DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/15/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-10, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2008-156879 A, using attached machine translation (hereinafter Shirai).
Regarding claim 1, Shirai discloses a plumbing fixture system comprising: a plumbing fixture bowl (1); a trapway (4, 5, 6, 7) fluidly coupled with the plumbing fixture bowl; a Venturi device (20, 30) comprising an inlet (20) and an outlet (32), the Venturi device forming an interior volume (30), the Venturi device further forming a channel (24) from the inlet to the outlet, wherein the interior volume (30) is fluidly coupled to the channel, wherein liquid flow from the inlet to the outlet causes a first reduction in pressure in the interior volume; and a conduit (51) extending from the interior volume of the Venturi device to the trapway, wherein the first reduction in pressure in the interior volume of the Venturi device causes a second reduction in pressure in the trapway (see translation, pg. 6 that describes “start of washing”).
Regarding claim 2, Shirai discloses wherein the plumbing fixture system comprises a tank toilet, a tankless toilet (tankless; fig. 1), or a urinal.
Regarding claim 3, Shirai discloses wherein the trapway comprises a sump trap (4), an upstream weir (5), a lower trap (6), and a downstream weir (7), and wherein the conduit (51) is coupled to the trapway at a position between the sump trap and the lower trap (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Shirai discloses further comprising a controller (9) configured to cause the liquid flow from the inlet and to the outlet.
Regarding claim 8, Shirai discloses a venturi device comprising: sidewalls (30) forming an interior volume and a port (33); and a flowpath structure (20, 24) comprising an inlet (where 10 and 20 interface) and an outlet (32), wherein the flowpath structure forms a channel (24) and an opening (31), wherein the interior volume (30) and the channel (24) are fluidly coupled via the opening (31), and wherein liquid flow from the inlet to the outlet via the channel causes a reduction in pressure in the interior volume and in a trapway (4, 5, 6, 7) of a plumbing fixture (1).
Regarding claim 9, Shirai discloses wherein the port (33) is configured to be fluidly coupled with the trapway (4, 5, 6, 7) via a conduit (51), and wherein the plumbing fixture is a tank toilet, a tankless toilet, or a urinal.
Regarding claim 10, Shirai discloses wherein the trapway comprises a sump trap (4), an upstream weir (5), a lower trap (6), and a downstream weir (7), and wherein the conduit (51) is coupled to the trapway at a position between the sump trap and the lower trap (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, Shirai discloses further comprising a controller (9) configured to cause the liquid flow from the inlet and to the outlet.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shirai in view of JP 2011-12537 A, using attached machine translation (hereinafter Gomita).
Regarding claims 4-5 and 11-12, Shirai shows all in the instant invention as claimed as set forth above but fails to show the Venturi device comprises a piston disposed between liquid and gas in the interior volume, wherein the first reduction in pressure causes the piston to move towards the channel and causes additional gas to enter the interior volume from the trapway; and wherein the Venturi device further comprises a resilient device disposed between the piston and the channel, wherein the resilient device causes the piston to move away from the channel responsive to fluid not flowing through the channel. Attention is turned to Gomita in the same field of endeavor of flush toilet bowls using a suction device to improve flushing which teaches including a piston (20) with a resilient device (50) that causes the piston to move away from a channel (S1) responsive to fluid not flowing through the channel as part of a suction device. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize a piston and spring in the interior volume of Shirai to improve pumping action of fluid going in and out of the interior volume as evidenced by the teachings of Gomita.
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Shirai shows all in the instant invention as claimed as set forth above but fails to show wherein the Venturi device comprises a diaphragm disposed between liquid and gas in the interior volume, wherein the first reduction in pressure causes the diaphragm to move towards the channel and causes additional gas to enter the interior volume from the trapway. Attention is turned to Gomita in the same field of endeavor of flush toilet bowls using a suction device to improve flushing which teaches including a diaphragm (30) disposed between liquid and gas where changes in pressure cause the diaphragm to move (fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include a diaphragm disposed between liquid and gas in the interior volume, wherein the first reduction in pressure causes the diaphragm to move towards the channel and causes additional gas to enter the interior volume from the trapway as evidenced by the teachings of Gomita.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent 11,753,808 is directed to the state of the art of plumbing fixture flush systems with a venturi-assisted piston pump.
/JANIE M LOEPPKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754