DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I in the reply filed on 07/30/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 68-72 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/30/2026.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-50 were cancelled and claims 51-72 were added in the amendment filed 04/28/2025. Claims 51-72 are pending. Claims 68-72 are withdrawn. Claims 51-67 will be examined on the merits.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Foreign application AU2022900102 is acknowledged as disclosing the claimed invention and the effective filing date is 01/20/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements filed on 10/24/2024 and 7/30/2026 have been considered. Signed copies are enclosed.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code (for example, see pages 37, 57, and 59). Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
The use of the term GE Healthcare on page 56, for example, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Applicant is asked to carefully review the specification for trade names and hyperlinks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 51-53 and 55-67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “sub” in claim 51 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Claim 51 recites "...an amino acid sequence corresponding substantially to the full length of the DUF2436 domain of an Arg- or Lys-gingipain. There is no metric given in the instant claim or in the specification for ‘substantially’; it is therefore unclear how much divergence a sequence can have from the full length of the DUF2436 domain in order to be considered “substantially” the full length. Dependent claims 52, 53, and 55-67 inherit this rejection as they do not rectify it. Claim 54 recites “wherein the amino acid sequence corresponding substantially to the full length of the DUF2436 domain of an Arg- or Lys-gingipain is a sequence that is at least 80%... of the length of aDUF2436 domain of an Arg- or Lys-gingipain, or a sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 24…”. As this claim defines the sequence of the DUF2436 domain, a 165 amino acid sequence, and specifies that “substantially” is at least 80% of that sequence, Examiner will be interpreting the phrase “substantially the full length of the DUF2436 domain” as meaning at least 80% of SEQ ID NO: 24, or at least 132 amino acids (0.8x165 = 132).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 51-58, 66 and 67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a natural phenomenon (naturally occurring product) without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) a protein comprising an animo acid sequence of the active site of an Arg- or Lys- gingipain of . This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims merely recite the protein, not a method of use. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because each of these elements is inherently present in the naturally occurring . The following analysis is laid out in accordance with MPEP §2106:
Claim 51 recites “A chimeric or fusion protein…the protein comprising a first polypeptide and a second polypeptide, wherein: A) the first polypeptide comprises or consists of an amino acid sequence of the active site of an Arg- or Lys-gingipain of P. gingivalis, or a sequence that is at least 80% identical thereto; and B) the second polypeptide comprises or consists of an amino acid sequence of an adhesin domain of an Arg- or Lys-gingipain of P. gingivalis; wherein the second polypeptide comprises the sequence of one or more adhesin binding motifs (ABMs), and wherein the second polypeptide: a) does not comprise: a sequence of a cleaved adhesin domain (CAD), and/or b) comprises an amino acid sequence corresponding substantially to the full length of the DUF2436 domain of an Arg- or Lys-gingipain, or a sequence at least 80% identical thereto.” Therefore, the claim is directed to a composition of matter, which is one of the statutory categories of invention (Step 1: yes).
The claim is then analyzed to determine whether it is directed to any judicial exception. The term “chimeric or fusion protein” recited in the preamble of the claim holds no patentable weight and therefore reads on naturally occurring proteins. The active site of a Lys-gingipain is disclosed in instant SEQ ID NO: 1. The sequences of three ABMS (SEQ ID NOs: 14, 15, and 16) and the full length DUF2436 domain (SEQ ID NO: 24) are present in SEQ ID NO: 26. As instant claim 51 recites that the first polypeptide comprises the active site of a Lys-gingipain (SEQ ID NO: 1), and the second polypeptide comprises one or more ABMs (SEQ ID NO: 14, 15, or 16) and an amino acid sequence with at least 80% similarity to substantially the full length of the DUF2436 domain (SEQ ID NO: 24), any protein that contains SEQ ID NO: 1, 80% identity to SEQ ID NO: 24, and at least one of SEQ ID NOs: 14, 15, and 16 read on instant claim 51. Moreover, as limitations a) and b) of instant claim 51 are separated by “and/or”, the protein can further comprise a CAD domain if it comprises the DUF2436 domain. Therefore, a naturally occurring P. gingivalis gingipain, such as the one represented by UniProt entry Q51817 - KGP83_PORGN reads upon instant claim 51 (see Sequence Alignments below), and is therefore a judicial exception.
