CTNF 18/730,087 CTNF 79662 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1,3-7,9-13,16,18-22,24-28,31,33, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Acharya et al. (WO 2015/060880 hereinafter “Acharya”) . Referring to apparatus claim 1 , and method claim 31 , Acharya teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: a memory (see item 1104 in figure 1); and one or more processors (see items 1101 and 1103 in figure 1), coupled to the memory, configured to: receive configuration information identifying reference signal information for one or more non-serving cells, wherein the reference signal information includes codebook information or antenna location information for a reference signal (see figure 9 and ¶ 49); and report a beam measurement associated with the reference signal based at least in part on the codebook information or the antenna location information for the reference signal (see figure 9 and ¶ 49). Referring to apparatus claim 3 and method claim 33 , Acharya teaches the UE of claim 1 and the method of claim 31 (as shown above), and Acharya further teaches the reference signal includes a synchronization signal block or a channel state information reference signal (see ¶ 49). Referring to claim 4 , Acharya teaches the UE of claim 1 (as shown above), wherein the one or more non-serving cells are associated with a first one or more corresponding physical cell identifiers that differ from a second physical cell identifier of a serving cell of the UE (see ¶ 49). Referring to claim 5 , Acharya teaches the UE of claim 4 (as shown above), and Acharya further teaches the serving cell is an activated serving cell or a serving cell for reporting the beam measurement (see ¶ 46). Referring to claim 6 , Acharya teaches the UE of claim 1 (as shown above), wherein the codebook information includes at least one of: a beam azimuth angle or spread, a beam elevation angle or spread, a serving cell physical cell identifier, or a non-serving cell physical cell identifier or physical cell identifier group (see ¶ 34). Referring to claim 7 , Acharya teaches the UE of claim 1 (as shown above). The limitation of wherein the antenna location information includes a location configuration for an antenna associated with transmitting the reference signal, wherein the location configuration includes at least one of: a local coordinate system value, or a global coordinate system value is not required since Acharya discloses the codebook limitation (the Examiner notes the location configuration limitation does not need to be met as long as the codebook information limitation is met. That is to say the limitation is considered part of a Markush group). Referring to claim 9 , Acharya teaches the UE of claim 1 (as shown above), and Acharya further discloses wherein one or more processors are further configured to: determine, based at least in part on the configuration information, a measurement configuration for the beam measurement or a reporting configuration for the beam measurement (see ¶ 49). Referring to claim 10 , Acharya teaches the UE of claim 9 (as shown above), and Acharya further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: determine the measurement configuration or the reporting configuration based at least in part on at least one of: a serving cell physical cell identifier, a target non-serving cell physical cell identifier or physical cell identifier group, a layer-1 reference signal received power or a signal-to-interference-and-noise-ratio of the reference signal, an output of a statistical analysis, or an output of an artificial intelligence analysis (see ¶ 49). Referring to claim 11 , Acharya teaches the UE of claim 10 (as shown above). The limitation of wherein the output of the statistical analysis is based at least in part on a set of analytical inputs including a UE location or the configuration information is not required since Acharya discloses the target or serving physical cell identifier limitation. That is to say the limitations are considered as part of a Markush group. Referring to claim 12 , Acharya teaches the UE of claim 10 (as shown above). The limitation of wherein the output of the artificial intelligence analysis is based at least in part on a set of model inputs or a set of model parameters including a UE location or the configuration information is not required since Acharya discloses the target or serving physical cell identifier limitation. That is to say the limitations are considered as part of a Markush group. Referring to claim 13 , Acharya teaches the UE of claim 10 (as shown above), The limitation of wherein the artificial intelligence analysis or the statistical analysis is configured based at least in part on radio resource control signaling or is updated based at least in part on medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), or downlink control information, signaling is not required since Acharya discloses the target or serving physical cell identifier limitation. That is to say the limitations are considered as part of a Markush group. Referring to apparatus claim 16 , and method claim 34 , Acharya teaches a network entity for wireless communication, comprising: a memory (see item 1005 in figure 10); and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (see items 100 and 1002 in figure 10), configured to: transmit configuration information identifying reference signal information for one or more non-serving cells, wherein the reference signal information includes codebook information or antenna location information for a reference signal (see figure 9 and ¶ 49); and receive a report of a beam measurement, associated with the reference signal, in accordance with the codebook information or the antenna location information for the reference signal (see figure 9 and ¶ 49). Referring to claim 18 , Acharya teaches the network entity of claim 16 (as shown above), and Acharya further teaches the reference signal includes a synchronization signal block or a channel state information reference signal (see ¶ 49). Referring to claim 19 , Acharya teaches the network entity of claim 16 (as shown above), and Acharya further teaches herein the one or more non-serving cells of a user equipment (UE) are associated with a first one or more corresponding physical cell identifiers that differ from a second physical cell identifier of a serving cell of the UE (see ¶ 49). Referring to claim 20 , Acharya teaches the network entity of claim 19 (as shown above), and Acharya further teaches wherein the serving cell is an activated serving cell or a serving cell for reporting the beam measurement (see ¶ 46). Referring to claim 21 , Acharya teaches the network entity of claim 