Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yajima (JP 2020043527 A).
Re claim 1: Yajima discloses a tiltable display screen assembly (monitor arm 100 in fig 1), comprising:
a tiltable support (monitor support 3 in fig 1) configured to be (i.e., functional language) interconnectable to a display screen (monitor M in fig 1);
a multi-angle adjuster (engaging portion 41b in fig 5) having multiple adjustment features (i.e., concave-convex portions arranged over 360 ° so as to form a radial shape from the center of the through hole H22 as shown in fig 5); and
a tilting screen mechanism pivotable relative to the tiltable support, the tilting screen mechanism comprising: a shaft (40b in fig 5), one or more moveable paddles (main arm 21 and auxiliary arm 22 in fig 5) coupled to the shaft, and an adjustment member (engaging portion 42b in fig 5) extending from the shaft and having an end (i.e., inner end facing engaging portion 41b in fig 5) configured to (i.e., functional language) engage with two or more of the multiple adjustment features of the multi-angle adjuster (see figs 8-9) in order to (i.e., functional language) adjust a tilt angle of the tiltable support.
Re claim 2: Yajima discloses the tiltable display screen assembly, wherein the tiltable support comprises a support bracket (pair of projecting walls 312 in fig 5), and wherein the shaft is pivotally mounted (i.e., via screw 401b passing through hole H31 of wall 312 and hole formed inside of the shaft 40b in fig 5) to the support bracket.
Re claim 3: Yajima discloses the tiltable display screen assembly, wherein the support bracket (312) is attached to a mounting member (mounting plate 31 in fig 1) configured to (i.e., functional language) attach to the display screen.
Re claim 4: Yajima discloses the tiltable display screen assembly, wherein the tiltable support (3) comprises a mounting member (mounting plate 31 in fig 1) configured to (i.e., functional language) be attachable to a hand-held device (monitor M in fig 1) comprising the display screen.
Re claim 5: Yajima discloses the tiltable display screen assembly, wherein the mounting member (mounting plate 31 in fig 1) comprises one or more support hooks (311 in fig 1) configured to (i.e., functional language) receive a bottom of the hand-held device.
Re claim 7: Yajima discloses the tiltable display screen assembly, wherein the tiltable support (3) comprises a support bracket (pair of projecting walls 312 in fig 5) and a mounting member (mounting plate 31 in fig 1).
Re claim 8: Yajima discloses the tiltable display screen assembly, wherein the one or more moveable paddles comprise a first moveable paddle (auxiliary arm 22 in fig 5) attached to a first end of the shaft and a second moveable paddle (main arm 21 in fig 5) attached to a second end of the shaft.
Re claim 9: Yajima discloses the tiltable display screen assembly, further comprising a spring (spring 23 positioned around shaft 40a in fig 5) attached to the shaft (i.e., indirectly attached to the shaft 40b via auxiliary arm 22 in fig 5), wherein the spring is attached offset from a rotational axis of the shaft (herein, spring 23 positioned around shaft 40a is offset from a rotation axis of shaft 40b as shown in fig 5).
Re claim 10: Yajima discloses the tiltable display screen assembly, wherein the spring (spring 23 positioned around shaft 40a in fig 5) is further attached (i.e., indirectly attached via auxiliary arm 22 + shaft 40a in fig 5) to a support bracket (312 in fig 5) of the tiltable support.
Re claim 11: Yajima discloses the tiltable display screen assembly, wherein the shaft has axial restraining features (engaging portion 42b) that limit axial motion of the shaft relative to the tiltable support (herein, convex-concave structure of engaging portion 42b engages with convex-concave structure of engaging portion 41b, which is connected via screw 401b to support 312 of monitor support 3; see figs 5, 8-9).
Re claim 12: Yajima discloses the tiltable display screen assembly, wherein the shaft (40b in fig 5) is supported and radially restrained in bearing supports (H31 in fig 5) of a support bracket (312).
Re claim 13: Yajima discloses the tiltable display screen assembly, comprising a stop appendage (grooves 422 in figs 5, 7) extending from the shaft (40b in figs 5, 7) and having an end portion configured to (i.e., functional language) engage with a limit stop (pair of ridges 3121 formed on the inner surface of protruding walls 312 in fig 5) to limit rotation of the shaft relative to the tiltable support (herein, the pair of ridges 3121 formed on the inner surface of protruding walls 312 are accommodated in the pair of grooves 422 in order to limit rotation of the engaging portion 42b to the protruding wall 312 of the monitor support 3).
