DETAILED ACTION
inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3-5, and 8-9 are currently amended.
Claims 2, 6-7, and 10-15 are cancelled.
Claims 16-22 are added as new claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-9, filed 8/13/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of
claim(s) 1-15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Gardiner.
35 U.S.C. 103:
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues that Wang, alone or in combination with the prior art, does
not teach “the head of the photon beauty instrument is provided with an optical filter assembly with multiple optical filters are linearly connected end-to-end in a linear arrangement to form an optical-filter chain, by pushing one of the optical filters, different optical filters are movable and switchable to enter the light outlet channel for filtering light transmitted through the light outlet channel.” After further search and consideration, the examiner will now rely on Gardiner to teach this limitation (fig. 3i; paragraph 130-134). Multiple filters are connected end-to-end and are in a linear arrangement. The filters are linearly movable, which equates to a pushing/pulling mechanism.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
set forth in this Office action:
Claims 1, 3-5, 8-9, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Wang CN Pat.: CN 111973266 A (translation provided) in view of Gardiner et al. US Pub.: US 20030035301 A1, hereinafter Gardiner.
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a photon beauty instrument, comprising: a housing (9, 10, 17 Fig.1), and a light source assembly, a power source unit and a control circuit board (11) arranged in the housing (fig. 1-2; paragraph 5, 36, 41, and 47-51); Intense pulse light device for hair removal equates to a photon beauty instrument. The power supply uses a capacitor 16 with charging function to provide power to each component. Therefore, a power source (not shown) is disclosed. A light emitting module (not shown) equates to the light source assembly.
wherein the light source assembly, the power source unit and the control circuit board (11) are electrically connected (fig. 1-2; paragraph 35 and 47-51); The power supply providing electrical energy. Printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) equates to the control circuit board.
a head (annotated fig. 2) of the photon beauty instrument defines a light outlet channel (6) and a light outlet therein (fig. 1-2; paragraph 16, 36, 40 and 50-51); The rectangular light outlet design allows for faster and more efficient hair removal. The lamp cover 22 covers the lamp tube 6 near the light outlet (not shown). Annotated figure 2 shows the head with a light outlet. Figure 1 shows the tube channel 6 within the head.
light from the light source assembly is transmitted through the light outlet channel (6) and emitted from the light outlet (fig. 1-2; paragraph 16, 36, 40 and 50-51); The lamp tube 6 near the light outlet (not shown). The control component powers the light-emitting module, which emits light of a specific wavelength through the light outlet to the hair removal area.
it is characterized in that the head (annotated fig. 2) of the photon beauty instrument is provided with an optical filter assembly (3) (fig. 1-2; paragraph 49-54). The parallel light is transmitted to the filter 3 and filtered by the filter 3 before being emitted from the light outlet.
However, Wang does not teach the optical filter assembly comprises multiple optical filters are linearly connected end-to-end in a linear arrangement to form an optical-filter chain, by pushing one of the optical filters, different optical filters are movable and switchable to enter the light outlet channel for filtering light transmitted through the light outlet channel.
Gardiner teaches a multiple wavelength illuminator and further teaches the optical filter assembly comprises multiple optical filters are linearly connected end-to-end in a linear arrangement to form an optical-filter chain, by pushing one of the optical filters, different optical filters are movable and switchable to enter the light outlet channel for filtering light transmitted through the light outlet channel (fig. 3i; paragraph 130-134). Multiple filters are connected end-to-end and are in a linear arrangement. The filters are linearly movable, which equates to a pushing/pulling mechanism.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the filter assembly from Wang to add the multiple movable filter assembly from Gardiner for the benefit of selectively switching wavelength intensities of the device to optimize photon therapy and to enhance the ability to control the wavelength spread can be programmed into the controller so that the host program can send controls to position different filter areas, apertures or sources of the beam to provide a high degree of control over the composition of the radiation emitted by the illuminator (paragraph 132).
Regarding claim 3, Wang in view of Chen teaches the claimed invention and Wang further
teaches wherein a lamp holder (22) is provided in the head (annotated fig. 2) of the photon beauty instrument, and the lamp holder (22) defines the light outlet channel (6) (fig. 1-2; paragraph 16, 36, 40 and 50-51); The rectangular light outlet design allows for faster and more efficient hair removal. The lamp cover 22 covers the lamp tube 6 near the light outlet (not shown). Therefore, the lamp cover 22 equates to the holder because it defines the light outlet channel.
However, Wang does not teach a side wall of the light outlet channel is provided with a slot, and the optical filters are movable into the light outlet channel along the slot.
