DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, presently claims 1-3, 7, and 10-13, in the reply filed on 8/07/2026. is acknowledged.
Claims 4-6, 8, 9, and 14-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/07/2026.
Claims 1-3, 7, and 10-13 are under consideration on the merits.
Duplicate Claims
Applicant is advised that should claim 2 be found allowable, claim 12 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof and vice versa. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moon et al. (US 2018/0078625; provided in the IDS dated 10/21/2024).
Moon teaches a composition comprising an sHDL nanodisc covalently conjugated to a cysteine-terminated tumor antigen (Ag) peptides (the therapeutic agent), zwitterionic phospholipids DMPC and 4% mol DOPE-PDP (with DOPE-PDP being a species of thiol-reactive phospholipid; [0130]), apolipoprotein mimetic peptide 22A (a nanodisc stabilizing peptide), and wherein cysteine-terminated antigen peptides are conjugated to the thiolated phospholipids via a thiol-linked adduct (Example V at [0319]-[0321]), anticipating claims 1 and 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al. (US 2018/0078625; provided in the IDS dated 10/21/2024).
The teachings of Moon are relied upon as set forth above in rejecting claims 1 and 7 under 35 U.S.C. § 102. Moon further teaches wherein the conjugated sHDL nanodisc has an average diameter of 10.5 ± 0.5 mm ([0321]), reading on claim 3. Moon further teaches the “antigen” maybe be a nucleic acid, oligonucleotide, or polynucleotide ([0100]), reading on claims 2 and 12.
So while Moon does not teach a nucleobase polymer antigen in a single embodiment with the sHDL nanodisc composition of Example V, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to substitute the peptide antigen of Moon with the nucleic acid, oligonucleotide, or polynucleotide antigen taught by Moon. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to do so and the skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Moon expressly considers the substitution; therefore, the different sources of antigens are functional equivalents in the art, and substituting one for the other would have been obvious at the time of the invention. “When a patent ‘simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform’ and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.” See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007) at 1395-1396, quoting Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273 (1976) and In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 301 (CCPA 1982) (“Express suggestion to substitute one equivalent for another need not be present to render such substitution obvious”).
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the invention was filed.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Thrue et al. (US 7,737,264; Reference A).
The teachings of Moon are relied upon as set forth above. Moon further teaches conjugating CpG oligonucleotide as an adjuvant to cholesterol to load the sHDL nanodiscs with CpG ([0292] and [0321]), reading in-part on claim 13. Moon further teaches the treatment of cancer ([0266]), reading in-part on claim 13.
Regarding claim 13, Moon does not teach nucleic acid SEQ ID NO: 5.
Thrue teaches oligonucleotides directed against the hypoxia-inducible factor-1α. (HIF-1α) gene are provided for modulating the expression of HIF-1α (Abstract), for the treatment of cancer (Col. 2, lines 34-40), reading on claim 13. SEQ ID NO: 55 of Thrue is 100% identical to SEQ ID NO: 5 (Table 1 at Col. 29-30), reading on claim 13. Thrue teaches conjugating the antisense oligonucleotides to cholesterol (Col. 15, lines 57-67), reading on claim 13.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to substitute the generic nucleic acid antigen of Moon with SEQ ID NO: 55 of Thrue in Moon’s sHDL nanodisc composition. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to do so because both Moon and Thrue are in-part directed towards methods of treating cancer. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Thrue teaches that SEQ ID NO: 55 is an oligonucleotide directed against the hypoxia-inducible factor-1α. (HIF-1α) gene are provided for modulating the expression of HIF-1α for the treatment of cancer, and so the substitution would predictable improve upon the envisioned methods of treating cancer of Moon with the sHDL nanodisc composition.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the invention was filed.
Claims 1, 7, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al. (US 2018/0078625; provided in the IDS dated 10/21/2024) in view of Park et al. (Biomaterials (2018) 161, 69-80; Reference U).
The teachings of Moon are relied upon as set forth above.
Regarding claim 10, Moon does not teach wherein the nanodisc stabilizing peptide comprises a cysteine amino acid
Park teaches HDL nanodisc compositions comprising SP peptide having an N-terminal cysteine which increases the half-life of the composition by about 3215-fold ex vivo and by about 1060-fold in vivo (Abstract and subheading 2.1), reading on claim 10.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to substitute the apolipoprotein mimetic peptide 22A of Moon with the cysteine-modified SP peptide of Park in Moon’s sHDL nanodisc composition. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to do so because both Moon and Park are directed towards HDL nanodisc compositions The skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Park teaches the substitution would be predictably advantageous to improve the half-life of HDL nanodisc compositions ex vivo and in vivo, and would thus improve upon the composition of Moon.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the invention was filed.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Moon is considered the closest prior art to claim 11, with apolipoprotein mimetic peptide 22A being SEQ ID NO: 4 of Moon (see Fig. 13a) and being about 88% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 2. However, there would be no motivation from Moon alone or in-combination with Thrue or Park to add a glycine-glycine-cysteine trimer (i.e. GGC) to the C-terminus of the apolipoprotein mimetic peptide 22A of Moon without the benefit of impermissible hindsight reasoning. See M.P.E.P. § 2142.
Conclusion
Claims 1-3, 7, 10, 12, and 13 are rejected. Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/Sean C. Barron/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1653