DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2014/0003762 (“MACNAMARA”).
Regarding claim 1, MACNAMARA teaches an optical expansion waveguide (FG. 3A), comprising a first waveguide substrate (“Coupling Tube”) and a second waveguide substrate (504a – 504n), wherein, the first waveguide substrate is configured for expanding a light beam entering the first waveguide substrate in a first dimensional direction (y), and the first waveguide substrate comprises a plurality of first reflective surfaces arranged in sequence (556a – 556n), the plurality of first reflective surfaces being configured for at least partially reflecting light incident on the first reflective surfaces, such that at least part of the light is coupled into the second waveguide substrate (FIG. 3A); and the second waveguide substrate is configured for expanding a light beam entering the second waveguide substrate in a second dimensional direction (x), and the second waveguide substrate comprises a plurality of second reflective surfaces (540a – 540n) arranged in sequence, the plurality of second reflective surfaces being configured for at least partially reflecting light incident on the second reflective surfaces, such that at least part of the light is emitted out of the second waveguide substrate (FIG. 3A), and wherein at least one of the first reflective surfaces and the second reflective surfaces is at least partially curved, such that an image distance of an image formed by emitted light from the second waveguide substrate meets a preset requirement (FIG. 3A; pars. [0057]-[0059]).
Regarding claim 2, MACNAMARA teaches that a first reflective surface is at least partially curved, and enables light reflected by the first reflective surface to diverge; or a second reflective surface is at least partially curved, and enables light reflected from the second reflective surface to diverge (FIGs. 6, 7).
Regarding claim 3, MACNAMARA teaches that each of the first reflective surfaces forms an inclination angle with respect to the first dimensional direction (FIG. 3A).
Regarding claim 12, MACNAMARA teaches that the first waveguide substrate further comprises a first out-coupling surface through which the reflected light of the first reflective surface is emitted out of the first waveguide substrate, and the second waveguide substrate further comprises a second in-coupling surface through which the emitted light from the first waveguide substrate enters the second waveguide substrate, wherein the first out-coupling surface and the second in-coupling surface are optically coaxial (FIG. 3A).
Regarding claim 13, MACNAMARA teaches that the first out-coupling surface is a plane, an inclined plane, a serrated surface, or a curved surface, and the second in-coupling surface is a plane, an inclined plane, a serrated surface, or a curved surface (FIG. 3A).
Regarding claim 14, MACNAMARA teaches that the first waveguide substrate is placed in front of, behind or above the second waveguide substrate (FIG. 3A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MACNAMARA in view of CN 104656258 (“ZHANG”).
Regarding claims 4 and 7, MCNAMARA teaches the limitations of the base claim 1. MCNAMARA does not teach that the first and second waveguide substrates further comprise at least first and third sets of opposite surfaces, respectively, and that light entering the first and second waveguide substrates is reflected on each surface of the first and third sets of opposite surfaces, respectively, to propagate forward. ZHANG teaches a first waveguide substrate comprising at least a first set of opposite surfaces, and light entering the first waveguide substrate is reflected on each surface of the first set of opposite surfaces to propagate forward (FIGs. 1, 4, 9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the waveguide of MACNAMARA such that light propagation is achieved via reflection from opposite surfaces, as taught by ZHANG. The motivation would have been to employ the common optical feature of total internal reflection so as to achieve the light expansion through the waveguide.
Regarding claims 5 and 10, ZHANG further teaches at least one surface of the first and third sets of opposite surfaces, respectively, is at least partially curved, to change an incident angle of reflected light from the surface when incident on the first and second reflective surfaces, respectively, so as to assist in achieving that the image distance of the image formed by the light emitted from the second waveguide substrate meets the preset requirement (FIGs. 5, 6; par. [0032]).
Regarding claims 6 and 11, ZHANG further teaches that at least one surface of the first and third sets of opposite surfaces, respectively, enables reflected light from the surface to diverge (FIGs. 5, 6; par. [0032]).
Regarding claim 8, ZHANG further teaches that each of the second reflective surfaces forms an inclination angle with respect to any surface of the third set of opposite surfaces (FIGs. 5, 6).
Regarding claim 9, ZHANG further teaches that an inclination angle formed by a second reflective surface with respect to a surface, serving as an out-coupling surface, in the third set of opposite surfaces is greater than 0° and less than or equal to 45°, wherein the inclination angle of the second reflective surface with respect to the surface is positive when the second reflective surface rotates counterclockwise with respect to this surface (FIG. 9; par. [0039]).
Conclusion
/JERRY M BLEVINS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874