DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-17, 19-22, 24, 27, 31-33, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bok et al (US 2021/0191552 A1) in view of Hayasaka et al (US 2010/0053119 A1).
Claim 16, Bok (Fig. 1-104) discloses a method for forming a 3D display stack (Fig. 9D; wherein figure shows a display stack comprised of a display layers DISL, touch layer TSL, lens member 50L, and cover window 50), the method comprising:
providing a first layer (Fig. 9D) comprising a display layer (DISL; Fig. 9D; wherein discloses a display layer DISL) and a touch sensor layer (TSL; Fig. 9D; wherein discloses a touch screen layer TSL);
attaching a first portion (Fig. 9D; wherein figure shows cover window connected to element OFL directly) and a second portion (Fig. 9D; wherein figure shows lens member 50L connected to element OFL directly) of an adhesive layer (Paragraph [0244]; wherein discloses cover window 50 is attached to the upper surface of OFL layer by a transparent adhesive member such as an OCA film) to a top side of the first layer (TSL and DISL; Fig. 9D; wherein figure shows cover window 50 being attached by OCA (Paragraph [0244]) on a top side of touch layer TSL and display layer DISL);
attaching a cover glass (50; Fig. 9D) to the first portion of the adhesive layer (Paragraph [0244]; wherein discloses cover window 50 is attached to the upper surface of OFL layer by a transparent adhesive member such as an OCA film); and
attaching a 3D faceplate (50: Fig. 9D) to the second portion (Fig. 9D; wherein figure shows lens member 50L connected to element OFL directly) of the adhesive layer (Paragraph [0244]; wherein discloses cover window 50 is attached to the upper surface of OFL layer by a transparent adhesive member such as an OCA film).
Bok does not expressly disclose respectively attaching a 3D faceplate to the second portion.
Hayasaka (Fig. 1-10B) discloses respectively attaching a 3D faceplate (30a; Fig. 10a) to the second portion (Paragraph [0054]; wherein discloses “the lens substrate including the microlenses is not necessarily used, and the microlens 30a may be formed directly on the image pickup region 11B of the panel”; therefore providing respective placement of the microlens separate from cover layer).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bok’s display stack by applying microlenses, as taught by Hayasaka, so to use a display stack with microlenses for providing an input/output device displaying a high-resolution two-dimensional image and being capable of detecting the position of an object in three-dimensional space in spite of having a low profile (Paragraph [0008]).
Claim 31, Bok (Fig. 1-104) discloses a 3D display stack (Fig. 9D; wherein figure shows a display stack comprised of a display layers DISL, touch layer TSL, lens member 50L, and cover window 50) comprising:
a first layer (Fig. 9D) with a display layer (DISL; Fig. 9D; wherein discloses a display layer DISL) and a touch sensor layer (TSL; Fig. 9D; wherein discloses a touch screen layer TSL);
an adhesive layer (Paragraph [0244]; wherein discloses cover window 50 is attached to the upper surface of OFL layer by a transparent adhesive member such as an OCA film) provided on a top side of the first layer (TSL and DISL; Fig. 9D; wherein figure shows cover window 50 being attached by OCA (Paragraph [0244]) on a top side of touch layer TSL and display layer DISL);
a cover glass (50; Fig. 9D) provided on a first portion of the adhesive layer (Paragraph [0244]; wherein discloses cover window 50 is attached to the upper surface of OFL layer by a transparent adhesive member such as an OCA film); and
a 3D faceplate (50: Fig. 9D) provided on a second portion (Fig. 9D; wherein figure shows lens member 50L connected to element OFL directly) of the adhesive layer (Paragraph [0244]; wherein discloses cover window 50 is attached to the upper surface of OFL layer by a transparent adhesive member such as an OCA film).
Bok does not expressly disclose respectively a 3D faceplate provided on a second portion.
Hayasaka (Fig. 1-10B) discloses respectively a 3D faceplate (30a; Fig. 10a) provided on a second portion (Paragraph [0054]; wherein discloses “the lens substrate including the microlenses is not necessarily used, and the microlens 30a may be formed directly on the image pickup region 11B of the panel”; therefore providing respective placement of the microlens separate from cover layer).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bok’s display stack by applying microlenses, as taught by Hayasaka, so to use a display stack with microlenses for providing an input/output device displaying a high-resolution two-dimensional image and being capable of detecting the position of an object in three-dimensional space in spite of having a low profile (Paragraph [0008]).