Sequence Alignment 1: SEQ ID NO: 1 and UniProt entry Q51817 - KGP83_PORGN
Query Match 100.0%; Score 188; Length 1732;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 36; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 NTGVSFANYTAHGSETAWADPLLTTSQLKALTNKDK 36
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 433 NTGVSFANYTAHGSETAWADPLLTTSQLKALTNKDK 468
Sequence Alignment 2: SEQ ID NO: 14 and UniProt entry Q51817 - KGP83_PORGN
Query Match 100.0%; Score 153; Length 1732;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 29; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 SNEFAPVQNLTGSSVGQKVTLKWDAPNGT 29
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 942 SNEFAPVQNLTGSSVGQKVTLKWDAPNGT 970
Sequence Alignment 3: SEQ ID NO: 24 and UniProt entry Q51817 - KGP83_PORGN
Query Match 99.9%; Score 875; Length 1732;
Best Local Similarity 99.4%;
Matches 164; Conservative 1; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 AEGSREVKRIGDGLFVTIEPANDVRANEAKVVLAADNVWGDNTGYQFLLDADHNTFGSVI 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 713 AEGSREVKRIGDGLFVTIEPANDVRANEAKVVLAADNVWGDNTGYQFLLDADHNTFGSVI 772
Qy 61 PATGPLFTGTASSNLYSANFEYLIPANADPVVTTQNIIVTGQGEVVIPGGVYDYCITNPE 120
|||||||||||||||||||||||:||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 773 PATGPLFTGTASSNLYSANFEYLVPANADPVVTTQNIIVTGQGEVVIPGGVYDYCITNPE 832
Qy 121 PASGKMWIAGDGGNQPARYDDFTFEAGKKYTFTMRRAGMGDGTDM 165
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 833 PASGKMWIAGDGGNQPARYDDFTFEAGKKYTFTMRRAGMGDGTDM 877
Sequence Alignment 4: SEQ ID NO: 26 and UniProt entry Q51817 - KGP83_PORGN
Query Match 99.9%; Score 1450; Length 1732;
Best Local Similarity 99.6%;
Matches 270; Conservative 1; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 AEGSREVKRIGDGLFVTIEPANDVRANEAKVVLAADNVWGDNTGYQFLLDADHNTFGSVI 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 713 AEGSREVKRIGDGLFVTIEPANDVRANEAKVVLAADNVWGDNTGYQFLLDADHNTFGSVI 772
Qy 61 PATGPLFTGTASSNLYSANFEYLIPANADPVVTTQNIIVTGQGEVVIPGGVYDYCITNPE 120
|||||||||||||||||||||||:||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 773 PATGPLFTGTASSNLYSANFEYLVPANADPVVTTQNIIVTGQGEVVIPGGVYDYCITNPE 832
Qy 121 PASGKMWIAGDGGNQPARYDDFTFEAGKKYTFTMRRAGMGDGTDMEVEDDSPASYTYTVY 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 833 PASGKMWIAGDGGNQPARYDDFTFEAGKKYTFTMRRAGMGDGTDMEVEDDSPASYTYTVY 892
Qy 181 RDGTKIKEGLTATTFEEDGVAAGNHEYCVEVKYTAGVSPKVCKDVTVEGSNEFAPVQNLT 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 893 RDGTKIKEGLTATTFEEDGVAAGNHEYCVEVKYTAGVSPKVCKDVTVEGSNEFAPVQNLT 952
Qy 241 GSSVGQKVTLKWDAPNGTPNPNPNPNPNPGT 271
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 953 GSSVGQKVTLKWDAPNGTPNPNPNPNPNPGT 983
Next, the claim as a whole is analyzed to determine whether any element, or combination of elements, is sufficient to ensure that the claim amounts to significantly more than the exception. Claim 51 does not recite any additional elements beyond the naturally occurring protein, and therefore does not amount to significantly more. Dependent claims 52-58 further specify the sequences of the protein claims in instant claim 1, with claim 52 reciting the sequence of the ABMs, claim 53 reciting the sequence of the CAD domain, claim 54 reciting the sequence of the DUF2436 domain, claim 55 reciting the second polypeptide’s sequence, and claim 58 reciting the first polypeptide’s sequence. Claims 56 recites that the first and second poly peptides can be directly connected or connected via a linker, and claim 57 recites that the peptide linker is 2-50 amino acids. However, no further