DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The phrase “The present invention relates to” and “Fig. 4” should be removed from the abstract.
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9, it is unclear how the female threads in the second portion can share the same
cylindrical surface if the threads, according to claim 1, are tapered. Clarification is needed.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the shoulder" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. “The shoulder” should probably be “the shoulder surface”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 10-12 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dearden et al. 4,673,201.
In regard to claim 1, Dearden et al. discloses a threaded pipe connection comprising:
a tubular coupling 1 with first 3 and second 5 female threaded zones formed in opposing sections; and
first and second pipes 2a, 2b, each comprising a male threaded zone and a shoulder surface 9a, 9b at its terminal end, wherein each female threaded zone extends from an inner end to an outer end, wherein the inner end of each threaded zone is the end nearest a center of the tubular coupling; and
includes a female thread that tapers radially within the female threaded zone from a maximum diameter at the outer end of the female threaded zone, wherein each male threaded zone includes a male thread that tapers radially so as to reduce in diameter towards the terminal end of the pipe, wherein the threaded pipe connection is configured to enable the first and second pipes to be engaged with the tubular coupling in a made-up configuration in which:
the shoulder surfaces 9a, 9b of the first and second pipes abut (see fig. 4);
the entire male threaded zone of the first pipe engages the entire first female threaded zone (see fig. 1);
the entire male threaded zone of the second pipe engages the entire second female threaded zone (see fig. 1); and for each of the first and second female threaded zones;
the a crest 20 of one of the male and female threads radially interferes with the a root 21 of the other of the male and female threads in a first portion of the female threaded zone and does not interfere (at 22 and 23 and also at the triangular inner most pin thread and root of 11a) or interferes by a smaller amount in a second portion of the female threaded zone; and
the second portion (at 22 and 23 and also at the triangular inner most pin thread and root of 11a) is located at the inner end 10 of the female threaded zone.
In regard to claim 2, wherein in the made-up configuration in each of the first and second female threaded zones the crest of the one of the male and female threads is free from radial interference with the root of the other of the male and female threads in the second portion of the female threaded zone (at 22 and 23 and also at the triangular inner most pin thread and root of 11a).
In regard to claim 3, wherein in the second portion:
there is no interference and, optionally, a clearance between the crest of the male thread and the root of the female thread (at 22 and 23 and also at the triangular inner most pin thread and root of 11a).
In regard to claim 4, wherein in the made-up configuration in each of the first and second female threaded zones there is a clearance between the root of the one of the male and female threads and the crest of the other of the male and female threads (at 22 and 23 and also at the triangular inner most pin thread and root of 11a).
In regard to claim 10, wherein the tubular coupling does 1 not comprise a shoulder surface between the first (20, 21) and second (at 22 and 23 and also at the triangular inner most pin thread and root of 11a) female threaded zones.
In regard to claim 11, wherein in the made-up configuration the first and second pipes are free from contact with the tubular coupling between the male threaded zones of the first and second pipes.
In regard to claim 12, wherein in the made-up configuration the first and second pipes only contact the tubular coupling via threaded engagement (see fig. 1).
In regard to claim 17, wherein the crests and roots of the male threads are parallel to the a longitudinal axis of the pipes, and the crests and roots of the female threads are parallel to the longitudinal axis of the tubular coupling (see the crests and roots in figs. 3 and 4).
In regard to claim 18, wherein the radially outer edge 9bb (see fig. 3) of the shoulder surface at the ends of the pipes is bevelled.
In regard to claim 19, wherein a bevel (shape of shape 6 where 26 meets 22 in fig. 7) is provided on the male and/or female threads where the crest meets the a stabbing flank.
Claim(s) 20-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reusser 4,384,737.
In regard to claim 20, Reusser discloses a method of manufacturing a tubular coupling for a threaded pipe connection, comprising:
providing a tubular coupling 10 having first and second tapered threaded zones with adjacent inner end portions, wherein each tapered threaded zone extends from the inner end 54 to an outer end 56,
wherein the inner end 54 of each threaded zone is the end nearest the a center of the tubular coupling; and
reducing the a height of the threads of the adjacent inner end portions of each the first and second tapered threaded zones (see portion 45 in fig. 2 where the height of threads decrease as they approach the center of the coupling 10).
