Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-12, 15, and 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roche et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,521,946).
With respect to claim 11, Roche et al. disclose a virtual character control apparatus (column 36, lines 41-45, FIG. 14 shows an example computer architecture for a computer 1400 capable of executing program components for providing a framework for utilizing different services to interact with VR/AR applications in the manner described above), comprising: at least one processor (column 36, lines 63-65, one or more central processing units ("CPUs") 1404 operate in conjunction with a chipset 1406) and a memory; the memory stores computer executable instructions (column 37, lines 15-22, The chipset 1406 may provide an interface to a RAM 1408, used as the main memory in the computer 1400. The chipset 1406 may further provide an interface to a computer-readable storage medium such as a read-only memory ("ROM") 1410 or non-volatile RAM ("NVRAM") for storing basic routines that help to startup the computer 1400 and to transfer information between the various components and devices); the at least one processor executes the computer executable instructions stored in the memory to:
acquire one or more target keywords in a preset text (column 23, lines 46-48, As shown in FIG. 6A, a first input of text 602 may be received and processed to identify keywords associated with animation sequences);
determine a first target character (column 23, lines 52-56, The first skeletal animation sequence 606 may cause animation of skeletal components of the avatar to extend arms with palms of hands facing upwards to create a gesture associated with "I don't know") and a second target character from the preset text for each of the one or more target keywords, wherein the first target character corresponds to an action start position of the target keyword (column 23, lines 59-62, The animation may be triggered to start performance upon playback of the audio data at a certain word (e.g., the first keyword 604, etc.) or at a time code associated with the word or words that trigger the animation sequence) and the second target character corresponds to an action end position of the target keyword (column 24, lines 1-5, After completion of the first avatar animation sequence associated with "I don't know", the animation manager 204A may animate the avatar to a standard pose, such as to render the avatar in a standing position with hands in a relaxed and downward position near the avatar's waist);
predict an audio broadcasting duration from the first target character to the second target character (column 25, lines 43-53, The time codes 642 may span an amount of time (e.g., ti) used to playback the audio of the text or portion of the text. The time codes 642 may include first time codes 650 that indicate a time of occurrence of each word in the text. The time codes 642 may include second time codes 652 that indicate a time of occurrence of each phonic symbol in the text. The combined time codes may represent third time codes, which may be used to cue the different animation sequences 648, such as skeletal animations and facial animations);
determine a target action file from one or more preset action files corresponding to the target keyword, wherein the target action file is used for driving a virtual character to perform a target action to obtain a target action video (column 23, lines 48-52, the text "I don't know if this is a true story" may be processed by the animation manager 204A to determine that one or more of the words "I don't know" include a first keyword(s) 604 that is associated with a first skeletal animation sequence 606), and a time duration of the target action video matches the audio broadcasting duration (column 23, lines 62-67, column 24, line 1, The first skeletal animation sequence 606 may last only part of the time that the animation manager 204A processes animations for facial features (e.g., mouth movements, etc.), which animate speaking of the text as discussed below in FIG. 6B. The animations may synchronized with playback of the audio data);
drive the virtual character in real time according to audio information of the preset text and a respective target action file corresponding to each target keyword to generate multimedia information (column 23, lines 38-45, FIG. 6A is a schematic diagram 600 of different illustrative animation body sequences for an avatar based on different input words spoken by the avatar. In some examples, a collection of animation sequences may be associated with different words, combination of words, phonic symbols, and/or other parts of speech, which may be included in the speech markup data (SMD) that is derived from the text), wherein the multimedia information comprises the audio information and a respective target action video corresponding to each target keyword (column 7, lines 28-31, The visual content might include a display of three dimensional graphical models presented in a virtual environment, GUI elements, text, images, video). Fig. 6A shows driving the avatar 608, 616, 624, and 632 according to the audio information from the text 602, 610, 618, and 626, based on action files 606, 614, 622, and 630.
