DETAILED ACTION
Applicants' arguments, filed 07/22/2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
New Rejection
Claim(s) 1, 6, 50 and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fassihi et al. (US Patent Pub. 2002/0061332).
Fassihi et al. disclose a composition comprising the active agent, verapamil at a concentration of 120 mg and glycine at a concentration of 120 mg (Example 1). The weight ratio meets the limitation of instant claim 1. The reference anticipates the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 15, 17, 18, 22, 24, 25, 46, 47-49 and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan et al. (US Patent Pub. 2023/0133326).
Khan et al. disclose a stable formulation comprising an active agent, including varenicline, and at least one pharmaceutical excipient (ABSTRACT and [0036]). Khan et al. disclose the amount of nitrosamine impurity after exposure of the pharmaceutical composition to 40°C/75% RH for a period of six months is less than about 50 ppm when packed in high density polyethylene bottle, blister pack or any other finished container ([0008]). Khan et al. disclose a formulation comprising an excipient/glidant, a lubricant and an antioxidant, butylated hydroxytoluene, which meets the limitation of instant claim 15 (TABLE 9, Formulation 2). Khan et al. disclose excipients include, diluents, disintegrants and lubricants and are present in the composition in a range from 1 to 95% w/w ([0014] and [0070]).
Khan et al. differs from the instant claims insofar as they do not specifically disclose a composition comprising 10% w/w -80% w/w of diluent; 0.1% w/w – 10% w/w of disintegrant, and 0.1% w/w – 5% w/w of lubricant; based on the total weight of the composition.
The prior art discloses the use of 1 to 95% excipients. Thus, the prior art differs from the instant claims insofar as it does not disclose the particular endpoints recited therein, i.e. 10% w/w -80% w/w of diluent; 0.1% w/w – 10% w/w of disintegrant, and 0.1% w/w – 5% w/w of lubricant. It is well-settled, however, that even a slight overlap in range establishes a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Accordingly, since an overlap plainly exists here, it would have been obvious to have selected values within the overlap, consistent with the reasoning of the Peterson decision.
Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant argues the reference does not disclose a stable pharmaceutical composition comprising a therapeutically active agent selected from the group recited in Applicant’s claim 1, one or more stabilizing agents, and one or more pharmaceutically acceptable excipients wherein the weight ratio of the therapeutically active agent to the stabilizing agent is 1:0.01 to 1:25. Applicant argues there would have been no motivation to modify the reference. Applicant argues unexpected results are directly attributable to the claimed composition and ranges.
Examiner’s Response
As previously disclosed Khan et al. differs from the instant claims insofar as they do not specifically disclose a composition comprising 10% w/w -80% w/w of diluent; 0.1% w/w – 10% w/w of disintegrant, and 0.1% w/w – 5% w/w of lubricant; based on the total weight of the composition.
The prior art discloses the use of 1 to 95% excipients. Thus, the prior art differs from the instant claims insofar as it does not disclose the particular endpoints recited therein, i.e. 10% w/w -80% w/w of diluent; 0.1% w/w – 10% w/w of disintegrant, and 0.1% w/w – 5% w/w of lubricant. It is well-settled, however, that even a slight overlap in range establishes a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Accordingly, since an overlap plainly exists here, it would have been obvious to have selected values within the overlap, consistent with the reasoning of the Peterson decision.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 15, 17, 18, 22, 24, 25, 46, 47-49 and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Khan et al. (US Patent Pub. 2023/0148226).
Khan et al. disclose a stable formulation comprising varenicline and at least one pharmaceutical excipient (ABSTRACT). Khan et al. disclose the amount of nitrosamine impurity after exposure of the pharmaceutical composition to 40°C/75% RH for a period of six months is less than about 50 ppm when packed in high density polyethylene bottle, blister pack or any other finished container ([0010]). Khan et al. disclose a formulation comprising an excipient/glidant, a lubricant and an antioxidant, butylated hydroxytoluene, which meets the limitation of instant claim 15 (TABLE 6, Formulation 1). Khan et al. disclose excipients include antioxidants at a concentration of 0.001 to 5% and diluents, disintegrants and lubricants ([0021] and [0069]). Khan et al. disclose the weight ratio of the varenicline to the pharmaceutical excipient is from 1 to 99 to 99 to 1% w/w ([0023]).
