DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites the phrase “component A) has a temperature of at most 60°C” , claim 35 recites “component A has a temperature of at most 50°C”, and claim 36 recites “component A has a temperature of at most 40°C” and it is not clear what the temperature is referring to. Therefore, the claim is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 22-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jessop (WO 2012/143685, disclosed by applicant).
Jessop discloses a method of manufacturing a seed coating comprising adding a wax having a melting point of ≥50°C; heating the wax to form a liquid; and adding one or more additives for enhancing seedling vigour and/or seedling growth selected from one or more inorganic additives and/or one or more live biological agents (reference claim 9 and 18). Jessop discloses the wax includes castor wax, carnauba wax, beeswax, montan wax, Chinese wax, castor wax, ouricury wax and rice bran wax (p.3, lines 30-36). Jessop discloses additives include rhizobial symbionts (p. 5, line 9). Jessop discloses the coating method includes antifreeze compounds, surfactants, emulsifying agent thickeners or binders (p. 6). Jessop discloses peat wax with a particle size less that 10 micron (p. 4, lines 2-8). Jessop discloses seeds of rice, wheat, rye, oat, corn and barley (reference claim 24). Jessop is silent in regard to microplastics. Jessop discloses a seed coating composition in the form of particles that comprises a wax and seed an a least one additive form one or more inorganic additives and/or one or more live biological agent, which would meet the limitation of a kit (reference claim 1).
Conclusion
/NANNETTE HOLLOMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612