DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on July 18th, 2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. However, should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e). Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The following title is suggested: ”SEMICONDUCTOR DEVICE FOR DETECTING POSITIONAL SHIFT BETWEEN FIRST AND SECOND SEMICONDUCTOR STRUCTURES”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The term “predetermined value” is an undefined threshold which renders Claim(s) 4-6, 9-11, 14-16 indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised. More specifically, the metes and bounds of the limitations as stated in Claim(s) ) 4-6, 9-11, 14-16 are unclear to the Examiner, as “predetermined value” is not properly defined in the specification and is a relative term with different interpretations. For the purposes of compact prosecution, the Examiner will apply broadest reasonable interpretation when the terms “predetermined value” is invoked. When referring to exceeding the predetermined value, the Examiner will interpret that as going over the threshold value resulting in a positional shift. When referring to less than or equal to the predetermined value, the Examiner will interpret that as being less than or equal to the threshold value resulting in no positional shift. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Annotated Fig.11 – Hitoshi
Claim(s) 1, 12, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) as being anticipated over Hitoshi et al. (WO 2021095420 A1), hereinafter Hitoshi.
As to Claim 1, Hitoshi teaches: A semiconductor device (Fig. 11) having a stacked structure in
which a first semiconductor structure (substrate 511, [0033] “sensor substrate”) and a second semiconductor structure (first chip 611) are stacked and bonded (Fig.11, [0130] “first chip 611…bonded to the substrate 511”), wherein
the first semiconductor structure (substrate 511, [0033] “sensor substrate”) includes a first connection terminal (first dummy metal 1) exposed to a first bonding surface (first joint surface S11-1) that is a bonding surface to the second semiconductor structure (Fig.11, first chip 611),
the second semiconductor structure (first chip 611) includes a second connection terminal (second dummy metal 2) exposed to a second bonding surface (second joint surface S11-2) that is a bonding surface to the first semiconductor structure (substrate 511), and bonded to the first connection terminal (first dummy metal 1) exposed (Fig.11), and
the stacked structure (substrate 511, first chip 611) includes at least one of a first electrode (measuring electrode 791) provided in the first semiconductor structure (substrate 511), and capable of changing an electrical characteristic ([0135] “ is possible to quickly determine that high resistance has occurred at the first joint surface S11-1 and the second joint surface S11-2 (L11 shown in Figure 11) using the chain structure (analysis TEG) 111”), with respect to the second semiconductor structure (first chip 611) according to a positional shift ([0122] “the bonding state between the substrate 510 and the first chip 610 and the bonding state between the substrate 510 and the second chip 710 can be simultaneously determined after the process is completed”) between the first connection terminal (first dummy metal 1) and the second connection terminal (second dummy metal 2) or
a second electrode (wiring layer 8 and diffusion layer 780) provided in the second semiconductor structure (first chip 611, [00132] first chip 611 is a chip that includes a diffusion layer 780… a wiring layer 8), and capable of changing an electrical characteristic ([0135] “ is possible to quickly determine that high resistance has occurred at the first joint surface S11-1 and the second joint surface S11-2 (L11 shown in Figure 11) using the chain structure (analysis TEG) 111”) with respect to the first semiconductor structure (substrate 511) according to the positional shift ([0122]).
As to Claim 12, Hitoshi teaches: The semiconductor device (Fig.11) according to claim 1,
wherein the stacked structure (substrate 511, first chip 611) includes the first electrode (measuring electrode 791)) and the second electrode (wiring layer 8 and diffusion layer 780).
As to Claim 20, Hitoshi teaches: The semiconductor device (Fig.11) according to claim 1,
wherein the first semiconductor structure (substrate 511) and the second semiconductor structure (first chip 611) have different sizes (Fig.11)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Annotated Fig. 1B - Ikawa
Annotated Fig. 1D - Ikawa
Claim(s) 2-11, 13-16, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hitoshi as being applied to Claim(s) 1, 12, 20 above, and in further view of Ikawa et al. (US 20190198471 A1) hereinafter Ikawa.
