DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 are pending in the application.
Examiner’s Note: The examiner has cited particular passages including column and line numbers, paragraphs as designated numerically and/or figures as designated numerically in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claims, other passages, paragraphs and figures of any and all cited prior art references may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing an eventual response, to fully consider the context of the passages, paragraphs and figures as taught by the prior art and/or cited by the examiner while including in such consideration the cited prior art references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention. MPEP 2141.02 VI: “PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS."
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/19/2024was filed after the mailing date of the first office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claim recites “an electromagnet configured to monitor the opening and/or closing of said valve.” The specification is silent regarding an electromagnet configured to monitor the opening and/or closing of said valve. The specification merely stated that “an electromagnet configured to control the opening and/or closing of said valve.” The examiner will assume that an electromagnet configured to control the opening and/or closing of said valve.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claim recites “said monitoring unit.” However, the specification is completely silent with regarding to this monitoring unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (b)
Claim 13 recites the limitation "said monitoring unit " in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements. The claim merely repeats the limitations of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8, 10, 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hong Chang KR20170089049 A (“Hong”)1.
Regarding claim 1, Hong discloses a regulating device [90] for the humidity level for a heating, ventilation and/or air-conditioning system, said system being configured to regulate the temperature of a volume and comprising at least one air ventilation circuit [ventilation fan 12] that generates an air flow into said volume,
[0021] 2 shows an air conditioner according to the present invention and includes an indoor unit 10 provided with an evaporator 11 and a ventilation fan 12 and an outdoor unit 20 provided with a compressor 21 and a radiator 22 The constitution is the same as the conventional one.
[0022] The evaporator 11 and the ventilating fan 12 are provided inside the case 13. The indoor unit 10 is provided with a case 13 having a suction port 13a and an exhaust port 13b formed in the periphery thereof. The indoor air sucked into the inlet port 13a is cooled while being passed through the evaporator 11, and then is discharged to the room through the exhaust port 13b.
characterized in that said device comprises:
a humidity sensor [70] configured to measure the humidity level in said volume temperature-controlled by said heating, ventilation and/or air-conditioning system;
[0042] The control unit 90 receives the signal of the humidity sensor 70 and operates the water supply unit 80 to supply moisture to the room air when the humidity of the room air falls below the reference humidity.
a water supply device [15] to said ventilation circuit, so that the water is evaporated by the air flow generated by said ventilation circuit;
[0028] The heat exchanger 15 is formed in the same shape as a general heat radiator 22 and has a water supply port 15a connected to the water storage tube 14 through a water supply pipe 15b at its periphery, And a drain pipe 15d extending outdoors to the drain pipe 15c is connected to the drain pipe 15c.
[0037] The water supply means 80 includes a spray nozzle 81 provided in an exhaust port 13b of the case 13 and a condenser water supply means provided in the water collecting tube 14 for supplying condensed water stored in the water collecting tube 14 to the spray nozzle And a water supply pump 82 for supplying the water to the indoor space through the exhaust port 13b when the water supply pump 82 is driven and the condensed water is sprayed from the spray nozzle 81, By supplying moisture, the humidity in the air can be improved.
wherein said water supply device brings water depending on the value of the humidity level measured by said relative humidity sensor.
[0045] In addition, when the humidity of the indoor air is lower than the reference level, the control unit 90 operates the water supply means 80 to raise the humidity of the indoor air, so that the humidity of the indoor air is excessively lowered There is an advantage that it can be prevented.
[0017] According to another aspect of the present invention, there is provided an air conditioner comprising: a humidity sensor (70) provided in the air inlet (13a) to measure the humidity of indoor air sucked into the air inlet (13a) And a water supply pump 82 provided in the water collection tube 14 and supplying condensed water stored in the water collection tube 14 to the spray nozzle 81. The water supply pump 82 discharges the water to the discharge port 13b Wherein the control unit (90) receives a signal from the humidity sensor (70), and when the humidity of the room air drops below a reference level, the water supply means (80) 80) is operated to increase the humidity of the indoor air by supplying moisture to the air.
Regarding claim 2, Hong discloses characterized in that said water supply device is configured to bring water from condensates [par. 0018].
Regarding claim 8, Hong discloses said water supply device comprises a tank to hold the water from said water supply device [see fig. 3 – container 14].
Regarding claim 10, Hong discloses said tank comprises an overflow system to evacuate the excess water when the water exceeds a preset quantity or level of water [see par. 0034, 0044].
Regarding claim 13, Hong discloses said monitoring unit is located in said heating, ventilation and/or air-conditioning system or in the volume temperature-regulated by said heating, ventilation and/or air-conditioning system, for example in an interface box [See fig. 3 and 4].
Regarding claim 14, Hong discloses said system comprising at least a ventilation circuit, characterized in that said system comprises a regulating device [90] for the humidity rate according to any one of the previous claim 1 [See fig. 3-4].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-7, 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Conrad et al. US Pub. No. 2022/0034529 (“Conrad”).
Regarding claim 3, Hong teaches characterized in that said water supply device is configured to bring water from condensates. Hong does not teach said water supply device is configured to bring water from a water circuit.