With respect to claim 12, Roche et al. disclose the apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to align a broadcasting moment of an audio of a target key character in the target keyword with a playing moment of a key frame in the target action video corresponding to the target keyword before the processor drives the virtual character in real time according to the audio information of the preset text and the respective target action file corresponding to each target keyword to generate the multimedia information (column 25, lines 65-67, column 26, lines 1-5, The animation sequences 648 and corresponding phonic symbols 646 may be stored in the data store 202A. The animation sequences 648 may be associated with the third time codes and may be played back at occurrence of the third time code to synchronize movement of facial features and/or mouth movements with playback of the audio data to animate speaking by the avatar);
when driving the virtual character in real time according to the audio information of the preset text and the respective target action file corresponding to each target keyword to generate the multimedia information, the processor is specifically configured to:
drive the virtual character in real time according to the audio information of the preset text and the respective target action file corresponding to each target keyword to generate the multimedia information, so that the audio of the target keyword and the key frame are played at a same moment (column 23, line 67, column 24, line 1, The animations may synchronized with playback of the audio data, column 31, lines 44-50, At 1114, the animation service 104A may output the audio data synchronized with output of combined animation sequences of the avatar that include the one or more first animation sequences and the one or more second animation sequences. The output may be a file, such as a downloadable animation file that includes the animation, the sound, or both).
With respect to claim 15, Roche et al. disclose the apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the first target character is a first character of the target keyword (column 23, lines 52-56, The first skeletal animation sequence 606 may cause animation of skeletal components of the avatar to extend arms with palms of hands facing upwards to create a gesture associated with "I don't know"), or the first target character is a character before the target keyword by a preset number of characters;
the second target character is a last character of the target keyword (column 24, lines 1-5, After completion of the first avatar animation sequence associated with "I don't know", the animation manager 204A may animate the avatar to a standard pose, such as to render the avatar in a standing position with hands in a relaxed and downward position near the avatar's waist), or the second target character is a last character of a sentence to which the target keyword belongs, or the second target character is a character before a next target keyword of the target keyword, or the second target character is a character after the last character of the target keyword by a preset number of characters. Fig. 6A shows the condition of the first character “I” of the target keyword 604 and last character “know” of the target keyword 604.
With respect to claim 18, Roche et al. disclose the apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the processor is specifically configured to: if the time duration of the target action video corresponding to the target keyword is less than the audio broadcasting duration, determine a time duration of driving the virtual character with a default action file (column 24, lines 2-5, the animation manager 204A may animate the avatar to a standard pose, such as to render the avatar in a standing position with hands in a relaxed and downward position near the avatar's waist), wherein the time duration of driving the virtual character with the default action file is a difference value between the audio broadcasting duration and the time duration of the target action video (column 24, lines 23-27, if playback of a portion of the audio data takes 10 seconds and the limit for each sequence is 3 seconds (N=3 seconds), then the playback could only have up to three different animation sequences that include gestures based on keywords);
drive the virtual character in real time according to the audio information of the preset text, the respective target action file corresponding to each target keyword and the default action file, to generate the multimedia information (column 24, lines 52-55, The second skeletal animation sequence 614 may be preceded by the avatar being in the standard pose while the words "there was once a really" are played back).
With respect to claim 19, Roche et al. disclose the apparatus according to claim 18, wherein the default action file drives the virtual character after the target action file corresponding to the target keyword; or the default action file drives the virtual character before the target action file corresponding to the target keyword (column 24, lines 52-55, The second skeletal animation sequence 614 may be preceded by the avatar being in the standard pose while the words "there was once a really" are played back). The default action file corresponding to the standard pose drives the virtual character before the target keyword “big.”
With respect to claim 20, Roche et al. disclose the apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the processor is specifically configured to: predict whether to play the target key character at a second moment after a first moment, wherein a time duration between the first moment and the second moment is a preset time duration (column 24, lines 12-19, Those additional animation sequences may or may not be selected for use by the animation manager 204A, such as based on application of rules. The rules may establish an amount of time (e.g., a falloff time) between animation sequences, which animations can precede or follow other animation sequences, and amounts of buffer time between (for execution of the standard pose), and so forth);
if the target key character is to be played at the second moment, align a playing moment of a start frame of the target action video corresponding to the target keyword with the first moment, wherein a time duration between the start frame and the key frame is the preset time duration (column 24, lines 29-32, The rules may be stored in the data store 202A. The following provides additional examples of text and animation sequences to further illustrate the concepts discussed herein).