limitations apply to the linker and the instant specification does not provide any further requirements, and recites that the linker may comprise amino acids (see page 32). Therefore, as the first and second polypeptides are simply “comprising” the sequence, meaning they can contain more elements than just those recited in the claims, the full protein sequence of the P. gingivalis peptide reads on claim 56, wherein the peptides are directly linked together, and on claim 57, wherein any 2-50 of the extraneous amino acids can be interpreted as a “linker” between the two polypeptides. Therefore, the P. gingivalis protein disclosed by UniProt entry Q51817 - KGP83_PORGN reads on instant claims 51-58. Moreover, as all naturally occurring peptides are encoded by nucleic acids, claim 66 is also considered a naturally occurring product, as a P. gingivalis genome encoding the gingipain protein of UniProt entry Q51817 - KGP83_PORGN would be a nucleic acid comprising a nucleic acid encoding the protein of claim 51. Finally, the vaccine of claim 67 only requires the protein of instant claim 51, as the adjuvant is optional, and therefore also reads on a naturally occurring product. Taken together, one can see that instant claims 51-58, 66, and 67 read on naturally occurring gingipain proteins and are therefore not patent eligible as being drawn to a judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 51-67 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2011/0280880 A1, Reynolds et al., published 11/17/2011.
The instant claims are drawn to a chimeric peptide that comprises a first polypeptide, which comprises an amino acid sequence of the active site of an Arg- or Lys-gingipain or a sequence at least 80% identical, and a second polypeptide comprising an adhesin domain, which comprises at least one adhesin binding motif (ABM) and either a) does not comprise a cleaved adhesin domain (CAD) or b) an amino acid sequence of 80% length of the DUF 2436 domain, or a sequence with 80% sequence identity. The sequences are disclosed in subsequent claims as the following: the ABMs comprise SEQ ID NOs: 14-23 or sequences at least 80% identical thereto, the CAD comprises SEQ ID NO: 12 or 13 or sequences at least 80% identical thereto, the DUF2436 domain is at least 80% the length of Seq ID NO 24 or a sequence at least 80% identical thereto, the second polypeptide comprises the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 26-28 or a sequence with 80% identity, and the first polypeptide comprises the sequences of SEQ ID NO: 1-11 or sequences with 80% identity.
Reynolds et al. disclose chimeric proteins in claim 71 comprising a first polypeptide joined to a second polypeptides wherein the first polypeptide comprises a region of a gingipain selected from Reynolds SEQ ID NOs: 1 and 2 and the second polypeptide comprises an adhesin domain selected from the group of SEQ ID NOs: 35-39. Reynolds SEQ ID NO:1 is identical to instant SEQ ID NO:2 and Reynolds SEQ ID NO: 2 is identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 3 (see Sequence Alignments below). Moreover, Reynolds SEQ ID NO: 35 comprises substantially the length of the DUF2436 domain (140 amino acids of 165, or 85.7%), as well as ABMs 2, 1, and 3, identical to SEQ ID NO: 18 (see Sequence Alignments below). Therefore, Reynolds et al. disclose a chimeric polypeptide that comprises a first polypeptide with sequence identity with SEQ ID NO: 2 and 3 and a second poly peptide that comprises three ABMs and substantially a full length DUF2436 domain.
