DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
Claims 1-7 and 10-22 have been examined and rejected. This Office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 08/04/2026, which has been entered in the above identified application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 10, 11, 16, 17, 19, 20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker et al. (US 20140053060 A1, published 02/20/2014), hereinafter Walker, in view of Williams et al. (US 20150234796 A1, published 08/20/2015), hereinafter Williams.
Regarding claim 1, Walker teaches the claim comprising:
A method for split-screen interaction on a mobile terminal, comprising (Walker Figs. 1-10; [0015], a non-transitory computer readable storage medium has stored contents that configure a computing system to perform a method; [0035], software professional 102 is developing the website 104 using a website development environment (WDE) interface 112. The WDE interface 112 is configured for operation on a computing device 114. The computing device 114 may be any type of computing device configured to host an embodiment of the WDE interface 112. For example, the computing device 114 may be a personal computer, a laptop computer, a thin client, a tablet device, or the like; [0098], Certain figures illustrates portions of a non-limiting embodiment of a computing device. The computing device includes operative hardware found in a conventional computing device apparatus such as one or more central processing units (CPU's), volatile and non-volatile memory, serial and parallel input/output (I/O) circuitry compliant with various standards and protocols, wired and/or wireless networking circuitry (e.g., a communications transceiver); [0099], The memory in some cases is a non-transitory computer medium configured to store software instructions arranged to executed by a CPU):
creating a full-screen transparent web view interface on the mobile terminal as a carrier container and loading a hypertext markup language page in the carrier container; setting the HTML page as a split-screen page of a first predetermined split-screen style (Walker Figs. 1-10; [0035], a laptop computer, a thin client, a tablet device, or the like; [0047], the requests are made using Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP), and the web pages are delivered as Hypertext Markup Language (HTML) documents along with any additional content that is called out by the document (e.g., images, style sheets, scripts, functions, and the like); [0089], FIGS. 10a-c illustrate different aspects of a "Store" page of a website. Each of the pages in FIGS. 10a-c are shown as web pages served in a browser window such as browser window 172; [0090-0091], FIG. 10b illustrates an embodiment of the WDE interface 112e after the software professional has clicked the quick action "Create" button 170b. In this case, a first "Create Product" light box 186a is opened. When the first light box 186a is opened, the light box 186a is prominently illuminated on the screen in the browser window, and the area of the browser window 182a behind the light box 186a is shaded. In FIG. 10b, a shaded area 182a is illustrated. The shaded area in FIG. 10B covers the entire background that is no longer in focus, but in some embodiments, only the area generally behind the in-focus window is shaded while other areas, for example area 184, may be left un-shaded. In this way, windows are stacked such that a top window is in focus; the window just previously in focus is shaded with a first level of shading; a window even earlier in focus is shaded with a second, deeper level of shading, and so forth such that each progressive level deeper in the navigation results in earlier windows having a progressively deeper level of shading parallel. The depth or opacity of the shading may be pre-determined or a customizable feature. In some cases, the shading can be performed with different colors or in shades of gray. In the first light box 186a of FIG. 10b, a "Create Category" link 188a to a second light box is illustrated);
loading a full-screen mask and a pop-up split-screen page of a second predetermined split-screen style within the HTML page; and facilitating a communication and an interaction between the split-screen page of the first predetermined split-screen style and the pop-up split-screen page of the second predetermined split-screen style by means of a communication among page components (Walker Figs. 1-10; [0017], forms can be filled in using a series of cascaded light boxes; new structures are formed for managing categories; [0091], In the first light box 186a of FIG. 10b, a "Create Category" link 188a to a second light box is illustrated. The second light box can be opened in many ways; however, for simplicity in FIG. 10b, the second light box is opened with a hyperlink; [0092], FIG. 10c illustrates yet another image of the embodiment of WDE interface 112e. In FIG. 10c, the software professional has followed the "Create Category" link 188a of FIG. 10b. A second light box 186b is opened. The second light box 186b is the "Create Category" light box, and this second light box 186b is cascaded above the first light box 186a; [0093], In FIG. 10c, the area of the browser window behind the light boxes 186a, 186b is now shaded to a different depth 182b. In some embodiments, a first level of shading is represented by a first number "N." A second level of shading is represented by a second number "M." When an area of a web page has a first level of shading overlapped by a second level of shading, the second level of shading includes shading of both the first and second levels in sum (i.e., N+M). If a third level of shading is present, represented by a third number "O," an area of the webpage having all three levels overlapped would be displayed with an even darker shading by the sum, N+M+O. In this example, the level of shading was performed by adding the representative shading level of each layer; [0094], It is understood that any number of light boxes may be cascaded. In different embodiments, any number of shading levels and any desirable formula to combine the shading levels can be implemented; [0095], As another example, each layer may be patterned with a set of parallel lines of a certain diameter. The lines of each layer will have a certain orientation)
However, Walker fails to expressly disclose a hypertext markup language 5 (HTML5) page; the HTML5 page. In the same field of endeavor, Williams teaches:
a hypertext markup language 5 (HTML5) page; the HTML5 page (Williams Figs. 1-5; [0030], The client device (the user's web browser) then renders the dynamically created content as a web modal window. Web modal windows can be created, for example, using capabilities of HTML5 (HyperText Markup Language version 5.0) and CSS3 (Cascading Style Sheets 3.0); [0044], [0044], The HTML5 Presentation Layer 132 an integral part of the user's web browser application that supports rendering the dynamically created content instances. It provides the container that holds the code necessary to display the content instance within a Web Modal Overlay (also called a Web Modal Window) on the user's currently viewed web page. The latest standards for web browsers include a bundle of functionality within the 5th generation of HTML (HTML5). These functions are becoming the de facto standard across the Web and especially for mobile Web; [0054], FIGS. 4A-4F are example screen displays of example content dynamically created, managed, and distributed by an example Environment Context-based Mobile Content Management System; [0055], In FIG. 4A, screen display 400 is shown currently rendered by a browser application on a smartphone; [0056], FIG. 4B illustrates the resulting content when the user has selected the call control 405 in content instance 402 in FIG. 4A. Here, the content instance 402 shows that the user has selected the call store content 410 via call button 413. The phone numbers for the various locales where the offer shown in FIG. 4A is current are shown in list 412; [0057], FIG. 4C illustrates the resulting content instances when the user has selected the map control 406 in content instance 402 in FIG. 4A to request navigation directions; [0058], In FIG. 4E, detailed information for the content shown in the content instance 402 in FIG. 4A is displayed as a resulted of the user selecting selectable information UI control 423)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated a hypertext markup language 5 (HTML5) page; the HTML5 page e as suggested in Williams into Walker. Doing so would be desirable because the adoption of multi-touch mobile devices has generated the fastest rate of technology adoption in history (see Williams [0002]). The deep adoption of mobile smart devices has created a need for a change in communication models. Unfortunately, for engaging people on the go without an established relationship, the current communication models don't work well (see Williams [0002]). Unfortunately, our technology and tools have not caught up to the way modern consumers want their mobile communication delivered. In particular, there is a real problem in the mobile communication cycle that is not being addressed, leading to disjointed and wasteful experiences (see Williams [0004]). Additionally, the HTML5 Presentation Layer 132 an integral part of the user's web browser application that supports rendering the dynamically created content instances. It provides the container that holds the code necessary to display the content instance within a Web Modal Overlay (also called a Web Modal Window) on the user's currently viewed web page. The latest standards for web browsers include a bundle of functionality within the 5th generation of HTML (HTML5). These functions are becoming the de facto standard across the Web and especially for mobile Web. In particular, HTML5 supports multi-touch interfaces better with gesture navigation, more animation effects, synchronous data loading, smoother video performance and more connections to native features of modern smartphones (see Williams [0005]).
Regarding claims 10 and 16, claims 10 and 16 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 1. Consequently, claims 10 and 16 are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 2, Walker in view of Williams teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein creating the full-screen transparent web view interface on the mobile terminal as the carrier container and loading the HTML page in the carrier container comprises: creating a full-screen web view as the carrier container; creating a request for the HTML page, and loading the HTML page in the carrier container in response to the request; and after setting a background of the full-screen web view to be transparent, adding the full-screen web view with the transparent background to an interface of the mobile terminal, wherein the full-screen web view with the transparent background is configured to load the HTML page (Walker Figs. 1-10; [0017], forms can be filled in using a series of cascaded light boxes; [0035], a laptop computer, a thin client, a tablet device, or the like; [0091], In the first light box 186a of FIG. 10b, a "Create Category" link 188a to a second light box is illustrated. The second light box can be opened in many ways; however, for simplicity in FIG. 10b, the second light box is opened with a hyperlink; [0092], FIG. 10c illustrates yet another image of the embodiment of WDE interface 112e. In FIG. 10c, the software professional has followed the "Create Category" link 188a of FIG. 10b. A second light box 186b is opened. The second light box 186b is the "Create Category" light box, and this second light box 186b is cascaded above the first light box 186a; [0093], In FIG. 10c, the area of the browser window behind the light boxes 186a, 186b is now shaded to a different depth 182b. In some embodiments, a first level of shading is represented by a first number "N." A second level of shading is represented by a second number "M." When an area of a web page has a first level of shading overlapped by a second level of shading, the second level of shading includes shading of both the first and second levels in sum (i.e., N+M). If a third level of shading is present, represented by a third number "O," an area of the webpage having all three levels overlapped would be displayed with an even darker shading by the sum, N+M+O. In this example, the level of shading was performed by adding the representative shading level of each layer; [0094], It is understood that any number of light boxes may be cascaded. In different embodiments, any number of shading levels and any desirable formula to combine the shading levels can be implemented; [0095], As another example, each layer may be patterned with a set of parallel lines of a certain diameter. The lines of each layer will have a certain orientation)