16 (as shown above), and Acharya further teaches wherein the codebook information includes at least one of: a beam azimuth angle or spread, a beam elevation angle or spread, a serving cell physical cell identifier, or a non-serving cell physical cell identifier or physical cell identifier group (see ¶ 34). Referring to claim 22 , Acharya teaches the network entity of claim 16 (as shown above). The limitation of wherein the antenna location information includes a location configuration for an antenna associated with transmitting the reference signal, wherein the location configuration includes at least one of: a local coordinate system value, or a global coordinate system value is not required as Acharya discloses the codebook limitation. That is to say, the limitation is part of a Markush group. Referring to claim 24 , Acharya teaches the network entity of claim 16 (as shown above), and Acharya further discloses wherein a measurement configuration for the beam measurement or a reporting configuration for the beam measurement is based at least in part on the configuration information (see ¶ 49). Referring to claim 25 , Acharya discloses the network entity of claim 24 (as shown above), and Acharya further discloses wherein the measurement configuration or the reporting configuration is based at least in part on at least one of: a serving cell physical cell identifier, a target non-serving cell physical cell identifier or physical cell identifier group, a layer-1 reference signal received power or a signal-to-interference-and-noise-ratio of the reference signal, an output of a statistical analysis, or an output of an artificial intelligence analysis (see ¶ 49). Referring to claim 26 , Acharya discloses the network entity of claim 25 (as shown above). The limitation of wherein the output of the statistical analysis is based at least in part on a set of analytical inputs including a user equipment location or the configuration information is not required as Acharya discloses the serving cell or non-service cell physical cell identifier. That is to say the limitation is part of a Markush group. Referring to claim 27 , Acharya discloses the network entity of claim 25 (as shown above). The limitation of wherein the output of the artificial intelligence analysis is based at least in part on a set of model inputs or a set of model parameters including a user equipment location or the configuration information is not required as Acharya discloses the serving cell or non-service cell physical cell identifier. That is to say the limitation is part of a Markush group. Referring to claim 28 , Acharya teaches the network entity of claim 25 (as shown above). The limitation of wherein the artificial intelligence analysis or the statistical analysis is configured based at least in part on radio resource control signaling or is updated based at least in part on medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), or downlink control information, signaling is not required as Acharya discloses the serving cell or non-service cell physical cell identifier. That is to say the limitation is part of a Markush group . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2,8,14,17,23,29,32, and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Acharya in view of Zhu et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0210825 hereinafter “Zhu”) . Referring to apparatus claim 2 , and method claim 32 , Acharya teaches the UE of claim 1, and method of claim 31 (as shown above) and Acharya further discloses the one or more processors, to receive the configuration information (see figure 9), however Acharya fails to explicitly disclose the processors receiving the configuration information via at least one of: a radio resource control message, a medium access control (MAC) control element, or downlink control information. Zhu teaches, in an analogous system, a UE receiving configuration information of a non-serving cell via at least one of a radio resource control message, a medium access control (MAC) control element, or downlink control information (see ¶¶ 114-116 and 144). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teachings of Acharya with the above teachings of Zhu because Zhu provides specific implementation details of operations generally described by Acharya. Further Zhu discloses the benefit of providing the non-serving cell configuration information using existing parameters (see ¶ 144). Referring to claim 8 , Acharya discloses the UE of claim 1 (as shown above), however Acharya fails to explicitly disclose the beam measurement includes a layer-1 reference signal received power or a signal-to-interference-and-noise-ratio. Zhu teaches, in an analogous system, the above limitation (see ¶ 114). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teachings of Acharya with the above teachings of Zhu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification because those measurements are well known in the art for determining signal strength. Referring to claim 14 , Acharya teaches the UE of claim 1 (as shown above), however Acharya fails to explicitly disclose wherein a radio resource control message includes an information element conveying the configuration information, and wherein the information element is included in at least one of: a channel state information report setting associated with a synchronization signal block resource set for the reference signal for the one or more non-serving cells, a radio resource control configuration for the synchronization signal block resource set, or a radio resource control configuration for a reference signal resource associated with the one or more non-serving cells. Zhu discloses, in an analogous system, a radio resource control message includes an information element conveying the configuration information, and wherein the information element is included in at least one of: a channel state information report setting associated with a synchronization signal block resource set for the reference signal for the one or more non-serving cells, a radio resource control configuration for the synchronization signal block resource set, or a radio resource control configuration for a reference signal resource associated with the one or more non-serving cells (see ¶¶ 114-116 and 144). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teachings of Acharya with the above teachings of Zhu because Zhu provides specific implementation details of operations generally described by Acharya. Further Zhu discloses the benefit of providing the non-serving cell configuration information using existing parameters (see ¶ 144). Referring to apparatus claim 17 , and method claim 35 , Acharya teaches the network entity of claim 16 and method of claim 34 (as shown above), and further teaches the one or more processors transmitting the configuration information (see figure 9), however Acharya fails to explicitly disclose transmitting the configuration information via at least one of: a radio resource control message, a medium access control (MAC) control element, or downlink control information. Zhu teaches, in an analogous system, a network entity transmitting configuration information of a non-serving cell via at least one of a radio resource control message, a medium access control (MAC) control element, or downlink control information (see ¶¶ 114-116 and 144). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teachings of Acharya with the above teachings of Zhu because Zhu provides specific implementation details of operations generally described by Acharya. Further Zhu discloses the benefit of providing the non-serving cell configuration information using existing parameters (see ¶ 144). Referring to claim 23 , Acharya discloses the network entity of claim 16 (as shown above), however Acharya fails to explicitly disclose the beam measurement includes a layer-1 reference signal received power or a signal-to-interference-and-noise-ratio. Zhu teaches, in an analogous system, the above limitation (see ¶ 114). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teachings of Acharya with the above teachings of Zhu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification because those measurements are well known in the art for determining signal strength. Referring to claim 29 , Acharya teaches the network entity of claim 16 (as shown above), however Acharya fails to explicitly disclose wherein a radio resource control message includes an information element conveying the configuration information, and wherein the information element is included in at least one of: a channel state information report setting associated with a synchronization signal block resource set for the reference signal for the one or more non-serving cells, a radio resource control configuration for the synchronization signal block resource set, or a radio resource control configuration for a reference signal resource associated with the one or more non-serving cells. Zhu discloses, in an analogous system, a radio resource control message includes an information element conveying the configuration information, and wherein the information element is included in at least one of: a channel state information report setting associated with a synchronization signal block resource set for the reference signal for the one or more non-serving cells, a radio resource control configuration for the synchronization signal block resource set, or a radio resource control configuration for a reference signal resource associated with the one or more non-serving cells (see ¶¶ 114-116 and 144). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teachings of Acharya with the above teachings of Zhu because Zhu provides specific implementation details of operations generally described by Acharya. Further Zhu discloses the benefit of providing the non-serving cell configuration information using existing parameters (see ¶ 144) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 15 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Acharya in view of Babaei (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0135946) . Referring to claim 15 , Acharya teaches the UE of claim 1 (as shown above), however Acharya fails to explicitly disclose a medium access control (MAC) control element or downlink control information includes a field conveying the configuration information, wherein the field is associated with at least one of: overwrite the codebook information, indicate additional codebook information for one or more reference signals, or indicate additional location information for the one or more reference signals. Babaei teaches, in an analogous system, a medium access control (MAC) control element or downlink control information includes a field conveying the configuration information, wherein the field is associated with at least one of: overwrite the codebook information, indicate additional codebook information for one or more reference signals, or indicate additional location information for the one or more reference signals (see ¶ 201). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teachings of Acharya with the above teachings of Babaei. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification in order to be able to change the codebook information as suggested by Babaei. Referring to claim 30 , Acharya teaches the Network Entity of claim 16 (as shown above), however Acharya fails to explicitly disclose a medium access control (MAC) control element or downlink control information includes a field conveying the configuration information, wherein the field is associated with at least one of: overwrite the codebook information, indicate additional codebook information for one or more reference signals, or indicate additional location information for the one or more reference signals. Babaei teaches, in an analogous system, a medium access control (MAC) control element or downlink control information includes a field conveying the configuration information, wherein the field is associated with at least one of: overwrite the codebook information, indicate additional codebook information for one or more reference signals, or indicate additional location information for the one or more reference signals (see ¶ 201). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teachings of Acharya with the above teachings of Babaei. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification in order to be able to change the codebook information as suggested by Babaei . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following reference is cited to further show the state of the art as it pertains to the Applicant’s invention: U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0328031 to Pajukoski et al. is cited as disclosing a method and system of a network entity to provide codebook information to a UE and is cited as background information. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ERON J SORRELL whose telephone number is (571)272-4160. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9AM-6PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Michael Fuelling can be reached at 571-270-1367. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. Signed: /ERON J SORRELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992 Application/Control Number: 18/730,087 Page 2 Art Unit: 3992 Application/Control Number: 18/730,087 Page 3 Art Unit: 3992