Sequence Alignment 5: SEQ ID NO: 2 and Reynolds SEQ ID NO: 1
Query Match 94.9%; Score 149; DB 1; Length 37;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 37; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 LNTGV[G/S]FANYTAHGSET[S/A]WADP[S/L][L/V]T[A/T][T/S]Q[V/L]KALTNK[D/N]K 37
||||| | ||||||||||| | |||| | | | | | | | |||||| | |
Db 1 LNTGV[G/S]FANYTAHGSET[S/A]WADP[S/L][L/V]T[A/T][T/S]Q[V/L]KALTNK[D/N]K 37
Sequence Alignment 6: SEQ ID NO: 3 and Reynolds SEQ ID NO: 2
Query Match 99.5%; Score 199; DB 1; Length 37;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 37; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 FNGGISL[V/A]NYTGHGSETAWGTSHFGTTHVKQLTNSNQ 37
||||||| | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 FNGGISL[V/A]NYTGHGSETAWGTSHFGTTHVKQLTNSNQ 37
Sequence Alignment 7: SEQ ID NO: 24 and Reynolds SEQ ID NO: 35
Query Match 85.7%; Score 751; DB 1; Length 362;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 140; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 26 ANEAKVVLAADNVWGDNTGYQFLLDADHNTFGSVIPATGPLFTGTASSNLYSANFEYLIP 85
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 ANEAKVVLAADNVWGDNTGYQFLLDADHNTFGSVIPATGPLFTGTASSNLYSANFEYLIP 60
Qy 86 ANADPVVTTQNIIVTGQGEVVIPGGVYDYCITNPEPASGKMWIAGDGGNQPARYDDFTFE 145
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 ANADPVVTTQNIIVTGQGEVVIPGGVYDYCITNPEPASGKMWIAGDGGNQPARYDDFTFE 120
Qy 146 AGKKYTFTMRRAGMGDGTDM 165
||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 AGKKYTFTMRRAGMGDGTDM 140
Sequence Alignment 8: SEQ ID NO: 18 and Reynolds SEQ ID NO: 35
Query Match 100.0%; Score 538; DB 1; Length 362;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 99; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 ASYTYTVYRDGTKIKEGLTATTFEEDGVAAGNHEYCVEVKYTAGVSPKVCKDVTVEGSNE 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 148 ASYTYTVYRDGTKIKEGLTATTFEEDGVAAGNHEYCVEVKYTAGVSPKVCKDVTVEGSNE 207
Qy 61 FAPVQNLTGSSVGQKVTLKWDAPNGTPNPNPNPNPNPGT 99
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 208 FAPVQNLTGSSVGQKVTLKWDAPNGTPNPNPNPNPNPGT 246
Additionally, Reynolds SEQ ID NO: 36 comprises a shortened DUF domain and ABMs 2, 1, and 3, identical to SEQ ID NO: 18 (see Sequence Alignment below) and not a CAD domain. Therefore, Reynolds et al. disclose a chimeric polypeptide that comprises a first polypeptide with sequence identity with SEQ ID NO: 2 and 3 and a second poly peptide that comprises three ABMs and does not contain a CAD domain.
Sequence Alignment 9: SEQ ID NO: 18 and Reynolds SEQ ID NO: 36
Query Match 100.0%; Score 538; DB 1; Length 231;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 99; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 ASYTYTVYRDGTKIKEGLTATTFEEDGVAAGNHEYCVEVKYTAGVSPKVCKDVTVEGSNE 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 127 ASYTYTVYRDGTKIKEGLTATTFEEDGVAAGNHEYCVEVKYTAGVSPKVCKDVTVEGSNE 186
Qy 61 FAPVQNLTGSSVGQKVTLKWDAPNGTPNPNPNPNPNPGT 99
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 187 FAPVQNLTGSSVGQKVTLKWDAPNGTPNPNPNPNPNPGT 225
Sequence Alignment 10: SEQ ID NO: 12 and Reynolds SEQ ID NO: 36
Query Match 5.1%; Score 47.5; DB 1; Length 231;
Best Local Similarity 23.4%;
Matches 34; Conservative 19; Mismatches 69; Indels 23; Gaps 8;
Qy 17 IDADGDGHGWK-PGNAPGIAGYNSNGCVYSESF----GLGGIGVLTPDNYLIT--PALDL 69
:||| : | | | | |: :|| :| |:| | ::| : :
Db 3 LDADHNTFGSVIPATGPLFTGTASSN-LYSANFEYLIPANADPVVTTQNIIVTGQGEVVI 61
Qy 70 PNGGKLTFWVCAQDANYASEHYAVYASSTGNDASNFTNALLEE----TITAKGVRSPKAI 125
| | : | : || : | || : : : | | | :
Db 62 PGG---VYDYCITNPEPASGKMWI-AGDGGNQPARYDDFTFEAGKKYTFTMRRA------ 111
Qy 126 RGRIQGTWRQKTVDLPAGTKYVAFR 150
| || : | || | :|
Db 112 -GMGDGTDMEVEDDSPASYTYTVYR 135
Therefore, Reynolds et al. teach chimeric proteins that meet the limitations of instant claims 51-54 and 58. Additionally, instant SEQ ID NO: 26 comprises SEQ ID NO: 18 and SEQ ID NO: 24, which is 91.4% identical to Reynolds SEQ ID NO: 35, which meets the limitations of instant claim 55.
