Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot in light of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 113709542 A, hereinafter D1 and for which citations will reference the English translation, in view of Rao et al. (US 2019/0012844 A1), hereinafter D2, in view of Chu et al. (US 2016/0370970 A1).
Regarding claim 1, 19 and 20, D1 discloses a video playback method, applied to an extended reality device end, comprising:
obtaining first video element data of the first video, wherein the first video element data comprises: a playback area element and an interactive area element of the first video ( “parsing the tag file to obtain tag information of one or more tags contained in the tag file, wherein the tag file contains information about the time and location of occurrence of one or more key regions in the panoramic video; displaying label information in one or more label blocks, wherein each label block in the one or more label blocks respectively displays the label information of one label; receiving a selection of a tag block from the one or more tag blocks by a user; and responding to the selection, and transitioning the current playing area to a target key area corresponding to the selected label block”);
displaying the playback area element and the interactive area element at different area positions of the extended reality space (See Fig 5, A panoramic video (equivalent to the playback area element) and an associated tag file (equivalent to the interactive area element) are received and stored, and according to a request of a panoramic player 303, the panoramic video and the associated tag file are transmitted to the panoramic player for playback. It can be determined from figure 5 that a playback screen comprises a playback area and a plurality of tag blocks (equivalent to the interactive area) located at positions different from the playback area; According to an embodiment of the present invention, based on the parsing of the tag file, the position relationship between the key area and the currently playing area may be obtained, for example, through the center position of the key area corresponding to each tag, and a suitable tag block is selected on the currently playing screen according to the position relationship to display the tag information of the tag. D1 further discloses:
“Referring to fig. 5, a schematic diagram 502-1 shows that there are 8 tab blocks available for showing tab information around the current playing picture, and the 8 tab blocks are located in 8 angular directions. According to one embodiment of the invention, only tags within a predetermined time interval from the current time are displayed in the tag block in order to not unduly disturb the viewing experience of the user. Continuing with the example of FIG. 5, for example, if the current time is 1:00 and the predetermined time interval is 12 seconds, then only the tags whose "time point" parameter is 1:12 ago are selected for display in the tag block. Only tab 1, tab 2, and tab 3 may be displayed in the tab block according to the information listed in the tab file 501. And selecting 3 proper positions from the 8 label blocks for label information display according to the position relation between the key area corresponding to the label 1, the label 2 and the label 3 and the current playing area. As can be seen from fig. 502-1, the tab 2, and the tab 3 are respectively represented at the upper left corner, the upper right corner, and the lower left corner of the currently playing screen according to the position relationship between the tabs and the currently playing area. That is, tag block 503 corresponds to tag 1 in tag file 501, tag block 504 corresponds to tag 2 in tag file 501, and tag block 505 corresponds to tag 3 in tag file 501.” ).
D1 does not explicitly disclose entering an extended reality space, and obtaining a user's instruction to open a first video.
D2 discloses that it was known to have a VR system allowing a user to enter an extended reality space, and obtaining a user's instruction to open a first video (See [0027-0029] HMD receiver displaying VR content, See Fig 7 and [0046]) and determining coordinates in space for displaying content items (See [0037]).
Prior to the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify the known system of D1 with the known methods of D2 predictably resulting in entering an extended reality space, and obtaining a user's instruction to open a first video by applying the court recognized rational of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results. The modification would have the benefit of allowing a user in a VR experience to interact with video objects in a virtual environment as suggested by Rao.
D1 and D2 do not explicitly disclose wherein the playback area element and the interactive area element each has spatial positions having three dimensions.
Chu discloses that it was known for playback area element (See [0039] coordinates of the elements of the current main content) and the interactive area element (See [0048] and Fig 3B UI elements displayed across the viewable region 315) each has spatial positions having three dimensions (See [0005-0006] [0034-0039] [0060-0063] UI elements are assigned 3D coordinates within the users current view and displayed at the assigned coordinates).
Prior to the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination further with the known methods of Chu predictably resulting in the playback area element and the interactive area element each has spatial positions having three dimensions by applying the court recognized rational of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results. The modification would have the benefit of providing a three-dimensional user interface for a user in an HMD environment as suggested by Chu.
Regarding claim 2 and 21, D1, D2, and Chu further disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the different area positions comprise: non-overlapping areas of the same plane of the extended reality space, or different planes of the extended reality space (See D1 Fig 5 tag objects are non overlapping areas of the same plane).