With respect to claim 21, Roche et al. disclose the apparatus according to claim 20, wherein the multimedia information comprises the audio information and a virtual character broadcasting video (column 7, lines 29-31, The visual content might include a display of three dimensional graphical models presented in a virtual environment, GUI elements, text, images, video), the virtual character broadcasting video comprises the respective target action video corresponding to each target keyword, and the virtual character broadcasting video corresponds to the preset text (column 23, lines 52-59, The first skeletal animation sequence 606 may cause animation of skeletal components of the avatar to extend arms with palms of hands facing upwards to create a gesture associated with "I don't know". The animation manager 204A may cause rendering of texture mappings (e.g., clothing, skin, etc. on avatars) to depict a first avatar animation sequence 608); and
an initial broadcasting moment of the audio information is delayed by the preset time duration compared with an initial broadcasting moment of the virtual character broadcasting video (column 23, line 67, column 24, line 1, The animations may synchronized with playback of the audio data).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roche et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,521,946) in view of Niehaus et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20200388269).
With respect to claim 16, Roche et al. disclose the apparatus according to claim 11. However, Roche et al. do not expressly disclose the processor is specifically configured to: predict the audio broadcasting duration from the first target character to the second target character according to a number of characters and a number of punctuation marks between the first target character and the second target character, an audio broadcasting duration of a single character and a pause duration of each punctuation mark.
Niehaus et al., who also deal with audio presentation in computer graphics, disclose a method wherein predicting the audio broadcasting duration from the first target character to the second target character comprises: predicting the audio broadcasting duration from the first target character to the second target character according to a number of characters and a number of punctuation marks between the first target character and the second target character, an audio broadcasting duration of a single character and a pause duration of each punctuation mark (paragraph 141, determine the estimated time to present the subsequent portion of the audio presentation based on a feature of the text content of the plurality of unreviewed electronic communications; wherein the feature of the text content includes a word count or a character count of the text content). As shown in Fig. 1 (paragraph 18, In this portion of device speech 140, personal assistant device 120 outputs audio information in the form of natural language that greets user 110 by the user's name (i.e., “Sam”), identifies a quantity (i.e., “6”) of conversation threads that contain unreviewed electronic communications for the user, and identifies a duration of time (i.e., “about 5 minutes”) for the user to review the conversation threads through audible output of the contents of the electronic communications), the electronic communication comprises a first target character and second target character (start and end of communication) and punctation.
Roche et al. and Niehaus et al. are in the same field of endeavor, namely computer graphics.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply the method wherein predicting the audio broadcasting duration from the first target character to the second target character comprises: predicting the audio broadcasting duration from the first target character to the second target character according to a number of characters and a number of punctuation marks between the first target character and the second target character, an audio broadcasting duration of a single character and a pause duration of each punctuation mark, as taught by Niehaus et al., to the Roche et al. system, because user 110 is informed by personal assistant device 120 as to the anticipated duration of an audio presentation of the unreviewed electronic communications prior to progressing through the audio presentation, thereby enabling the user to make informed decisions as to whether particular electronic communications should be reviewed or skipped (paragraph 18 of Niehaus et al.) and determine the estimated time to present the subsequent portion of the audio presentation based on a feature of the audio data; wherein the feature of the audio data includes an amount of the audio data or a duration of the audio data at a target presentation rate (paragraph 141 of Niehaus et al.).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roche et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,521,946) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,205,577).
With respect to claim 17, Roche et al. disclose the apparatus according to claim 11. However, Roche et al. do not expressly disclose the processor is specifically configured to: if the time duration of the target action video corresponding to the target keyword is greater than the audio broadcasting duration, adjust, according to the audio broadcasting duration, a time duration of driving the virtual character with the target action file corresponding to the target keyword, so that the time duration of driving the virtual character with the target action file is the same as the audio broadcasting duration; drive the virtual character in real time according to the audio information of the preset text, the respective target action file corresponding to each target keyword, and the time duration of driving the virtual character with each target action file, to generate the multimedia information.
