DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the 371 application entering national stage from PCT/IB2023/050562 filed on 1/23/2023, which claims priority from the provisional application 63/302,006 filed on 1/21/2022. Claims 1-20 are pending and ready for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (US 2023/0224802, hereinafter Cheng) in view of Cheng et al. (US 2023/0077496, hereinafter Cheng_7496).
Regarding claim 1, Cheng discloses a User Equipment ("UE") for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory, and configured to cause the UE to [Cheng Figure 4 discloses components of a base station (110 a) and a UE (120 a), comprising processors, antennas, controllers, memory, etc. (Cheng Figure 4, paragraphs 0056, 0058, 0059)]:
Receive a set of connection timers from a first system information block ("SIB 1") of a serving node [Cheng Figure 1 discloses transmissions between a UE and a serving base station (Cheng Figure 1, paragraph 0046). A UE may monitor for SIB (E-SIB) broadcasts which may include parameters such as TimersAndConstants (i.e. connection related timers) (Cheng paragraphs 0084-0085 and Figure 15)];
Receive a first set of sidelink ("SL") connection timers from an additional system information block ("SIB") of the serving node [Cheng discloses that a relay UE may send an updated SIB (e.g. SIB12) to the remote UE (Cheng paragraph 0091)].
Cheng does not expressly disclose the features of receiving a first set of SL connection timers; determining a second set of SL connection timers for communication establishment with a base station using a UE-to-Network ("U2N") SL relay UE, wherein respective values of the second set of SL connection timers are determined based at least in part on the first set of SL connection timers; and use a respective connection timer to supervise communication establishment with the base station via the U2N SL relay UE.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Cheng _7496 discloses that a base station may provide (e.g. in a broadcast system information), timers for RRC connection. The timers may be for connection via a relay (Cheng_7496 paragraph 0148, Figure 12). The remote UE may receive additional timers in connection with an RRC connection request (Cheng_7496 paragraph 0150, Figure 12). In some examples, the relay UE may provide additional timing information (e.g. at Figure 12, 1216); and the UE may receive timers similar to T300, T311, etc. (i.e. similar to a first set of sidelink connection timers) (Cheng_7496 paragraph 0155). Cheng _7496 further discloses that the UE may add the additional timer values to the timers from base station (i.e. similar to determining a second set of SL connection timers based on the timing information received from the relay UE, or based on the first set of SL timers) (see Cheng_7496 paragraphs 0150, Figure 12, 1218). Cheng_7496 also discloses that the UE may use the additional set of timers for the RRC connection procedure via the relay (i.e. using a perspective connection timer for connection establishment with the base station via SL relay) (Cheng_7496 paragraphs 0155, 0156 and 0157).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cheng and Cheng_7496 to have the features of receiving a first set of SL connection timers; determining a second set of SL connection timers for communication establishment with a base station using a UE-to-Network ("U2N") SL relay UE, wherein respective values of the second set of SL connection timers are determined based at least in part on the first set of SL connection timers; and use a respective connection timer to supervise communication establishment with the base station via the U2N SL relay UE. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reduce latency of the RRC connection procedure (Cheng_7496 paragraphs 0043 and 0154).
Regarding claim 2, Cheng and Cheng_7496 disclose the UE of claim 1. Cheng and Cheng_7496 further disclose wherein the supervised communication establishment includes one of: a Radio Resource Control ("RRC") Connection Establishment procedure, a RRC Connection Resume procedure, or a RRC Connection Reestablishment procedure [Cheng_7496 discloses that the UE may use the additional set of timers for the RRC connection procedure via the relay (Cheng_7496 paragraphs 0155, 0156 and 0157)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Cheng and Cheng_7496 disclose the UE of claim 1. Cheng and Cheng_7496 further disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to initiate the respective connection timer in response to transmitting a Radio Resource Control ("RRC") Connection Request, a RRC Resume Request, or a RRC Connection Reestablishment Request [Cheng_7496 discloses that the UE may apply the timer from the relay UE in combination with the timer from the base station, in the same manner as described in connection with Fig. 10 or 11 (Cheng_7496 paragraphs 0150 and 0151). As disclosed in Cheng_7496 Fig. 11, the UE may transmit an RRC request (e.g. for establishing, to resume, or to reestablish an RRC connection), and then may apply a corresponding timer (see Cheng_7496 Fig. 11, paragraphs 0143 and 0144)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Cheng and Cheng_7496 disclose the UE of claim 1. Cheng and Cheng_7496 further disclose wherein the base station comprises the serving node or a non-serving base station [Cheng Figure 1 discloses transmissions between a UE and a serving base station (Cheng Figure 1, paragraph 0046). Cheng_7496 Figure 12 discloses an example communication flow between a remote UR, a relay UE, and a base station (Cheng_7496 paragraph 0148). The base station servers the UE, indicating a serving node]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Cheng and Cheng_7496 disclose the UE of claim 1. Cheng and Cheng_7496 further disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to determine at least one respective value of the second set of SL connection timers based on the set of connection timers from the SIB1 [Cheng discloses that a UE may monitor for SIB (E-SIB) broadcasts which may include parameters such as TimersAndConstants (i.e. connection related timers) (Cheng paragraphs 0084-0085). Cheng _7496 further discloses that the UE may apply the timer from the relay UE in combination with the timer from the base station (i.e. value of the second set of SL timers may be based on the timers from SIB1) (see Cheng_7496 paragraphs 0150, Figure 12, 1218)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Cheng and Cheng_7496 disclose the UE of claim 1. Cheng and Cheng_7496 further disclose wherein the second set of SL connection timers for communication establishment comprises timers 'T300,' 'T301,' and 'T319.' [Cheng_7496 discloses that the timers transmitted in a SIB may include T300, T319, T301, and/or T311 (Cheng_7496 paragraph 0148). In some examples, the relay UE may provide additional timing information (e.g. at Figure 12, 1216); and the UE may receive timers similar to T300, T319, T301, and/or T311 (i.e. the second set of SL connection timers) (Cheng_7496 paragraph 0155)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Cheng and Cheng_7496 disclose the UE of claim 1. Cheng and Cheng_7496 further disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to establish a SL Radio Resource Control ("RRC") connection with the U2N SL relay UE, wherein system information comprising at least the SIB1 is received in a discovery message received from the U2N SL relay UE prior to the establishment of the SL RRC connection [Cheng discloses that the remote UE may connect, via a sidelink, to a relay node (i.e. a UE-to-network relay) (Cheng Figure 15, paragraph 0086. Also see paragraph 0074). Cheng further discloses that the remote UE may monitor for SIB broadcasts by a relay, as part of the discovery procedure (Cheng paragraph 0084)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Cheng and Cheng_7496 disclose the UE of claim 1. Cheng and Cheng_7496 further disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to establish a SL Radio Resource Control ("RRC") connection with the U2N SL relay UE, wherein system information comprising at least the SIB1 is received in a RRC reconfiguration message received from the U2N SL relay UE after the establishment of the SL RRC connection [Cheng discloses that in some examples, the remote UE may send an indication of a request (request SIBx) in a sidelink message, which may be applied when the relay is in connected mode. The relay UE may send SIB to the remote UE in a sidelink message such as a dedicated RRC message (RRCReconfigurationSidelink) (see Cheng paragraphs 0092 and 0093)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Cheng discloses a processor for wireless communication, comprising: at least one controller coupled with at least one memory and configured to cause the processor to [Cheng Figure 4 discloses components of a base station (110 a) and a UE (120 a), comprising processors, antennas, controllers, memory, etc. (Cheng Figure 4, paragraphs 0056, 0058, 0059)]:
Receive a set of connection timers from a first system information block ("SIB") of a serving node [Cheng Figure 1 discloses transmissions between a UE and a serving base station (Cheng Figure 1, paragraph 0046). A UE may monitor for SIB (E-SIB) broadcasts which may include parameters such as TimersAndConstants (i.e. connection related timers) (Cheng paragraphs 0084-0085 and Figure 15)];
Receive a first set of sidelink ("SL") connection timers from an additional SIB of the serving node [Cheng discloses that a relay UE may send an updated SIB (e.g. SIB12) to the remote UE (Cheng paragraph 0091)].
Cheng does not expressly disclose the features of receiving a first set of SL connection timers; determining a second set of SL connection timers for communication establishment with a base station using a UE- to-Network ("U2N") SL relay UE, wherein a respective value for each timer in the second set of SL connection timers is determined based at least in part on the first set of SL connection timers; and use a respective connection timer to supervise communication establishment with the base station via the U2N SL relay UE.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Cheng _7496 discloses that a base station may provide (e.g. in a broadcast system information), timers for RRC connection. The timers may be for connection via a relay (Cheng_7496 paragraph 0148, Figure 12). The remote UE may receive additional timers in connection with an RRC connection request (Cheng_7496 paragraph 0150, Figure 12). In some examples, the relay UE may provide additional timing information (e.g. at Figure 12, 1216); and the UE may receive timers similar to T300, T311, etc. (i.e. similar to a first set of sidelink connection timers) (Cheng_7496 paragraph 0155). Cheng _7496 further discloses that the UE may add the additional timer values to the timers from base station (i.e. similar to determining a second set of SL connection timers based on the timing information received from the relay UE, or based on the first set of SL timers) (see Cheng_7496 paragraphs 0150, Figure 12, 1218). Cheng_7496 also discloses that the UE may use the additional set of timers for the RRC connection procedure via the relay (i.e. using a perspective connection timer for connection establishment with the base station via SL relay) (Cheng_7496 paragraphs 0155, 0156 and 0157).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cheng and Cheng_7496 to have the features of receiving a first set of SL connection timers; determining a second set of SL connection timers for communication establishment with a base station using a UE- to-Network ("U2N") SL relay UE, wherein a respective value for each timer in the second set of SL connection timers is determined based at least in part on the first set of SL connection timers; and use a respective connection timer to supervise communication establishment with the base station via the U2N SL relay UE. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reduce latency of the RRC connection procedure (Cheng_7496 paragraphs 0043 and 0154).