As to Claim 2, Hitoshi teaches: The semiconductor device (Hitoshi, Fig.11) according to claim 1, wherein
the stacked structure (substrate 511, first chip 611) includes the first electrode (measuring electrode 791), and the first electrode (measuring electrode 791) is provided in the first semiconductor structure (substrate 511) so as to be exposed to the first bonding surface (first joint surface S11-1),
Hitoshi does not explicitly teach: and a state of the first electrode is variable between a state of being in conduction with the second semiconductor structure and a state of being not in conduction with the second semiconductor structure according to the positional shift. Hitoshi does teach a second semiconductor structure [first chip 611], but fails to disclose a second semiconductor structure in a state of being in conduction and a state of being not in conduction with the first electrode [electrode pads 2] according to a positional shift.
However, in an analogous art, Ikawa teaches: and a state of the first electrode (electrode pads 2) is variable between a state of being in conduction ([0032] “short circuited (conductive) to electrodes 5”) with the second semiconductor structure (integrated circuit element, [0026] “integrated circuit element…electrode 5 serving as an electrical connection portion of a device”) and a state of being not in conduction ([0033] “open-circuited (non-conductive) to the electrode 5”) with the second semiconductor structure (integrated circuit element, [0026]) according to the positional shift ([0032] “all short-circuited (conductive) to the electrodes 5…no location displacement has occurred”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to apply the teaching of Ikawa to modify the semiconductor device as taught by Hitoshi. One would be motivated to do so as detecting the difference in conduction states indicates whether location displacement took place between first electrode and second semiconductor structure. A state of no conduction refers to location displacement taking place, while a state of conduction refers to no location displacement (Ikawa, [0006]). Additionally, this manner eliminates the need for visual checking by focusing on the electrical characteristic (Ikawa, [0035]).
As to Claim 3, Hitoshi teaches: The semiconductor device (Fig.11) according to claim 2,
wherein the first electrode (measuring electrode 791)
Hitoshi does not explicitly teach: is disposed at a position where a state of the first electrode is changeable between a contact state of being in contact with the second connection terminal and a non-contact state of being not in contact with the second connection terminal according to the positional shift. Hitoshi does teach a second connection terminal [second dummy metal 2] connecting to the second electrode [wiring layer 8 and diffusion layer 780] and a first electrode [measuring electrode 791] connecting to a first connection terminal [first dummy metal 1], but fails to disclose a contact and no-contact state between the second connection terminal and first electrode.
However, in an analogous art, Ikawa teaches: is disposed at a position where a state of the first electrode (electrode pads 2) is changeable between a contact state (Fig. 1B) of being in contact with the second connection terminal (electrode 5 connection terminal, [0026] “electrode 5 serving as an electrical connection portion of a device to be electrically connected to the semiconductor element faces and is connected to the electrode pads 2”) and a non-contact state (Fig.1D) of being not in contact with the second connection terminal (electrode 5 connection terminal, [0026]) according to the positional shift.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to apply the teaching of Ikawa to modify Hitoshi to include a changeable contact state of the first electrode. One would be motivated to do so as a changeable contact state of the first electrode electrically connected to a second connection terminal can be used to distinguish between a state of a positional shift taking place and a state of no positional shift (Ikawa, [0032], [0034]). Further, by identifying whether a positional shift took place or not, one can determine if displacement has occurred between the two discussed connections using an electrical characteristic, eliminating the need for visual examination (Ikawa, [0096], [0035]).
As to Claim 4, Hitoshi teaches: The semiconductor device (Fig.11) according to claim 3,
Hitoshi does not explicitly teach: wherein the state of the first electrode is different between the contact state and the non-contact state between when the positional shift is equal to or less than a predetermined value and when the positional shift exceeds the predetermined value. Hitoshi does teach a first electrode [measuring electrode 791], but does not disclose a difference in state between the contact state and the non-contact state.