Williams teaches: the HTML5 page (Williams Figs. 1-5; [0030], The client device (the user's web browser) then renders the dynamically created content as a web modal window. Web modal windows can be created, for example, using capabilities of HTML5 (HyperText Markup Language version 5.0) and CSS3 (Cascading Style Sheets 3.0); [0044], [0044], The HTML5 Presentation Layer 132 an integral part of the user's web browser application that supports rendering the dynamically created content instances. It provides the container that holds the code necessary to display the content instance within a Web Modal Overlay (also called a Web Modal Window) on the user's currently viewed web page. The latest standards for web browsers include a bundle of functionality within the 5th generation of HTML (HTML5). These functions are becoming the de facto standard across the Web and especially for mobile Web; [0054], FIGS. 4A-4F are example screen displays of example content dynamically created, managed, and distributed by an example Environment Context-based Mobile Content Management System; [0055], In FIG. 4A, screen display 400 is shown currently rendered by a browser application on a smartphone; [0056], FIG. 4B illustrates the resulting content when the user has selected the call control 405 in content instance 402 in FIG. 4A. Here, the content instance 402 shows that the user has selected the call store content 410 via call button 413. The phone numbers for the various locales where the offer shown in FIG. 4A is current are shown in list 412; [0057], FIG. 4C illustrates the resulting content instances when the user has selected the map control 406 in content instance 402 in FIG. 4A to request navigation directions; [0058], In FIG. 4E, detailed information for the content shown in the content instance 402 in FIG. 4A is displayed as a resulted of the user selecting selectable information UI control 423)
Regarding claims 11 and 17, claims 11 and 17 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 2. Consequently, claims 11 and 17 are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 4, Walker in view of Williams teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein loading a full-screen mask and a pop-up split-screen page of the second predetermined split-screen style within the HTML page comprises: adding a full-screen mask component within the HTML page, and loading the full-screen mask by means of the full-screen mask component; and displaying the pop-up split-screen page of the second predetermined split-screen style on the full-screen mask in a pop-up display manner (Walker Figs. 1-10; [0017], forms can be filled in using a series of cascaded light boxes; [0091], In the first light box 186a of FIG. 10b, a "Create Category" link 188a to a second light box is illustrated. The second light box can be opened in many ways; however, for simplicity in FIG. 10b, the second light box is opened with a hyperlink; [0092], FIG. 10c illustrates yet another image of the embodiment of WDE interface 112e. In FIG. 10c, the software professional has followed the "Create Category" link 188a of FIG. 10b. A second light box 186b is opened. The second light box 186b is the "Create Category" light box, and this second light box 186b is cascaded above the first light box 186a; [0093], In FIG. 10c, the area of the browser window behind the light boxes 186a, 186b is now shaded to a different depth 182b. In some embodiments, a first level of shading is represented by a first number "N." A second level of shading is represented by a second number "M." When an area of a web page has a first level of shading overlapped by a second level of shading, the second level of shading includes shading of both the first and second levels in sum (i.e., N+M). If a third level of shading is present, represented by a third number "O," an area of the webpage having all three levels overlapped would be displayed with an even darker shading by the sum, N+M+O. In this example, the level of shading was performed by adding the representative shading level of each layer; [0094], It is understood that any number of light boxes may be cascaded. In different embodiments, any number of shading levels and any desirable formula to combine the shading levels can be implemented; [0095], As another example, each layer may be patterned with a set of parallel lines of a certain diameter. The lines of each layer will have a certain orientation)
Williams teaches: the HTML5 page (Williams Figs. 1-5; [0030], The client device (the user's web browser) then renders the dynamically created content as a web modal window. Web modal windows can be created, for example, using capabilities of HTML5 (HyperText Markup Language version 5.0) and CSS3 (Cascading Style Sheets 3.0); [0044], [0044], The HTML5 Presentation Layer 132 an integral part of the user's web browser application that supports rendering the dynamically created content instances. It provides the container that holds the code necessary to display the content instance within a Web Modal Overlay (also called a Web Modal Window) on the user's currently viewed web page. The latest standards for web browsers include a bundle of functionality within the 5th generation of HTML (HTML5). These functions are becoming the de facto standard across the Web and especially for mobile Web; [0054], FIGS. 4A-4F are example screen displays of example content dynamically created, managed, and distributed by an example Environment Context-based Mobile Content Management System; [0055], In FIG. 4A, screen display 400 is shown currently rendered by a browser application on a smartphone; [0056], FIG. 4B illustrates the resulting content when the user has selected the call control 405 in content instance 402 in FIG. 4A. Here, the content instance 402 shows that the user has selected the call store content 410 via call button 413. The phone numbers for the various locales where the offer shown in FIG. 4A is current are shown in list 412; [0057], FIG. 4C illustrates the resulting content instances when the user has selected the map control 406 in content instance 402 in FIG. 4A to request navigation directions; [0058], In FIG. 4E, detailed information for the content shown in the content instance 402 in FIG. 4A is displayed as a resulted of the user selecting selectable information UI control 423)
