DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of 3-(4-methoxyphenyl)-2-methylpropanal, a species of formula (I) wherein R¹ is methyl, R² is hydrogen, R³ is hydrogen, and R⁴ is para-methoxy, in the response dated 7/21/2026, is acknowledged. This election reads on claims 1-8 and 10-13; it is noted that claim 9 has been canceled by the applicant.
Claim Status
Claim 9 is cancelled.
Claims 1-8 and 10-13 are pending and are examined on the merits in this prosecution.
Claim Objection / Minor Informality
In claim 7, the term α-cyano-3-phenoxybenzyl is missing the dash between “3” and “phenoxybenzyl.”
Appropriate correction is required.
CLAIM REJECTIONS
Indefiniteness Rejection
Claim 11 contains the trademark/trade name “MGK® Repellent 11”. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/ trade name is used to identify/describe “MGK® Repellent 11” and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Anticipation Rejection
1) Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Coulomb (US 2018/0201873 A1).
Coulomb teaches a perfuming composition comprising the following ingredients (pg 8, Example 3):
For claims 1-5, the composition of Example 1 contains 3-(4-methoxyphenyl)-2-methylpropanal, the elected species of claim 1.
It is noted that the claim preamble of claims 1-5 recites an “arthropod control composition.” This recitation is not considered to impose additional structural limitations on the claimed composition. As set forth in MPEP 2111(II), “If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction.” Since the preamble to claims 1-5 merely states the purpose or use of the claimed composition, the preamble statement “arthropod control composition” is not considered to have patentable weight in the context of the claims.
For claim 7, Coulomb teaches in Example 3 at least the co-ingredients linalool, geraniol, citronella oil, and coumarin.
2) Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kjeldmand (“Olfactory sensitivity of spider monkeys (Ateles geoffroyi) for six structurally related aromatic aldehydes,” Master Thesis, Linköpings Universitet, Linköping, Sweden, 2009).
Kjeldmand teaches a study wherein bourgeonal and five other aromatic aldehydes were used to test spider monkeys' sensitivity to change in molecular structures. The odorants are structurally related, with an aldehyde group, an aromatic ring and short carbon chain connecting the two. The aim of this study was therefore to determine olfactory detection threshold values of spider monkeys for six aromatic aldehydes, and to assess the impact of small changes in the molecular structure of the odorant on detectability (paragraph spanning pgs 1-2).
Kjeldmand teaches the following experiment:
For claim 7, Kjeldmand teaches diethyl phthalate was added to the test composition.
It is noted that the claim preamble of claims 1-5 recites an “arthropod control composition.” This recitation is not considered to impose additional structural limitations on the claimed composition. As set forth in MPEP 2111(II), “If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction.” Since the preamble to claims 1-5 merely states the purpose or use of the claimed composition, the preamble statement “arthropod control composition” is not considered to have patentable weight in the context of the claims.
Obviousness Rejections
1) Claims 1-8 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida (JPH 09157115 A; citations herein are from the English translation provided by Espacenet).
Ishida teaches a miticidal agent, benzyl isothiocyanate, suitable for indoor use and having a low toxicity to human body, that preferably adds a stimulating, odor- suppressing component to the agent (Abstract). Ishida teaches the amount of the stimulating, odor-suppressing compound to be added to the perfume is preferably 1-10,000 parts per part of benzyl isothiocyanate (pgs 1-2, Abstract). Ishida teaches the odor-suppressing compound may include aromatic, green-based fragrances such as 2-methyl-3-(p-methoxyphenyl)propanal (canthoxal from IFF Inc.), the elected species of Formula (I) (pg 6: 17-21). This teaching reads on claims 1-5.
For claim 6, Ishida teaches the arthropod is a mite (Abstract).
For claim 7, Ishida teaches co-ingredients including β-caryophyllene and cedar wood oil (pg 5: 18 to pg 6: 2).
For claims 8 and 10, Ishida teaches a spray, aerosol, oil, emulsion, powder, or fumigant (pg 7: 11-14), each of which has an operating principle wherein the miticidal composition comes into direct contact with the claimed composition.
For claims 11 and 12, Ishida teaches a spray and teaches the composition can be applied to fibers and powder carriers such as inorganic powders and organic powders used in commercial insecticidal compositions (pg 7: 16-27; pg 9: Example 4).
The examiner acknowledges that some picking and choosing was used to arrive at the instantly claimed composition in view of Ishida. However, the claimed composition, including the canthoxal, is taught as known and used for insect or arthropod control. Further, Ishida teaches compositions for administration with the elected aldehyde, as well as articles for administration of the miticide. It would have therefore been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to administer the claimed ingredient for the purpose of arthropod control, with a reasonable expectation of success that the treatment would be efficacious, as taught by Ishida.
2) Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida (JPH 09157115 A; citations herein are from the English translation provided by Espacenet), In view of Becker (US 10,537,654).
The teachings of Ishida are discussed above.
As previously discussed, Ishida teaches a spray formulation of the claimed composition. See, for example, page 9, Example 2. However, Ishida does not teach an electric diffuser.
Becker teaches the missing element of Ishida.
Becker teaches an automated insect control system (col 1: 58-61) that comprises an insect repellent cartridge in a networked scent diffusion device that includes a reservoir that holds a liquid and contains an atomizer head assembly (col 2: 20-24). Becker teaches the diffusion device is powered by AC or DC power (col 20: 8-9).
The skilled artisan would have expected success in substituting Becker’s automated insect control system comprising an electric diffuser for the sprayer taught by Ishida since Becker teaches the automated insect control system that can be centrally controlled and managed utilizing a computerized network and customized application to different physical areas (col 15: 56 to col 16: 12).
CONCLUSION
/MICHAEL P COHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612