Re claim 14: Yajima discloses the tiltable display screen assembly, wherein the multi-angle adjuster (engaging portion 41b in fig 5) is coupled (i.e., indirectly coupled) to a base (arm support 1 including a base plate 11, a leg 12, and a support 13 in fig 1, 5), and the multi-angle adjuster comprises two or more steps (see convex-concave structure of 41b in fig 5).
Re claim 15: Yajima discloses the tiltable display screen assembly, wherein the tiltable support (3) is adjustable over a tilt angle of at least 15 degrees (see fig 12).
Re claim 16: Yajima discloses the tiltable display screen assembly, wherein the tiltable support comprises a mounting member (31 in fig 1) and the display screen (monitor M in fig 1) is detachable from the mounting member.
Re claim 18: Yajima discloses the tiltable display screen assembly, wherein the mounting member (31 in fig 1) comprises a mount axis (i.e., axis passing through screw 401b in fig 5), and the mounting member is tiltable about the mount axis (see fig 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yajima (JP 2020043527 A) in view of Chiu (US 20120267491 A1).
Re claim 6: Yajima discloses the tiltable display screen assembly.
Yajima fails to disclose that the mounting member comprises a latch configured to be received in a catch feature on a back surface of the hand-held device.
Chiu discloses a tiltable display screen assembly comprising a mounting member (locking device 10 in figs 5-6) comprising a latch (lip 23 of each of the two locking members 20 in fig 7 and paragraph 35) configured to be received in a catch feature (void 32 in fig 6) on a back surface of a hand-held device (cover 30 of a tablet personal computer 100 in paragraph 30).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the mounting member with a latch configured to be received in a catch feature on a back surface of the hand-held device in order to provide additional means for detachably securing the handheld device to the mounting member for stable support.
Re claim 17: Yajima discloses the tiltable display screen assembly, wherein the mounting member (31 in fig 1) comprises one or more support hooks (311 in fig 1) configured to (i.e., functional language) receive a bottom of the display screen.
Yajima fails to disclose the mounting member comprising a spring-loaded latch configured to be received in a catch feature on a back surface of the display screen.
Chiu discloses a tiltable display screen assembly comprising a mounting member (locking device 10 in figs 5-6) comprising a spring-loaded latch (lip 23 of each of the two locking members 20 in fig 7 and paragraph 35; also see spring 40 in fig 7) configured to be received in a catch feature (void 32 in fig 6) on a back surface of a hand-held device (cover 30 of a tablet personal computer 100 in paragraph 30).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the mounting member with a spring-loaded latch configured to be received in a catch feature on a back surface of the display screen in order to provide additional means for detachably securing the display screen to the mounting member for stable support.
Claim(s) 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yajima (JP 2020043527 A) in view of Janway et al. (US 10655779 B2).
Re claim 19: Yajima discloses a handheld device (monitor M in fig 1), comprising:
a base (arm support 1 including a base plate 11, a leg 12, and a support 13 in fig 1, 5);
a display screen (monitor M in fig 1) rotatably coupled to the base; and
a tiltable display screen assembly interconnected between the base and the display screen, the tiltable display screen assembly comprising:
a tiltable support (monitor support 3 in fig 1) interconnected to the display screen, the tiltable support comprising a support bracket (pair of projecting walls 312 in fig 5) attached to a mounting member (31 in fig 1) configured to (i.e., functional language) attach to the display screen;
a multi-angle adjuster (engaging portion 41b) coupled (i.e., indirectly coupled) to the base, the multi- angle adjuster having multiple adjustment features (i.e., concave-convex portions arranged over 360 ° so as to form a radial shape from the center of the through hole H22 as shown in fig 5) thereon; and
a tilting screen mechanism pivotable relative to the tiltable support, the tilting screen mechanism comprising: a shaft (40b in fig 5), one or more moveable paddles (main arm 21 and auxiliary arm 22 in fig 5) coupled to the shaft, and an adjustment member (422 in fig 5) extending from the shaft and having an end (engaging portion 42b in fig 5) configured to (i.e., functional language) engage with two or more of the multiple adjustment features of the multi-angle adjuster (see figs 8-9) in order to (i.e., functional language) adjust a tilt angle of the display screen relative to the base.
Yajima fails to disclose that the handheld device is a diagnostic analyzer.
Janway discloses a diagnostic analyzer (1920 in fig 10a; see column 97, lines 44-49) supported on a rack (1910 in fig 10a).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to support a diagnostic analyzer on the tiltable display screen assembly of Yajima in order to adjust viewing angle of the display screen of the diagnostic analyzer for the user’s convenience.
Method claim 20: The method steps recited in the claim are obviously necessitated by the device structure as taught by Yajima in view of Janway.
Conclusion
/NIDHI THAKER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841