Regarding claims 13 and 19, claims 13 and 19 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 4. Consequently, claims 13 and 19 are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 5, Walker in view of Williams teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein facilitating the communication and the interaction between the split-screen page of the first predetermined split-screen style and the pop-up split-screen page of the second predetermined split-screen style by means of the communication among page components comprises: facilitating the communication and the interaction between the split-screen page of the first predetermined split-screen style and the pop-up split-screen page of the second predetermined split-screen style by means of communications among parent and child components (Walker Figs. 1-10; [0017], forms can be filled in using a series of cascaded light boxes; [0091], In the first light box 186a of FIG. 10b, a "Create Category" link 188a to a second light box is illustrated. The second light box can be opened in many ways; however, for simplicity in FIG. 10b, the second light box is opened with a hyperlink; [0092], FIG. 10c illustrates yet another image of the embodiment of WDE interface 112e. In FIG. 10c, the software professional has followed the "Create Category" link 188a of FIG. 10b. A second light box 186b is opened. The second light box 186b is the "Create Category" light box, and this second light box 186b is cascaded above the first light box 186a; [0093], In FIG. 10c, the area of the browser window behind the light boxes 186a, 186b is now shaded to a different depth 182b. In some embodiments, a first level of shading is represented by a first number "N." A second level of shading is represented by a second number "M." When an area of a web page has a first level of shading overlapped by a second level of shading, the second level of shading includes shading of both the first and second levels in sum (i.e., N+M). If a third level of shading is present, represented by a third number "O," an area of the webpage having all three levels overlapped would be displayed with an even darker shading by the sum, N+M+O. In this example, the level of shading was performed by adding the representative shading level of each layer; [0094], It is understood that any number of light boxes may be cascaded. In different embodiments, any number of shading levels and any desirable formula to combine the shading levels can be implemented; [0095], As another example, each layer may be patterned with a set of parallel lines of a certain diameter. The lines of each layer will have a certain orientation)
Regarding claims 14 and 20, claims 14 and 20 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 5. Consequently, claims 14 and 20 are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 7, Walker in view of Williams teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the split-screen page of the first predetermined split-screen style is a half-screen split-screen page, and the pop-up split-screen page of the second predetermined split-screen style is a pop-up split-screen interface displayed in a center of full screen or a pop-up split-screen page of a three-screen style (Walker Figs. 1-10; [0017], forms can be filled in using a series of cascaded light boxes; [0091], In the first light box 186a of FIG. 10b, a "Create Category" link 188a to a second light box is illustrated. The second light box can be opened in many ways; however, for simplicity in FIG. 10b, the second light box is opened with a hyperlink; [0092], FIG. 10c illustrates yet another image of the embodiment of WDE interface 112e. In FIG. 10c, the software professional has followed the "Create Category" link 188a of FIG. 10b. A second light box 186b is opened. The second light box 186b is the "Create Category" light box, and this second light box 186b is cascaded above the first light box 186a; [0093], In FIG. 10c, the area of the browser window behind the light boxes 186a, 186b is now shaded to a different depth 182b. In some embodiments, a first level of shading is represented by a first number "N." A second level of shading is represented by a second number "M." When an area of a web page has a first level of shading overlapped by a second level of shading, the second level of shading includes shading of both the first and second levels in sum (i.e., N+M). If a third level of shading is present, represented by a third number "O," an area of the webpage having all three levels overlapped would be displayed with an even darker shading by the sum, N+M+O. In this example, the level of shading was performed by adding the representative shading level of each layer; [0094], It is understood that any number of light boxes may be cascaded. In different embodiments, any number of shading levels and any desirable formula to combine the shading levels can be implemented; [0095], As another example, each layer may be patterned with a set of parallel lines of a certain diameter. The lines of each layer will have a certain orientation)
Regarding claim 22, claim 22 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 7. Consequently, claim 22 is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 3, 6, 12, 15, 18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker in view of Williams in further view of Iyer et al. (US 10860181 B1, published 12/08/2020), hereinafter Iyer.
Regarding claim 3, Walker in view of Williams teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein setting the HTML page as a split-screen page of a first predetermined split-screen style comprises: setting an overall height of the HTML page to a full screen height, and setting a background of the HTML page to be transparent; and dividing an overall layout of the HTML page into a header and text content that is rendered line-by-line, setting a background of the header to be transparent, setting a background of the text content to a predetermined background color, and setting a height of the text content to a screen height (Walker Figs. 1-10; [0017], forms can be filled in using a series of cascaded light boxes; [0091], In the first light box 186a of FIG. 10b, a "Create Category" link 188a to a second light box is illustrated. The second light box can be opened in many ways; however, for simplicity in FIG. 10b, the second light box is opened with a hyperlink; [0092], FIG. 10c illustrates yet another image of the embodiment of WDE interface 112e. In FIG. 10c, the software professional has followed the "Create Category" link 188a of FIG. 10b. A second light box 186b is opened. The second light box 186b is the "Create Category" light box, and this second light box 186b is cascaded above the first light box 186a; [0093], In FIG. 10c, the area of the browser window behind the light boxes 186a, 186b is now shaded to a different depth 182b. In some embodiments, a first level of shading is represented by a first number "N." A second level of shading is represented by a second number "M." When an area of a web page has a first level of shading overlapped by a second level of shading, the second level of shading includes shading of both the first and second levels in sum (i.e., N+M). If a third level of shading is present, represented by a third number "O," an area of the webpage having all three levels overlapped would be displayed with an even darker shading by the sum, N+M+O. In this example, the level of shading was performed by adding the representative shading level of each layer; [0094], It is understood that any number of light boxes may be cascaded. In different embodiments, any number of shading levels and any desirable formula to combine the shading levels can be implemented; [0095], As another example, each layer may be patterned with a set of parallel lines of a certain diameter. The lines of each layer will have a certain orientation)