Kim et al., who also deal with animating a virtual character, disclose a method wherein: if the time duration of the target action video corresponding to the target keyword is greater than the audio broadcasting duration, adjust, according to the audio broadcasting duration, a time duration of driving the virtual character with the target action file corresponding to the target keyword, so that the time duration of driving the virtual character with the target action file is the same as the audio broadcasting duration; drive the virtual character in real time according to the audio information of the preset text, the respective target action file corresponding to each target keyword, and the time duration of driving the virtual character with each target action file, to generate the multimedia information (column 19, lines 63-67, The response generator component 620 may generate the output video data and audio data to be commensurate in a time duration (i.e., a length of time of output of the video data corresponds to a length of time of output of the audio data). Thus, the device 110 may synchronize display of video and output of audio by commencing display of the video and output of the audio at the same time, column 21, lines 10-18, The 3D model may determine a viseme (i.e., a facial image used to describe a particular sound) for each sound represented in the natural language data, and may map each viseme to a 3D blendshape (used to deform a 3D shape to show different expression) with an emotion corresponding to the emotion identifier of the respective sound. The 3D model may transition between blendshapes smoothly as the avatar transitions to speak the natural language data).
Roche et al. and Kim et al. are in the same field of endeavor, namely computer graphics.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply the method wherein if the time duration of the target action video corresponding to the target keyword is greater than the audio broadcasting duration, adjust, according to the audio broadcasting duration, a time duration of driving the virtual character with the target action file corresponding to the target keyword, so that the time duration of driving the virtual character with the target action file is the same as the audio broadcasting duration; drive the virtual character in real time according to the audio information of the preset text, the respective target action file corresponding to each target keyword, and the time duration of driving the virtual character with each target action file, to generate the multimedia information, as taught by Kim et al., to the Roche et al. system, because the system may synchronize display of the facial expressions of the avatar with output of the synthesized speech (“reading” the story) and display of the generated image. As such, it will be appreciated that the teachings herein provide an improved user experience (column 3, lines 9-13 of Kim et al.).
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-9, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roche et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,521,946) in view of Niehaus et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20200388269) and further in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,205,577).
With respect to claim 1, Roche et al. disclose a virtual character control method, wherein the method comprises:
acquiring one or more target keywords in a preset text (column 23, lines 46-48, As shown in FIG. 6A, a first input of text 602 may be received and processed to identify keywords associated with animation sequences);
for each of the one or more target keywords, determining a first target character (column 23, lines 52-56, The first skeletal animation sequence 606 may cause animation of skeletal components of the avatar to extend arms with palms of hands facing upwards to create a gesture associated with "I don't know") and a second target character from the preset text, wherein the first target character corresponds to an action start position of the target keyword (column 23, lines 59-62, The animation may be triggered to start performance upon playback of the audio data at a certain word (e.g., the first keyword 604, etc.) or at a time code associated with the word or words that trigger the animation sequence) and the second target character corresponds to an action end position of the target keyword (column 24, lines 1-5, After completion of the first avatar animation sequence associated with "I don't know", the animation manager 204A may animate the avatar to a standard pose, such as to render the avatar in a standing position with hands in a relaxed and downward position near the avatar's waist);
predicting an audio broadcasting duration from the first target character to the second target character (column 25, lines 43-53, The time codes 642 may span an amount of time (e.g., ti) used to playback the audio of the text or portion of the text. The time codes 642 may include first time codes 650 that indicate a time of occurrence of each word in the text. The time codes 642 may include second time codes 652 that indicate a time of occurrence of each phonic symbol in the text. The combined time codes may represent third time codes, which may be used to cue the different animation sequences 648, such as skeletal animations and facial animations);
determining a target action file from one or more preset action files corresponding to the target keyword, wherein the target action file is used for driving a virtual character to perform a target action to obtain a target action video (column 23, lines 48-52, the text "I don't know if this is a true story" may be processed by the animation manager 204A to determine that one or more of the words "I don't know" include a first keyword(s) 604 that is associated with a first skeletal animation sequence 606), and a time duration of the target action video matches the audio broadcasting duration (column 23, lines 62-67, column 24, line 1, The first skeletal animation sequence 606 may last only part of the time that the animation manager 204A processes animations for facial features (e.g., mouth movements, etc.), which animate speaking of the text as discussed below in FIG. 6B. The animations may synchronized with playback of the audio data);