Regarding claim 12, Cheng and Cheng_7496 disclose the processor of claim 11. Cheng and Cheng_7496 further disclose wherein the supervised communication establishment includes one of: a Radio Resource Control ("RRC") Connection Establishment procedure, a RRC Connection Resume procedure, or a RRC Connection Reestablishment procedure [Cheng_7496 discloses that the UE may use the additional set of timers for the RRC connection procedure via the relay (Cheng_7496 paragraphs 0155, 0156 and 0157)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 11.
Regarding claim 13, Cheng and Cheng_7496 disclose the processor of claim 11. Cheng and Cheng_7496 further disclose wherein the at least one controller is configured to cause the processor to initiate the respective connection timer in response to transmitting a Radio Resource Control ("RRC") Connection Request, a RRC Resume Request, or a RRC Connection Reestablishment Request [Cheng_7496 discloses that the UE may apply the timer from the relay UE in combination with the timer from the base station, in the same manner as described in connection with Fig. 10 or 11 (Cheng_7496 paragraphs 0150 and 0151). As disclosed in Cheng_7496 Fig. 11, the UE may transmit an RRC request (e.g. for establishing, to resume, or to reestablish an RRC connection), and then may apply a corresponding timer (see Cheng_7496 Fig. 11, paragraphs 0143 and 0144)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 11.
Regarding claim 14, Cheng and Cheng_7496 disclose the processor of claim 11. Cheng and Cheng_7496 further disclose wherein the at least one controller is configured to cause the processor to determine at least one respective value of the second set of SL connection timers based on the set of connection timers from the SIB1 [Cheng discloses that a UE may monitor for SIB (E-SIB) broadcasts which may include parameters such as TimersAndConstants (i.e. connection related timers) (Cheng paragraphs 0084-0085). Cheng _7496 further discloses that the UE may apply the timer from the relay UE in combination with the timer from the base station (i.e. value of the second set of SL timers may be based on the timers from SIB1) (see Cheng_7496 paragraphs 0150, Figure 12, 1218)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 11.
Regarding claim 16, Cheng and Cheng_7496 disclose the processor of claim 11. Cheng and Cheng_7496 further disclose wherein the base station comprises the serving node or a non-serving base station [Cheng Figure 1 discloses transmissions between a UE and a serving base station (Cheng Figure 1, paragraph 0046). Cheng_7496 Figure 12 discloses an example communication flow between a remote UR, a relay UE, and a base station (Cheng_7496 paragraph 0148). The base station servers the UE, indicating a serving node], and wherein the second set of SL connection timers for communication establishment comprises timers 'T300,' 'T301,' and 'T319.' [Cheng_7496 discloses that the timers transmitted in a SIB may include T300, T319, T301, and/or T311 (Cheng_7496 paragraph 0148). In some examples, the relay UE may provide additional timing information (e.g. at Figure 12, 1216); and the UE may receive timers similar to T300, T319, T301, and/or T311 (i.e. the second set of SL connection timers) (Cheng_7496 paragraph 0155)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 11.
Regarding claim 17, Cheng and Cheng_7496 disclose the processor of claim 11. Cheng and Cheng_7496 further disclose wherein the additional SIB comprises a twelfth system information block ("SIB 12") [Cheng discloses that a relay UE may send an updated SIB (e.g. SIB12) to the remote UE (Cheng paragraph 0091)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 11.
Regarding claim 18, Cheng and Cheng_7496 disclose the processor of claim 11. Cheng and Cheng_7496 further disclose wherein the at least one controller is configured to cause the processor to establish a SL Radio Resource Control ("RRC") connection with the U2N SL relay UE, wherein system information comprising at least the SIB 1 is received in a discovery message received from the U2N SL relay UE prior to the establishment of the SL RRC connection or in a RRC reconfiguration message received from the U2N SL relay UE after the establishment of the SL RRC connection [Cheng discloses that the remote UE may connect, via a sidelink, to a relay node (i.e. a UE-to-network relay) (Cheng Figure 15, paragraph 0086. Also see paragraph 0074). Cheng further discloses that the remote UE may monitor for SIB broadcasts by a relay, as part of the discovery procedure (Cheng paragraph 0084)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 11.
