CTNF 18/730,424 CTNF 86450 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 17, and 18 - 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Imaoka (United States Patent Application Publication 2008/0158518 A1) . With respect to claims 1, 18, and 20, Imaoka discloses an image display apparatus, system and a projection optical system, comprising :a light source (implicitly disclosed by the light on DS); an image generator (see DS) that modulates light emitted by the light source to generate image light that includes a plurality of pieces of pixel light (disclosed by the structure of DS); and a projection optical system (see LG and DS and the connected optical axis of DS and LG) that includes a lens system that is formed along a reference axis (see an axis that includes lenses LG) at a position at which the generated image light enters the lens system, the lens system (see the operation of LG in fig.3) refracting the plurality of pieces of pixel light included in the generated image light, the lens system (see the operation of LG in fig.3) emitting the plurality of pieces of refracted pixel light, and a reflection optical system (comprised by M1, M2 and F1) that is formed along the reference axis, the reflection optical system (see M1, M2 and F1) being a reflection optical system (see M1, M2 and F1) off which the plurality of pieces of pixel light emitted from the lens system is reflected to be headed for an onto-projection object in a state in which traveling directions of the plurality of pieces of pixel light are aligned (see the surface of SC ), the onto- projection object being an object onto which projection is performed (see SC). With respect to claim 3, Imaoka discloses the image display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the reflection optical system ([0033] : In any of these types of the rear projectors, the projection optical system PO has at least one reflection surface formed of a rotationally asymmetric free curved surface .) includes at least one curved reflecting surface having a rotationally asymmetric shape. With respect to claim 4, Imaoka discloses the image display apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the at least one curved reflecting surface includes a first reflecting surface off which the plurality of pieces of pixel light emitted from the lens system is reflected ([0033]: In any of these types of the rear projectors, the projection optical system PO has at least one reflection surface formed of a rotationally asymmetric free curved surface. ), a second reflecting surface off which the plurality of pieces of pixel light reflected off the first reflecting surface is reflected (see M2), and a third reflecting surface off which the plurality of pieces of pixel light reflected off the second reflecting surface is reflected to be headed for the onto-projection object (See F1). With respect to claim 17, Imaoka discloses the image display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the traveling directions of the plurality of pieces of pixel light (see the light rays in fig.3 from the imaging system DS) correspond to traveling directions of respective principal rays of the plurality of pieces of pixel light (see the principle ray lines of light in fig.3). With respect to claim 19, Imaoka discloses the image display system according to The image display system according to claim 1, wherein the onto-projection object is a hologram screen or a Fresnel lens screen (see FN in fig.8) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imaoka (United States Patent Application Publication 2008/0158518 A1) . With respect to claims 2 and 5, Imaoka discloses the image display apparatus according to claims 1 and 4, but does not disclose wherein a standard deviation of a distribution of the traveling directions of the plurality of pieces of pixel light reflected off the reflection optical system is smaller than 0.16. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Imaoka so that a standard deviation of a distribution of the traveling directions of the plurality of pieces of pixel light reflected off the reflection optical system is smaller than 0.16, since it would predictably improve image quality and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imaoka (United States Patent Application Publication 2008/0158518 A1) and Yokoe (WO 2019077939 A1) . With respect to claim 8, Imaoka discloses the image display apparatus according to claim 3, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one curved reflecting surface is a single curved reflecting surface. Yokoe discloses at least one curved reflecting surface is a single curved. reflecting surface (11 th para. from other embodiments : “ a cylindrical surface shape , or a free curved surface shape including a saddle point It may be formed in Similarly, the reflecting surface 51 of the reflecting portion 50 or the reflecting surface 876 of the convex mirror 875 may be formed into a spherical shape, a cylindrical surface, a free-form surface including a saddle point, or the like ”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Imaoka with the teaching of Yokoe so that the at least one curved reflecting surface is a single curved since the using a cylindrical surface (a single curved surface) instead of freeform curved surface is readily preformed in the art as shown above and since it would predictably facilitate control of aspect ratio of the image. With respect to claim 9, Imaoka in view of Yokoe discloses the image display apparatus according to claim 8, but does not explicitly disclose wherein a standard deviation of a distribution of the traveling directions of the plurality of pieces of pixel light reflected off the single reflecting surface is smaller than 0.13. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Imaoka in view of Yokoe so that a standard deviation of a distribution of the traveling directions of the plurality of pieces of pixel light reflected off the single reflecting surface is smaller than 0.13, since it would predictably improve image quality and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imaoka (United States Patent Application Publication 2008/0158518 A1) and Takao (JP 2006018140 A) . With respect to claim 15 and 16, Imaoka discloses the image display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the image generator emits, to the lens system and along the reference axis, the image light making up a rectangular image that has paired long sides that face each other, and paired short sides that face each other (see para.0068: “ where the image plane shape of the display device surface So is rectangular ”), but does not disclose wherein the lens system includes an adjustment optical component that controls one of an angle of view in a short-side direction in which the short side of the image extends, and an angle of view in a long-side direction in which the long side of the image extends, wherein the adjustment optical component includes a cylindrical lens. Takao discloses the lens system (see the lens of 60) includes an adjustment optical component that controls one of an angle of view in a short-side direction in which the short side of the image extends, and an angle of view in a long-side direction in which the long side of the image extends (see wherein 60 comprises a cylindrical lens, see 17 th para. of best mode: “ The convex mirror 60 is configured to form a part of, for example, a cylindrical lens having an aspherical surface or a free-form surface as an incident surface and a reflecting surface, and the length direction of the convex mirror 60 is made to substantially coincide with the left-right direction of the screen. It is arranged on the front side. ”), wherein the adjustment optical component includes a cylindrical lens (see the cylindrical lens of 60). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Imaoka with the teaching of Takao so that the lens system includes an adjustment optical component that controls one of an angle of view in a short-side direction in which the short side of the image extends, and an angle of view in a long-side direction in which the long side of the image extends, wherein the adjustment optical component includes a cylindrical lens to improve the quality of the image while providing a compact rear projection system . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 6, 7 and 10-14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. With respect to claim 6, the prior art of record does not disclose the image display apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the image generator emits, to the lens system and along the reference axis, the image light making up a rectangular image that has paired long sides that face each other, and paired short sides that face each other, and when a direction that corresponds to a short-side direction in which the short side of the image extends is defined as a first direction, the image being made up by the image light emitted to the lens system, and when a direction that corresponds to a long-side direction in which the long side of the image extends is defined as a second direction, the image being made up by the image light emitted to the lens system, the first reflecting surface has a negative power, the second reflecting surface has a negative power, and the third reflecting surface has a positive power in the case in which the projection optical system is viewed in the first direction, and the first reflecting surface has a positive power, the second reflecting surface has a negative power, and the third reflecting surface has a positive power in the case in which the projection optical system is viewed in the second direction. Claim 7 is allowable as it depend from claim 6. With respect to claim 10, the prior art of record does not disclose the image display apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the image generator emits, to the lens system and along the reference axis, the image light making up a rectangular image that has paired long sides that face each other, and paired short sides that face each other, and when a direction that corresponds to a short-side direction in which the short side of the image extends is defined as a first direction, the image being made up by the image light emitted to the lens system, and when a direction that corresponds to a long-side direction in which the long side of the image extends is defined as a second direction, the image being made up by the image light emitted to the lens system, the single reflecting surface has a positive power in the case in which the projection optical system is viewed in the first direction, and the single reflecting surface has a positive power in the case in which the projection optical system is viewed in the second direction. Claim 11 is allowable as it depend from claim 10. With respect to claim 12, the prior art of record does not disclose the image display apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the image generator emits, to the lens system and along the reference axis, the image light making up a rectangular image that has paired long sides that face each other, and paired short sides that face each other, and when a direction that corresponds to a short-side direction in which the short side of the image extends is defined as a first direction, the image being made up by the image light emitted to the lens system, and when a direction that corresponds to a long- side direction in which the long side of the image extends is defined as a second direction, the image being made up by the image light emitted to the lens system, the projection optical system is configured such that 0.35 < MIN[6a1,6a2] / MAX[6a1,6a2] < 0.96, where 6al represents a certain angle formed when the projection optical system is viewed in the second direction, the certain angle being formed by a piece of first long-side pixel light incident on a final reflecting surface, and the piece of first long-side pixel light reflected off the final reflecting surface, and 6a2 represents another angle formed when the projection optical system is viewed in the second direction, the other angle being formed by a piece of second long-side pixel light incident on the final reflecting surface, and the piece of second long-side pixel light reflected off the final reflecting surface, the piece of first long-side pixel light being a piece of pixel light that is from among the plurality of pieces of pixel light and corresponds to a pixel situated in a middle portion of one of the long sides of the image, the piece of second long-side pixel light being a piece of pixel light that is from among the plurality of pieces of pixel light and corresponds to a pixel