DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that Jhu does not teach whether to apply the position dependent intra prediction based on at least one of (i) a size of a gradient for the plurality of intra prediction modes or (ii) a ratio between weights applied to the plurality of intra prediction modes. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Jhu discloses determining the size of a gradient by determining peaks associated with a gradient histogram. The examiner acknowledges that Jhu uses the peaks to determine a specific intra prediction mode and that subsequently based on the specific mode, PDPC is applied (Remarks of April 23, 2026). The examiner argues that this applies to the claim language. One of ordinary skill in the art would acknowledge that PDPC being a subset of intra prediction; a association where the dependency is based on gradient information would establish a PDPC selection rule (¶ 148).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Gradient Based Position Dependent Prediction Combination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 - 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by JHU et al (US 2025/0016347, hereafter Jhu).
As per claim 1, Jhu discloses an image decoding method, the method comprising:
deriving a plurality of intra prediction mode of a current block based on a gradient between at least two samples belonging to a neighboring region adjacent to the current block (¶ 133; Next, we perform a gradient analysis on the pixels of the template);
configuring a reference sample of the current block (¶ 133; We choose, as shown in FIG. 7, a template surrounding the current block by T pixels to the left, and T pixels above.);
generating a plurality of temporary prediction blocks based on the plurality of intra prediction modes and reference sample (¶ 136);
applying a position dependent intra prediction to modify the plurality of temporary prediction blocks based on at least one of a size of a gradient corresponding to each of the plurality of intra prediction modes or ratio between weights applied to the plurality of intra prediction modes (¶ 172);
generating a prediction block of the current block by weighted summing the plurality of temporary prediction blocks and a planar temporary prediction block generated by a planar mode (¶ 137).
As per claim 4, Jhu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein:
the position dependent intra prediction is applied to each of the plurality of temporary prediction blocks according to whether each of the plurality of temporary prediction blocks is predicted by one of predefined intra prediction modes (Figure 11D).
As per claim 5, Jhu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein:
the position dependent intra prediction is individually applied to the plurality of temporary prediction blocks and the planar temporary prediction block (Figure 12A).
As per claim 6, the method of claim 1, wherein:
the position dependent intra prediction is applied only to the planar temporary prediction block among the plurality of temporary prediction blocks and the planar temporary prediction block (¶ 117; PDPC is applied to the following intra modes without signaling: planar; Jhu’s disclosure suggests that if the other temporary blocks do not meet the criteria for intra angles than PDPC will only be applied to the planar mode).
As per claim 8, Jhu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein:
the position dependent intra prediction is applied only to a temporary prediction block generated by a main intra prediction mode having a largest size of a gradient among the plurality of intra prediction modes (¶ 172; In another example, the IPMs corresponding to the tallest histogram bar is selected as the specific mode then PDPC with the specific mode is applied).
As per claim 9, the method of claim 1, wherein:
the position dependent intra prediction is applied to the prediction block of the current block that is a weighted sum of the plurality of temporary prediction blocks and the planar temporary prediction block (Figure 12B).
As per claim 10, Jhu discloses the method of claim 9, wherein:
whether to apply the position dependent intra prediction is determined according to whether a intra prediction mode having a largest size of a gradient among the plurality of intra prediction modes is one of predefined intra prediction modes (¶ 172; The examiner argues that all intra prediction modes are predefined in HEVC and VVC and thus as long as the method finds one with the largest size of a gradient then the claim limitation is met. The applicant use of a predefined intra prediction mode lacks clarity).
As per claim 11, Jhu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein:
when the gradient-based intra prediction mode derivation method is applied to the current block, a position dependent intra prediction is not applied to the current block (¶ 173; it is proposed to disable the PDPC operations in DIMD mode).
Regarding claim 12, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 12.
Regarding claim 14, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 14.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHIKAODILI E ANYIKIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487