Conrad teaches another a regulating device [humidification unit 164 - see fig. 2] for the humidity level for a heating, ventilation and/or air-conditioning system [100] said system being configured to regulate the temperature of a volume and comprising at least one air ventilation circuit [air blower 132] that generates an air flow into said volume. The regulating device includes a water inlet 202 and a mist outlet 204. The humidification unit 164 is operable to receive liquid water from the inlet 202, generate water vapor (i.e., mist) from the liquid water, and discharge water mist through the mist outlet 204. In various embodiments, the humidification unit 164 can be positioned within the fan coil 100 so that when the humidification unit 164 is actuated, water can be provided to the air in the air flow path 136 [par. 0097]. Specifically, Conrad teaches said water supply device is configured to bring water from a water circuit.
[0100] In various embodiments, the boiler 206 can be filled and drained through the inlet 202. As exemplified in FIG. 7, the boiler 206 may receive liquid water from a first water line 192 and discharge liquid water into a second water line 194. The first water line 192 may be fluidly coupled to a water supply, such as a municipal water line (e.g., a water line in an apartment or condominium) or a reservoir of water (e.g. water tank) external to fan coil apparatus 100. The second water line 194 may be fluidly coupled to a water drain, such as a municipal sewage line or an effluent water storage.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Hong with said water supply device is configured to bring water from a water circuit of Conrad. The motivation for doing so would has been to ensure an independent and reliable water supply that is available on demand regardless of the water condition from condensates which may not be available.
Regarding claim 4, Conrad teaches said water supply device comprises a valve that is configured to regulate the quantity of supplied water for evaporation by the air flow generated by said ventilation circuit [par. 0101 - an inlet valve 196 regulates the supply of liquid water to the boiler 206 and an outlet valve 198 regulates the discharge of liquid water from the boiler 206. The inlet and outlet valves 196 and 198 each have an open position in which water is allowed to flow past the valve, and a closed position in which the valve prevents the flow of water].
Regarding claim 5, Conrad teaches the valve comprises a device to supply water by vaporization or evaporation, or a drip type device [see par. 0101-0102]
Regarding claim 6, Conrad teaches said valve is setup vertically and comprises an electromagnet configured to monitor the opening and/or closing of said valve [see par. 0102 - an electrical valve (e.g. a solenoid valve)]
Regarding claim 7, Conrad teaches said valve comprises a size orifice of “flow restrictor” type, a laminar tube and/or a filter [see par. 0101, 0104-0105].
Regarding claim 11, Conrad teaches said water supply device comprises a sprinkler and/or tube [202] configured to deliver the water to a preset zone of said tank [206].
Regarding claim 12, Conrad teaches the regulating device comprises an electronic monitoring unit configured to monitor the amount of water brought by said water supply device as a function of the humidity value as measured by said humidity sensor [par. 0101, 0111, 0117].
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong as applied to claims 1+8 above.
Regarding claim 9, Hong does not expressly teach said tank comprises a foam, a sponge or a porous material. However, Examiner takes official notice such feature is old and well known in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would motivate to provide such feature in said tank to prevent rapid evaporating or splashing of water,
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong as applied to claim 1+14 above, and further in view of Van De Vanter U.S. Patent No. 10,393,443 (“Van”).
Regarding claim 15, Hong does not expressly teach characterized in that it comprises a phase change material configured to store or release calories.
Van teaches a cooling system incorporates a return air duct, phase change module, first exhaust duct, second exhaust duct, HVAC module and duct extending from the phase change module to the HVAC module. Specifically, Van teaches characterized in that it comprises a phase change material configured to store or release calories [see Col. 3 lines 24-50; Col. 4 lines 26-40].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Hong with a phase change material configured to store or release calories of Van. The motivation for doing so would has been to improve system efficiency, reducing energy costs, and stabilizing indoor temperatures.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Pub. No. 2020/0096219 to Allegretti et al. teach a climate generator adapted to produce a flow of air at controlled temperature and at relative humidity values (tc, ic) is described, which includes a bubbler (100) which receives a flow of air to be conditioned (Ga), heat exchangers (120) associated with the bubbler (100) to adjust the temperature of the water volume (W) of the bubbler and/or to provide an amount of latent heat of evaporation to the aforesaid volume of water (W); and heaters (180) for heating the flow of air at the dew point (Gb) exiting from the bubbler (100) to the controlled temperature value of the flow of air, wherein the temperature of the volume of water (W) is established as a function of the controlled temperature and relative humidity values (tc, ic), so that the heating of the flow of air at the dew point (Gb) from the temperature of the water volume (W) to the controlled temperature value determines a decrease in the relative humidity (ic) of the flow of air to the controlled relative humidity value.
U.S. Patent No. 10,544,952 to Jang et al. teach An air conditioner and a method of controlling the same are disclosed. The air conditioner includes a controller configured to determine a target evaporation pressure based on information sensed by an outdoor temperature sensor. The controller determines whether the determined target evaporation pressure is changed, based on a difference between a value sensed by an indoor temperature sensor and a set temperature of an indoor space and a value sensed by an indoor humidity sensor.
VINCENT H TRAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2115
/VINCENT H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115
1 IDS filed on 07/19/2024.