However, in an analogous art, Ikawa teaches: wherein the state of the first electrode (electrode pads 2) is different between the contact state (Fig. 1B, [0032] “all short-circuited (conductive) to the electrodes 5… the location displacement detection unit 1 determines that no location displacement has occurred”) and the non-contact state (Fig.1D, [0034] “ the fourth pad 24 is short-circuited to the electrode 5 and the first pad 21 through the third pad 23 are open-circuited to the electrode 5 in each of the two sets of the electrode pads 2. In this case, as well, the location displacement detection unit 1 determines that a location displacement has occurred”) between when the positional shift is equal to or less than a predetermined value and when the positional shift exceeds the predetermined value. It is to be noted that electrode pads 2 is comprised of first pad 21, second pad 22, third pad 23, and fourth pad 24 as depicted in Fig. 1B and Fig. 1D.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to apply the teaching of Ikawa to modify the first electrode as taught by Hitoshi to include a difference in state between the contact and non-contact state. One would be motivated to do so as a changeable contact state affects electrical conductivity state between devices which allows for distinguishing between location displacement or no location displacement through an electrical characteristic rather than relying on visual examination (Ikawa, [0034], [0035]).
As to Claim 5, Hitoshi teaches: The semiconductor device (Fig.11) according to claim 4,
Hitoshi does not explicitly teach: wherein the first electrode is in the non-contact state when the positional shift is equal to or less than the predetermined value, and is in the contact state when the positional shift exceeds the predetermined value. Hitoshi does teach a first electrode [measuring electrode 791], but does not disclose a relationship between changeable contact states and a positional shift dependent on a threshold value.
However, in an analogous art, Ikawa teaches: wherein the first electrode (electrode pads 2) is in the non-contact state when the positional shift is equal to or less than the predetermined value (Fig.1D, [0034] “ the fourth pad 24 is short-circuited to the electrode 5 and the first pad 21 through the third pad 23 are open-circuited to the electrode 5 in each of the two sets of the electrode pads 2. In this case, as well, the location displacement detection unit 1 determines that a location displacement has occurred”), and is in the contact state when the positional shift exceeds the predetermined value (Fig. 1B, [0032] “all short-circuited (conductive) to the electrodes 5… the location displacement detection unit 1 determines that no location displacement has occurred”). Ikawa discloses a converse outcome where the non-contact state is when the positional shift is equal to or less than the predetermined value and the contact state is when the positional shift exceeds the predetermined value (Ikawa, [0095]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to apply the teaching of Ikawa to modify the first electrode as taught by Hitoshi. One would be motivated to do so the contact states affect conductivity which determines if location displacement took place. Additionally, relying on an electrical characteristic eliminates the need for visually checking for displacement (Ikawa, [0035]).
As to Claim 6, Hitoshi teaches: The semiconductor device (Fig.11) according to claim 4,
Hitoshi does not explicitly teach: wherein the first electrode is in the contact state when the positional shift is equal to or less than the predetermined value, and is in the non-contact state when the positional shift exceeds the predetermined value. Hitoshi does teach a first electrode [measuring electrode 791], but does not disclose a relationship between changeable contact states and a positional shift dependent on a threshold value.
However, in an analogous art, Ikawa teaches: wherein the first electrode (electrode pads 2) is in the contact state when the positional shift is equal to or less than the predetermined value (Fig. 1B, [0032] “all short-circuited (conductive) to the electrodes 5… the location displacement detection unit 1 determines that no location displacement has occurred”), and is in the non-contact state when the positional shift exceeds the predetermined value (Fig.1D, [0034] “ the fourth pad 24 is short-circuited to the electrode 5 and the first pad 21 through the third pad 23 are open-circuited to the electrode 5 in each of the two sets of the electrode pads 2. In this case, as well, the location displacement detection unit 1 determines that a location displacement has occurred”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to apply the teaching of Ikawa to modify the first electrode as taught by Hitoshi. One would be motivated to do so the contact states affect conductivity which determines if location displacement took place. Further, relying on an electrical characteristic eliminates the need for visually checking for displacement (Ikawa, [0035]).
As to Claim 7, Hitoshi teaches: The semiconductor device (Fig.11) according to claim 1,
wherein the stacked structure (substrate 511, first chip 611) includes the second electrode (wiring layer 8 and diffusion layer 791), and the second electrode is provided in the second semiconductor structure (first chip 611) so as to be exposed to the second bonding surface (second joint surface S11-2),
Hitoshi does not explicitly teach: and a state of the second electrode is variable between a state of being in conduction with the first semiconductor structure and a state of being not in conduction with the first semiconductor structure according to the positional shift.