Sequence Alignment 11: SEQ ID NO: 26 and Reynolds SEQ ID NO: 35
Query Match 91.4%; Score 1326; DB 1; Length 362;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 246; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 26 ANEAKVVLAADNVWGDNTGYQFLLDADHNTFGSVIPATGPLFTGTASSNLYSANFEYLIP 85
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 ANEAKVVLAADNVWGDNTGYQFLLDADHNTFGSVIPATGPLFTGTASSNLYSANFEYLIP 60
Qy 86 ANADPVVTTQNIIVTGQGEVVIPGGVYDYCITNPEPASGKMWIAGDGGNQPARYDDFTFE 145
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 ANADPVVTTQNIIVTGQGEVVIPGGVYDYCITNPEPASGKMWIAGDGGNQPARYDDFTFE 120
Qy 146 AGKKYTFTMRRAGMGDGTDMEVEDDSPASYTYTVYRDGTKIKEGLTATTFEEDGVAAGNH 205
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 AGKKYTFTMRRAGMGDGTDMEVEDDSPASYTYTVYRDGTKIKEGLTATTFEEDGVAAGNH 180
Qy 206 EYCVEVKYTAGVSPKVCKDVTVEGSNEFAPVQNLTGSSVGQKVTLKWDAPNGTPNPNPNP 265
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 EYCVEVKYTAGVSPKVCKDVTVEGSNEFAPVQNLTGSSVGQKVTLKWDAPNGTPNPNPNP 240
Qy 266 NPNPGT 271
||||||
Db 241 NPNPGT 246
Regarding claim 64, instant SEQ ID NO: 30 discloses a chimeric sequence comprising instant SEQ ID NO: 1, SEQ ID NO: 24, and SEQ ID NO: 18, which, as shown above and in the Sequence Alignments below, comprise Reynolds SEQ ID NO: 1 and SEQ ID NO: 35, which, when combined and aligned with SEQ ID NO: 30, have 89% identity. Therefore, Reynolds et al. teach a chimeric protein with at least 80% identity to SEQ ID NO: 30.
