Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 19 July 2024 was considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 3, and 5 objected to because of the following informalities: The circuit unit and lithium-ion battery in claims 2, 3, and 5 are interpreted to be the same circuit unit and battery as in claim 1, upon which the aforementioned claims are dependent. Therefore, the circuit unit and battery should be referred to as . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: "a power supply unit for supplying power and having a charge protection circuit function", "a storage unit for storing the data", "a control unit for controlling the power supply unit", and "a communication unit for transmitting the data of the storage unit to the portable terminal" in claim 1.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 1 recites the limitations "the storage unit", "the ... LED, and communication unit", and "the charging status" in lines 7, 18, and 21 respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. It should be noted that the first instance of a limitation in the claims should not be preceded by “the” to avoid antecedent basis issues.
Claim limitations “storage unit", "control unit", and "communication unit” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structures that perform the functions of the storage unit and control unit and does not include a structure or structures that perform(s) the entire function of the communication unit in claim 1. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 2 recites the limitations "the upper part" and "the upper surface" in p. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitations "the upper part", "the upper surface", and "the side of the semicircular anode (+) plate" in lines 9, 11, and 13 respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the side of the circuit unit" in line 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitations "the upper part", "the upper surface of the cover", and "the upper surface of the lid" in lines 25, 27, and 30 respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the circular perimeter" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Additionally, it is unclear what “its” in line 6 is in reference to. For the purposes of examination, “its lower end” is interpreted as “a lower end of the lid”.
Claim 8 recites the limitations "the self-discharge rate", "the charging completion time", and "the start time" in line and 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Additionally, it is unclear what “it” in line 18 is in reference to. For the purposes of examination, “transmits it to the portable terminal” is interpreted as “transmits the self-discharge rate to the portable terminal”.
Claim 9 includes “transmits this to the portable terminal” in line 25. It is unclear what “this” is in reference to. For the purposes of examination “this” is interpreted as “the alarm”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2010/0052609 (Daniel).
Considering claim 1, Daniel teaches a rechargeable battery assembly that includes a rechargeable battery which may be a lithium-ion battery, and a data and power connection plug [ABS, 0030]. The rechargeable battery assembly also includes control circuitry, which provides power management, recharging controls, an LED to indicate charge status, and USB communication [0021, 0028]. The control circuitry is capable of monitoring recharge rates through the power management system to ensure a safe charge [0021]. Additionally, the battery assembly may have a memory that stores battery information and a connector that can send information to a computing device [0024, 0026]. The communication between the connector and computing device may be wireless or wired [0025]. The computing device may use a software application to display battery and charging information received from the connector of the battery assembly [0023]. The control circuitry, power management, memory, connector, and computing device are considered to read onto the circuit unit, power supply unit, storage unit, communication unit, and portable terminal, respectively, of the instant claim.
Considering claim 2, Daniel teaches a preferred embodiment that comprises an outer case which contains the battery and the circuitry [0015]. In an example, the outer case may be an outer shell 56 and a front cap 27 that is analogous to the cover of the instant claim [0079 Fig 7A]. Additionally, a positive plate 35, which is shown to be circular, is connected to the front cap 27 [0079, Fig 6A].
Considering claim 5, Daniel teaches the outer shell 56 containing the battery and circuitry, and the front cap 27 as described above [0015, 0079, Fig 7A]. Furthermore, Figures 5A and 5C demonstrate that when the front cap 27 is attached to the assembly, the result is a USB connector 28 being connected to the front cap 27 [Fig 5A, Fig 5C]. The USB connector is a Series A USB connector in some configurations [0015]. A plastic insert 48 passes into the USB assembly slot and contains a side part 49 that in this instance would act as the lid to the USB connector as described by the instant claim [0079, Fig 7A, Fig 8C]. The positive plate 35 is connected to the front cap 27 and the positive plate 35 is shown to be circular as described above [0079, Fig 6A]. A prong 52 is used to connect the positive plate 35 to a connector prong 43 which is connected to the USB connector [0077, Fig 8A].
Considering claim 6, Daniel teaches an embodiment where the front cap, which contains the plastic insert and side part, is detachable from the outer casing via magnetic means [0092]. The magnetic means 59 are shown to be positioned towards the outer edges of the lid and along the circular perimeter of the front cap 27 [Fig 18C].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2010/0052609 (Daniel) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2022/0311059 (Patel).