In regard to claim 21, further comprising the step of cutting one or more threads 34 into the an internal surface of a tubular body to provide first (52, 56) and second (54) tapered threaded zones.
In regard to claim 22, wherein reducing the height of the threads of adjacent end portions of each of the first and second tapered threaded zones comprises cutting a cylindrical surface 36 within the a tubular body to reduce the height of the threads 34 of adjacent end portions of each the first and second tapered threaded zones.
In regard to claim 23, further comprising engaging first and second pipes with the tubular coupling to thereby provide the threaded pipe connection (see figs. 3-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 12, 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reusser 4,384,737 in view of DeHart 2018/0356014.
In regard to claim 1, Reusser discloses a threaded pipe connection comprising:
a tubular coupling 10 with first and second female threaded zones 20 formed in opposing sections; and
first and second pipes 12 each comprising a male threaded zone and a shoulder surface 60 at its terminal end, wherein each female threaded zone extends from an inner end to an outer end, wherein the inner end of each threaded zone is the end nearest a center of the tubular coupling; and
includes a female thread that tapers radially within the female threaded zone from a maximum diameter at the outer end of the female threaded zone (see fig. 2), wherein each male threaded zone includes a male thread that tapers radially so as to reduce in diameter towards the terminal end of the pipe, wherein the threaded pipe connection is configured to enable the first and second pipes to be engaged with the tubular coupling in a made-up configuration in which:
the entire male threaded zone of the first pipe engages the entire first female threaded zone (see fig. 2);
the entire male threaded zone of the second pipe engages the entire second female threaded zone (see fig. 1); and for each of the first and second female threaded zones;
the a crest 34 of one of the male and female threads radially interferes with the a root 28 of the other of the male and female threads in a first portion of the female threaded zone and does not interfere (at 26 and 36) or interferes by a smaller amount in a second portion of the female threaded zone; and
the second portion is located at the inner end 10 of the female threaded zone (additionally, zone 54 has less of an interference than zones 52 and 56, see col. 7, last line- col. 8, line 4).
Reusser discloses a coupling 10 with a shoulder 58 instead of allowing the shoulder surfaces of the male members to abut. However, DeHart teaches that providing a similar type of coupling (184 in fig. 8) where the shoulder surfaces of the male members are allowed to abut each other or a shoulder 206 of the coupling 204 (see fig. 11) are common and well known in the art. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the coupling of Reusser to not include a central shoulder because inasmuch as the references disclose these elements as art recognized equivalents, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one for the other. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 301, 213 USPQ 532, 536 (CCPA 1982).
In regard to claim 5, wherein the an axial length of the second portion 54 of the female threaded zone is at least 4 turns (see fig. 2 of Reusser).
In regard to claim 6, wherein the first portion is a complete portion in which the a height of the female thread is constant (the thread height in portion 52 is constant); and
the second portion 54 is an incomplete portion in which the height of the female thread is less than in the complete portion (see fig. 2).
In regard to claim 7, wherein the crest 34 of the female thread throughout the complete portion of the female threaded zone is arranged to contact the root 28 of the male thread of a male threaded zone (see fig. 4).
In regard to claims 14-16, Reusser in view of DeHart do not disclose the exact thread height or shoulder radial thickness. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the thread heights and shoulder thickness of Reusser in view of DeHart with the values recited by the Applicant because a change in the size of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955), and the optimization of proportions in a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Reese, 290 F.2d 839, 129 USPQ 402 (CCPA 1961).
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8-9 and 13 and 20-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barringer et al. 5,338,074 in view of DeHart 2018/0356014.