However, in an analogous art, Ikawa teaches: and a state of the second electrode (electrode 5) is variable between a state of being in conduction ([0032] “first pad 21 through the fourth pad 24 are all short-circuited (conductive) to the electrodes 5 as illustrated in FIG. 1B”) with the first semiconductor structure (semiconductor element, [0026] “semiconductor element includes electrode pads 2 serving as electrical connection portions that are electrically connected to the integrated circuit element”) and a state of being not in conduction ([0033] “and the second pad 22 and the third pad 23 are open-circuited (non-conductive) to the electrode 5”) with the first semiconductor structure according (semiconductor element, [0026]) to the positional shift.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to apply the teaching of Ikawa to modify Hitoshi. One would be motivated to do so as detecting the difference in conduction states indicates whether location displacement took place between second electrode and first semiconductor structure. A state of no conduction refers to location displacement taking place, while a state of conduction refers to no location displacement (Ikawa, [0006]). Additionally, this manner eliminates the need for visual checking by focusing on the electrical characteristic (Ikawa, [0035]).
As to Claim 8, Hitoshi teaches: The semiconductor device (Fig.11) according to claim 7,
wherein the second electrode (wiring layer 8 and diffusion layer 791)
Hitoshi does not explicitly teach: wherein the second electrode is disposed at a position where a state of the second electrode is changeable between a contact state of being in contact with the first connection terminal and a non-contact state of being not in contact with the first connection terminal according to the positional shift. Hitoshi does teach a second connection terminal [second dummy metal 2] connecting to the second electrode [wiring layer 8 and diffusion layer 780] and a first electrode [measuring electrode 791] connecting to a first connection terminal [first dummy metal 1], but fails to disclose a contact and no-contact state between the first connection terminal and second electrode.
However, in an analogous art, Ikawa teaches: wherein the second electrode (electrode 5) is disposed at a position where a state of the second electrode (electrode 5) is changeable between a contact state (Fig. 1B) of being in contact with the first connection terminal (first connection potion 21) and a non-contact state (Fig. 1D) of being not in contact with the first connection terminal (first connection potion 21) according to the positional shift .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to apply the teaching of Ikawa to modify Hitoshi to include a changeable contact state of the second electrode. One would be motivated to do so as a changeable contact state of the second electrode electrically connected to a first connection terminal can be used to distinguish between a state of a positional shift taking place and a state of no positional shift (Ikawa, [0032], [0034]). Further, by identifying whether a positional shift took place or not, one can determine if displacement has occurred between the two discussed connections using an electrical characteristic, eliminating the need for visual examination (Ikawa, [0096], [0035]).
As to Claim 9, Hitoshi teaches: The semiconductor device (Fig.11) according to claim 8,
Hitoshi does not explicitly teach: wherein the state of the second electrode is different between the contact state and the non-contact state between when the positional shift is equal to or less than a predetermined value and when the positional shift exceeds the predetermined value. Hitoshi does teach a second electrode [wiring layer 8 and diffusion layer 780], but does not disclose a difference in state between the contact state and the non-contact state.
However, in an analogous art, Ikawa teaches: wherein the state of the second electrode (electrode 5) is different between the contact state (Fig. 1B, [0032] “all short-circuited (conductive) to the electrodes 5… the location displacement detection unit 1 determines that no location displacement has occurred”) and the non-contact state (Fig.1D, [0034] “ the fourth pad 24 is short-circuited to the electrode 5 and the first pad 21 through the third pad 23 are open-circuited to the electrode 5 in each of the two sets of the electrode pads 2. In this case, as well, the location displacement detection unit 1 determines that a location displacement has occurred”) between when the positional shift is equal to or less than a predetermined value and when the positional shift exceeds the predetermined value.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to apply the teaching of Ikawa to modify the second electrode as taught by Hitoshi to include a difference in state between the contact and non-contact state. One would be motivated to do so as a changeable contact state affects electrical conductivity state between devices which allows for distinguishing between location displacement or no location displacement through an electrical characteristic rather than relying on visual examination (Ikawa, [0034], [0035]).
As to Claim 10, Hitoshi teaches: The semiconductor device (Fig.11) according to claim 9,
Hitoshi does not explicitly teach: wherein the second electrode is in the non-contact state when the positional shift is equal to or less than the predetermined value and is in the contact state when the positional shift exceeds the predetermined value. Hitoshi does teach a second electrode [wiring layer 8 and diffusion layer 780], but does not disclose a relationship between changeable contact states and a positional shift dependent on a threshold value.
