DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment to the claims have overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as stated in the last Office action mailed on 6/4/26.
Claim Status
Claims 2-4 and 6-8 are pending and being examined on their merits. Claims 1 and 5 have been newly canceled, and claims 6-8 have been newly added. Claim 2 has been amended to be now the independent/parent claim, requiring the specific type of grain to be oats and a drying step not previously required in claim 1, where the oats are cut after drying or where the oats are cut before steaming. Claims 3-4 have been amended to update dependency and terminology. New claims 6-7 further limits claim 2 to specific sequential order of processing the oats, and new claim 8 includes part of the limitations and features of canceled claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation " the cooked processed grain oat food material" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. While claim recites “cooking the processed oat food material”, there is no prior recitation of “a cooked processed grain oat food material”, (i.e., cooking the processed oat food material to form a cooked processed grain oat food material).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karwowski et al. [US20110223304A1], hereinafter Karwowski, in view of Ning et al. [US6303177B1], hereinafter Ning and Fox [US6238719B1].
Regarding claim 2, Karwowski teaches a method for producing a processed oat food material [Karwowski, 0034], the method comprising:
A steaming step of steaming oats [Karwowski, 0034, 0036, 0118];
A step of drying the oats [Karwowski, 0034, 0036, 0109];
Karwowski does not teaches oats having been shed.
Ning, directed to methods of producing a processed grain food material [Ning, col.2, l.26-28] comprising oats [Ning, col.9, l.55-58], teaches that it is known and common in the art to refine oats by dehulling and cleaning the oats [Ning, col.10, l.15-17], (equivalent to shed as disclosed in [0029] of the instant specification.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to shed the oats as taught by Ning, in the method of producing a processed oat food material of Karwowski, because Ning teaches that shedding grains such as oats is common practice in the art in order to form and provide for a cleaner oat grain processed product [Ning, col.10, l.15-17].
Karwowski in view of Ning do not explicitly teach the oats being steamed after having been polished and shed (the oats been shed and polished before the steaming step).
Fox directed to methods of producing a processed grain food material [Fox, col.5, l.37-38; col.3, l.32-35], teaches a grain material subjected to processes including polishing (equivalent to “pearling” or tumbling over an abrasive surface providing a cleaner grain, since a dehulled grain that is tumbled over an abrasive surface would yield a polished grain) [Fox, col.5, l.3-11; col.3, l.43-45], as well as steaming (step 5, steam cooking) said grain [Fox, col.3, l.51-52] after it has been dehulled (step 1, grain with hull removed or “hulless”) [Fox, col.3, l.38-39] and polished (step 2, referred to as “pearling” by Fox) [Fox, col.3, l.43-45].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to shed and polish the oats (grains) before steaming as taught by Fox, in the method of producing a processed oat food material of Karwowski, because Karwowski already also teaches steam cooking [Karwowski, 0052] grains including oats [Karwowski, 0034; 0036], and because Karwowski in view of Ning also already teach steam cooking oats [Ning, col.9, l.55-58; col.11, l.49-52], dehulling and cleaning oats [Ning, col.10, l.15-17], but Ning simply used the term cleaning [Ning, col.10, l.15-17] instead of polishing, which Fox disclose that pearling (polishing) of grains results in a cleaner processed grain product (i.e., cleaning the grain). Therefore, and ordinarily skilled artisan would recognize the application of shedding (dehulling) and polishing (cleaning, pearling, or tumbling over an abrasive surface) techniques as taught by Fox, in the method of Karwowski, because Ning and Fox teaches that this would provide for a more refined [Ning, col.10, l.15-17; Ning, col.9, l.55-58] and cleaner oat grain product [Fox, col.5, l.3-11].
Karwowski does not teaches a flaking step of flaking the oats to a thickness of 0.4-1.2 mm after the steaming step.
Fox teaches the method of producing a processed grain food material discussed above, wherein the method includes a flaking step of flaking the grain [Fox, col.8, l.8-9] having been steamed in the steaming step [Fox, col.8, l.4-5], to a thickness of 0.007-0.016 in (0.18-0.41 mm, which is a thickness range that falls within the claimed thickness range of 0.4 to 1.2 mm) [Fox, col.8, l.8-10].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a flaking step of flaking the oats to a thickness of 0.18-0.41 mm after the steaming step as taught by Fox, in the method of producing a processed oat food material of Karwowski, because Fox teaches that flaking grains after steaming into various thickness such as 0.18-0.41 mm or 0.25-0.46 mm (0.01-0.018 in) would provide a variety of different processed grain food materials such as instant or quick grain flakes [Fox, col.8, l.8-19].
Karwowski teaches the method for producing a processed oat food material [Karwowski, 0034, 036] discussed above, the method comprising a step of drying the oats to obtain the processed oat food material having a moisture content of less than 20% (2% moisture) [Karwowski, 0034, 0036, 0109], Karwowski in view of Fox teaches a flaking step of flaking the grain [Fox, col.8, l.8-9] having been steamed in the steaming step [Fox, col.8, l.4-5] as discussed above, and further modified Karwowski teaches in the steaming step, the oats having been shed (see Karwowski in view of Ning discussion above) and polished (see Karwowski in view of Fox discussion above) are cut (pre-ground, comminuted, Fitz milled) and then steamed (cut prior to cooking, steam cooking) [Karwowski, 0041, 0052, 0118], see also Example 4 of Karwowski disclosing cut or pre-ground oats product having a moisture of 13% [Karwowski, 0121, Example 4, Table 4].
