Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim16 and 18-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 is claimed to depend on claim 16, examiner will examine under the assumption that it is dependent on claim 15.
Claims 18-20 recites the limitation "leg element" in claims 18-20. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-16, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20080238032 A1 ("Ishikawa").
Claim 11: Ishikawa teaches a footrest apparatus for a tilting vehicle arrangeable on a vehicle component (6) of the tilting vehicle, comprising: at least one receiving unit (16) arranged in or on the vehicle component (para. 26, lines 7-10) and comprising at least one opening (18), through which opening the receiving unit is accessible from outside (Figs. 2 and 3); at least one footrest (7) transferable from a support position, in which a foot of a user of the tilting vehicle is supportable on the footrest (Fig. 2; support position is when 7 is folded out to support leg), into a storage position (Fig. 3 is when 7 is being folded into 16), in which the footrest is pushed entirely or at least partially through the opening into the receiving unit so as to be arranged in the receiving unit completely or at least with a region which is larger than in the support position (para. 27, lines 6-9; Figs. 2 and 3).
Claim 12: Ishikawa teaches the limitations of claim 11 as noted above. Ishikawa further teaches the footrest apparatus, wherein the at least one footrest (7) comprises a leg element (12) arranged such that an engage-behind portion is located in the receiving unit in the storage position and in the support position (Fig. 2), and the at least one footrest further comprises a support element (13) arranged at an end of the leg element which faces away from the engage-behind portion and, at least in the support position (Fig. 2), extends obliquely with respect to the leg element and on which the foot of the user of the tilting vehicle is supportable in the support position (para. 32, lines 1-7).
Claim 13: Ishikawa teaches the limitations of claim 12 as noted above. Ishikawa further teaches the footrest apparatus, wherein the leg element (12) and the support element (13) of the footrest (7) form an integral, common component (para. 31, lines 3-5; Fig. 2).
Claim 14: Ishikawa teaches the limitations of claim 12 as noted above. Ishikawa further teaches the footrest apparatus, wherein the support element (13) is arranged on the leg element (12) immovably relative to the leg element and positionally fixed (para. 31, lines 3-5; Fig. 2), into a folding position, in which a free end of the support element is moved in the direction of the leg element with respect to the support position (Fig. 3).
Claim 15: Ishikawa teaches the limitations of claim 12 as noted above. Ishikawa further teaches the footrest apparatus, wherein the receiving unit (16) comprises a wedge-shaped contact portion which is adjacent to the opening (18) and on a first surface of which the leg element lies with its engage-behind portion in the support position so as to form an engagement from behind with respect to the opening and, on a second surface of which, that is adjacent to the first surface, the leg element lies extensively at least in sections in the support position (Fig. 4).
Claim 16: Ishikawa teaches the limitations of claim 15 as noted above. Ishikawa further teaches the footrest apparatus, wherein the receiving unit (16) comprises a stop portion (stepped part of 2; Fig. 4) which is arranged on a side of the opening lying opposite the wedge-shaped contact portion and on which the leg element lies extensively or linearly in the support position (para. 29, lines 1-6).
Claim 21: Ishikawa teaches the limitations of claim 11 as noted above. Ishikawa further teaches the footrest apparatus, further comprising: at least one mechanically (2; Fig. 4) or magnetically effective securing device by which the at least one footrest (7) is secured releasably against moving in the storage position, wherein the at least one footrest is released from being secured when a retaining force of the securing device is exceeded, and is transferred into the support position (para. 37, lines 14-21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20080238032 A1 ("Ishikawa") in view of US 5997023 A ("Sauter").
Claim 18: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 11 as noted above. Ishikawa does not teach the footrest apparatus, wherein the leg element of the at least one footrest comprises a solid profile or a hollow profile.
However, Sauter in a similar field of art teaches the footrest apparatus, wherein the leg element (12) of the at least one footrest comprises a solid profile or a hollow profile (hollow outer wall 439 a and b; Fig. 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Ishikawa with the features of Sauter. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as Sauter teaches a hollow profile can be use to accommodate "folding foot pegs or foot pegs that can be expanded from a telescoped position to an extended position." (col. 1, lines 38-40)
Claim 20: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 18 as noted above. Sauter further teaches the footrest apparatus, wherein the leg element comprising the hollow profile comprises at least two leg portions (439 a and b, 437 a and b) which are telescopic one inside the other (outer wall 439, inner wall 437), wherein the leg element comprises its longest extent in the support position and its shortest extent in the storage position (Fig. 4, leg for "a" components on left show storage position while for "b" components on right show support position).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim17 and 19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: None of the references, either alone or in combination, disclose all of the limitations of the claims. Specifically, with regard to dependent claim
Conclusion
/A.R.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3618
/MINNAH L SEOH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3618