However, in an analogous art, Ikawa teaches: wherein the second electrode (electrode 5) is in the non-contact state when the positional shift is equal to or less than the predetermined value (Fig.1D, [0034] “ the fourth pad 24 is short-circuited to the electrode 5 and the first pad 21 through the third pad 23 are open-circuited to the electrode 5 in each of the two sets of the electrode pads 2. In this case, as well, the location displacement detection unit 1 determines that a location displacement has occurred”), and is in the contact state when the positional shift exceeds the predetermined value (Fig. 1B, [0032] “all short-circuited (conductive) to the electrodes 5… the location displacement detection unit 1 determines that no location displacement has occurred”. Ikawa discloses a converse outcome where the non-contact state is when the positional shift is equal to or less than the predetermined value and the contact state is when the positional shift exceeds the predetermined value (Ikawa, [0095]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to apply the teaching of Ikawa to modify the second electrode as taught by Hitoshi. One would be motivated to do so the contact states affect conductivity which determines if location displacement took place. Additionally, relying on an electrical characteristic eliminates the need for visually checking for displacement (Ikawa, [0035]).
As to Claim 11, Hitoshi teaches: The semiconductor device (Fig.11) according to claim 9,
Hitoshi does not explicitly teach: wherein the second electrode is in the contact state when the positional shift is equal to or less than the predetermined value, and is in the non-contact state when the positional shift exceeds the predetermined value. Hitoshi does teach a second electrode [wiring layer 8 and diffusion layer 780], but does not disclose a relationship between changeable contact states and a positional shift dependent on a threshold value.
However, in an analogous art, Ikawa teaches: wherein the second electrode (electrode 5) is in the contact state when the positional shift is equal to or less than the predetermined value (Fig. 1B, [0032] “all short-circuited (conductive) to the electrodes 5… the location displacement detection unit 1 determines that no location displacement has occurred”) , and is in the non-contact state when the positional shift exceeds the predetermined value (Fig.1D, [0034] “ the fourth pad 24 is short-circuited to the electrode 5 and the first pad 21 through the third pad 23 are open-circuited to the electrode 5 in each of the two sets of the electrode pads 2. In this case, as well, the location displacement detection unit 1 determines that a location displacement has occurred”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to apply the teaching of Ikawa to modify the second electrode as taught by Hitoshi. One would be motivated to do so the contact states affect conductivity which determines if location displacement took place. Further, relying on an electrical characteristic eliminates the need for visually checking for displacement (Ikawa, [0035]).
As to Claim 13, Hitoshi teaches: The semiconductor device (Fig.11) according to claim 12,
wherein the first electrode (measuring electrode 791) and the second electrode (wiring layer 8 and diffusion layer 780)
Hitoshi does not explicitly teach: are disposed at positions where states of the first electrode and the second electrode are changeable between a contact state of being in contact with each other and a non-contact state of being not in contact with each other according to the positional shift.
However, in an analogous art, Ikawa teaches: wherein the first electrode (electrode pads 2) and the second electrode (electrodes 5) are disposed at positions where states of the first electrode and the second electrode are changeable between a contact state of being in contact with each other (Fig. 1B) and a non-contact state of being not in contact with each other (Fig.1D) according to the positional shift.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to apply the teaching of Ikawa to modify Hitoshi to include a changeable contact state for the first and second electrode. One would be motivated to do so as a changeable contact state between the first and second electrode can be used to distinguish between a state of a positional shift taking place and a state of no positional shift (Ikawa, [0032], [0034]). Further, by identifying whether a positional shift took place or not, one can determine if displacement has occurred between the two discussed connections using an electrical characteristic, eliminating the need for visual examination (Ikawa, [0096], [0035]).
As to Claim 14, Hitoshi teaches: The semiconductor device (Fig.11) according to claim 13,
Hitoshi does not explicitly teach: wherein the states of the first electrode and the second electrode are different between the contact state and the non-contact state between when the positional shift is equal to or less than a predetermined value and when the positional shift exceeds the predetermined value. Hitoshi does teach a first electrode [measuring electrode 791] and a second electrode [wiring layer 8 and diffusion layer 780], but does not disclose a difference in state between the contact state and the non-contact state.