Considering claim 3, the teachings of Daniel anticipate the limitations set forth by the instant claim 1, upon which instant claim 3 is dependent. However, Daniel is silent to explicitly teach a USB c-type connection terminal embedded inside a case. In the same field of endeavor of power storage, Patel teaches a battery with a battery cell electrically coupled to a battery management circuitry and USB-C interface [ABS]. The contents of the battery 1 are held in a body 17 that includes a top face 19 with a terminal 21 extending from the top face 19 [0017, Fig 5]. The top face is considered to be analogous to the cover of the instant claim, and the terminal is considered to be analogous to the anode plate of the instant claim. A USB-C socket 15 is in the same hole in the top face 19 as the terminal 21, in contact with the terminal 21 [0017, Fig 5]. In regard to the semicircular shape of the terminal according to the limitation set forth by the instant claim, a modified Patel Figure 5 has been produced.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the rechargeable battery assembly of Daniel to include a USB-C interface as taught by Patel, because there are a wide range of cables provided with USB-C connectors for use in systems with varying needs of power delivery [0004]. This would allow the invention to be used in a wide variety of applications.
Considering claim 4, Patel teaches that an integrated circuit is provided between the USB-C port controller and USB-C interface [ABS].
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2010/0052609 (Daniel) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2016/0006085 (Toya).
Considering claim 7, the teachings of Daniel anticipate the limitations set forth by the instant claims 2, 5, and 6, upon any of which instant claim 7 is dependent. However, Daniel is silent to explicitly teach the outer shell being made of transparent or semi-transparent material. In the same field of endeavor of power storage, Toya teaches a battery pack that includes a secondary battery, a communicator, and a controller inside a housing [ABS]. A front part of the housing has optical waveguides made of plastic corresponding to LEDs [0047]. The plastic material allows light to pass through in order to display information, thus making the material at least semi-transparent. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the outer shell of Daniel to include the plastic optical waveguides as taught by Toya in order to display remaining battery capacity, for example, through LEDs [0047].
Considering claim 9, the teachings of Daniel anticipate the limitations set forth by the instant claim 1, upon which instant claim 9 is dependent. However, Daniel is silent to explicitly teach an alarm being set when the battery is discharged to 20% or less and when charged to 95% or more. Toya teaches that when the remaining battery capacity is lower than 20%, only one LED is switched on and when the remaining battery capacity is higher than or equal to 80%, all of the LEDs are switched on [0047]. The 95% charge limitation of the instant claim falls within the higher than or equal to 80% charge taught by Toya. The specific lighting pattern of the LEDs are considered to read onto the limitation of an alarm. Additionally, the controller may create a message regarding the battery capacity that gets transmitted through the communicator to a portable terminal [0065, 0067]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the rechargeable battery assembly of Daniel to include a lighting system to alert a current battery capacity percentage as taught by Toya, in order to display information corresponding to the status of the secondary battery [0200].
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2010/0052609 (Daniel) in view of Liu, Z. Prediction method for battery self-discharge voltage drop based on pre-classifier, Measurement, Vol. 204, Article 112065 (Nov. 30, 2022).
Considering claim 8, the teachings of Daniel anticipate the limitations set forth by the instant claim 1, upon which instant claim 8 is dependent. Furthermore, the “self-discharge rate” of the instant claim is considered to be included in the battery and charge information that is sent to the computing device through the connector taught by Daniel. However, Daniel is silent to explicitly teach a calculation method for determining a self-discharge rate. In the same field of endeavor of power storage, Liu teaches a method for predicting battery self-discharge drop based on pre-classifier [ABS]. Liu includes in the introduction of the article that self-discharge of a battery may be determined by recording the voltage change over a period of time that the battery is in an open-circuit state [INTRO]. The interval that the self-discharge rate of the instant claim is based on (between charging completion time and start time of use) is the interval that the battery is in an open-circuit state. Therefore, the method of calculation discussed by Liu reads onto the method of calculation of the instant claim. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the control circuitry of Daniel to include a calculation for self-discharge rate using the method taught by Liu, because the method is considered to be traditional for determining self-discharge [INTRO].
Conclusion
/E.H.C./ Examiner, Art Unit 1784
/HUMERA N. SHEIKH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1784