Khan et al. differs from the instant claims insofar as they do not specifically disclose a composition comprising a ratio of the therapeutically active agent to the stabilizing agent is 1:0.1 to 1:25 or 10% w/w -80% w/w of diluent; 0.1% w/w – 10% w/w of disintegrant, and 0.1% w/w – 5% w/w of lubricant; based on the total weight of the composition.
The prior art discloses the use of 0.001 to 5% antioxidant and a ratio of 1 to 99% to 99 to 1% ratio of varenicline to the pharmaceutical excipients. Thus, the prior art differs from the instant claims insofar as it does not disclose the particular endpoints recited therein, i.e. the ratio of the therapeutically active agent to the stabilizing agents is 1:0.01 to 1:25 and 10% w/w -80% w/w of diluent; 0.1% w/w – 10% w/w of disintegrant, and 0.1% w/w – 5% w/w of lubricant. It is well-settled, however, that even a slight overlap in range establishes a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Accordingly, since an overlap plainly exists here, it would have been obvious to have selected values within the overlap, consistent with the reasoning of the Peterson decision.
Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant argues the reference fails to disclose or suggest the critical relationship between the therapeutical active agent and stabilizing agent as required by the present claims. Applicant argues the reference does not disclose or suggest the specific composition comprising the ranges of the claims nor does it provide any reason why a person of skilled in the art would have selected these particular ranges. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner’s Response
The reason or motivation to modify a reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See MPEP 2144, IV. Therefore, the reference need not disclose or suggest the critical relationship between the active and stabilizing agents.
The prior art discloses the use of 0.001 to % antioxidant and a ratio of 1 to 99% to 99 to 1% ratio of varenicline to the pharmaceutical excipients. Thus, the prior art differs from the instant claims insofar as it does not disclose the particular endpoints recited therein, i.e. the ratio of the therapeutically active agent to the stabilizing agents is 1:0.01 to 1:25 and 10% w/w -80% w/w of diluent; 0.1% w/w – 10% w/w of disintegrant, and 0.1% w/w – 5% w/w of lubricant. It is well-settled, however, that even a slight overlap in range establishes a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Accordingly, since an overlap plainly exists here, it would have been obvious to have selected values within the overlap, consistent with the reasoning of the Peterson decision.
In regard to the alleged unexpected results of compositions prepared within the claimed ranges consistently provided reduced nitrosamine impurity formation and improved stability across multiple active pharmaceutical ingredients. The reference appears to similar properties since it teaches the amount of nitrosamine impurity after exposure of the pharmaceutical composition to 40°C/75% RH for a period of six months is less than about 50 ppm when packed in high density polyethylene bottle, blister pack or any other finished container ([0010]).
Even, assuming, purely arguendo, that unexpected results had been shown, Applicant’s claims encompass more compounds, i.e. stabilizing agents and pharmaceutically acceptable excipients, than that disclosed by Examples 5-12 in the specification, therefore the examples are not commensurate in scope with the instant claims.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 15, 17, 18, 22, 24, 25, 46 and 47-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan et al. (US Patent Pub. 2023/0133326) in view of Fassihi et al. (US Patent Pub. 2002/0061332).
Khan et al. differs from the instant claims insofar as they do not disclose a composition comprising an amino acid.
Fassihi et al. disclose a composition comprising an active agent at a concentration of 120 mg and glycine at a concentration of 120 mg (Example 1). The weight ratio meets the limitation of instant claim 1. Fassihi et al. disclose the amino acid may be used to modulate the solubility and release of the active agent ([0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used amino acid in the composition of Khan motivated by the desire to modulate the solubility and release of the active agent as taught by Fassihi.
Double Patenting
The double patenting rejection is withdrawn since application 18/063460 is abandoned.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NANNETTE HOLLOMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612