situated in a middle portion of another of the long sides of the image, the final reflecting surface being a curved reflecting surface that is included in the at least one curved reflecting surface and off which the plurality of pieces of pixel light is reflected to be headed for the onto-projection object. With respect to claim 13 , the prior art of record does not disclose the image display apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the image generator emits, to the lens system and along the reference axis, the image light making up a rectangular image that has paired long sides that face each other, and paired short sides that face each other, and when a direction that corresponds to a short-side direction in which the short side of the image extends is defined as a first direction, the image being made up by the image light emitted to the lens system, and when a direction that corresponds to a long-side direction in which the long side of the image extends is defined as a second direction, the image being made up by the image light emitted to the lens system, the projection optical system is configured such that -0.1 < 6Ly / 360 < 0.1, where 6Ly represents an intersection angle formed when the projection optical system is viewed in the second direction, the intersection angle being an angle of intersection of a traveling direction of a piece of first long- side pixel light reflected off a final reflecting surface, and a traveling direction of a piece of second long-side pixel light reflected off the final reflecting surface, the piece of first long-side pixel light being a piece of pixel light that is from among the plurality of pieces of pixel light and corresponds to a pixel situated in a middle portion of one of the long sides of the image, the piece of second long-side pixel light being a piece of pixel light that is from among the plurality of pieces of pixel light and corresponds to a pixel situated in a middle portion of another of the long sides of the image, the final reflecting surface being a curved reflecting surface that is included in the at least one curved reflecting surface and off which the plurality of pieces of pixel light is reflected to be headed for the onto-projection object. With respect to claim 14, the prior art of record does not disclose the image display apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the image generator emits, to the lens system and along the reference axis, the image light making up a rectangular image that has paired long sides that face each other, and paired short sides that face each other, and when a direction that corresponds to a short-side direction in which the short side of the image extends is defined as a first direction, the image being made up by the image light emitted to the lens system, and when a direction that corresponds to a long-side direction in which the long side of the image extends is defined as a second direction, the image being made up by the image light emitted to the lens system, a curved reflecting surface that is from among the at least one curved reflecting surface and exhibits a largest difference between a power observed in the case in which the projection optical system is viewed in the first direction and a power observed in the case in which the projection optical system is viewed in the second direction, is a final reflecting surface, the final reflecting surface being a curved reflecting surface that is included in the at least one curved reflecting surface and off which the plurality of pieces of pixel light is reflected to be headed for the onto-projection object. The closest prior art of record, Imaoka, discloses an image display apparatus, system and a projection optical system, comprising :a light source (implicitly disclosed by the light on DS); an image generator (see DS) that modulates light emitted by the light source to generate image light that includes a plurality of pieces of pixel light (disclosed by the structure of DS); and a projection optical system (see LG and DS and the connected optical axis of DS and LG) that includes a lens system that is formed along a reference axis (see an axis that includes lenses LG) at a position at which the generated image light enters the lens system, the lens system (see the operation of LG in fig.3) refracting the plurality of pieces of pixel light included in the generated image light, the lens system (see the operation of LG in fig.3) emitting the plurality of pieces of refracted pixel light, and a reflection optical system (comprised by M1, M2 and F1) that is formed along the reference axis, the reflection optical system (see M1, M2 and F1) being a reflection optical system (see M1, M2 and F1) off which the plurality of pieces of pixel light emitted from the lens system is reflected to be headed for an onto-projection object in a state in which traveling directions of the plurality of pieces of pixel light are aligned (see the surface of SC ), the onto- projection object being an object onto which projection is performed (see SC) but does disclose or render obvious the limitations as claims 6, 7 and 11-14. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JERRY L. BROOKS whose telephone number is (571)270-5711. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9:00-4:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Toan Ton can be reached at 5712722303. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JERRY L BROOKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/730,424 Page 2 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/730,424 Page 3 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/730,424 Page 4 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/730,424 Page 5 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/730,424 Page 6 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/730,424 Page 7 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/730,424 Page 8 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/730,424 Page 9 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/730,424 Page 10 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/730,424 Page 11 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/730,424 Page 12 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/730,424 Page 13 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/730,424 Page 14 Art Unit: 2882