DETAILED ACTION
I. This office action is in response to the correspondence filed on July 18, 2024. Claims 1-30 are pending and being examined.
II. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Allowable Subject Matter
III. Claims 3 and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but may be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 4-5 are dependent on claim 3 and are objected to for the same reasons given above regarding claim 3.
Claims 7 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but may be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but may be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 12 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but may be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
IV. Claims 1, 9-11,13-14, 17-19, 21-22, and 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novian et al. (US 2022/0132381 A1) in view of Khare et al. (US 11,533,358 B1).
Regarding claim 1 Novian teaches an apparatus (e.g. IAB Relay) for wireless communication at a relay entity, comprising: a memory (1406, Fig. 14); and one or more processors (1404, Fig. 14), coupled to the memory (see paragraphs [0027] & [0111], a wireless communication system comprising a multi-hop IAB network, the system having a donor node comprising IAB relay node. This reads on an apparatus for wireless communication at a relay entity), configured to: establish a wireless communication session with a network entity associated with a New Donor DU (see paragraph [0036] and Fig. 4, A mobile IAB node acts an anchor cell for the access UEs (e.g. 442) and has a backhaul link with New Donor DU. This reads on establish a wireless communication session with a network entity), wherein the relay entity is configured to perform access node functions and user equipment (UE) functions, and wherein establishing the wireless communication session includes enabling wireless communication for both the access node functions and the UE functions (see paragraph [0028], To act an IAB link, each relay node is configured with a mobile UE function and a gNB (gNodeB) or distributed unit (DU) function (IAB-DU) at each relay. This reads on wherein the relay entity is configured to perform access node functions and user equipment (UE) functions, and wherein establishing the wireless communication session includes enabling wireless communication for both the access node functions and the UE functions); and perform a relay service via the access node functions (see paragraph [0028] and Fig. 1 & Fig. 4, The IAB-DU function is used for communicating with further nodes. This reads on perform a relay service via the access node functions).
Novian does not specifically teach the wireless communication session with a visited public land mobile network (VPLMN) and enabling the wireless communication via the VPLMN.
Khare teaches a wireless communication session with a visited public land mobile network (VPLMN) and enabling the wireless communication via the VPLMN (see col. 5, lines 52-66 and Fig. 3, A VPLMN is a PLMN upon which the mobile subscriber has roamed when leaving their HPLMN. Data traffic is routed directly from the VPLMN to the data network. This reads on wireless communication session with a visited public land mobile network (VPLMN) and enabling the wireless communication via the VPLMN).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the wireless communication session in Novian adapt to include being with a visited public land mobile network (VPLMN) and enabling the wireless communication via the VPLMN because Novian describes a mobile IAB node performing a mobility procedure such as a handover (see Novian, paragraph [0020]) and it is well-known that during a mobility procedure such as handover wireless communication is established with a visited network as described in Khare above.
Regarding claim 9 Novian teaches wherein the access node functions are associated with an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) distributed unit (IAB-DU) (see paragraph [0028], The IAB link relay is configured with a gNB or distributed unit (DU) function (IAB-DU). This reads on wherein the access node functions are associated with an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) distributed unit (IAB-DU)).
Regarding claim 10 Novia teaches establish a connection between the IAB-DU and the network entity (see paragraph [0028] and Fig. 1 & Fig. 4, The IAB link relay is figured to communicate with the Donor DU and this reads on establish a connection between the IAB-DU and the network entity).
Regarding claim 11 Novia teaches perform an IAB node integration procedure in the network associated with the IAB-DU (see claim 1 and Fig. 4, Determining, by migrating integrated access and backhaul node equipment, that a group mobility event corresponding to a topology change from a first donor node to a second donor node is to occur. This reads on perform an IAB node integration procedure in the network associated with the IAB-DU).
Regarding claim 13 Novian teaches performing inter-donor full migration procedure associated with the IAB-DU (see paragraph [0086] and Fig. 1 & Fig. 4, inter-donor IAB node migration reads on inter-donor full migration procedure associated with the IAB-DU).