Gardiner teaches a multiple wavelength illuminator and further teaches a side wall of the light outlet channel is provided with a slot, and the optical filters are movable into the light outlet channel along the slot (fig. 1 and 3i; paragraph 116 and 130-134). Multiple filters are connected end-to-end and are in a linear arrangement. The filters are linearly movable, which equates to a pushing/pulling mechanism. Filter arrays 124 and 128 are positioned relative to lamps 114 and 116 to an outlet channel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the filter assembly from Wang to add the multiple movable filter assembly from Gardiner for the benefit of selectively switching wavelength intensities of the device to optimize photon therapy and to enhance the ability to control the wavelength spread can be programmed into the controller so that the host program can send controls to position different filter areas, apertures or sources of the beam to provide a high degree of control over the composition of the radiation emitted by the illuminator (paragraph 132).
Regarding claim 4, Wang in view of Gardiner teaches the claimed invention and Gardiner further
teaches wherein the slot is disposed in the lamp holder and forms a supporting track for moving the optical filters and a storage space for storing the optical filters, and the slot extends along a circumferential direction of the lamp holder (fig. 1 and 3i; paragraph 116 and 130-134). Multiple filters are connected end-to-end and are in a linear arrangement. The filters are linearly movable, which equates to a pushing/pulling mechanism. Filter arrays 124 and 128 are positioned relative to lamps 114 and 116 to an outlet channel. The channel is circumferential.
Regarding claim 5, Wang in view of Chen teaches the claimed invention and Wang further
teaches a lamp holder (22) and a light outlet channel (6) (fig. 1-2; paragraph 16, 36, 40 and 50-54).
However, Wang does not teach wherein the slot extends through opposite sides of the lamp holder; the optical filters are stored in the slot along the length direction and movable back and forth along the slot to the light outlet channel.
Gardiner, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the slot extends through opposite sides of the lamp holder; the optical filters are stored in the slot along the length direction and movable back and forth along the slot to the light outlet channel (fig. 1 and 3i; paragraph 116 and 130-134). Multiple filters are connected end-to-end and are in a linear arrangement. The filters are linearly movable, which equates to a back and forth mechanism. Filter arrays 124 and 128 are positioned relative to lamps 114 and 116 to an outlet channel. The channel is circumferential.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the filter assembly from Wang to add the multiple movable filter assembly from Gardiner for the benefit of selectively switching wavelength intensities of the device to optimize photon therapy and to enhance the ability to control the wavelength spread can be programmed into the controller so that the host program can send controls to position different filter areas, apertures or sources of the beam to provide a high degree of control over the composition of the radiation emitted by the illuminator (paragraph 132).
Regarding claim 8, Wang in view of Gardiner teaches the claimed invention and Gardiner further
teaches wherein the optical filters are arc-shaped or planar; positions of the optical filters in the optical filter are manual turning member or a lever or a connecting rod; or, positions of the optical filters are automatically adjustable by means of a motor driving a gear transmission, or a belt transmission, or a chain transmission, or a screw rod (fig. 1 and 3i; paragraph 116 and 130-134). Multiple filters are connected end-to-end and are in a linear arrangement. The filters are linearly movable, which equates to a back and forth mechanism. Filter arrays 124 and 128 are positioned relative to lamps 114 and 116 to an outlet channel. The channel is circumferential.
Regarding claim 9, Wang in view of Gardiner teaches the claimed invention and Wang further
teaches a filter module and further teaches a fan (18) is installed in the head (annotated fig. 2) of the beauty instrument, and a housing (9, 10, 17) of the head (annotated fig. 2) defines air inlets (25) and air outlets (26), whereby air cooling and heat dissipation for the light source assembly is available (fig. 1-4; paragraph 41-46).
Gardiner further teaches wherein the optical filter assembly is arranged in the head of the photon beauty instrument, the light source assembly is installed in one side of the lamp holder (fig. 1 and 3i; paragraph 116 and 130-134). Multiple filters are connected end-to-end and are in a linear arrangement. The filters are linearly movable, which equates to a back and forth mechanism. Filter arrays 124 and 128 are positioned relative to lamps 114 and 116 to an outlet channel. The channel is circumferential.
the light source assembly includes a lamp and a reflector, a fixed optical filter covers an opening side of the reflector (fig. 1 and 3i; paragraph 114 and 130-134). A device is provided that has two lamps with focusing reflectors, two rotary filter arrays and one interrupter wheel with four apertures.
a heat sink is provided outside the reflector (212) (fig. 2b; paragraph 123); Relative placement of the heat absorbing filter 212 and the lens 216 can depend on the configuration of lamp 208 and waveguide 224.
