DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the species: formula (I) wherein Sacc is D-glucose, X¹⁺ is Na+, and each R2 is methyl, namely sodium 1,3-dimethyl-2,6-dioxo-5-[(2S,3R,4R,5S,6R)- 3,4,5-trihydroxy-6-(hydroxymethyl)tetrahydro-2H-pyran-2-yl|-1,2,3,6-tetrahydropyrimidin-4-olate in the reply filed on 07/06/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the compounds are directed to a single common structural core and they all share a common utility. This is not found persuasive because FR2899463 discloses the compounds, which renders the common technical feature not special.
The species election is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-7 are ejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 4 recites the broad recitation “organic solvent selected from the group consisting of alcohols, ketones, … or glycerides”, and the claim also recites “and is preferably selected from ethanol, propanol, … or caprate” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 5 recites “the oil is selected from vegetable or animal oils, and natural or synthetic mineral oils,” ”, and the claim also recites the narrower “and is preferably colza oil, essential oil of lavender, palm oil, olive oil, sunflower oil, castor oil, jojoba oil, paraffin or liquefied petroleum.”
Claim 6 recites “between 0.1% and 10%,” and the claim also recites the narrower “preferably from 1% to 5%”.
Claim 7 recites “the group consisting of alcohols, ketones, … or glycerides” and the claim also recites the narrower “and is preferably selected from ethanol, propanol, … or animal oils”, as well as “natural or synthetic mineral oils” and the claim also recites the narrower “and is preferably colza oil, … or liquified petroleum”.
For purposes of examination, the broader range will be considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cavezza (FR2899463).
Cavezza discloses the elected compound, sodium 1,3-dimethyl-2,6-dioxo[(2S,3R,4R,5S,6R)-3,4,5-trihydroxy(hydroxymethyl)tetrahydro-2H-pyranyl]-1,2,3,6-tetrahydropyrimidinolate (see claim 9, compound 1). The working embodiments include a cream having compound 1 at 0.5%, cetyl alcohol at 0.7%, apricot oil at 2% (pg 17).
Examiner notes that instant claims 1-2 are directed to an “agent” which comprises the compound. As such, where the compound is disclosed in the art, the claim is anticipated where the compound is inherently capable of any intended use. See MPEP 2111.02.
With regards to claims 7-9, the compounds are added to an assay which includes glycerol and heated (¶ 16). While these claims are the only claims which actually require the organogel or olegel, and it is not disclosed in the prior art, where the same steps instantly claimed are satisfied, it appears the gel will inherently form absent evidence to the contrary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Cavezza (FR2899463) in view of Seidenkranz et al (Supramol. Chem, 2019, 31:8, 499-507).
Cavezza is discussed above, but in case the translation is not fully correct, is cited to correct any deficiencies.
Seidenkranz teaches organogels may be derived from barbituric acid derivatives but does not disclose the instantly claimed Sacc group.
Where Cavezza discloses barbituric acid derivatives, it would have been obvious to use them to formulate known compositions, such as the organogels taught by Seidenkranz.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN J PACKARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612