Williams teaches: the HTML5 page (Williams Figs. 1-5; [0030], The client device (the user's web browser) then renders the dynamically created content as a web modal window. Web modal windows can be created, for example, using capabilities of HTML5 (HyperText Markup Language version 5.0) and CSS3 (Cascading Style Sheets 3.0); [0044], [0044], The HTML5 Presentation Layer 132 an integral part of the user's web browser application that supports rendering the dynamically created content instances. It provides the container that holds the code necessary to display the content instance within a Web Modal Overlay (also called a Web Modal Window) on the user's currently viewed web page. The latest standards for web browsers include a bundle of functionality within the 5th generation of HTML (HTML5). These functions are becoming the de facto standard across the Web and especially for mobile Web; [0054], FIGS. 4A-4F are example screen displays of example content dynamically created, managed, and distributed by an example Environment Context-based Mobile Content Management System; [0055], In FIG. 4A, screen display 400 is shown currently rendered by a browser application on a smartphone; [0056], FIG. 4B illustrates the resulting content when the user has selected the call control 405 in content instance 402 in FIG. 4A. Here, the content instance 402 shows that the user has selected the call store content 410 via call button 413. The phone numbers for the various locales where the offer shown in FIG. 4A is current are shown in list 412; [0057], FIG. 4C illustrates the resulting content instances when the user has selected the map control 406 in content instance 402 in FIG. 4A to request navigation directions; [0058], In FIG. 4E, detailed information for the content shown in the content instance 402 in FIG. 4A is displayed as a resulted of the user selecting selectable information UI control 423)
However, Walker in view of Williams fails to expressly disclose setting a height of the text content to a half-screen height. In the same field of endeavor, Iyer teaches:
setting a height of the text content to a half-screen height (Iyer Figs. 1-10; col. 5 [line 31], FIG. 2 illustrates an example page 200 that presents GUI objects, according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. This page 200 may be a shortcut page similar to the shortcut page 140 of FIG. 1. As illustrated, the shortcut page 200 may include a main window 210 and a modal window 220. In turn, the main window 210 may include GUI reorder shortcuts 212. In comparison, the modal window 220 may include a GUI reorder shortcut 222. Upon a presentation of the shortcut page 200, the GUI reorder shortcut 222 may be presented in the modal window 220, while this modal window 220 may be overlaid over a portion of the main window 210; col. 6 [line 48], Although FIG. 2 illustrates the modal window 220 as being overlaid over a bottom portion of the main window 210, other overlays may be possible. For instance, the modal window 220 may be shown at the top, the middle, or any other portion of the main window 210. The modal window 220 may also, but need not, be positioned to hide the corresponding GUI reorder shortcut in the main window 210 (e.g., if each of the main window 210 and the modal window 220 presents a GUI reorder shortcut for an item X, and if the main window 210 presents this item's GUI reorder shortcut in the middle, the modal window 220 may be overlaid over the middle of the main window 210); col. 7 [line 44], In an example, the GUI reorder shortcut 440 may include multiple portions. Some of the portions may be selectable to trigger a presentation of information related to items. Such portions may correspond to an information section(s) of a GUI object for presenting item information. As illustrated in FIG. 4, a first portion of the GUI reorder shortcut 440 may correspond to the elongated body of the GUI reorder shortcut 440 and may identify the item (e.g., may include a the item with text, image, graphic, video, and/or multimedia description of the item). A user selection of this first portion may trigger the presentation of the second modal window 450)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated setting a height of the text content to a half-screen height as suggested in Iyer into Walker in view of Williams. Doing so would be desirable because embodiments of the present disclosure relate to, among other things, improving the navigation between pages provided by a computer resource. Upon receiving a selection of the GUI element from the user device, the computer system may send a page to the user device, where the page may present the GUI objects in a main window and the GUI object corresponding to the particular item in a modal window. The modal window may be overlaid over at least a portion of the main window such that the main window is disabled, while some of the GUI objects are visible and other ones are obstructed by the modal window. Upon a user selection of the GUI object in the modal window, the computer system may automatically initiate the action and update the user account accordingly. The GUI object in the modal window and the main window may also be updated based on the action. Upon a dismissal of the modal window, the main window may be enabled and the GUI objects may become actionable. In this way, the user need not navigate through multiple pages to perform an action on the item of interest or any of the other items. Instead, the GUI objects presented in the page may be sufficient for the action (see Iyer col. 2 [line 1]). Rather than having to start from a home page and navigate, for each item, to a corresponding item page and then to an order page, it is sufficient to click on the GUI element and interact with the GUI (see Iyer col. 2 [line 41]). Additionally, the display of Iyer would improve the systems of Walker and Williams by providing a flexible display method that can display desired content in a variety of locations, dependent on the context, thereby increasing useability and desirability of the interface (see Iyer col. 6 [line 48]).