Regarding claim 4, modified Karwowski teaches the method according to claim 2, further comprising a step of adding water to the steam cooking system, then adding the processed oat food material and cooking the processed oat food material by heating [Karwowski, 0118], but does not explicitly teaches a step of adding water to the processed oat food material.
Ning, teaches methods of producing a processed grain food material [Ning, col.2, l.26-28] comprising oats [Ning, col.9, l.55-58] as discussed above in claim 2, the method comprising a step of adding water (injecting water) to the processed oat food material (to the high oat content dry feed) [Ning, col.17, l.29].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a step of adding water to the processed oat food material as taught by Ning, in the method of producing a processed oat food material of Karwowski, because Ning teaches that this would allow the dry feed oat material to hydrate to the desired level of moisture for further cooking [Ning, col.17, l.29-35].
Regarding claim 6, modified Karwowski teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the method comprises, shedding (dehulled, hulless, oats step 1) the oats [Fox, col.3, l.36-39]; polishing (pearling) the oats [Fox, col.3, l.43]; steaming the oats [Fox, col.3, l.51]; flaking (rolling) the oats [Fox, col.3, l.53]; drying the oats [Fox, col.3, l.55]; and cutting (kibbling) the oats [Fox, col.3, l.49].
While Fox, does not explicitly teach the specific order of shedding; polishing; steaming; flaking; drying; and cutting the oats, nonetheless, Fox does positively teaches all of the steps being claimed, and the only difference is that in Fox the cutting is performed before the steaming instead of being performed as the last step after drying as claimed. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform the cutting either before steaming as taught by Fox, or at the end after drying, based on the amount of water or hydration that is desired for the oat/grain to absorb during the steam cooking process, as already taught by Karwowski [Karwowski, 0041], and/or the desired hydration speed of the oat/grain as taught by Fox (smaller oat/grain particles hydrate faster) [Fox, col.8, l.19-23], which would provide grain based food products to be prepared in different ways to provide different textures and mouthfeel as taught by Ning [Ning, col.1, l.10-12], and wherein said oats/grain [Ning, col.9, l.] processing methods include a final cutting/shredding step after drying as also taught by Ning [Ning, col., l.55-58], since the oat/grain may be dried during previous processing (implicitly teaching a drying step but simply not mentioning a dedicated drying step) and may be dry enough (moisture of 10-18%, less than 20% moisture as claimed) or dried after cooking [Ning, col.12, l.45-62] to then perform a cutting/shredding step either if a dedicated drying step is performed prior or not as taught by Ning [Ning, col.12, l.63; and col.13, l.11-16]. Therefore, it is the Examiner’s position that an ordinarily skilled artisan would recognize the performing of cutting the oats as the last step after drying in the method of modified Karwowski, based on the particular application, food product and/or desired texture and mouthfeel of the finished oat product, based on teachings of Karwowski, Ning, and Fox. Moreover, regarding the steps being in a sequential manner MPEP 2144.04 IV. C. states: “Selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results; In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930)”.
Regarding claim 7, modified Karwowski teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the method comprises, in sequential order: shedding (dehulled, hulless, oats step 1) the oats [Fox, col.3, l.36-39]; polishing (pearling) the oats [Fox, col.3, l.43]; cutting (kibbling) the oats [Fox, col.3, l.49]; steaming the oats [Fox, col.3, l.51]; flaking (rolling) the oats [Fox, col.3, l.53]; and drying the oats [Fox, col.3, l.55].
Regarding claim 8, modified Karwowski teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the cooked processed grain oat food material may contain only one grain such as oats [Karwowski, 0034; claim 36], therefore, equivalent to (wherein the cooked processed grain oat food material contains substantially no grain source other than the processed oat food material, i.e., only oats, as disclosed on [0034] of the instant specification).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karwowski [US20110223304A1], in view of Ning [US6303177B1], and Fox [US6238719B1] as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Lewis et al. [GB2069813A], hereinafter Lewis.
Regarding claim 3, modified Karwowski teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the oats are cut [Karwowski, 0041, 0052, 0118], but does not explicitly teach that the oats are cut into 2 to 15 pieces.
Lewis teaches a processed grain material (i.e., barley), wherein the grain is cut into 3 to 7 pieces [Lewis, abstract, l.129-130], or into 2 to 8 pieces [Lewis, l.87-92, l.126-128].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cut the grains (oats of Karwowski) into 2 to 8 pieces as taught by Lewis, in the method of producing a processed oat food material of Karwowski, because Lewis teaches that by cutting the grains into those amount of pieces would allow to soften and compress the grains into flakes and further processed for use in food applications (i.e., meat filler), for mixing with other edible materials [Lewis, abstract], and provide methods for manufacturing foods from an edible grain/seed [Lewis, l.117-119], providing the method of producing a processed oat food material of Karwowski the capability to be used in a wide variety of processed food application methods using oats.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 2-4, and 6-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The rejection has been amended in view of Applicant amendments, particularly independent claim 2 now requiring the specific type of grain to be oats. The new rejection of record relies on Karwowski [US20110223304A1] for teaching a method for producing a processed oat food material, in view of Ning [US6303177B1] for teaching refining oats by dehulling (shedding) and cleaning the oats, and Fox [US6238719B1] for teaching polishing the oats; cutting the oats; steaming the oats; flaking the oats; and drying the oats, which are processing methods known in the art that are applied to grains such as barley and oats since Karwowski teaches that barley and/or oats may be used alone or in combinations in methods of producing a processed oat food material [Karwowski, 0034].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUIS EUGENIO DIOU BERDECIA/Examiner, Art Unit 1792
/ERIK KASHNIKOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1792