Claim 17, Bok (Fig. 1-104) discloses wherein an adhesive layer material (Paragraph [0244]) extends continuously over the first (Fig. 9D; wherein figure shows cover window connected to element OFL directly) and second portion (Fig. 9D; wherein figure shows lens member 50L connected to element OFL directly) of the adhesive layer (Paragraph [0244]).
Claim 19, Hayasaka (Fig. 1-10B) discloses wherein the second portion of the adhesive layer (Fig. 10A and 10B; wherein figure shows lens 30a being attached separately) is attached separately from the first portion of the adhesive layer (12; Fig. 2).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bok’s display stack by applying microlenses, as taught by Hayasaka, so to use a display stack with microlenses for providing an input/output device displaying a high-resolution two-dimensional image and being capable of detecting the position of an object in three-dimensional space in spite of having a low profile (Paragraph [0008]).
Claim 20, Bok (Fig. 1-104) discloses wherein a same adhesive layer material (Paragraph [0224]; wherein discloses an OCA film) is used for the first portion (Fig. 9D; wherein figure shows cover window connected to element OFL directly) of the adhesive layer (Paragraph [0244]; wherein discloses cover window 50 is attached to the upper surface of OFL layer by a transparent adhesive member such as an OCA film) and the second portion (Fig. 9D; wherein figure shows lens member 50L connected to element OFL directly) of the adhesive layer (Paragraph [0244]; wherein discloses cover window 50 is attached to the upper surface of OFL layer by a transparent adhesive member such as an OCA film).
Claim 21, Bok (Fig. 1-104) discloses wherein adhesive layer materials (Paragraph [0224]; wherein discloses an OCA film) are used for the first portion of the adhesive layer (Fig. 9D; wherein figure shows cover window connected to element OFL directly).
Hayasaka (Fig. 1-10B) discloses wherein different adhesive layer materials (34; Fig. 10B; Paragraph [0054]; wherein discloses a resin layer) are used for the second portion of the adhesive layer (Fig. 10B).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bok’s display stack by applying microlenses, as taught by Hayasaka, so to use a display stack with microlenses for providing an input/output device displaying a high-resolution two-dimensional image and being capable of detecting the position of an object in three-dimensional space in spite of having a low profile (Paragraph [0008]).
Claim 22, Bok (Fig. 1-104) discloses wherein at least one of the different adhesive layer materials (Paragraph [0224]; wherein discloses an OCA film) is selected from a group consisting of:
an optically clear adhesive film material (Paragraph [0224]; wherein discloses an OCA film), an optically clear resin film material, and a liquid optically clear adhesive material.
Claim 24, Bok (Fig. 1-104) discloses wherein the same adhesive layer material (Paragraph [0224]; wherein discloses an OCA film) is selected from a group consisting of:
an optically clear adhesive film material (Paragraph [0224]; wherein discloses an OCA film), an optically clear resin film material, and a liquid optically clear adhesive material.
Claim 27, Bok (Fig. 1-104) discloses wherein providing the first layer (10; Fig. 9D) comprises bonding (Paragraph [0239]) a touch sensor layer (TSL; Fig. 9D) to a top side of the display layer (DISL; Fig. 9D) using a further adhesive layer (Paragraph [0239]; wherein discloses “the touch screen layer TSL may be separately provided and then coupled to the upper surface of the encapsulation member of the display layer DISL via an adhesive layer, such as an optically clear adhesive (OCA)”).
Claim 32, Bok (Fig. 1-104) discloses wherein the first portion of the adhesive layer.
Bok (Fig. 1-104) discloses the first portion (Fig. 9D; wherein figure shows cover window connected to element OFL directly) of the adhesive layer (Paragraph [0224]; wherein discloses an OCA film).
Hayasaka (Fig. 1-10B) discloses wherein the adhesive layer (34; Fig. 10B; Paragraph [0054]; wherein discloses a resin layer) differs from the second portion of the adhesive layer (34; Fig. 10B).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bok’s display stack by applying microlenses, as taught by Hayasaka, so to use a display stack with microlenses for providing an input/output device displaying a high-resolution two-dimensional image and being capable of detecting the position of an object in three-dimensional space in spite of having a low profile (Paragraph [0008]).
