DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed to date have been considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to the applicant argument that the prior art does not teach:
Breaking down an image into sub-images sending them over a data-channel and then reconstructing the sub-images into one whole image and then displaying the image to a user.
The examiner respectfully disagrees:
While the applicant might understandably argue the distinction between the instant inventions image and sub-images, and those of the prior arts high res foveal image and low res peripheral image, the fact of the matter is these are two images one with a high resolution focused FOV and one of a low resolution peripheral FOV, the two images while similar have different focuses, and could be construed as a high res sub-image of the overall low res image. As the limitations are silent with respect to how many sub-images, whether the images overlap and whether or not any of the images may be a full image, the rejection is believed to be proper with regards to the sub-images as well as transfer and reconstruction of the two images for display by the user.
Therefore, at this time the rejection is believed to be proper and has been restated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eash (US 20200310145) herein after referred to as D1.
With regard to claim 1, D1 teaches a method for transferring an image over an angularly bandlimited optical data channel, in at least (fig. 5); comprising: defining a plurality of sub-images ([0055]; Foveal image and field image; [0090]; this sub-system has intermediate optical elements. In one embodiment, these intermediate optical elements include a micro-lens array) that together make up an original image (510, Foveal display panel) to be transferred over the angularly bandlimited optical data channel (waveguide 580), wherein each of the sub-images have a field-of-view (FOV) ([0090]; manipulate FOV, and micro-lens array) less than a FOV of the original image (Foveal display panel 510 and [0090]; manipulate the FOV or focus of the image. In one embodiment, this sub-system has intermediate optical elements. In one embodiment, these intermediate optical elements include a micro-lens array; the micro-lens array naturally having a smaller FOV than that of the original image) and is able to be transferred through the data channel (532 virtual image of foveal display); generating the sub-images ([0090]; microlenses; used to create multiple sub images from the original image) from the original image (510, Foveal display panel) such that the sub-images are able to be transferred (535; transferred through final optics) into the data channel (580) using (i) time multiplexing ([0044]; One embodiment of using a single display per eye for both foveal and field displays utilizes polarization and time multiplexing.) and (ii) wavelength and/or polarization multiplexing ([0044]; One embodiment of using a single display per eye for both foveal and field displays utilizes polarization and time multiplexing.) such that the sub-images ([0090]; microlenses; used to create multiple sub images from the original image) are spatially superimposed (532, virtual image) while traversing the optical data channel (580); transferring the spatially superimposed (532) sub-images into (incoupled at 540 and 560) the optical data channel (580); outcoupling (580; waveguide output coupler) the spatially superimposed (532) sub-images from the optical data channel (580); and spatially expanding the outcoupled spatially superimposed (532) sub-images ([0090; microlenses) to reconstruct the original image (510, Foveal display panel) using a wavelength and/or polarization demultiplexing device ([0044]; One embodiment of using a single display per eye for both foveal and field displays utilizes polarization and time multiplexing; and by extension demultiplexing).
With regard to claim 2, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches, a wavelength and diffractive multiplexed expansion of field of view for display devices, in at least (fig. 5); wherein the wavelength and/or polarization ([0044]; One embodiment of using a single display per eye for both foveal and field displays utilizes polarization and time multiplexing; and by extension demultiplexing). demultiplexing device ([0044]) is configured to angularly direct each of the sub-images ([0090]; microlenses) to a designated FOV ([0080], and [0090]) of the original image (510, Foveal display panel) to thereby reconstruct the original image 510, Foveal display panel).
With regard to claim 3, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 2, wherein D1 further teaches, a wavelength and diffractive multiplexed expansion of field of view for display devices, in at least (fig. 5); wherein the wavelength and/or polarization demultiplexing device ([0044]; One embodiment of using a single display per eye for both foveal and field displays utilizes polarization and time multiplexing; and by extension demultiplexing) includes at least a plurality of volume holographic gratings (VHGs) ([0082]; diffractive element is a surface relief grating) arranged one over another (540, 560).
With regard to claim 4, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 3, wherein D1 further teaches, a wavelength and diffractive multiplexed expansion of field of view for display devices, in at least (fig. 5); wherein the wavelength and/or polarization demultiplexing device ([0044]; One embodiment of using a single display per eye for both foveal and field displays utilizes polarization and time multiplexing; and by extension demultiplexing) further includes a polarization sensitive device ([0031]).
With regard to claim 6, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches, a wavelength and diffractive multiplexed expansion of field of view for display devices, in at least (fig. 5); wherein the optical data channel (580) is an image guide device in which the spatially superimposed (532) sub-images undergo total internal reflection (580, waveguide reflects images from incouplers 540 and 560 internally to output coupler).
With regard to claim 7, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 6, wherein D1 further teaches, a wavelength and diffractive multiplexed expansion of field of view for display devices, in at least (fig. 5); wherein the image guide device (580) is incorporated in an augmented reality near-eye device ([0078]).
With regard to claim 8, D1 teaches an optical device, in at least (fig. 5) comprising: a first volume holographic grating (VHG) (element 540, and [0076], [0079], and [0082]) configured to angularly direct a first optical wavelength (510) in a first specified angular direction ([0070; one direction, other direction) without interacting with at least a second optical wavelength (550); and a second volume holographic grating (VHG) (560) arranged to receive the second optical wavelength (550) after traversing the first VHG (540) and being configured to angularly direct the second optical wavelength (550) in a second specified angular direction ([0070; one direction, other direction) without interacting with at least the first optical wavelength (510).
With regard to claim 9, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 8, wherein D1 further teaches, a wavelength and diffractive multiplexed expansion of field of view for display devices, in at least (fig. 5); further comprising a polarization sensitive device ([0031]) configured to direct the first optical wavelength (510) having a first polarization state ([0044]) in a third specified angular direction ([0070; one direction, other direction) and direct the second optical wavelength (550) having a second polarization state ([0044]) orthogonal to the first polarization state ([0044]) in a fourth specified angular direction ([0070; one direction, other direction).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eash (US 20200310145) herein after referred to as D1 as applied to claims 4 and 9 respectively, and further in view of Hudman (US20210247611) herein after referred to as D2.
With regard to claim 5, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 4, wherein D1 does not expressly disclose wherein the polarization sensitive device is a wire grid polarizer.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches a polarization compensation device with wire grid polarizer for head mounted display systems, in at least (fig. 5); wherein the polarization sensitive device is a wire grid polarizer (522).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with the wire grid polarizer of D2 for the purpose of providing a polarization optic with a smaller form factor.
With regard to claim 10, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 9, wherein D1 does not expressly disclose wherein the polarization sensitive device is a wire grid polarizer.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches a polarization compensation device with wire grid polarizer for head mounted display systems, in at least (fig. 5); wherein the polarization sensitive device is a wire grid polarizer (522).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with the wire grid polarizer of D2 for the purpose of providing a polarization optic with a smaller form factor.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GRANT A GAGNON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BALRAM T PARBADIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872