DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because it does not end in a period.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding independent claim 11, the phrase “a rotation axis, said rotation axis defines an axial direction either coinciding with or parallel to said rotation axis” is indefinite because it is unclear how the rotation axis can be parallel with itself.
Regarding claim 14, the phrase “a plurality of radial bell connecting extensions” is indefinite because it is unclear whether these are the same elements or distinct from the previously recited “at least one radial connection extension.” For purposes of examination the “radial bell connecting extensions” and the “at least one radial connection extension” will be considered the same elements.
Regarding claim 14, the phrase “a plurality of axial through windows” is indefinite because it is unclear whether these are the same element as the previously recited “two axial through windows.” For purposes of examination, these will be interpreted as the same elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mueller (DE 4210449) (machine translation attached).
Regarding claim 11, Mueller discloses a disc brake disc (1) comprising a braking band (3, 4), wherein - said braking band comprises a band body (3, 4) adapted to rotate about a rotation axis (L), said rotation axis defines an axial direction either coinciding with or parallel to said rotation axis (see FIGS. 1, 2), a radial direction orthogonal to said rotation axis and orthogonal to any axial direction incident with said radial direction (see FIGS. 1, 2), as well as a circumferential direction orthogonal to both said axial direction and said radial direction in any intersection point (see FIGS. 1, 2); said braking band comprises two opposite plates (3, 4), which define opposite braking surfaces and substantially flat opposite inner surfaces (see FIG. 1); a ventilation duct delimited by said substantially flat opposite inner surfaces is provided between said plates (see FIGS. 1, 2); said ventilation duct has a predetermined radial ventilation duct extension extended in a radial direction extending from an inner band edge to an outer band edge (see FIGS. 1, 2); said plates are connected to each other by pins (7, 9, 10); each of said pins has a radial pin extension of smaller magnitude than said radial ventilation duct extension (see FIG. 2); and wherein said disc brake further comprises a driving bell (2) adapted to connect to a stub axle of a vehicle (see FIG. 1); in said ventilation duct there is at least one radial connection extension (8) which connects said two opposite plates (see FIG. 1) and connects said braking band to said driving bell (see FIG. 1) so that said braking band and said driving bell are in one piece (see FIGS. 1, 2); said at least one radial connection extension has a longitudinal extension of radial connection extension (see FIG. 2), wherein said longitudinal extension of radial connection extension is smaller than the extension of said radial ventilation duct extension (see FIG. 2), so as to leave said pins at least partially facing each other in the circumferential direction (see FIG. 2); characterized in that said at least one radial connection extension faces, with a portion thereof and on both the circumferentially directed sides thereof, two axial through windows (6), which are through openings directed in an axial direction and both communicating with said ventilation duct (see FIGS. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 12, Mueller discloses that the driving bell has at least two bell window surfaces (see FIG. 1, portion of bell (2) facing opening (6); see FIG. 2, multiple through openings (6) located on disk), which extend in a circumferential direction and each facing one of said two axial through windows (see FIGS. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 13, Mueller discloses that at least one of said at least two bell window surfaces is inclined with respect to said axial and radial directions so that: the shape of at least one of said two axial through windows widens traversing it in the axial direction passing from one side of the disc brake disc towards the other side of the disc brake disc (see FIG. 1, bell window surface is inclined at the right distal end); or the shape of at least one of said two axial through windows widens traversing it in the axial direction passing from one plate towards the other plate (see FIG. 1, axial through hole widens in left-to-right direction).
Regarding claim 14, Mueller discloses that said disc brake disc comprises a plurality of radial bell connecting extensions (8) (see FIGS. 1, 2); said radial bell connecting extensions are circumferentially distributed (see FIG. 2) and delineate a plurality of axial through windows (6) (see FIG. 2); and wherein a bell window surface is between each radial extension and an adjacent radial extension (see FIG. 2); said bell window surfaces extend in a circumferential direction and each of said bell window surfaces faces one of said axial through windows (see FIGS. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 15, Mueller discloses that said driving bell comprises a bell connecting portion facing said braking band in a radial direction (see FIGS. 1, 2, 4, 9); wherein said bell connecting portion comprises at least one circumferential channel which forms a channel in said bell connecting portion (see FIGS. 1, 2, 4, 9; channel formed between bell and band near axial through opening (6)); or wherein said driving bell comprises a bell connecting portion facing said braking band in a radial direction; wherein said bell connecting portion comprises two circumferential channels which form two channels in said bell connecting portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16- are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mueller (DE 4210449), as applied to claim 11, above, and further in view of Baselt (US 2,451,709).
Regarding claim 16, Mueller discloses that said driving bell comprises a bell connecting portion facing said braking band in a radial direction (see FIG. 1).
Mueller does not disclose that said bell connecting portion comprises at least one circumferential bell rib which protrudes towards the ventilation duct avoiding touching the plates; or said driving bell comprises a bell connecting portion facing said braking band in a radial direction; wherein said bell connecting portion comprises at least one circumferential bell rib which protrudes entering into said ventilation duct avoiding touching the plates; or said driving bell comprises a bell connecting portion facing said braking band in a radial direction; wherein said bell connecting portion comprises at least one circumferential bell rib which protrudes entering into said ventilation duct remaining overhanging.
Baselt teaches a disc brake disc brake (see FIGS. 1-4) comprising a bell connecting portion (116) that comprises at least one circumferential bell rib (114) which protrudes towards a ventilation duct (110) avoiding touching the plates (see FIG. 4).
It would have been obvious to combine the circumferential bell rib of Baselt with the brake disc of Mueller to provide a guiding means for directing fluid into the ventilation duct (see e.g. col. 3, lines 9-25; FIG. 4), thereby increasing the cooling effect of the ventilation duct.
Regarding claim 17, Baselt teaches that said at least one circumferential bell rib connects to said bell connecting portion (see FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 18, Mueller discloses that said disc brake disc comprises a side facing the vehicle wheel or wheel side of the disc brake disc (see FIG. 1); and a side facing the vehicle or vehicle side of the disc brake disc (see FIG. 1); and wherein said bell connecting portion with circumferential bell rib forms two opposite ventilation duct access openings (see FIG. 1); a first opening which opens from the wheel side of the disc brake disc, and a second opposite opening which opens from the vehicle side of the disc brake disc (see FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 19, Mueller discloses that said first opening which opens from the wheel side of the disc brake disc comprises smaller opening dimensions as compared to said second opposite opening which opens from the vehicle side of the disc brake disc (see FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 20, Baselt teaches that said driving bell comprises a bell connecting portion (116) facing said braking band in a radial direction (see FIG. 4); wherein said bell connecting portion (120) comprises at least one circumferential channel which forms a channel in said bell connecting portion (see FIG. 4); and wherein said first opening which opens from the wheel side of the disc brake disc is delimited by said at least one circumferential channel and said at least one circumferential bell rib (see FIG. 4).
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS J LANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
September 25, 2026