Regarding claim 19, Cheng and Cheng_7496 disclose the UE of claim 1. Cheng and Cheng_7496 further disclose wherein the additional SIB comprises a twelfth system information block ("SIB 12") [Cheng discloses that a relay UE may send an updated SIB (e.g. SIB12) to the remote UE (Cheng paragraph 0091)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, Cheng discloses a method of a User Equipment ("UE"), the method comprising: receiving a set of connection timers from a first system information block ("SIB") of a serving node [Cheng Figure 1 discloses transmissions between a UE and a serving base station (Cheng Figure 1, paragraph 0046). A UE may monitor for SIB (E-SIB) broadcasts which may include parameters such as TimersAndConstants (i.e. connection related timers) (Cheng paragraphs 0084-0085 and Figure 15)];
Receiving a first set of sidelink ("SL") connection timers from an additional SIB-of the serving node [Cheng discloses that a relay UE may send an updated SIB (e.g. SIB12) to the remote UE (Cheng paragraph 0091)].
Cheng does not expressly disclose the features of receiving a first set of SL connection timers;
determining a second set of SL connection timers for communication establishment with a network node using a UE-to-Network ("U2N") SL relay UE, wherein a respective value for each timer in the second set of SL connection timers is determined based at least in part on the first set of SL connection timers; and using a respective connection timer to supervise communication establishment with the network node via the U2N SL relay UE.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Cheng _7496 discloses that a base station may provide (e.g. in a broadcast system information), timers for RRC connection. The timers may be for connection via a relay (Cheng_7496 paragraph 0148, Figure 12). The remote UE may receive additional timers in connection with an RRC connection request (Cheng_7496 paragraph 0150, Figure 12). In some examples, the relay UE may provide additional timing information (e.g. at Figure 12, 1216); and the UE may receive timers similar to T300, T311, etc. (i.e. similar to a first set of sidelink connection timers) (Cheng_7496 paragraph 0155). Cheng _7496 further discloses that the UE may add the additional timer values to the timers from base station (i.e. similar to determining a second set of SL connection timers based on the timing information received from the relay UE, or based on the first set of SL timers) (see Cheng_7496 paragraphs 0150, Figure 12, 1218). Cheng_7496 also discloses that the UE may use the additional set of timers for the RRC connection procedure via the relay (i.e. using a perspective connection timer for connection establishment with the base station via SL relay) (Cheng_7496 paragraphs 0155, 0156 and 0157).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cheng and Cheng_7496 to have the features of receiving a first set of SL connection timers;
determining a second set of SL connection timers for communication establishment with a network node using a UE-to-Network ("U2N") SL relay UE, wherein a respective value for each timer in the second set of SL connection timers is determined based at least in part on the first set of SL connection timers; and using a respective connection timer to supervise communication establishment with the network node via the U2N SL relay UE. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reduce latency of the RRC connection procedure (Cheng_7496 paragraphs 0043 and 0154).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng in view of Cheng_7496, and further in view of Huawei et al. (3GPP TSG-RAN WG2, R2-2201510, Jan 17-25, 2022; provided in Applicant’s IDS dated 7/19/2024; hereinafter Huawei).
Regarding claim 8, Cheng and Cheng_7496 disclose the UE of claim 1. Cheng and Cheng_7496 further disclose wherein the SIB1 comprises a UE-TimersAndConstants information element (IE) that indicates the set of connection timers [A UE may monitor for SIB (E-SIB) broadcasts which may include parameters such as TimersAndConstants (i.e. connection related timers) (Cheng paragraphs 0084-0085). Cheng discloses that a relay UE may send an updated SIB (e.g. SIB12) to the remote UE (Cheng paragraph 0091)].
Cheng and Cheng_7496 do not expressly disclose wherein the additional SIB comprises a set of connection timers UE-TimersAndConstantsRemoteUE IE that indicates the first set of SL connection timers, wherein the additional SIB is different than the SIB1.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Huawei discloses that the network can configure larger T200/T301/T319 timer value via a new field specific to remote UE in SIB (e.g. ue-TimersAndConstants_RemoteUE) (see Huawei section 2.2, paragraphs 1-2, page 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cheng, Cheng_7496 and Huawei to have the features of the additional SIB comprises a set of connection timers UE-TimersAndConstantsRemoteUE IE that indicates the first set of SL connection timers, wherein the additional SIB is different than the SIB1. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide flexibility in timer configuration for the remote UE during connection establishment/resume/reestablishment (Huawei section 2.2, paragraph 1, page 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 6 and 15 would be allowable because the closest prior art, either alone or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the features of determining the respective values of the second set of SL connection timers based on a corresponding timer values of the first set of SL connection timers if included in the additional SIB and otherwise based on a timer value of an equivalent Uu connection timer from the SIB1; in combination with all other limitations in the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SAUMIT SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414