DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the first adsorption towers". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the second adsorption towers". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the first adsorption towers". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the second adsorption towers". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Noriyoshi et al. JPH08131767 published 28 May. 1996 as translated by EPO (hereafter Noriyoshi).
Regarding claim 1, Noriyoshi teaches a method for producing a purified gas containing carbon dioxide gas (Fig), comprising:
a first concentration step (2) in which an intermediate gas (gas from adsorption towers 2a, 2b, 2c sent to towers 3a, 3b, 3c) having a higher concentration of carbon dioxide gas than a target gas (gas from adsorption towers 1a, 1b) is produced by vacuum regeneration pressure swing adsorption (¶6) using a first adsorption tower (2a, 2b, 2c) that adsorbs carbon dioxide gas from the target gas containing carbon dioxide gas; and
a second concentration step (3) in which a purified gas (15) having an even higher concentration of carbon dioxide gas than the intermediate gas is produced by vacuum regeneration pressure swing adsorption or pressure swing adsorption (¶8) using a second adsorption tower (3a, 3b, 3c) that adsorbs carbon dioxide gas from the intermediate gas or membrane separation.
Regarding claim 2, Noriyoshi teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Noriyoshi further teaches wherein the target gas has a carbon dioxide gas concentration of 3 vol% or more and 70 vol% or less (¶13).
Regarding claim 3, Noriyoshi teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Noriyoshi further teaches wherein the intermediate gas has a carbon dioxide gas concentration of 50 vol% or more and 80 vol% or less (¶4).
Regarding claim 4, Noriyoshi teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Noriyoshi further teaches wherein the purified gas has a carbon dioxide gas concentration of 80 vol% or more (¶4).
Regarding claim 5, Noriyoshi teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Noriyoshi further teaches wherein the first concentration step and the second concentration step do not have a purge step to discharge impurities in the first adsorption tower and the second adsorption tower (¶4).
Regarding claim 6, Noriyoshi teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Noriyoshi further teaches wherein two or more of the first adsorption towers (2a, 2b, 2c) and two or more of the second adsorption towers (3a, 3b, 3c) are used.
Regarding claim 7, Noriyoshi teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Noriyoshi further teaches wherein in the second concentration step, carbon dioxide gas is concentrated at a higher pressure than in the first concentration step (¶4).
Regarding claim 8, Noriyoshi teaches an apparatus for producing a purified gas containing carbon dioxide gas (Fig), comprising:
a first concentration device (2) that produces an intermediate gas (gas from adsorption towers 2a, 2b, 2c sent to towers 3a, 3b, 3c) having a higher concentration of carbon dioxide gas than a target gas (gas from adsorption towers 1a, 1b), wherein the first concentration device includes a first adsorption tower (2a, 2b, 2c) that adsorbs carbon dioxide gas in the target gas containing carbon dioxide gas by vacuum regeneration pressure swing adsorption (¶6); and
a second concentration device (3) that produces a purified gas (15) having an even higher concentration of carbon dioxide gas than the intermediate gas, wherein the second concentration device includes a second adsorption tower (3a, 3b, 3c) that adsorbs carbon dioxide gas in the intermediate gas by vacuum regeneration pressure swing adsorption or pressure swing adsorption or a membrane separation device that selectively passes carbon dioxide gas in the intermediate gas (¶8).
Regarding claim 9, Noriyoshi teaches all the limitations of claim 8. Noriyoshi further teaches two or more of the first adsorption towers (2a, 2b, 2c) and two or more of the second adsorption towers (3a, 3b, 3c) are used.
Conclusion
/STEPHEN HOBSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1776