driving the virtual character in real time according to audio information of the preset text and a respective target action file corresponding to each target keyword to generate multimedia information (column 23, lines 38-45, FIG. 6A is a schematic diagram 600 of different illustrative animation body sequences for an avatar based on different input words spoken by the avatar. In some examples, a collection of animation sequences may be associated with different words, combination of words, phonic symbols, and/or other parts of speech, which may be included in the speech markup data (SMD) that is derived from the text), wherein the multimedia information comprises the audio information and a respective target action video corresponding to each target keyword (column 7, lines 28-31, The visual content might include a display of three dimensional graphical models presented in a virtual environment, GUI elements, text, images, video). Fig. 6A shows driving the avatar 608, 616, 624, and 632 according to the audio information from the text 602, 610, 618, and 626, based on action files 606, 614, 622, and 630. However, Roche et al. do not expressly disclose predicting the audio broadcasting duration from the first target character to the second target character comprises: predicting the audio broadcasting duration from the first target character to the second target character according to a number of characters and a number of punctuation marks between the first target character and the second target character, an audio broadcasting duration of a single character and a pause duration of each punctuation mark, and wherein driving the virtual character in real time according to the audio information of the preset text and the respective target action file corresponding to each target keyword to generate the multimedia information comprises: if the time duration of the target action video corresponding to the target keyword is greater than the audio broadcasting duration, adjusting, according to the audio broadcasting duration, a time duration of driving the virtual character with the target action file corresponding to the target keyword, so that the time duration of driving the virtual character with the target action file is the same as the audio broadcasting duration; driving the virtual character in real time according to the audio information of the preset text, the respective target action file corresponding to each target keyword, and the time duration of driving the virtual character with each target action file, to generate the multimedia information.
Niehaus et al., who also deal with audio presentation in computer graphics, disclose a method wherein predicting the audio broadcasting duration from the first target character to the second target character comprises: predicting the audio broadcasting duration from the first target character to the second target character according to a number of characters and a number of punctuation marks between the first target character and the second target character, an audio broadcasting duration of a single character and a pause duration of each punctuation mark (paragraph 141, determine the estimated time to present the subsequent portion of the audio presentation based on a feature of the text content of the plurality of unreviewed electronic communications; wherein the feature of the text content includes a word count or a character count of the text content). As shown in Fig. 1 (paragraph 18, In this portion of device speech 140, personal assistant device 120 outputs audio information in the form of natural language that greets user 110 by the user's name (i.e., “Sam”), identifies a quantity (i.e., “6”) of conversation threads that contain unreviewed electronic communications for the user, and identifies a duration of time (i.e., “about 5 minutes”) for the user to review the conversation threads through audible output of the contents of the electronic communications), the electronic communication comprises a first target character and second target character (start and end of communication) and punctation.
Roche et al. and Niehaus et al. are in the same field of endeavor, namely computer graphics.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply the method wherein predicting the audio broadcasting duration from the first target character to the second target character comprises: predicting the audio broadcasting duration from the first target character to the second target character according to a number of characters and a number of punctuation marks between the first target character and the second target character, an audio broadcasting duration of a single character and a pause duration of each punctuation mark, as taught by Niehaus et al., to the Roche et al. system, because user 110 is informed by personal assistant device 120 as to the anticipated duration of an audio presentation of the unreviewed electronic communications prior to progressing through the audio presentation, thereby enabling the user to make informed decisions as to whether particular electronic communications should be reviewed or skipped (paragraph 18 of Niehaus et al.) and determine the estimated time to present the subsequent portion of the audio presentation based on a feature of the audio data; wherein the feature of the audio data includes an amount of the audio data or a duration of the audio data at a target presentation rate (paragraph 141 of Niehaus et al.).