Claim 33, Hayasaka (Fig. 1-10B) discloses wherein an adhesive layer material (34; Fig. 10B) of the second portion (30a; Fig. 30B) of the adhesive layer is optically clear resin (Paragraph [0054]; wherein discloses pickup pixel receive light through microlenses; therefore resin 34 is clear; 34; Fig. 10B; wherein discloses a resin layer).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bok’s display stack by applying microlenses, as taught by Hayasaka, so to use a display stack with microlenses for providing an input/output device displaying a high-resolution two-dimensional image and being capable of detecting the position of an object in three-dimensional space in spite of having a low profile (Paragraph [0008]).
Claim 35, Hayasaka (Fig. 1-10B) discloses wherein optically clear resin (Paragraph [0054]; wherein discloses pickup pixel receive light through microlenses; therefore resin 34 is clear; 34; Fig. 10B; wherein discloses a resin layer) is provided horizontally between the cover glass (33; Fig. 10B) and the 3D faceplate (30a; Fig. 10B).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bok’s display stack by applying microlenses, as taught by Hayasaka, so to use a display stack with microlenses for providing an input/output device displaying a high-resolution two-dimensional image and being capable of detecting the position of an object in three-dimensional space in spite of having a low profile (Paragraph [0008]).
Claims 18, 23, 25-26, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bok et al (US 2021/0191552 A1) in view of Hayasaka et al (US 2010/0053119 A1) as applied to claim 17, 21, 19, 33 above, and further in view of Wilde (WO 2013/016859 A1).
Claims 18, 23, and 25, Bok in view of Hayasaka discloses the method according to claim 17, 21, and 19.
Bok in view of in view of Hayasaka does not expressly disclose wherein:
a liquid optically clear adhesive material is used as adhesive layer material for the second portion of the adhesive layer; and
attaching the 3D faceplate comprises pushing the 3D faceplate on the liquid optically clear adhesive material such that the liquid optically clear adhesive material flows into a gap positioned horizontally between the 3D faceplate and the cover glass.
Wilde (Fig. 1-9) discloses wherein:
a liquid optically clear adhesive material (36a; Fig. 6-9; Paragraph [0024]; wherein discloses an optically clear adhesive (OCA) liquid 36a) is used as adhesive layer material for the second portion (Paragraph [0025]; wherein discloses a optically clear top plate) of the adhesive layer (36a; Fig. 6-9); and
attaching the 3D faceplate (38; Fig. 6-9) comprises pushing the 3D faceplate (Fig. 7; see down arrows) on the liquid optically clear adhesive material (36a; Fig. 7) such that the liquid optically clear adhesive material flows (Fig. 7 and 8; see outward arrows) into a gap positioned horizontally (Fig. 9) between the 3D faceplate (32; Fig. 9) and the cover glass (12; Fig. 9).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bok in view of Hayasaka’s display stack by applying liquid optically clear adhesive material, as taught by Wilde, so to use a display stack with liquid optically clear adhesive material for providing a better and more reliable yield, a faster assembly process (Paragraph [0007]).
Claim 26, Bok (Fig. 1-104) discloses wherein providing the first layer (10; Fig. 9D) comprises bonding (Paragraph [0239]) a touch sensor layer (TSL; Fig. 9D) to a top side of the display layer (DISL; Fig. 9D) using a further adhesive layer (Paragraph [0239]; wherein discloses “the touch screen layer TSL may be separately provided and then coupled to the upper surface of the encapsulation member of the display layer DISL via an adhesive layer, such as an optically clear adhesive (OCA)”).
Claim 34, Bok in view of Hayasaka discloses the 3D display stack according to claim 33.
Bok in view of Hayasaka does not expressly disclose wherein the second portion of the adhesive layer is positioned vertically between the 3D faceplate and the first layer and has a thickness of at most 15 pm.