However, in an analogous art, Ikawa teaches: wherein the states of the first electrode and the second electrode are different between the contact state (Fig. 1B, [0032] “all short-circuited (conductive) to the electrodes 5… the location displacement detection unit 1 determines that no location displacement has occurred”) and the non-contact state (Fig.1D, [0034] “ the fourth pad 24 is short-circuited to the electrode 5 and the first pad 21 through the third pad 23 are open-circuited to the electrode 5 in each of the two sets of the electrode pads 2. In this case, as well, the location displacement detection unit 1 determines that a location displacement has occurred”) between when the positional shift is equal to or less than a predetermined value and when the positional shift exceeds the predetermined value.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to apply the teaching of Ikawa to modify the first and second electrode as taught by Hitoshi to include a difference in state between the contact and non-contact state. One would be motivated to do so as a changeable contact state affects electrical conductivity state between devices which allows for distinguishing between location displacement or no location displacement through an electrical characteristic rather than relying on visual examination (Ikawa, [0034], [0035]).
As to Claim 15, Hitoshi teaches: The semiconductor device (Fig.11) according to claim 14,
Hitoshi does not explicitly teach: wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are in the non-contact state when the positional shift is equal to or less than the predetermined value, and are in the contact state when the positional shift exceeds the predetermined value. Hitoshi does teach a first electrode [measuring electrode 791] and a second electrode [wiring layer 8 and diffusion layer 780], but does not disclose a relationship between changeable contact states and a positional shift dependent on a threshold value.
However, in an analogous art, Ikawa teaches: wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are in the non-contact state (Fig.1D, [0034] “ the fourth pad 24 is short-circuited to the electrode 5 and the first pad 21 through the third pad 23 are open-circuited to the electrode 5 in each of the two sets of the electrode pads 2. In this case, as well, the location displacement detection unit 1 determines that a location displacement has occurred”) when the positional shift is equal to or less than the predetermined value, and are in the contact state (Fig. 1B, [0032] “all short-circuited (conductive) to the electrodes 5… the location displacement detection unit 1 determines that no location displacement has occurred”) when the positional shift exceeds the predetermined value. Ikawa discloses a converse outcome where the non-contact state is when the positional shift is equal to or less than the predetermined value and the contact state is when the positional shift exceeds the predetermined value (Ikawa, [0095]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to apply the teaching of Ikawa to modify the first and second electrode as taught by Hitoshi. One would be motivated to do so the contact states affect conductivity which determines if location displacement took place. Additionally, relying on an electrical characteristic eliminates the need for visually checking for displacement (Ikawa, [0035]).
As to Claim 16, Hitoshi teaches: The semiconductor device (Fig.11) according to claim 14,
Hitoshi does not explicitly teach: wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are in the contact state when the positional shift is equal to or less than the predetermined value, and are in the non-contact state when the positional shift exceeds the predetermined value. Hitoshi does teach a first electrode [measuring electrode 791] and a second electrode [wiring layer 8 and diffusion layer 780], but does not disclose a relationship between changeable contact states and a positional shift dependent on a threshold value.
However, in an analogous art, Ikawa teaches: wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are in the contact state (Fig. 1B, [0032] “all short-circuited (conductive) to the electrodes 5… the location displacement detection unit 1 determines that no location displacement has occurred”) when the positional shift is equal to or less than the predetermined value, and are in the non-contact state (Fig.1D, [0034] “ the fourth pad 24 is short-circuited to the electrode 5 and the first pad 21 through the third pad 23 are open-circuited to the electrode 5 in each of the two sets of the electrode pads 2. In this case, as well, the location displacement detection unit 1 determines that a location displacement has occurred”) when the positional shift exceeds the predetermined value.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to apply the teaching of Ikawa to modify the first and second electrode as taught by Hitoshi. One would be motivated to do so the contact states affect conductivity which determines if location displacement took place. Further, relying on an electrical characteristic eliminates the need for visually checking for displacement (Ikawa, [0035]).