Regarding claim 16, Wang in view of Gardiner teaches the claimed invention and Gardiner
further teaches wherein each optical filter is fixed by an filter holder; every two adjacent filter holders are connected via a pivot, thereby forming a pivotal connection between the two adjacent optical filters (fig. 1 and 3i; paragraph 81 and 116). Filter motors 124 and 128 equates to filter holders because they position the filter arrays for each lamp 132 and 136. The holders are adjacent to one another and are responsible for moving the filter array in two axes.
Regarding claim 17, Wang in view of Gardiner teaches the claimed invention and Gardiner
further teaches wherein the optical filter assembly comprises a slider and a screw rod, the slider defines an internally threaded hole into which the screw rod is inserted and threadedly engaged, thereby, converting a rotational motion of the screw rod into a linear motion of the slider; the filter holder of a first optical filter in the optical-filter chain is connected to the slider and driven by the screw rod, such that the slider drives the optical-filter chain to move, thereby switching the optical filter positioned within the light output channel (fig. 1 and 3i; paragraph 8, 116, and 130-134). One embodiment of this apparatus uses a leadscrew and carriage assembly to move the filter. A linear version of the circular variable filter described below may be manufactured as either an array of individual filters or as an array that permits changes in the width of the spectrum and maximum transmitted wavelength by moving the filter array in two axes transverse to the radiation beam.
Regarding claim 18, Wang in view of Gardiner teaches the claimed invention and Gardiner
further teaches wherein the slider is slidably disposed at a rear section of the lamp holder; a length of the slider is adapted to a width of the rear section of the lamp holder; and the slider is fitted in the rear section of the lamp holder within the width of the rear section of the lamp holder (fig. 1 and 3i; paragraph 8, 116, and 130-134). The multiple movable filters are connected end-to-end of one another throughout the holder. The motors (312-314) acts as sliders for the filters. Slider 312 acts as the rear slider in relation to the direction of light shown by wavelength 600 in figure 3i.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang CN Pat.: CN
111973266 A (translation provided) in view of Gardiner et al. US Pub.: US 20030035301 A1, hereinafter Gardiner in view of McDonough et al. US Pat.: US 6402681 B1, hereinafter McDonough.
Regarding claim 19, Wang in view of Gardiner does not explicitly teach wherein the optical
filters are connected via connecting rods; a pair of connecting rods connects two sides of the filter holders of two adjacent optical filters; and a first pair of connecting rods connects the slider to the filter holder of the first optical filter.
McDonough teaches a phototherapy apparatus and further teaches wherein the optical
filters are connected via connecting rods; a pair of connecting rods connects two sides of the filter holders of two adjacent optical filters; and a first pair of connecting rods connects the slider to the filter holder of the first optical filter (fig. 4; col. 5-6, lines 52-67 and 1-17). The filter slide 34 has a generally rectangular shape with sides 39 and 40 which are guided along sides 41 and 42 of central recess 31. Sides 41 and 42 equates to the connecting rods because it is configured to guide the sliding element.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sliding mechanism from Wang in view of Gardiner with the connecting sides from McDonough for the benefit of moving the filter slide within a central recess for better control (col. 5-6, lines 52-67 and 1-17).
Regarding claim 20, Wang in view of Gardiner does not explicitly teach wherein a protruding
shaft is provided on each side of each filter holder; the protruding shafts of the filter holders pass through the slot and extend outwardly; and each pair of connecting rods are rotationally connected to the corresponding protruding shafts and are respectively located besides the slot.
McDonough teaches a phototherapy apparatus and further teaches wherein a protruding shaft is provided on each side of each filter holder; the protruding shafts of the filter holders pass through the slot and extend outwardly; and each pair of connecting rods are rotationally connected to the corresponding protruding shafts and are respectively located besides the slot (fig. 4; col. 5-6, lines 52-67 and 1-17). The filter slide 34 has a generally rectangular shape with sides 39 and 40 which are guided along sides 41 and 42 of central recess 31. Sides 41 and 42 equates to the connecting rods because it is configured to guide the sliding element. Gardiner (paragraph 87-89) teaches rotational connection for a circular filter array.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sliding mechanism from Wang in view of Gardiner with the connecting and protruding sides from McDonough for the benefit of moving the filter slide within a central recess for better control (col. 5-6, lines 52-67 and 1-17).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-22 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art: US 20170199364 A1, teaches an adjustment ring that mates with a portion of the microscopic body rotated to adjust the distance of the lens (fig. 5-12; paragraph 26-29). However, the examiner found no art to teach every limitation of dependent claim 21, specifically, “the adjustable ring is rotatable to drive the gear end cover and the screw rod to rotate via the meshing engagement, thereby causing the slider connected to the optical-filter chain to move back and forth, so as to switch different optical filters to the light output channel at a front end of the lamp holder,” in combination with the rest of the claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.J.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/MALLIKA D FAIRCHILD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792