Wilde (Fig. 1-9) discloses wherein the second portion of the adhesive layer (36a; Fig. 9) is positioned vertically between the 3D faceplate (32; Fig. 9) and the first layer (12; Fig. 9) and has a thickness of at most 15 pm (Paragraph [0024]; wherein discloses “The thickness of the OCA film 36 can vary. In some embodiments, the film 36 can be about 0.01-0.5 mm thick, and in other embodiments about 0.05-0.1 mm thick”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bok in view of Hayasaka’s display stack by applying liquid optically clear adhesive material, as taught by Wilde, so to use a display stack with liquid optically clear adhesive material for providing a better and more reliable yield, a faster assembly process (Paragraph [0007]).
Claims 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bok et al (US 2021/0191552 A1) in view of Hayasaka et al (US 2010/0053119 A1) as applied to claims 27 and 16 above, and further in view of Wang (US 2014/0124121 A).
Claim 28, Bok in view of Hayasaka discloses the method according to claim 27.
Bok in view of Hayasaka does not expressly disclose further comprising performing a quality control step at least after bonding the touch sensor layer to the top side of the display layer.
Wang (Fig. 1-10) discloses further comprising performing a quality control step (422; Fig. 8) at least after bonding (416; Fig. 8) the touch sensor layer to the top side of the display layer (Paragraph [0074]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bok in view of Hayasaka’s display stack by applying a method of manufacturing, as taught by Wang, so to use a display stack with a method of manufacturing for providing the manufacture method of the touch and display device of the second embodiment of the invention, all the manufacture acts can be performed in the same workshop, for the factory end it is only needed to at least respectively arrange one quality control zone at the incoming factory material end and the out-going product end, and for the client end it is only needed to arrange one quality control zone at the out-going electronic device end so as to effectively achieve the purpose of quality control to and effectively reduce the labour power and cost of quality control (Paragraph [0065]).
Claim 29, Bok in view of Hayasaka discloses the method according to claim 16.
Bok in view of Hayasaka does not expressly disclose further comprising performing a quality control step at least after for at least one of the group consisting of:
attaching the cover glass to the first portion of the adhesive layer; and
attaching the 3D faceplate to the second portion of the adhesive layer.
Wang (Fig. 1-10) discloses further comprising performing a quality control step (414; Fig. 8; Paragraph [0074]) at least after for at least one of the group consisting of:
attaching the cover glass to the first portion of the adhesive layer (412; Fig. 8; Paragraph [0074]; wherein discloses “the touch panel with the protection film can be laminated with the OCA again (act 412)”); and
attaching the 3D faceplate to the second portion of the adhesive layer.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bok in view of Hayasaka’s display stack by applying a method of manufacturing, as taught by Wang, so to use a display stack with a method of manufacturing for providing the manufacture method of the touch and display device of the second embodiment of the invention, all the manufacture acts can be performed in the same workshop, for the factory end it is only needed to at least respectively arrange one quality control zone at the incoming factory material end and the out-going product end, and for the client end it is only needed to arrange one quality control zone at the out-going electronic device end so as to effectively achieve the purpose of quality control to and effectively reduce the labour power and cost of quality control (Paragraph [0065]).
Claim 30, Bok in view of Hayasaka discloses the method according to claim 16.
Bok in view of Hayasaka does not expressly disclose further comprising using a mounting tool for at least one of the group consisting of:
attaching the cover glass to the first portion of the adhesive layer; and
attaching the 3D faceplate to the second portion of the adhesive layer.
Wang (Fig. 1-10) discloses further comprising using a mounting tool (Paragraph [0073]; wherein discloses a lamination machine) for at least one of the group consisting of:
attaching the cover glass to the first portion of the adhesive layer (Paragraph [0074]; wherein discloses “the touch panel with the protection film can be laminated with the OCA”); and
attaching the 3D faceplate to the second portion of the adhesive layer.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bok in view of Hayasaka’s display stack by applying a method of manufacturing, as taught by Wang, so to use a display stack with a method of manufacturing for providing the manufacture method of the touch and display device of the second embodiment of the invention, all the manufacture acts can be performed in the same workshop, for the factory end it is only needed to at least respectively arrange one quality control zone at the incoming factory material end and the out-going product end, and for the client end it is only needed to arrange one quality control zone at the out-going electronic device end so as to effectively achieve the purpose of quality control to and effectively reduce the labour power and cost of quality control (Paragraph [0065]).
Conclusion
/Adam J Snyder/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623 09/04/2026