As to Claim 18, Hitoshi teaches: The semiconductor device (Fig.11) according to claim 12,
Hitoshi does not explicitly teach: wherein the stacked structure includes a detection system that electrically detects a positional relationship between the first electrode and the second electrode to detect a magnitude and/or a direction of the positional shift. Hitoshi does teach a stacked structure [substrate 511, first chip 611], first electrode [measuring electrode 791] and a second electrode [wiring layer 8 and diffusion layer 780], but fails to disclose a detection system.
However, in an analogous art, Ikawa teaches: wherein the stacked structure includes a detection system (location displacement detection unit 1) that electrically detects a positional relationship ([0031] “determines whether a location displacement has occurred by referencing the conduction state between the sets of electrode pads 2 and the electrodes 5”) between the first electrode (electrode pads 2) and the second electrode (electrode 5) to detect a magnitude and/or a direction of the positional shift ([0034] “Since only the fourth pad 24 is short-circuited, the location displacement detection unit 1 determines that a large location displacement has occurred in the Y direction, and thus detects the location displacement between the electrode pads 2 and the electrodes 5.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to apply the teaching of Ikawa to modify the stacked structure as taught by Hitoshi to include a detection system. One would be motivated to do so as the location displacement of the electrodes relative to each other can be more accurately determined (Ikawa, [0074]).
As to Claim 19, Hitoshi teaches: The semiconductor device (Fig.11) according to claim 12,
Hitoshi does not explicitly teach: wherein the stacked structure includes a determination system that is provided in at least one of the first semiconductor structure or the second semiconductor structure, and determines a change in the electrical characteristic between the first electrode and the second electrode. Hitoshi does teach a stacked structure [substrate 511, first chip 611] that includes the first semiconductor structure [substrate 511], and the second semiconductor structure [first chip 611]. Hitoshi discloses the use of chain structure (analysis TEG) 111 to determine if high resistance has occurred between the first bonding surface [first joint surface S11-1] and the second bonding surface [second joint surface S11-2], but does not specify a change in electrical characteristic between the first and second electrode ([0135]).
However, in an analogous art, Ikawa teaches: wherein the stacked structure includes a determination system that is provided in at least one of the first semiconductor structure (semiconductor element, [0026]) or the second semiconductor structure (integrated circuit element, [0026]) , and determines a change in the electrical characteristic ([0027] “conduction state between the electrode pads 2 serving as the electrical connection portion of the semiconductor element and the electrical connection portion of the device includes a short circuit state or an open. circuit state between the electrode pads 2 and the electrodes 5”) between the first electrode (measuring electrode 791) and the second electrode (electrodes 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to apply the teaching of Ikawa to modify the semiconductor stack to include a determination system that determines an electrical change between first and second electrode as taught by Hitoshi. One would be motivated to do so as determining a change in electrical characteristic, specifically conductivity, between the first and second electrode eliminates the need for visually checking the electrodes (Ikawa, [0035]).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hitoshi as being applied to Claim(s) 1, 12, 20 above, and in further view of Burkhart et al. (US 6075375 A) hereinafter Burkhart.
As to Claim 17, Hitoshi teaches: The semiconductor device (Fig.11) according to claim 1,
wherein the stacked structure (substrate 511, first chip 611) includes the first electrode (measuring electrode 791) and the second electrode (wiring layer 8 and diffusion layer 780),
Hitoshi does not explicitly teach: and the first electrode and the second electrode are arranged at positions where capacitance between the first electrode and the second electrode is changeable according to the positional shift.
However, in an analogous art, Burkhart teaches: the first electrode (1061, Fig.1) and the second electrode (1062, Fig.1) are arranged at positions where capacitance between the first electrode (1061) and the second electrode (1062) is changeable according to the positional shift ([C. 4 L.67, C.5 L. 1-6] “This capacitance changes depending upon whether a wafer is present, i.e., whether a wafer is positioned upon the pedestal surface and covering a pair of electrodes. As such, if the wafer is off center and not covering an electrode pair, the circuit 110 measures a substantial difference in capacitance of the electrode pairs and deems the wafer to be off center at output 114.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to apply the teaching of Ikawa to modify the positions of the first and second electrode as taught by Hitoshi. One would be motivated to do so as measuring a substantial difference in capacitance due to off-center wafers prevents of wafer damage (Burkhart, Abstract).
Conclusion
/MASHAL AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/William B Partridge/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812