In regard to claim 1, Barringer et al. discloses a threaded pipe connection comprising:
a tubular coupling 22 with first (26a-26f) and second (26g-26i) female threaded zones; and
a first pipe 24 comprising a male threaded zone and a shoulder surface at its terminal end, wherein each female threaded zone extends from an inner end to an outer end, wherein the inner end of each threaded zone is the end nearest a center of the tubular coupling; and
includes a female thread that tapers radially within the female threaded zone from a maximum diameter at the outer end of the female threaded zone (see fig. 2), wherein each male threaded zone includes a male thread that tapers radially so as to reduce in diameter towards the terminal end of the pipe, wherein the threaded pipe connection is configured to enable the pipe to be engaged with the tubular coupling in a made-up configuration in which:
the entire male threaded zone of the first pipe engages the entire first female threaded zone (see fig. 2);
the a crest 28c of one of the male and female threads radially interferes with the a root 26c (see description of fig. 1) of the other of the male and female threads in a first portion of the female threaded zone and does not interfere (at 26h-i, 28h-i) or interferes by a smaller amount in a second portion of the female threaded zone (see col. 3, lines 15-22); and
the second portion is located at the inner end of the female threaded zone.
Barringer et al. discloses a coupling 22 connected to a pipe at one end instead of a coupler joining two male members. However, DeHart teaches that providing a similar type of coupling (10 in fig. 1) where the coupling 18 is joined to one male member 12 or a coupler 184 with two male members 178, 179, with abutting end shoulders (see fig. 8) is common and well known in the art. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the coupling of Barringer et al. to include female threads at both ends of the female coupler to join two male members because inasmuch as the references disclose these elements as art recognized equivalents, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one for the other. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 301, 213 USPQ 532, 536 (CCPA 1982).
In regard to claim 6, wherein the first portion is a complete portion in which the a height of the female thread is constant (threads of 26a-26f are cut at one taper, see col. 3, line 12); and
the second portion (threads of 26g-26i) is an incomplete portion in which the height of the female thread is less than in the complete portion (26g-26i are cut at a different taper, see line col. 3, 13 or cut shorter, see col. 3, lines 19-22).
In regard to claim 8, wherein the crest (26g-26i) of the female thread within the second portion of each female threaded zone defines a cylindrical surface (see fig. 2).
In regard to claim 9, wherein the crests of the female threads (26g-26i) of the second portions of both female threaded zones define a common cylindrical surface (see fig. 2).
In regard to claim 13, wherein the female thread tapers within the female threaded zone (26g-26i) by a first angle relative (see col. 3, line 13) to the a longitudinal axis of the tubular coupling;
each male thread tapers (28a-28f) radially within the male threaded zone by a second angle relative to the longitudinal axis of the respective pipe (see col. 3, line 11); and
the first angle is greater than the second angle such that the tapers converge toward the terminal end of each pipes.
In regard to claim 20, Barringer et al. discloses a method of manufacturing a tubular coupling for a threaded pipe connection, comprising:
providing a tubular coupling 22 having a tapered threaded zone (26a-26i) with adjacent inner end portions, wherein each tapered threaded zone extends from the inner end to an outer end,
wherein the inner end of each threaded zone is the end nearest the a center of the tubular coupling; and
reducing the a height of the threads of the adjacent inner end portions of each the first and second tapered threaded zones (see col. 3, lines 15-22 where 26g-i are shorter than 26a-f).
Barringer et al. discloses a coupling 22 connected to a pipe at one end instead of a coupler joining two male members. However, DeHart teaches that providing a similar type of coupling (10 in fig. 1) where the coupling 18 is joined to one male member 12 or a coupler 184 with two male members 178, 179, with abutting end shoulders (see fig. 8) is common and well known in the art. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the coupling of Barringer et al. to include female threads at both ends of the female coupler to join two male members because inasmuch as the references disclose these elements as art recognized equivalents, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one for the other. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 301, 213 USPQ 532, 536 (CCPA 1982).
In regard to claim 21, further comprising the step of cutting one or more threads 26a-26i) into the an internal surface of a tubular body to provide first (26a-26f) and second (26g-26i) tapered threaded zones (see col. 3, lines 15-22).
In regard to claim 22, wherein reducing the height of the threads of adjacent end portions of each of the first and second tapered threaded zones comprises cutting a cylindrical surface within the a tubular body to reduce the height of the threads 26g-26i) of adjacent end portions of each the first and second tapered threaded zones.
In regard to claim 23, further comprising engaging first and second pipes with the tubular coupling to thereby provide the threaded pipe connection (see fig. 8 of DeHart).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Der Wissel, Geary, Watts, Suzuki, Lan, Garcha and Campbell disclose similar couplings that are common and well known in the art.
/DAVID BOCHNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679