DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A (claims 1-13 and 20) in the reply filed on Oct. 16, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on Oct. 16, 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because reference number 35B is not shown in the drawing figures, but it is understood that the second transmission member 35B is hidden from view in Figs. 1A-5. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jia et al. (CN104015827).
Jai discloses and shows a robot comprising:
a sphere-like outer shell (0) defining an inner cavity;
an axle unit (1-6) including an axle (2-8) connected at its opposed ends to the outer shell, in the inner cavity, and a transmission (2-10, 2-11, 2-13) to transmit a torque to the axle;
a pendulum drive unit (1-8) operatively connected to the axle unit and supported in the outer shell by the axle (Fig. 1), the pendulum drive unit having actuators (1-2, 1-3, 2-1, 2-6) to produce torque, the actuators operatively to the transmission of the axle unit (Fig. 2);
wherein the axle unit and the drive concurrently define a cylindrical joint by which the pendulum drive unit movable in rotation and translation relative to the axle to tilt and drive the sphere-like outer shell via the actuators (paras. 0009-0010)
Cl. 2 – the actuators are bi-directional motors (para. 0049).
Cl. 3 – the bi-directional motors are the same (fig. 2).
Cl. 4 – the robot includes a control unit operating the actuators, such that movements of the pendulum drive unit in rotation and in translation relative to the axle result from a control of directions of rotation of the bi-directional motors (para. 0009).
Cl. 5 – the robot includes a control unit operating the actuators, such that movements of the pendulum drive unit in rotation and in translation relative to the axle result from a control of directions of rotation and/or RPM of the bi-directional motors (para. 0009).
Cl. 6 – the pendulum drive unit includes lead screws (Fig. 2) receiving a drive from the actuators (1-2, 1-3), the lead screws operatively connected to the transmission of the axle unit to transmit the drive to the axle unit (paras. 0010 and 0036).
Cl. 7 – the lead screws are meshed with nuts (left and right of 1-1) of the transmission such that the nuts are rotatable relative to and/or translatable along the lead screws as a function of a drive of the actuators.
Cl. 8 – the nuts are part of circular transmission members (Fig. 3, so as to rotate concurrently with the respective circular transmission members (2-10, 2-13, 2-11).
Cl. 11 – a transmission ratio between the actuators and the axle unit is the same (para. 0036).
Cl. 12 – a frame of the pendulum drive unit is slidingly supported to the axle unit by at least one rail (1-5).
Cl. 13 – the axle unit and the pendulum unit are entirely located in a volume of the inner cavity that is below a top 40% of the inner cavity relative to a vertical diameter of the outer shell (see Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 10 and 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia et al. as applied to claim 1.
Jai discloses and shows the invention of claim 1 as described elsewhere above.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Jai discloses and shows the circular transmission members are gears and not pulleys. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace Jai’s gearing with pulleys since gearing and pulleys are equivalents in the art of torque transfer and the selection of either would have been well within the level of skill in the art. Applicant’s own specification states that gears, geartrains and planetary geartrain are options other than pulleys that can serve as the circular transmission members (para. 0051 of published specification). There is no showing of criticality in requiring pulleys over any other torque transfer mechanism. Regarding the geared pulley and toothed belt of claim 10, one of ordinary skill, knowledge and sense (enough to design, manufacture and use robotics) would have easily recognized that it would be desirous to use those items in lieu of a plain pulley to prevent slippage and have higher efficiency.
Regarding claim 20, Jai does not disclose the transparency or opaqueness of the outer shell. However, having the outer shell to be transparent would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in accordance with MPEP 2144.04(I) which states, “matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art” in citing In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. CN107719500 to Li et al. discloses and shows a robot comprising: a sphere-like outer shell (1) defining an inner cavity; an axle unit including an axle (7) connected at its opposed ends to the outer shell, in the inner cavity, and a transmission (see Fig. 3) to transmit a torque to the axle; a pendulum drive unit operatively connected to the axle unit and supported in the outer shell by the axle, the pendulum drive unit having actuators to produce torque, the actuators operatively connected to the transmission of the axle unit; wherein the axle unit and the pendulum drive unit concurrently define a cylindrical joint by which the pendulum drive unit is movable in rotation and translation relative to the axle to tilt and drive the sphere-like outer shell via the actuators.
/BOBBY RUSHING, JR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618