Regarding claim 3, D1, D2, and Chu further disclose the method according to claim 2, wherein the displaying the playback area element and the interactive area element at different area positions of the extended reality space comprises:
determining three-dimensional spatial positions corresponding respectively to different elements in the first video element data; playing, in a three-dimensional space of extended reality, the first video according to the first video element data and the three-dimensional spatial positions corresponding respectively to the respective elements (See D2 [0037] determining the coordinates of the pixel blocks in a spherical coordinate system and the VR content is transmitted to the HMD for display to the viewer ).
Regarding claim 4, D1, D2, and Chu further disclose the method according to claim 3, wherein the playing, in the three-dimensional space of extended reality, the first video according to the first video element data and the three-dimensional spatial positions corresponding respectively to the respective elements specifically comprises: configuring the respective elements in the first video element data at their corresponding three-dimensional spatial positions respectively to play the first video (See D2 [0034-0037]).
Regarding claim 5, D1, D2, and Chu further disclose the method according to claim 3, wherein after the playing, in a three- dimensional space of extended reality, the first video according to the first video element data and the three-dimensional spatial positions corresponding respectively to the respective elements, the method further comprises:
in response to a video switching instruction, obtaining second video element data of a second video, wherein the second video element data comprises: a playback area element and an interactive area element of the second video; switching, in the three-dimensional space of extended reality, the first video to the second video for playback according to the second video element data and three- dimensional spatial positions corresponding respectively to the respective elements (See D1 “At step 403, a user selection of a tab block is received. The user can select a certain label block in the video playing process. Referring to FIG. 5, a diagram 506 shows that the user has selected tab block 504 at the top right corner position at time point 1:01, this tab block 504 corresponding to tab 2 in tab file 501. Upon selection, the color of the tab 504 is changed or changed from translucent to opaque to inform the user that it is selected. Of course, it is well understood by those skilled in the art that the tab block 504 may be changed in style or color in various ways to indicate selection. Further, as can be seen based on the graph 506, the time in each tag block for which the key region will be playable changes as time passes to reflect in real time when the key region will be playable compared to the current time. For example, the tag information in the tag block 503 is changed from "after 5 s" in fig. 502-2 to "after 4 s" in fig. 506 because 1 second has elapsed in the time of the map 506 as compared with the time in the map 502-2. After receiving the selection of the tag block by the user in step 403, in step 404, the moving direction and moving speed of the key area (hereinafter referred to as "target key area") corresponding to the selected tag block, which is smoothly transited from the currently playing area, are calculated. As will be fully understood by those skilled in the art, the term "transition" refers to a process of reaching a target key area from a current playing area by, for example, rotating or translating, according to a position relationship between the current playing area and the target key area. For ease of description, these transitions are collectively referred to hereinafter as "moves". In step 405, the current play area moves to the target key area according to the calculated moving direction and the calculated moving speed.”).
Regarding claim 6, D1, D2, and Chu further disclose the method according to claim 5, wherein the switching, in the three- dimensional space of extended reality, the first video to the second video for playback according to the second video element data and three-dimensional spatial positions corresponding respectively to the respective elements comprises:
by adjusting the three-dimensional spatial positions corresponding respectively to the elements in the second video element data, dynamically moving the elements to target spatial positions, so as to realize the switching of the first video to the second video for playback in a preset form (See D1 “Referring to FIG. 5, FIG. 507 shows that in response to a user selection of a tab block 504, the currently playing region will move in the direction of the tab block 504. The calculated moving direction and the calculated moving speed will enable the currently playing region to move to the target key region before a time point at which the target key region can be played. The calculation may be based at least in part on, for example, center coordinates of the current play area, center coordinates of the target key area, the current time, and whether the target play area may be playedTime. For example, the time corresponding to the current image frame is t1, the starting playing point of the key information frame in the target key area is t2, and in addition, considering that there is an advance Δ t after the movement is passed, the Δ t is to give a buffer in time for the user to view, and the value of this parameter can be set to be er, such as 0.2s, 0.5s, or even er. Assuming that the center coordinates of the current play area are (x1, y1) and the center coordinates of the target key area are (x2, y2), the speed of movement can be calculated as v ═ x [ (x1-x2)2+(y1-y2)2]1/2/(t2-Δt-t1)。
Continuing with the example of FIG. 5, referring to FIG. 508, according to the time point 1:08 recorded in tag 2 corresponding to tag block 504, the calculated moving direction and moving speed may cause the currently playing region to move smoothly to the target key region recorded in tag 2 before 1:08 (e.g., 1:07), so as not to miss the content played out by the target key region at 1: 08. Generally, depending on the viewing experience of the user, a uniform movement from the current playing area to the target key area is desirable.”).
