DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 last line recited “CMB” appears to be “MCMB”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In this case, claim 1 recites “pre-treating raw pitch”, one of ordinary skill in the art is uncertain what specific treatment can be considered as “pre-treating” since no specific treatment conditions are recited as to how the pretreatment is performed, therefore one of ordinary skill in the art cannot ascertain the metes and bounds of such claimed “pre-treating”. Next claim 1 recites “post-processing the mesophase pitch”, one of ordinary skill in the art is uncertain what specific treatment can be considered as “post-processing”, since no specific treatment conditions are recited as to how the “post-processing” is performed, therefore one of ordinary skill in the art cannot ascertain the metes and bounds of such claimed “post-processing”. All claim 1’s depending claims are rejected for similar reasons.
Claim 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In this case, claim 3 and 9 respectively recite “homogenize dried raw pitch”, but independent claim 1 or claim 9’s parent claim 2 does not recite raw pitch being dried at all. Therefore, such recited “dried raw pitch” appears lack of antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (effects of AlCl3-NaCl content on the formation of mesocarbon microbeads, International Journal of Chemical reactor engineering, 2010, vol 8 Note S7, pp.1-12) in view of Kawakubo (US5096519).
Cheng et al. teaches a process of forming mesophase carbon microbeads (MCMB) comprising using coal tar pitch (CTP) as raw material, wherein toluene soluble, toluene insoluble and pyridine insoluble fraction of pitch were obtained with Soxhlet extraction (i.e. pretreating raw pitch), CTP and MSM were ground ( i.e. pulverized) to mix forming a mixture comprising MSM and CTP, heating the mixture at 300 °C for 1 hour to pyrolyze and polymerize the mixture obtaining mesophase pitch (section 2.1-secdtion 2.2, table 1, then cooling the heated mixture and removing the salt via washing with 5% dilute hydrochloric acid and followed by washing with distilled water, extracting the residue via Soxhlet extraction with pyridine ( a solvent extraction method), then the isolated product is being dried in a vacuum atmosphere to obtain MCMB (section 2.3, section 3.4, Fig. 1-4, section 4).
Regarding claim 1, Cheng et al. does not expressly teach stirring the mixture of the CTP and MSM, or stirring during heating.
However, it is well-known in the art that stirring can be used to mixing carbon precursor material with a molten salt mixture, then heating such mixture obtaining mesophase pitch (i.e. mesophase carbon) or isotropic pitch (col. 2 lines 42-51, col. 4 lines 35-47, col. 5 lines 8-13, 40-45).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt such stirring to practice the mixing of CTP and MSM, or stirring the mixture CTP and MSM during heating because adopting such well-known mixing for help obtaining a homogenous mixture of CTP and MSM for desired mixing and reaction to form mesophase carbon for improvement would have predictable results (see MPEP §2143 KSR).
Regarding claim 4-5, Cheng et al. further teaches the salt being a mixture of AlCl3 and NaCl (noted both AlCl3 and NaCl are water soluble) having a molar ratio of AlCl3/ NaCl=3:2 (section 2.1).
Regarding claim 6, Cheng et al. also discloses the mixing ratio of MSM to CTP can be from 0.1/1, 0.2/1, 1/1, 2/1 and 5/1 (section 2.2), wherein when the mixing ratio of MSM/CTP being 5/1, there is 16.7% by weight of CTP and 83.3% by weight of the MSM. Cheng et al shows that change of ratio of MSM to CTP affecting the obtained product features, such as MCMB morphology, structure etc. (section 3.2-section 3.5, Fig. 2-4). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt a same mixing ratio of the raw pitch and the metal chloride salt via routine optimization (see MPEP 2144. 05 II) for help obtaining desired MCMB product.
Regarding claim 7-8 and 10-13, Cheng et al. already teaches such limitations as discussed above.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (effects of AlCl3-NaCl content on the formation of mesocarbon microbeads, International Journal of Chemical reactor engineering, 2010, vol 8 Note S7, pp.1-12) in view of Kawakubo (US5096519) as applied above, and further in view of Tsuchitani (EP0299222).
Regarding claim 2, Cheng et al. in view of Kawakubo does not expressly teach the raw pitch being isotropic pitch with softening point of 150 or 115 °C.
Tsuchitani teaches using an isotropic pitch having softening point of 100-200 °C to prepare a mesophase pitch thus obtaining carbon fiber.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt such well-known isotropic pitch having softening point of 100-200 °C as shown by Tsuchitani to practice the raw pitch of mesophase carbon producing process of Cheng et al in view of Kawakubo because adopting such well-known technique of isotropic pitch having softening point of 100-200 °C to modify a well-known mesophase carbon microsphere (MCMB) producing process for improvement would have predictable results (see MPEP §2143 KSR).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (effects of AlCl3-NaCl content on the formation of mesocarbon microbeads, International Journal of Chemical reactor engineering, 2010, vol 8 Note S7, pp.1-12) in view of Kawakubo (US5096519) as applied above, and further in view of Yumitate (JPS62112689).
Cheng et al. already teaches CTP (pitch) being extracted before use and the pretreated CTP being ground (i.e. being homogenized). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt conventional oven to dry the raw pitch to remove remaining solvent and/or moisture after pre-treatment. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt well-known grinding to homogenize the raw pitch material into desired particle size. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt conventional oven to dry the homogenized raw pitch to remove undesired moisture.
Regarding claim 3, Cheng et al. in view of Kawakubo does not expressly teach the pitch particle size being 106 µm or less.
Yumitate teaches an obtained pitch having particle size of 50-200 µm (page 4 lines 1-7).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt such well-known particle size of 50-200 µm pitch as shown by Yumitate to practice the pitch of Cheng et al in view of Kawakubo because adopting such well-known technique of pitch having particle size of 50-200 µm to modify a well-known mesophase carbon microsphere (MCMB) producing process for improvement would have predictable results (see MPEP §2143 KSR).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (effects of AlCl3-NaCl content on the formation of mesocarbon microbeads, International Journal of Chemical reactor engineering, 2010, vol 8 Note S7, pp.1-12) in view of Kawakubo (US5096519) and Tsuchitani (EP0299222) as applied above, and further in view of Yumitate (JPS62112689).
Cheng et al. already teaches CTP (pitch) being extracted before use and the pretreated CTP being ground (i.e. being homogenized). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt conventional oven to dry the raw pitch to remove remaining solvent and/or moisture after pre-treatment. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt well-known grinding to homogenize the raw pitch material into desired particle size. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt conventional oven to dry the homogenized raw pitch to remove undesired moisture.
Regarding claim 9, Cheng et al. in view of Kawakubo and Tsuchitani does not expressly teach the pitch particle size being 106 µm or less.
Yumitate teaches an obtained pitch having particle size of 50-200 µm (page 4 lines 1-7).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt such well-known particle size of 50-200 µm pitch as shown by Yumitate to practice the pitch of Cheng et al in view of Kawakubo and Tsuchitani because adopting such well-known technique of pitch having particle size of 50-200 µm to modify a well-known mesophase carbon microsphere (MCMB) producing process for improvement would have predictable results (see MPEP §2143 KSR).
Conclusion
/JUN LI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732