Kim et al., who also deal with animating a virtual character, disclose a method wherein driving the virtual character in real time according to the audio information of the preset text and the respective target action file corresponding to each target keyword to generate the multimedia information comprises: if the time duration of the target action video corresponding to the target keyword is greater than the audio broadcasting duration, adjusting, according to the audio broadcasting duration, a time duration of driving the virtual character with the target action file corresponding to the target keyword, so that the time duration of driving the virtual character with the target action file is the same as the audio broadcasting duration; driving the virtual character in real time according to the audio information of the preset text, the respective target action file corresponding to each target keyword, and the time duration of driving the virtual character with each target action file, to generate the multimedia information (column 19, lines 63-67, The response generator component 620 may generate the output video data and audio data to be commensurate in a time duration (i.e., a length of time of output of the video data corresponds to a length of time of output of the audio data). Thus, the device 110 may synchronize display of video and output of audio by commencing display of the video and output of the audio at the same time, column 21, lines 10-18, The 3D model may determine a viseme (i.e., a facial image used to describe a particular sound) for each sound represented in the natural language data, and may map each viseme to a 3D blendshape (used to deform a 3D shape to show different expression) with an emotion corresponding to the emotion identifier of the respective sound. The 3D model may transition between blendshapes smoothly as the avatar transitions to speak the natural language data).
Roche et al., Niehaus et al., and Kim et al. are in the same field of endeavor, namely computer graphics.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply the method wherein driving the virtual character in real time according to the audio information of the preset text and the respective target action file corresponding to each target keyword to generate the multimedia information comprises: if the time duration of the target action video corresponding to the target keyword is greater than the audio broadcasting duration, adjusting, according to the audio broadcasting duration, a time duration of driving the virtual character with the target action file corresponding to the target keyword, so that the time duration of driving the virtual character with the target action file is the same as the audio broadcasting duration; driving the virtual character in real time according to the audio information of the preset text, the respective target action file corresponding to each target keyword, and the time duration of driving the virtual character with each target action file, to generate the multimedia information, as taught by Kim et al., to the Roche et al. as modified by Niehuas et al. system, because the system may synchronize display of the facial expressions of the avatar with output of the synthesized speech (“reading” the story) and display of the generated image. As such, it will be appreciated that the teachings herein provide an improved user experience (column 3, lines 9-13 of Kim et al.).
With respect to claim 2, Roche et al. as modified by Niehaus et al. and Kim et al. disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the first target character is a first character of the target keyword (Roche et al.: column 23, lines 52-56, The first skeletal animation sequence 606 may cause animation of skeletal components of the avatar to extend arms with palms of hands facing upwards to create a gesture associated with "I don't know"), or the first target character is a character before the target keyword by a preset number of characters;
the second target character is a last character of the target keyword (Roche et al.: column 24, lines 1-5, After completion of the first avatar animation sequence associated with "I don't know", the animation manager 204A may animate the avatar to a standard pose, such as to render the avatar in a standing position with hands in a relaxed and downward position near the avatar's waist), or the second target character is a last character of a sentence to which the target keyword belongs, or the second target character is a character before a next target keyword of the target keyword, or the second target character is a character after the last character of the target keyword by a preset number of characters. Fig. 6A shows the condition of the first character “I” of the target keyword 604 and last character “know” of the target keyword 604.
With respect to claim 5, Roche et al. as modified by Niehaus et al. and Kim et al. disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein driving the virtual character in real time according to the audio information of the preset text and the respective target action file corresponding to each target keyword to generate the multimedia information comprises: if the time duration of the target action video corresponding to the target keyword is less than the audio broadcasting duration, determining a time duration of driving the virtual character with a default action file (Roche et al.: column 24, lines 2-5, the animation manager 204A may animate the avatar to a standard pose, such as to render the avatar in a standing position with hands in a relaxed and downward position near the avatar's waist), wherein the time duration of driving the virtual character with the default action file is a difference value between the audio broadcasting duration and the time duration of the target action video (Roche et al.: column 24, lines 23-27, if playback of a portion of the audio data takes 10 seconds and the limit for each sequence is 3 seconds (N=3 seconds), then the playback could only have up to three different animation sequences that include gestures based on keywords);
driving the virtual character in real time according to the audio information of the preset text, the respective target action file corresponding to each target keyword and the default action file, to generate the multimedia information (Roche et al.: column 24, lines 52-55, The second skeletal animation sequence 614 may be preceded by the avatar being in the standard pose while the words "there was once a really" are played back).
With respect to claim 6, Roche et al. as modified by Niehaus et al. and Kim et al. disclose the method according to claim 5, wherein the default action file drives the virtual character after the target action file corresponding to the target keyword; or the default action file drives the virtual character before the target action file corresponding to the target keyword (Roche et al.: column 24, lines 52-55, The second skeletal animation sequence 614 may be preceded by the avatar being in the standard pose while the words "there was once a really" are played back). The default action file corresponding to the standard pose drives the virtual character before the target keyword “big.”