Regarding claim 7, D1, D2, and Chu further disclose the method according to claim 6, wherein the preset form comprises: scrolling switching, or overlaying display, or replacement display (See D1 where the smooth movement reads on scrolling “Continuing with the example of FIG. 5, referring to FIG. 508, according to the time point 1:08 recorded in tag 2 corresponding to tag block 504, the calculated moving direction and moving speed may cause the currently playing region to move smoothly to the target key region recorded in tag 2 before 1:08 (e.g., 1:07), so as not to miss the content played out by the target key region at 1: 08. Generally, depending on the viewing experience of the user, a uniform movement from the current playing area to the target key area is desirable.”).
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 113709542 A, hereinafter D1 and for which citations will reference the English translation, in view of Rao et al. (US 2019/0012844 A1), hereinafter D2, in view of Chu et al. (US 2016/0370970 A1) in further view of Olbrich et al. (US 2022/0155940 A1).
Regarding claim 8, D1, D2, and Chu disclose the method according to claim 3, but do not explicitly disclose wherein the interactive area element comprises: a video author avatar element; the playback area element comprises: a user name element; after the playing, in a three-dimensional space of extended reality, the first video according to the first video element data and the three-dimensional spatial positions corresponding respectively to the respective elements, the method further comprises: in response to a select instruction of the video author avatar element or the user name element, obtaining video author page data of the first video; determining three-dimensional spatial positions of page elements corresponding to the video author page data; displaying, in the three-dimensional space of extended reality, a video author page of the first video according to the video author page data and the three-dimensional spatial positions of the corresponding page elements.
Olbrich disclose that it was known to display different types of name elements ([0050]), to include user profile information (See [0017] [0037] [0051] [0056] [0069]), and to allow a user to select an author to link to view a detailed page (See [0048] [0077]).
Prior to the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination further with the known methods of Olbrich predictably resulting in a video author avatar element; the playback area element comprises: a user name element; after the playing, in a three-dimensional space of extended reality, the first video according to the first video element data and the three-dimensional spatial positions corresponding respectively to the respective elements, the method further comprises: in response to a select instruction of the video author avatar element or the user name element, obtaining video author page data of the first video; determining three-dimensional spatial positions of page elements corresponding to the video author page data; displaying, in the three-dimensional space of extended reality, a video author page of the first video according to the video author page data and the three-dimensional spatial positions of the corresponding page elements by applying the court recognized rational of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results. The modification would have the benefit of providing additional information to users as suggested by Olbrich.
Regarding claim 9, D1, D2, Chu, and Olbrich further disclose the method according to claim 8, wherein the displaying, in the three- dimensional space of extended reality, a video author page of the first video according to the video author page data and the three-dimensional spatial positions of the corresponding page elements comprises: displaying the video author page of the first video while playing the first video (See Olbrich selecting and navigating to author page [0048] [0077] and see D1 where a playing area and information area are separate “Referring to fig. 5, a schematic diagram 502-1 shows that there are 8 tab blocks available for showing tab information around the current playing picture, and the 8 tab blocks are located in 8 angular directions. According to one embodiment of the invention, only tags within a predetermined time interval from the current time are displayed in the tag block in order to not unduly disturb the viewing experience of the user.”).
Regarding claim 10, D1, D2, Chu, and Olbrich further disclose the method according to claim 8, wherein the video author page data comprises at least one video cover element, wherein the video cover elements can be displayed by scroll switching, by adjusting their respective corresponding three-dimensional spatial positions (See Olbrich Fig 2 and [0048] [0078]).
Regarding claim 11, D1, D2, Chu, and Olbrich further disclose the method according to claim 10, wherein after the displaying, in the three- dimensional space of extended reality, a video author page of the first video according to the video author page data and the three-dimensional spatial positions of the corresponding page elements, the method further comprises: in response to a select-for-playback instruction of the video cover element, obtaining third video element data of a third video, wherein the third video is a video corresponding to the video cover element selected for playback, and the third video element data comprises: a playback area element and an interactive area element of the third video; switching, in the three-dimensional space of extended reality, the first video to the third video for playback according to the third video element data and the three- dimensional spatial positions corresponding to the respective elements (See Olbrich Fig 2 and [0048] [0078], See D1 where “Referring to fig. 5, a schematic diagram 502-1 shows that there are 8 tab blocks available for showing tab information around the current playing picture, and the 8 tab blocks are located in 8 angular directions. According to one embodiment of the invention, only tags within a predetermined time interval from the current time are displayed in the tag block in order to not unduly disturb the viewing experience of the user.”).