Regarding claim 14 Novian teaches an apparatus (e.g. Donor DU) for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: a memory (1406, Fig. 14); and one or more processors (1404, Fig. 14), coupled to the memory (see paragraphs [0027] & [0111], a wireless communication system comprising a multi-hop IAB network, the system having a donor node. This reads on an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity), configured to: establish a wireless communication session with a relay entity (see paragraph [0036] and Fig. 4, A mobile IAB node acts an anchor cell for the access UEs (e.g. 442) and has a backhaul link with New Donor DU. This reads on establish a wireless communication session with a relay entity), wherein the relay entity is configured to perform access node functions and user equipment (UE) functions, and wherein establishing the wireless communication session includes enabling wireless communication for both the access node functions and the UE functions (see paragraph [0028], To act an IAB link, each relay node is configured with a mobile UE function and a gNB (gNodeB) or distributed unit (DU) function (IAB-DU) at each relay. This reads on wherein the relay entity is configured to perform access node functions and user equipment (UE) functions, and wherein establishing the wireless communication session includes enabling wireless communication for both the access node functions and the UE functions); and receive, from the relay entity, a communication associated with the access node functions of the relay entity (see paragraph [0028] and Fig. 1 & Fig. 4, The IAB Node can communicate over backhaul link with Donor DU. This reads on receive, from the relay entity, a communication associated with the access node functions of the relay entity).
Novian does not specifically teach the network entity associated with a visited public land mobile network (VPLMN) and enabling the wireless communication via the VPLMN.
Khare teaches a network entity associated with a visited public land mobile network (VPLMN) and enabling the wireless communication via the VPLMN (see col. 5, lines 52-66 and Fig. 3, A VPLMN is a PLMN upon which the mobile subscriber has roamed when leaving their HPLMN. Data traffic is routed directly from the VPLMN to the data network. This reads on network entity associated with a visited public land mobile network (VPLMN) and enabling the wireless communication via the VPLMN).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the network entity in Novian adapt to include being associated with a visited public land mobile network (VPLMN) and enabling the wireless communication via the VPLMN because Novian describes a mobile IAB node performing a mobility procedure such as a handover (see Novian, paragraph [0020]) and it is well-known that during a mobility procedure such as handover wireless communication is established with a visited network as described in Khare above.
Regarding claim 17 Novian and Khare teach limitations as recited in claim 9 and therefore claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 18 Novian and Khare teach limitations as recited in claim 10 and therefore claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 19 Novian and Khare teach limitations as recited in claim 11 and therefore claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 21 Novian and Khare teach limitations as recited in claim 13 and therefore claim 21 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 22 Novian teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a relay entity (e.g. IAB Relay) (see paragraph [0027], a wireless communication system comprising a multi-hop IAB network, the system having a donor node comprising IAB relay node. This reads on a method of wireless communication performed by a relay entity), comprising: establishing a wireless communication session with a network entity associated with a New Donor DU (see paragraph [0036] and Fig. 4, A mobile IAB node acts an anchor cell for the access UEs (e.g. 442) and has a backhaul link with New Donor DU. This reads on establishing a wireless communication session with a network entity), wherein the relay entity is configured to perform access node functions and user equipment (UE) functions, and wherein establishing the wireless communication session includes enabling wireless communication for both the access node functions and the UE functions (see paragraph [0028], To act an IAB link, each relay node is configured with a mobile UE function and a gNB (gNodeB) or distributed unit (DU) function (IAB-DU) at each relay. This reads on wherein the relay entity is configured to perform access node functions and user equipment (UE) functions, and wherein establishing the wireless communication session includes enabling wireless communication for both the access node functions and the UE functions); and performing a relay service via the access node functions (see paragraph [0028] and Fig. 1 & Fig. 4, The IAB-DU function is used for communicating with further nodes. This reads on performing a relay service via the access node functions).
Novian does not specifically teach the wireless communication session with a visited public land mobile network (VPLMN) and enabling the wireless communication via the VPLMN.
Khare teaches a wireless communication session with a visited public land mobile network (VPLMN) and enabling the wireless communication via the VPLMN (see col. 5, lines 52-66 and Fig. 3, A VPLMN is a PLMN upon which the mobile subscriber has roamed when leaving their HPLMN. Data traffic is routed directly from the VPLMN to the data network. This reads on wireless communication session with a visited public land mobile network (VPLMN) and enabling the wireless communication via the VPLMN).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the wireless communication session in Novian adapt to include being with a visited public land mobile network (VPLMN) and enabling the wireless communication via the VPLMN because Novian describes a mobile IAB node performing a mobility procedure such as a handover (see Novian, paragraph [0020]) and it is well-known that during a mobility procedure such as handover wireless communication is established with a visited network as described in Khare above.