With respect to claim 7, Roche et al. as modified by Niehaus et al. and Kim et al. disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein before driving the virtual character in real time according to the audio information of the preset text and the respective target action file corresponding to each target keyword to generate the multimedia information, the method further comprises:
aligning a broadcasting moment of an audio of a target key character in the target keyword with a playing moment of a key frame in the target action video corresponding to the target keyword (Roche et al.: column 25, lines 65-67, column 26, lines 1-5, The animation sequences 648 and corresponding phonic symbols 646 may be stored in the data store 202A. The animation sequences 648 may be associated with the third time codes and may be played back at occurrence of the third time code to synchronize movement of facial features and/or mouth movements with playback of the audio data to animate speaking by the avatar);
driving the virtual character in real time according to the audio information of the preset text and the respective target action file corresponding to each target keyword to generate the multimedia information comprises:
driving the virtual character in real time according to the audio information of the preset text and the respective target action file corresponding to each target keyword to generate the multimedia information, so that the audio of the target keyword and the key frame are played at a same moment (Roche et al.: column 23, line 67, column 24, line 1, The animations may synchronized with playback of the audio data, column 31, lines 44-50, At 1114, the animation service 104A may output the audio data synchronized with output of combined animation sequences of the avatar that include the one or more first animation sequences and the one or more second animation sequences. The output may be a file, such as a downloadable animation file that includes the animation, the sound, or both).
With respect to claim 8, Roche et al. as modified by Niehaus et al. and Kim et al. disclose the method according to claim 7, wherein aligning the broadcasting moment of the audio of the target key character in the target keyword with the playing moment of the key frame in the target action video corresponding to the target keyword comprises:
predicting whether to play the target key character at a second moment after a first moment, wherein a time duration between the first moment and the second moment is a preset time duration (Roche et al.: column 24, lines 12-19, Those additional animation sequences may or may not be selected for use by the animation manager 204A, such as based on application of rules. The rules may establish an amount of time (e.g., a falloff time) between animation sequences, which animations can precede or follow other animation sequences, and amounts of buffer time between (for execution of the standard pose), and so forth);
if the target key character is to be played at the second moment, aligning a playing moment of a start frame of the target action video corresponding to the target keyword with the first moment, wherein a time duration between the start frame and the key frame is the preset time duration (Roche et al.: column 24, lines 29-32, The rules may be stored in the data store 202A. The following provides additional examples of text and animation sequences to further illustrate the concepts discussed herein).
With respect to claim 9, Roche et al. as modified by Niehaus et al. and Kim et al. disclose the method according to claim 8, wherein the multimedia information comprises the audio information and a virtual character broadcasting video (Roche et al.: column 7, lines 29-31, The visual content might include a display of three dimensional graphical models presented in a virtual environment, GUI elements, text, images, video), the virtual character broadcasting video comprises the respective target action video corresponding to each target keyword, and the virtual character broadcasting video corresponds to the preset text (Roche et al.: column 23, lines 52-59, The first skeletal animation sequence 606 may cause animation of skeletal components of the avatar to extend arms with palms of hands facing upwards to create a gesture associated with "I don't know". The animation manager 204A may cause rendering of texture mappings (e.g., clothing, skin, etc. on avatars) to depict a first avatar animation sequence 608);
an initial broadcasting moment of the audio information is delayed by the preset time duration compared with an initial broadcasting moment of the virtual character broadcasting video (Roche et al.: column 23, line 67, column 24, line 1, The animations may synchronized with playback of the audio data).
With respect to claim 14, Roche et al. as modified by Niehaus et al. and Kim et al. disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having a computer program stored thereon (Roche et al.: column 37, lines 17-25, The chipset 1406 may further provide an interface to a computer-readable storage medium such as a read-only memory ("ROM") 1410 or non-volatile RAM ("NVRAM") for storing basic routines that help to startup the computer 1400 and to transfer information between the various components and devices. The ROM 1410 or NVRAM may also store other software components necessary for the operation of the computer 1400 in accordance with the examples described herein), wherein when the computer program is executed by a processor, the processor is caused to execute the operations of claim 1; see rationale for rejection of claim 1.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roche et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,521,946) in view of Niehaus et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20200388269), Kim et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,205,577), and further in view of Marsella (U.S. PGPUB 20140267313).
