FIRST NON-FINAL REJECTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 2/3/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Peachey et al. GB 2248723.
With respect to clam 1, Peachey teaches a safety mat (switch tile, figure 1), comprising: a pressure-sensitive switch mat (switch plates 2, figure 1) having a surface formed of a flexible sheet and configured to detect presence or absence of a load ( switch tile may be made of stainless steel sheets, page 4); a step board (plate 7) disposed on the pressure-sensitive switch mat (page 4, figure 4); and a plurality of load transferring members (integral downward extending studs 5, figure 1) arranged at intervals between the pressure-sensitive switch mat and the step board (figure 1), wherein a load acting on the step board is detected by the pressure-sensitive switch mat via the plurality of load transferring members (switch is sensitive to pressure, page 2 and page 4).
With respect to claim 2, Peachey teaches wherein the load transferring member is made of rubber or metal (studs 5 may be polyethylene, PVC or Nylon, page 4).
With respect to claim 3, Peachey teaches wherein the step board is made of an aluminum plate or a stainless steel plate or a steel plate (metal plate 7, page 4).
With respect to claim 4, Peachey teaches wherein the step board is provided with a plurality of reinforcing ribs (interpreted as the area of the cover 4 that supports the studs 5 and which the studs 5 protrude from, figure 1), and the plurality of load transferring members are fixed to the reinforcing ribs (figure 1).
With respect to claim 5, Peachey teaches a bottom board having an area larger than that of the pressure-sensitive switch mat and disposed below the pressure-sensitive switch mat (tray 1 is larger than the switch plate 2, figure 1); and a plurality of elastic support members (link 6, figure 1), wherein the plurality of elastic support members are provided on the bottom board while avoiding the pressure-sensitive switch mat, and support the step board (the cover 4 is flexibly secured to tray 1 by links 6 thereby retaining the switch within the tile assembly, page 4), and wherein the elastic support members are configured to be compressed when a load is applied to the step board (links 6 may compress with a load, figure 1).
With respect to claim 6, Peachey teaches wherein the elastic support member is a spring (links 6 are interpreted as being springs, page 4, figure 1).
Conclusion
FREDDIE KIRKLAND III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2855
/Freddie Kirkland III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855 5/13/2026