Regarding claims 12 and 18, claims 12 and 18 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 3. Consequently, claims 12 and 18 are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 6, Walker in view of Williams teaches all the limitations of claim 5, further comprising:
wherein facilitating the communication and the interaction between the split-screen page of the first predetermined split-screen style and the pop-up split-screen page of the second predetermined split-screen style by means of communications among parent and child components comprises: within the HTML page, in response to a user's click operation on a button on the split-screen page of the first predetermined split-screen style, opening the full-screen mask with a button component; displaying, with a text component, text content input by the user in the pop-up split-screen page of the second predetermined split-screen style of the full-screen mask; controlling display of the full-screen mask with a full-screen mask component; and providing the text content input by the user in the pop-up split-screen page of the second predetermined split-screen style to facilitate the communication and the interaction between the split-screen page of the first predetermined split-screen style and the pop-up split-screen page of the second predetermined split-screen style (Walker Figs. 1-10; [0017], forms can be filled in using a series of cascaded light boxes; [0091], In the first light box 186a of FIG. 10b, a "Create Category" link 188a to a second light box is illustrated. The second light box can be opened in many ways; however, for simplicity in FIG. 10b, the second light box is opened with a hyperlink; [0092], FIG. 10c illustrates yet another image of the embodiment of WDE interface 112e. In FIG. 10c, the software professional has followed the "Create Category" link 188a of FIG. 10b. A second light box 186b is opened. The second light box 186b is the "Create Category" light box, and this second light box 186b is cascaded above the first light box 186a; [0093], In FIG. 10c, the area of the browser window behind the light boxes 186a, 186b is now shaded to a different depth 182b. In some embodiments, a first level of shading is represented by a first number "N." A second level of shading is represented by a second number "M." When an area of a web page has a first level of shading overlapped by a second level of shading, the second level of shading includes shading of both the first and second levels in sum (i.e., N+M). If a third level of shading is present, represented by a third number "O," an area of the webpage having all three levels overlapped would be displayed with an even darker shading by the sum, N+M+O. In this example, the level of shading was performed by adding the representative shading level of each layer; [0094], It is understood that any number of light boxes may be cascaded. In different embodiments, any number of shading levels and any desirable formula to combine the shading levels can be implemented; [0095], As another example, each layer may be patterned with a set of parallel lines of a certain diameter. The lines of each layer will have a certain orientation)
Williams teaches: the HTML5 page (Williams Figs. 1-5; [0030], The client device (the user's web browser) then renders the dynamically created content as a web modal window. Web modal windows can be created, for example, using capabilities of HTML5 (HyperText Markup Language version 5.0) and CSS3 (Cascading Style Sheets 3.0); [0044], [0044], The HTML5 Presentation Layer 132 an integral part of the user's web browser application that supports rendering the dynamically created content instances. It provides the container that holds the code necessary to display the content instance within a Web Modal Overlay (also called a Web Modal Window) on the user's currently viewed web page. The latest standards for web browsers include a bundle of functionality within the 5th generation of HTML (HTML5). These functions are becoming the de facto standard across the Web and especially for mobile Web; [0054], FIGS. 4A-4F are example screen displays of example content dynamically created, managed, and distributed by an example Environment Context-based Mobile Content Management System; [0055], In FIG. 4A, screen display 400 is shown currently rendered by a browser application on a smartphone; [0056], FIG. 4B illustrates the resulting content when the user has selected the call control 405 in content instance 402 in FIG. 4A. Here, the content instance 402 shows that the user has selected the call store content 410 via call button 413. The phone numbers for the various locales where the offer shown in FIG. 4A is current are shown in list 412; [0057], FIG. 4C illustrates the resulting content instances when the user has selected the map control 406 in content instance 402 in FIG. 4A to request navigation directions; [0058], In FIG. 4E, detailed information for the content shown in the content instance 402 in FIG. 4A is displayed as a resulted of the user selecting selectable information UI control 423)
However, Walker in view of Williams fails to expressly disclose and controlling display and hiding of the full-screen mask with a full-screen mask component; and providing the text content input by the user in the pop-up split-screen page of the second predetermined split-screen style to a parent component by a callback function, and assigning a value to a respective variable in the parent component to facilitate the communication and the interaction between the split-screen page of the first predetermined split-screen style and the pop-up split-screen page of the second predetermined split-screen style. In the same field of endeavor, Iyer teaches:
and controlling display and hiding of the full-screen mask with a full-screen mask component; and providing the text content input by the user in the pop-up split-screen page of the second predetermined split-screen style to a parent component by a callback function, and assigning a value to a respective variable in the parent component to facilitate the communication and the interaction between the split-screen page of the first predetermined split-screen style and the pop-up split-screen page of the second predetermined split-screen style (Iyer Figs. 1-10; col. 5 [line 31], FIG. 2 illustrates an example page 200 that presents GUI objects, according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. This page 200 may be a shortcut page similar to the shortcut page 140 of FIG. 1. As illustrated, the shortcut page 200 may include a main window 210 and a modal window 220. In turn, the main window 210 may include GUI reorder shortcuts 212. In comparison, the modal window 220 may include a GUI reorder shortcut 222. Upon a presentation of the shortcut page 200, the GUI reorder shortcut 222 may be presented in the modal window 220, while this modal window 220 may be overlaid over a portion of the main window 210; col. 6 [line 48], Although FIG. 2 illustrates the modal window 220 as being overlaid over a bottom portion of the main window 210, other overlays may be possible. For instance, the modal window 220 may be shown at the top, the middle, or any other portion of the main window 210. The modal window 220 may also, but need not, be positioned to hide the corresponding GUI reorder shortcut in the main window 210 (e.g., if each of the main window 210 and the modal window 220 presents a GUI reorder shortcut for an item X, and if the main window 210 presents this item's GUI reorder shortcut in the middle, the modal window 220 may be overlaid over the middle of the main window 210); col. 7 [line 44], In an example, the GUI reorder shortcut 440 may include multiple portions. Some of the portions may be selectable to trigger a presentation of information related to items. Such portions may correspond to an information section(s) of a GUI object for presenting item information. As illustrated in FIG. 4, a first portion of the GUI reorder shortcut 440 may correspond to the elongated body of the GUI reorder shortcut 440 and may identify the item (e.g., may include a the item with text, image, graphic, video, and/or multimedia description of the item). A user selection of this first portion may trigger the presentation of the second modal window 450; col. 9 [line 13], FIG. 6 illustrates an example user interface that presents a web page showing a status of an action triggered based on a selection of a GUI object, according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. As illustrated, a user device 610 may include a GUI 620 that presents a shortcut page 630. The shortcut page 630 may include a main window and a modal window. A first GUI reorder shortcut 640 associated with an item may be presented and actionable in the modal window. Upon a specific user interaction with the first GUI reorder shortcut 640 (e.g., a user interaction with the circular button of this shortcut 640), an action may be automatically triggered (e.g., a request to place an order for the item) and the presentation of the first GUI reorder shortcut 640 may be updated in the modal window, based on an execution of a script from the shortcut page 630, to indicate a status of this action (e.g., to show that a particular quantity of the item was automatically ordered); col. 9 [line 30], the order history in the user account may also be updated to reflect the status of this action (e.g., to indicate the automatic reorder of the item). This update may be used to synchronize a subsequent presentation of the item's GUI reorder shortcut in a refreshed web page or a new web page at the GUI. For instance, upon the presentation of the item's GUI reorder shortcut in a new page 650, the presentation of the item's GUI reorder shortcut (shown as a second GUI reorder shortcut 660 in a new web page 650) may be updated to also present the status (e.g., to show that the particular quantity of the item was automatically ordered). In this case, the new web page 650 may point to and present a particular source image of the second GUI reorder shortcut 660, where this source image may include the graphic for the status (e.g., showing that the particular quantity of the item was ordered). In comparison and referring back to FIG. 5, a script is executed to synchronize the presentation of GUI reorder shortcuts in the modal and main windows. Here, a new source image is used to update the presentation of a previously actioned GUI reorder shortcut in a refreshed or a new web page. A similar approach may be used upon a refresh of the shortcut page 630 (e.g., based on a new web request for this page 630, the web server may return a refreshed shortcut page that uses the new source image))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated and controlling display and hiding of the full-screen mask with a full-screen mask component; and providing the text content input by the user in the pop-up split-screen page of the second predetermined split-screen style to a parent component by a callback function, and assigning a value to a respective variable in the parent component to facilitate the communication and the interaction between the split-screen page of the first predetermined split-screen style and the pop-up split-screen page of the second predetermined split-screen style in Iyer into Walker in view of Williams. Doing so would be desirable because embodiments of the present disclosure relate to, among other things, improving the navigation between pages provided by a computer resource. Upon receiving a selection of the GUI element from the user device, the computer system may send a page to the user device, where the page may present the GUI objects in a main window and the GUI object corresponding to the particular item in a modal window. The modal window may be overlaid over at least a portion of the main window such that the main window is disabled, while some of the GUI objects are visible and other ones are obstructed by the modal window. Upon a user selection of the GUI object in the modal window, the computer system may automatically initiate the action and update the user account accordingly. The GUI object in the modal window and the main window may also be updated based on the action. Upon a dismissal of the modal window, the main window may be enabled and the GUI objects may become actionable. In this way, the user need not navigate through multiple pages to perform an action on the item of interest or any of the other items. Instead, the GUI objects presented in the page may be sufficient for the action (see Iyer col. 2 [line 1]). Rather than having to start from a home page and navigate, for each item, to a corresponding item page and then to an order page, it is sufficient to click on the GUI element and interact with the GUI (see Iyer col. 2 [line 41]). Additionally, Iyer’s synchronization would improve the systems of Walker and Williams by clarifying that updates made in a pop-up window may be used to synchronize a subsequent presentation by assigning a value to a respective variable in the parent component (see Iyer col. 9 [line 30]). Enabling a value entered by a user in a child component (such Walker’s new products or new categories in Figs 10b and 10c; [0091-0093]) to be used to populate a value in a parent component (such as Walker’s product listing in Fig 10a or category field in Fig. 10b; [0091-0093]) would simplify data entry and save the user time when creating new products and categories.
Regarding claims 15 and 21, claims 15 and 21 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 6. Consequently, claims 15 and 21 are rejected for the same reasons.
Response to Arguments
The Examiner acknowledges the Applicant’s amendments to claims 1-6 and 10-21. The corrections to claims 1-6 and 10-21 are approved and the previous objections to claims 1-6 and 10-21 are respectfully withdrawn. The corrections to claims 2 , 11, and 17 are approved and the previous rejections of claims 2, 11, and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are respectfully withdrawn.
Regarding independent claim 1, the Applicant alleges that Walker in view of Williams as described in the previous Office action, does not explicitly teach amended claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As discussed in the rejection above, Walker is considered to teach creating a full-screen transparent web view interface on the mobile terminal as a carrier container and loading a hypertext markup language page in the carrier container; setting the HTML page as a split-screen page of a first predetermined split-screen style (Walker Figs. 1-10; [0035], [0047], [0089-0091]); loading a full-screen mask and a pop-up split-screen page of a second predetermined split-screen style within the HTML page; and facilitating communication and an interaction between the split-screen page of the first predetermined split-screen style and the pop-up split-screen page of the second predetermined split-screen style by means of a communication among page components (Walker Figs. 1-10; [0017], [0091-0095]). Williams is cited to clarify a hypertext markup language 5 (HTML5) page; the HTML5 page (Williams Figs. 1-5; [0030], [0044], [0054-0058]). Thus, Walker in view of Williams is considered to teach the claim.