With respect to claim 10, Roche et al. as modified by Niehaus et al. and Kim et al. disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
acquiring a plurality of sample keywords in a sample text; adjusting the plurality of sample keywords to obtain a sample keyword set (Roche et al.: column 24, lines 35-38, For example, the text "big" may be processed by the animation manager 204A and determined as a second keyword(s) 612 that is associated with a second skeletal animation sequence 614, Roche et al.: column 24, lines 58-62, For example, the text "inside" may be processed by the animation manager 204A and determined as a third keyword(s) 620 that is associated with a third skeletal animation sequence 622); for each sample keyword in the sample keyword set, generating one or more preset action files corresponding to the sample keyword (Roche et al.: column 24, lines 39-42, The second skeletal animation sequence 614 may cause animation of skeletal components of the avatar to move an arm near a head of the avatar and extend an index finger from a thumb to create a gesture associated with "big", column 24, lines 62-66, The third skeletal animation sequence 622 may cause animation of skeletal components of the avatar to extend an arm outward from a torso and point a finger 65 downwards toward the ground to create a gesture associated with "inside"). However, Roche et al. as modified by Niehaus et al. and Kim et al. do not expressly disclose determining the target action file from the one or more preset action files corresponding to the target keyword comprises: determining a sample keyword matching the target keyword from the sample keyword set, and determining the target action file from one or more preset action files corresponding to the sample keyword.
Marsella, who also deals with animating a virtual character, discloses a method wherein determining the target action file from the one or more preset action files corresponding to the target keyword comprises: determining a sample keyword matching the target keyword from the sample keyword set, and determining the target action file from one or more preset action files corresponding to the sample keyword (paragraph 6, a Behavior Expression Animation Toolkit (BEAT) analyzes the text that the virtual character is to speak with user provided rules to detect keywords and phrases. Then, the program automatically generates the speech part of a virtual character, and the associated nonverbal behavior and facial expression given raw text utterances).
Roche et al., Niehaus et al., Kim et al., and Marsella are in the same field of endeavor, namely computer graphics.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to apply the method wherein determining the target action file from the one or more preset action files corresponding to the target keyword comprises: determining a sample keyword matching the target keyword from the sample keyword set, and determining the target action file from one or more preset action files corresponding to the sample keyword, as taught by Marsella, to the Roche et al. as modified by Niehaus et al. and Kim et al. system, because this would allow for using pre-generated animations, or action files.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Kim does not disclose for each target keyword, a corresponding target action file is used, and if the time duration of the target action video corresponding to that target keyword is greater than the audio broadcasting duration, the time duration of driving the virtual character with that target action file is adjusted so that it is the same as the audio broadcasting duration, in that Kim states that the generated video data and audio data may have corresponding overall durations (page 14 of remarks). However, the amended claim is recited with the “if” conditional statement, such that the limitation is interpreted in the optional sense, if the condition does not occur. Kim discloses the limitation of driving the virtual character in real time according to the audio information of the preset text, the respective target action file corresponding to each target keyword, and the time duration of driving the virtual character with each target action file, to generate the multimedia information, as cited in above in the Office Action.
Applicant argues that the combination would fail to render amended independent claim 1 obvious because a person of ordinary skill in the art would have no motivation to supply the missing elements without the benefit of Applicant’s own disclosure as a guide (page 15 of remarks). In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). In this case, Kim discloses a motivation, because the system may synchronize display of the facial expressions of the avatar with output of the synthesized speech (“reading” the story) and display of the generated image. As such, it will be appreciated that the teachings herein provide an improved user experience (column 3, lines 9-13 of Kim et al.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. PGPUB 20120026174 to McKeon et al. for a method of adjusting the duration and position of a sub-frame to improve the coordination with the sound track
U.S. Patent No. 12,106,412 to Krishnan Gorumkonda et al. for a method of matching speed harmonic values for setting animation speeds to detected audio data.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW G YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2614
5/6/26