Sequence Alignment 12: SEQ ID NO: 30 and Reynolds SEQ ID NO: 1 and SEQ ID NO: 35
Query Match 88.6%; Score 1452.5; DB 1; Length 399;
Best Local Similarity 89.3%;
Matches 274; Conservative 0; Mismatches 8; Indels 25; Gaps 1;
Qy 1 NTGV S FANYTAHGSET A WADP L L T T S Q L KALTNK D K 36
|||| | ||||||||||| | |||| | | | | | | | |||||| | |
Db 2 NTGV[G/S]FANYTAHGSET[S/A]WADP[S/L][L/V]T[A/T][T/S]Q[V/L]KALTNK[D/N]K 37
Qy 37 AEGSREVKRIGDGLFVTIEPANDV 60
Db 37 ------------------------ 37
Qy 61 RANEAKVVLAADNVWGDNTGYQFLLDADHNTFGSVIPATGPLFTGTASSNLYSANFEYLI 120
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 38 -ANEAKVVLAADNVWGDNTGYQFLLDADHNTFGSVIPATGPLFTGTASSNLYSANFEYLI 96
Qy 121 PANADPVVTTQNIIVTGQGEVVIPGGVYDYCITNPEPASGKMWIAGDGGNQPARYDDFTF 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 97 PANADPVVTTQNIIVTGQGEVVIPGGVYDYCITNPEPASGKMWIAGDGGNQPARYDDFTF 156
Qy 181 EAGKKYTFTMRRAGMGDGTDMEVEDDSPASYTYTVYRDGTKIKEGLTATTFEEDGVAAGN 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 157 EAGKKYTFTMRRAGMGDGTDMEVEDDSPASYTYTVYRDGTKIKEGLTATTFEEDGVAAGN 216
Qy 241 HEYCVEVKYTAGVSPKVCKDVTVEGSNEFAPVQNLTGSSVGQKVTLKWDAPNGTPNPNPN 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 217 HEYCVEVKYTAGVSPKVCKDVTVEGSNEFAPVQNLTGSSVGQKVTLKWDAPNGTPNPNPN 276
Qy 301 PNPNPGT 307
|||||||
Db 277 PNPNPGT 283
Reynolds also discloses in claim 71 that the peptides can be directly connected, meeting the limitations of instant claim 56. Reynolds also discloses that the peptide linker may be 5-15 amino acids in length, in claim 78, which meets the limitations of instant claim 57. Reynolds et al. also teach that the proteins may by HA-Tagged for ease of isolation in paragraph [0175] and in example 2, meeting the limitations of instant claim 65. Reynolds et al. disclose nucleic acids of the claimed fusion proteins in paragraph [0131], and use of the protein in vaccines in paragraphs [0012] and [0036].
Reynolds et al. also teach, in paragraph [0103], that the chimeric or fusion protein may contain one or more of the peptides selected from KAS1 (SEQ ID NO: 4), RAS1 (SEQ ID NO: 8), KAS2 (SEQ ID NO: 5), RAS2 (SEQ ID NO: 9), KAS 3 (SEQ ID NO: 6), RAS 3(SEQ ID NO: 10), KAS4, KAS5, or KAS6, which are all active site domains. Reynolds et al. disclose a peptide comprising KAS4-KAS3-KAS5-KAS6-KLA1 in example 1, paragraph [0168], disclosing a chimeric protein that meets the limitations of instant claim 51 and further comprises one or more further polypeptides that comprise an amino acid sequence of an active site of a gingipain, meeting the limitations of instant claim 59. The peptides are directly linked C terminally to the first polypeptide and N terminally to the second polypeptide, meeting the limitations of claim 60 and 63. The recitation of any combination of active site peptides in paragraph [0103] further meets the limitations of claim 62, which requires the second peptide to have an amino acid sequence from SEQ ID NOs: 1-11, and claim 63, which requires that a first polypeptide be from the active site of a Lys-gingipain and the further polypeptide comprises the sequence from an Arg-gingipain, an embodiment that can be present when KAS1 and RAS1 are selected, for example.
Therefore, Reynolds et al. anticipate claims 51-67.
Double Patenting
Claims 51-67 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 8871213. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the '213 patent was issued from the US 2011/0280880 A1 used in the 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) rejection above, and therefore has the same sequences and SEQ ID NOs as the above rejection. Thus, as claim 1 of ‘213 recites a chimeric protein comprising a first peptide joined directed or via a linker to a second peptide, wherein the first peptide has 90% sequence identity to SEQ ID NOs: 1-34, and the second peptide has at least 90% sequence identity to SEQ ID NOs: 35-37, Claim 1 of ‘213 recites the same protein as instant claim 51. Furthermore, claim 15 recites two or more sequences selected from KAS1, KAS2, KAS3, PAS1K, RAS1, RAS2, RAS3, and PASR1, which are identical to instant SEQ ID NOs: 4-11, as in instant claim 59. Therefore, the claims of ‘213 are substantially the same as the instant claims.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/AMELIA STEPHENS/ Examiner, Art Unit 1645
/ANNE M. GUSSOW/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1683