Regarding claim 26 Novian and Khare teach limitations as recited in claim 9 and therefore claim 26 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 27 Novian and Khare teach limitations as recited in claim 10 and therefore claim 27 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 28 Novian teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a network entity (e.g. Donor DU) (see paragraph [0027], a wireless communication system comprising a multi-hop IAB network, the system having a donor node. This reads on a method of wireless communication performed by a network entity), comprising: establishing a wireless communication session with a relay entity (see paragraph [0036] and Fig. 4, A mobile IAB node acts an anchor cell for the access UEs (e.g. 442) and has a backhaul link with New Donor DU. This reads on establishing a wireless communication session with a relay entity), wherein the relay entity is configured to perform access node functions and user equipment (UE) functions, and wherein establishing the wireless communication session includes enabling wireless communication for both the access node functions and the UE functions (see paragraph [0028], To act an IAB link, each relay node is configured with a mobile UE function and a gNB (gNodeB) or distributed unit (DU) function (IAB-DU) at each relay. This reads on wherein the relay entity is configured to perform access node functions and user equipment (UE) functions, and wherein establishing the wireless communication session includes enabling wireless communication for both the access node functions and the UE functions); and receiving, from the relay entity, a communication associated with the access node functions of the relay entity (see paragraph [0028] and Fig. 1 & Fig. 4, The IAB Node can communicate over backhaul link with Donor DU. This reads on receiving, from the relay entity, a communication associated with the access node functions of the relay entity).
Novian does not specifically teach the network entity associated with a visited public land mobile network (VPLMN) and enabling the wireless communication via the VPLMN.
Khare teaches a network entity associated with a visited public land mobile network (VPLMN) and enabling the wireless communication via the VPLMN (see col. 5, lines 52-66 and Fig. 3, A VPLMN is a PLMN upon which the mobile subscriber has roamed when leaving their HPLMN. Data traffic is routed directly from the VPLMN to the data network. This reads on network entity associated with a visited public land mobile network (VPLMN) and enabling the wireless communication via the VPLMN).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the network entity in Novian adapt to include being associated with a visited public land mobile network (VPLMN) and enabling the wireless communication via the VPLMN because Novian describes a mobile IAB node performing a mobility procedure such as a handover (see Novian, paragraph [0020]) and it is well-known that during a mobility procedure such as handover wireless communication is established with a visited network as described in Khare above.
Regarding claim 29 Novian and Khare teach limitations as recited in claim 9 and therefore claim 29 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 30 Novian and Khare teach limitations as recited in claim 10 and therefore claim 30 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
V. Claims 2, 6, 15, 23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novian et al. (US 2022/0132381 A1) in view of Khare et al. (US 11,533,358 B1) and Rajadurai (US 2021/0105622 A1).
Regarding claim 2 Novian and Khare teach the apparatus of claim 1 except for determine whether the access node functions are permitted to operate in the VPLMN.
Rajadurai teaches determine whether the access node functions are permitted to operate during a handover procedure (see paragraphs [0009] & [0018], As part of a handover procedure, determining, by the IAB-donor node (relay), that the IAB authorization information of the IAB node indicates the IAB node is authorized, and receiving an IP address of the DU of the IAB node in context information. This reads on determine whether the access node functions are permitted to operate).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the Novian and Khare combination adapt to include determine whether the access node functions are permitted to operate in the VPLMN because it would allow for an efficient mechanism for the handover procedure to be more secure (see Rajadurai, abstract and paragraph [0045]).
Regarding claim 6 Rajadurai teaches wherein determining whether the access node functions are permitted to operate in the VPLM is based at least in part on an indication received from the network entity (see paragraph [0018], Obtaining, by an IAB donor node (relay), an IAB authorization information of the IAB node from a network entity. This reads on determining whether the access node functions are permitted to operate in the VPLM is based at least in part on an indication received from the network entity).
Regarding claim 15 Novian, Khare, and Rajadurai teach limitations as recited in claim 2 and therefore claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 23 Novian, Khare, and Rajadurai teach limitations as recited in claim 2 and therefore claim 23 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 25 Novian, Khare, and Rajadurai teach limitations as recited in claim 6 and therefore claim 25 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Conclusion
VI. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Teyeb et al. Patent No.: US 12,543,086 B2 discloses Inter-CU migration in IAB network including a source IAB node sending a handover request to a target IAB node to which a mobile termination, MT, of an IAB node is to be migrated (see abstract and claim 1).
Novian et al. Pub. No.: US 2019/0349079 A1 discloses resource coordination for integrated access and backhaul including an IAB network in which a gNB node communicates with an IAB node, the IAB node communicates with another IAB node which in turn communicates with a user equipment (UE).
/BRANDON J MILLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647
July 10, 2026