Claim(s) 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 113709542 A, hereinafter D1 and for which citations will reference the English translation, in view of Rao et al. (US 2019/0012844 A1), hereinafter D2, in view of Chu et al. (US 2016/0370970 A1), in further view of Bulusu et al. (US 10,866,719 B1).
Regarding claim 12, D1, D2, and Chu disclose the method according to claim 3, but do not explicitly disclose wherein the interactive area element comprises: a comment button element;
after the playing, in a three-dimensional space of extended reality, the first video according to the first video element data and the three-dimensional spatial positions corresponding respectively to the respective elements, the method further comprises:
in response to a select instruction of the comment button element, obtaining video comment page data of the first video; determining three-dimensional spatial positions of page elements corresponding to the video comment page data; displaying, in the three-dimensional space of extended reality, a video comment page of the first video according to the video comment page data and the three-dimensional spatial positions of the corresponding page elements.
Bulusu discloses that it was known to allow users to interact by commenting and liking posts, scrolling through content items and displaying a count of user comments and like (See Col 7 line 10-20, Col 10 line 49-62, Col 13 line 45-53).
Prior to the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination further with the known methods of Bulusu predictably resulting in a comment button element;
after the playing, in a three-dimensional space of extended reality, the first video according to the first video element data and the three-dimensional spatial positions corresponding respectively to the respective elements, the method further comprises: in response to a select instruction of the comment button element, obtaining video comment page data of the first video; determining three-dimensional spatial positions of page elements corresponding to the video comment page data; displaying, in the three-dimensional space of extended reality, a video comment page of the first video according to the video comment page data and the three-dimensional spatial positions of the corresponding page elements by applying the court recognized rational of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results. The modification would have the benefit of allowing users to view and make content and the information regarding comments as suggested by Bulusu.
Regarding claim 13, D1, D2, Chu, and Bulusu further disclose the method according to claim 12, wherein the displaying, in the three- dimensional space of extended reality, a video comment page of the first video according to the video comment page data and the three-dimensional spatial positions of the corresponding page elements comprises:
displaying the video comment page of the first video while playing the first video (See cited portions of D1 in claim 1 and Bulusu Fig 1 and Col 7 line 10-20, Col 10 line 49-62, Col 13 line 45-53 ).
Regarding claim 14, D1, D2, Chu, and Bulusu further disclose the method according to claim 12, wherein the video comment page data comprises: at least one comment information element, wherein the comment information elements can be displayed by scrolling switching in a predetermined direction by adjusting their respective corresponding three-dimensional spatial positions (See Bulusu Fig 1 and Col 7 line 10-20, Col 10 line 49-62, Col 13 line 45-53 user scrolling feature).
Regarding claim 15, D1, D2, Chu, and Bulusu further disclose the method according to claim 12, wherein the interactive area element comprises: a comment number element;
after the displaying, in the three-dimensional space of extended reality, a video comment page of the first video according to the video comment page data and the three-dimensional spatial positions of the corresponding page elements, the method further comprises:
in response to a comment submit instruction, obtaining the number of comments on the first video; by accumulating the number of comments, updating and displaying the comment number element (See Bulusu Fig 1 and Col 7 line 10-20, Col 10 line 49-62, Col 13 line 45-53 number of comments).
Regarding claim 16, D1, D2, Chu, and Bulusu further disclose the method according to claim 3, wherein the interactive area element comprises: a like button element and a like number element; after the playing, in a three-dimensional space of extended reality, the first video according to the first video element data and the three-dimensional spatial positions corresponding respectively to the respective elements, the method further comprises:
in response to a select instruction of the like button element, obtaining the number of likes for the first video; by accumulating the number of likes, updating and displaying the like number element, and changing a display status of the like button element (See Bulusu Fig 1 and Col 7 line 10-20, Col 10 line 49-62, Col 13 line 45-53, See also Col 4 line 24-37 and Col 14 line 7-20 user interaction including a user indicating a like of a content post.).
Regarding claim 17, D1, D2, Chu, and Bulusu further disclose the method according to claim 16, wherein by accumulating the number of likes, the updating and displaying the like number element, and changing a display status of the like button element comprises:
while playing the first video, updating and displaying the like number element, and changing the display status of the like button element See Bulusu Fig 1 and Col 7 line 10-20, Col 10 line 49-62, Col 13 line 45-53 number of comments and likes, See also Col 4 line 24-37 and Col 14 line 7-20 user interaction including a user indicating a like of a content post.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A ened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH ened statutory period, then the ened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
FERNANDO . ALCON
Examiner
Art Unit 2425
/FERNANDO ALCON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425