DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means,” being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “processing means” in claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Herzog US20080071501.
Regarding claim 1, Herzog discloses a method (Fig 1) for detecting a gaseous and/or liquid leakage in an industrial processing plant or processing plant equipment (boiler-205, 505), based on data being provided by at least one sensor (first and second sets of sensors 510, 515), wherein process-related data and environmental data (Paragraphs 0055) are provided in order to combine the process-related data and the environmental data (Paragraph 0055-0056), and wherein, for the evaluation of a potential leakage, a similarity measure between the process-related data and the environmental data is determined (Paragraphs 0055-0063). (See also 0017-0044, Fig 5)
Regarding claim 2, Herzog discloses the similarity measure is determined by means of a correlation analysis, similarity analysis or root cause analysis. (Paragraphs 0017, 0025-0028, 0038, 0056-0057)
Regarding claim 3, Herzog discloses evaluating a pre-determined limit of a sensor value for an environment based on a threshold. (Paragraph 0026, 0034-0035)
Regarding claim 4, Herzog discloses evaluation of a process is accomplished by means of an FDI scheme and wherein a leakage event is defined as a parameter fault in the FDI scheme. (Paragraphs 0022, 0038-0039, 0042-0044, 0055-0057)
Regarding claim 5, Herzog discloses the input and output variables for the FDI scheme are measured process-related variables which are evaluated based on a model description for the industrial processing plant or processing plant equipment (boiler-205, 505). (Paragraphs 0017-0030, 0037-0041, 0053-0060)
Regarding claim 6, Herzog discloses the process-related data and the environmental data comprise respective input data and output data. (Paragraphs 0017-0030, 0037-0041, 0053-0060)
Regarding claim 7, Herzog discloses a process-environment system (Fig 5 show system) which uses data from a process and its environment in a joint manner (uses sensors 510 and 515 in boiler-205, 505) and which is used for modelling changing aspects of the interconnection between a separate process model and a separate environment model, based on respective input variables. (Paragraphs 0017-0030, 0037-0041, 0053-0060)
Regarding claim 8, Herzog discloses the evaluation of a potential leakage is based on the relationship between the process and the environment wherein it is separated between the process and the environment, based on physical boundaries, wherein a fault-free case is assumed to be a closed system which thermodynamically allows energy but no mass transfer between the process and the environment and wherein a faulty case is assumed to be an open system enabling mass and energy to be transferred between the process and the environment. (Paragraphs 0005, 0037, 0062)
Regarding claim 9, Herzog discloses it is assumed that the environment can, in turn, influence the process. (Paragraph 0049-0061)
Regarding claim 10, Herzog discloses the relationship between the process and the environment is evaluated by means of at least one underlying model (Paragraphs 0017-0030, 0037-0041, 0053-0060) which is based on input variables and output variables of the process-environment system, wherein directions of cause and effect between the process and the environment are synchronized, and wherein measured process-related data and environmental data are separated into cause- variables and effect-variable (Paragraphs 0022-0024, 0038, 0051).
Regarding claim 11, Herzog discloses the evaluation of a potential leakage is based on a two-fold feature generation, including a first feature generation step where the process-related data are mapped into a suitable feature space (See figs 3-4, Paragraphs 0053-0054), and including second feature generation steps using the process-environment system for performing a PES identification, wherein the second feature generation steps are performed in a recurring way, and wherein both types of generated features are fed into a classifier (Paragraphs 0020-0022, 0043, claims 21-23).
Regarding claim 12, Herzog discloses a method (See Fig 1) for condition monitoring of an industrial processing plant or processing plant equipment (boiler-205, 505) in order to detect a gaseous and/or liquid leakage or to localize an incipient leakage or to detect processing faults, or for providing an according root-cause analysis, based on the method according to claim 1. (See Paragraphs 0055-0063). 0017-0044, Fig 5)
Regarding claim 13, Herzog discloses a system (see fig 5) for the detection of a gaseous and/or liquid leakage in an industrial processing plant or processing plant equipment (boiler-505), comprising at least one sensor (first and second set of sensors -510, 515) for providing process-related data and environmental data (Paragraphs 0055) and comprising processing means (processor-525) in order to combine the process-related data and the environmental data (Paragraphs 0055) and to evaluate a potential leakage based on a similarity measure between the process-related data and the environmental data (See also 0017-0044, Fig 5)
Regarding claim 14, Herzog discloses the at least one sensor (set of sensors-510, 515) comprises one or more of the following sensors: at least one gas detector; at least one ambient temperature sensor; at least one humidity sensor; at least one line- and area sensor; at least one monitoring camera; at least one acoustic sensor; or at least one autonomous vehicle equipped with at least one gas detector and/or any of the preceding detectors/sensors. (Paragraph 0055)
Regarding claim 15, Herzog discloses a computer-implemented method or system (See Figs 1-2, and 5, Paragraph 0045) for the detection of a gaseous and/or liquid leakage in an industrial processing plant or processing plant equipment (boiler-205, 505), based on process-related data and environmental data (first and second set of sensors-510, 515) which are combined in order to evaluate a potential leakage based on a similarity measure between the process-related data and the environmental data (Paragraphs 0055-0063). (See also 0017-0044, Fig 5)
Regarding claim 16, Herzog discloses the process-related data and the environmental data (first and second set of sensors -510, 515) comprise respective input data and output data of one or more of the following physical properties of the industrial processing plant or processing plant equipment (boiler-205, 505): a temperature of the industrial processing plant or processing plant equipment; a pressure of the industrial processing plant or processing plant equipment; an electrical current of the industrial processing plant or processing plant equipment; a performance indicator of the industrial processing plant or processing plant equipment; an environmental temperature; or an environmental humidity. (Paragraphs 0017-0030, 0037-0041, 0053-0060)
Conclusion
The prior art as cited on the PTO-892 is made of record and not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/NIGEL H PLUMB/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/Eric S. McCall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855