Specifically, applicant alleges Walker fails to disclose "creating a full-screen transparent web view interface on the mobile terminal as a carrier container and loading a internet hypertext markup language H5 page in the container, setting the H5 page as a split-screen page of a first predetermined split-screen style" (see remarks p. 10). Walker generally discloses HTML web pages displayed in a browser window as part of a website development environment. In contrast, claim 1, especially as clarified, requires creating a full-screen transparent web view interface on the mobile terminal as a carrier container and loading a hypertext markup language 5 (HTML5) page in the carrier container. Claim 1 requires setting the HTML5 page as a split-screen page of a first predetermined split-screen style. Thus, in claim 1, a full-screen transparent web view is first created as a carrier container, and the HTML5 page is loaded within that carrier container. The cited portions of Walker do not disclose a full-screen transparent web view interface, do not disclose a carrier container, and do not disclose loading an HTML5 page into such a carrier container. Rather, Walker merely discloses conventional web pages displayed in a browser window. Accordingly, Walker does not disclose the claimed creation of a full- screen transparent web view interface serving as a carrier container for the HTML5 page (see remarks p. 11). Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As discussed in the rejection above, Walker discloses an HTML website ([0047], [0089]) on a mobile device ([0035]) in Fig. 10a ([0090]). FIG. 10b illustrates an embodiment of the WDE interface 112e after the software professional has clicked the quick action "Create" button 170b. In FIG. 10b, a shaded area 182a is illustrated. The shaded area in FIG. 10B covers the entire background that is no longer in focus ([0091]). As shown, a full-screen transparent web view interface is created as a carrier container on top of the original webpage, which remains visible through the transparency. As shown further shown in Fig. 10b, a second window is opened as a split-screen page of a first predetermined split-screen style in the carrier container. Williams is cited to clarify a hypertext markup language 5 (HTML5) page.
Examiner notes the claims place no limitations on what the web view interface, carrier container, hypertext markup language page, split-screen page, or first predetermined style must comprise. Thus, Walker’s disclosure of a full-screen transparent web view interface on the mobile terminal as a carrier container and loading a hypertext markup language page in the carrier container; setting the HTML page as a split-screen page of a first predetermined split-screen style (Walker Figs. 1-10; [0035], [0047], [0089-0091]) is considered within the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed limitations.
Applicant further alleges Walker fail to disclose loading a full-screen mask and a pop- up split-screen page of a second predetermined split-screen style within the H5 page; and facilitating communication and interaction between the split-screen page of the first predetermined split-screen style and the pop-up split-screen page of the second predetermined split-screen style by means of communication among page components (see remarks p. 11). Walker discloses opening one light box and then opening another light box above the first lightPage box while applying shading to portions of the underlying page. Thus, Walker discloses opening one light box and subsequently opening another light box while portions of the underlying page are shaded (see remarks pp. 11-12). In contrast, claim 1 requires facilitating communication and interaction between the split- screen page of the first predetermined split-screen style and the pop-up split-screen page of the second predetermined split-screen style by means of communication among page components. The cited portions of Walker merely disclose displaying multiple light boxes and navigating from one light box to another through a link. The Office has not identified, and Applicant is unaware of, any disclosure in Walker that the first light box and the second light box communicate with one another, that interaction between the light boxes is facilitated through communication among page components, or that communication among page components facilitates communication and interaction between a first split-screen page and a second split- screen page as required by claim 1 (see remarks p. 12). Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As discussed in the rejection above, Walker discloses a series of cascaded light boxes may be used to fill in forms ([0017]). FIG. 10b illustrates an embodiment of the WDE interface 112e after the software professional has clicked the quick action "Create" button 170b. In this case, a first "Create Product" light box 186a is opened ([0091]). In FIG. 10c, the software professional has followed the "Create Category" link 188a of FIG. 10b. A second light box 186b is opened. The second light box 186b is the "Create Category" light box, and this second light box 186b is cascaded above the first light box 186a ([0092]). In FIG. 10c, the area of the browser window behind the light boxes 186a, 186b is now shaded to a different depth 182b. In some embodiments, a first level of shading is represented by a first number "N." A second level of shading is represented by a second number "M." When an area of a web page has a first level of shading overlapped by a second level of shading, the second level of shading includes shading of both the first and second levels in sum (i.e., N+M) ([0093]). As shown in Fig. 10C, a full-screen mask and a pop-up split-screen page of a second predetermined split-screen style are loaded within the page. The user navigates between these pages using the components within the pages (links, buttons), and responsive to selections, additional popup windows are opened and transparency levels are modified, thereby facilitating communication and interaction between the split-screen pages by means of communication among the components.
Examiner notes the claims place no limitations on what the full-screen mask, pop-up split-screen page, second predetermined split-screen style, facilitating, communication, interaction, or communication among the page components must comprise. Thus, Walker’s disclosure of loading a full-screen mask and a pop-up split-screen page of a second predetermined split-screen style within the HTML page; and facilitating communication and an interaction between the split-screen page of the first predetermined split-screen style and the pop-up split-screen page of the second predetermined split-screen style by means of a communication among page components (Walker Figs. 1-10; [0017], [0091-0095]) is considered within the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed limitations.
Similar arguments have been presented for claims 10 and 16 and thus, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive for the same reasons.
Applicant states that the dependent claims recite all the limitations of the independent claims, and thus, are allowable in view of the remarks set forth regarding the independent claims. However, as discussed above, Walker in view of Williams is considered to teach the independent claims, and consequently, the dependent claims are rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jain (US 20170185251 A1) Figs. 1-6 and [0081-0103].
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN T REPSHER III/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2143