -23oC, which is below required 23oC. Furthermore, since compounds and their properties are mutually exclusive, if linseed oil of Moutinho is subject to the same testing using the same elusion the property (1) of the instant claim 1 will also be met.
The courts have held that “a compound and all its properties are mutually inseparable”, In re Papesch, 315F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 42, 51 (CCPA 1963). Further, attention is drawn to MPEP 2112.01, which states that “products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.”, In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
With respect to claim 2, as evidenced in the literature issued by oilprocessinghub.org, the iodine value of linseed oil, depending on its source, is in a range of 170-204, which is above claimed 150. As it is disclosed in the printed document, the iodine value depends on the content of the carbon-carbon double bonds.
With respect to claim 3, Mooney viscosity of oil extended rubber is in a range of 35-65 (claim 4 of Moutinho).
With respect to claims 4 and 5, claim 15 of Moutinho discloses rubber composition comprising a filler which includes silica.
With respect to claim 6, Table 3, which discloses use of Si-69, which is well known in the art silane coupling agent. CAS number 40372-72-3, see attached product information.
With respect to claims 7 and 8, the same Table 3 of Moutinho discloses use of vulcanizing agents which include sulfur, zinc oxide and guanidine accelerator, which means that rubber of the prior art is a crosslinkable rubber.
With respect to claim 9, according to claim 16 of Moutinho the composition is utilized to make tires and tire treads.
Relevant Prior art that is applicable to the instant invention include:
US 2007/0232745 to Sakaki
US 2004/0211111 to Kikuchi
US 3,709,958 to Burleigh
US 2015/0376393 to Bastioli
CN 104629129 to Chen
Each reference teaches rubber composition which comprises diene rubber extended by plant oils. The rubber compositions are utilized to make tires.
Correspondence
/KATARZYNA I KOLB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 November 3, 2024