DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-15, 17 and 18, in reply filed on 09/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 28-31 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention (Group II), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 09/18/2026.
The traversal is on the grounds that the prior art does not teach a parenteral intravenous or intramuscular composition. This argument is not persuasive. The prior art breaks unity of invention because it discloses the same combination of ingredients, in the same relative amounts, as instantly claimed and the disclosed teaching of the supporting art was not tantamount to a rejection.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 3 at part e) recites “… selected from preservatives, including antimicrobial preservatives and chemical preservatives, …” which is interpreted as: … selected from preservatives comprising antimicrobial preservatives and chemical preservatives … . Please refer to MPEP 2111.03 (I).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 16 and 17 recites the limitation "the volume of each unit dose" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. While the volume of the composition is inherently disclosed in claim 1, the volume of each unit dose is not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1) Claim(s) 1, 4-15 , 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herrero et al. (EP 3 725 298 A1, publication date 10/21/2020) as evidenced by CN’825 (CN103070825A, publication date 05/01/2013; citing machine English translation).
Herrero discloses “an aqueous pharmaceutical composition comprising: a) bilastine, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt or solvate thereof, b) benzalkonium chloride, in combination with at least one further preservative selected from the group comprising phenylethyl alcohol, benzyl alcohol, sodium benzoate, chlorbutanol, phenoxyethanol, cetrimide and 2-(ethylmercuriomercapto)benzoic acid sodium salt, c) a suspending agent, and d) 2-hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin; wherein the pH of the aqueous pharmaceutical composition is between 3.5 and 5.5” (i.e., hydroxypropyl beta-cyclodextrin; claims 10 and 11) [abstract]. Bilastine may be present in amounts less than 1% w/w (i.e., about 1% w/v in an aqueous solution) [0046]. Herrero discloses that the concentration of 2-hydroxypropyl-beta-cyclodextrin impacts the solubility of bilastine (see [0089] and Figure 1 on page 34). Finally, Herrero discloses the suspending agent in the aqueous pharmaceutical composition of the invention is a cellulose ether derivative selected from microcrystalline cellulose (MCC), methyl cellulose, carboxymethyl cellulose, sodium carboxymethylcellulose (Na-CMC), hydroxypropyl-methyl cellulose (HPMC) or mixtures thereof” [0082].
Suspensions comprising sodium carboxymethyl cellulose and or hydroxypropyl cellulose are suitable for intramuscular injections, as evidenced by CN’825 at the abstract and at the last paragraph of page 16.
Herrero does not anticipate the instant claims because it does not discloses a composition comprising all the claimed components wherein the cyclodextrin is present within the claimed amounts.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have formulated a composition comprising the 2-hydroxypropyl-beta-cyclodextrin within the instantly claimed amounts through routine optimization. It has been held that it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable ranges by routine experimentation where, as is here, the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to optimize, and had an expectation of success in optimizing, the composition disclosed by Herrero to improve the solubility of bilastine because Herrero discloses the concentration of 2-hydroxypropyl-beta-cyclodextrin impacts the solubility of bilastine.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I). In the present case, the instantly claimed ranges of bilastine (0.96-2.6% w/v, 1-1.4% w/v and 1-1.4% w/v; instant claims 1, 4 and 14) and pH (3-7.2, 4-7, 4-6, and 4-6; instant claims 1, 12, 13, and 14) overlap with the ranges in the prior art for bilastine of less than 1% w/v and for pH of 3.5-5.5 and so a prima facie case of obviousness exist for each range.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have formulated aqueous compositions comprising bilastine and 2-hydroxypropyl-beta-cyclodextrin within the instantly claimed amounts wherein the compositions have a pH within the instantly claimed ranges (instant claims 1, 4, and 7-14). Since the prior art composition contains substantially the same components, i.e., bilastine and beta-cyclodextrin, in the same relative proportions as instantly claimed, it would be expected to inherently possess the same chemical and physical properties, such as being capable of parenteral intramuscular administration, having a unit dose as instantly claimed (instant claims 15 and 17) and being a “once-daily compositions” (instant claim 8).
Regarding instant claims 5 and 6, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have formulated a composition comprising bilastine within the instantly claimed amounts through routine optimization. It has been held that it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable ranges by routine experimentation where, as is here, the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to optimize the amount of bilastine in composition in order to improve the therapeutic effect. One would have had an expectation of success because changes to the concentration of an active agent, e.g., bilastine, would have been expected to impact on the concomitant effect of the active agent.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have formulated the composition taught by Herrero, as disused above, comprising bilastine in the amounts recited in instant claims 5 and 6.
2) Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-15, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Orjales et al (US 5877187 A, date of patent 03/02/1999; cited in IDS 12/13/2026) in view of Loftsson (Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences, 2021, v. 110, p. 654-664), US’954 (US 5472954 A, date of patent 12/05/1995) and Huang (Drug Development & Delivery, 2021, v. 21, no. 4, p. 28-31).
Orjales discloses new benzimidazole derivatives, such as “2-4-(2-(4-(1-(2-ethoxyethyl)benzimidazole-2-yl)piperidine-1-yl)ethyl)phenyl-2-methylpropanoic Acid” (i.e., bilastine according to the instant specification at page 2, lines 11-12) [col. 7, lines 10-43], “which have a high H antihistaminic and anti-allergic activity and are devoid of effects on the central nervous and cardiovascular Systems” [abstract]. According to Orjales the compounds “can be formulated in several pharmaceutical forms to be later administered orally, topically, injectably and rectally” [col. 6, lines 21-25]. In preparations for injectables Orjales desires excipients to enhance solubility [col. 6, 33-37].
Orjales does not disclose beta-cyclodextrins or specific concentrations of bilastine for injectable formulations.
Loftsson discloses that “[c]yclodextrins (CDs) are enabling pharmaceutical excipients that can temporarily camouflage undesirable physiochemical drug properties such as low aqueous solubility through formation of drug/CD inclusion complexes” (i.e., solubilizing agents) [abstract]. According to Loftsson “[t]he water-soluble bCD derivatives, HPbCD [hydroxypropyl beta-cyclodextrin] and SBEbCD, are readily excreted unmetabolized with the urine and in most cases, [and] CDs do not affect the drug pharmacokinetics. Due to their very favorable toxicological and pharmacokinetic profiles their usage in parenteral drug formulations is frequently preferred over other solubilizing excipients such as surfactants and organic solvents” [p. 662, paragraph spanning the columns].
US’954 relates to a method of complexation a drug with cyclodextrin for use in pharmaceutical compositions [abstract] to increase “the solubilizing and stabilizing effects of cyclodextrins on drugs which are insoluble or sparingly soluble or unstable in water” [col. 4, lines 3-8]. The methods comprises the steps of “complexing the active ingredient in an aqueous medium with from about 0.1 to about 70% (weight/volume) of cyclodextrin and from about 0.001 to about 5% (weight/volume) […] of a pharmacologically inactive water-soluble polymer” [col. 4, lines 45-51]. Wherein “the molecular ratio of active ingredient to cyclodextrin being from about 0.33 to about 3.0 molecules of active ingredient per molecule of cyclodextrin in the co-complex” [sentence spanning columns 4 and 5]. However, US’954 clarifies that excess cyclodextrin “is used over the amount calculated to dissolve the active ingredient so as to avoid precipitation of the drug or other active ingredient during storage” [col. 14, lines 30-35]. “Specific cyclodextrin derivatives for use herein include hydroxypropyl-B -cyclodextrin” (i.e., instant claims 10 and 11) [col. 6, lines 50-51]. Specific drugs suitable for the complexation include “antihistaminics, including benzimidazoles” [col. 10, line 23]. US’954 discloses suitable formulations include “parenteral formulations, intended, for example, for intramuscular, subcutaneous, intra-articular or intravenous administration” [col. 18, lines 22-24].
Huang relates to considerations in formulation development of injectable solutions [title] and discloses that “[t]he acceptable range is pH 2–11 for intravenous and intramuscular injection and pH 4-9 for subcutaneously injection due to potential irritation issue” [p. 29, col. 3, para. 2, lines 6-9].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combined the bilastine injectable formulation of Orjales with the cyclodextrin/drug/polymer complexes of US’954. A skilled artisan would have looked to cyclodextrins because Loftsson discloses that cyclodextrins are preferred over other solubilizing excipients such as surfactants and organic solvents and Orjales desires excipients to enhance solubility. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to use the methods disclosed by US’954 because enhancing solubility of poorly soluble drugs is an objective of US’954. One would have had an expectation of success because US’954 discloses that antihistaminics, including benzimidazoles, are suitable drugs for the cyclodextrin/drug/polymer complexes. Additionally, in combining these elements one would have expected nothing more than predictable results because, when combined by known methods, each prior art element would have performed the same function as it had separately. See MPEP 2143, Exemplary Rationale A.
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. In the present case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have selected hydroxypropyl beta-cyclodextrin as the cyclodextrin desired by US’954 because Loftsson and US’954 teach hydroxypropyl beta-cyclodextrin is a suitable cyclodextrin to complex with drugs in parenteral formulations.
Regarding the pH, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have formulated the composition taught above to have a pH between 2 and 11, as taught by Huang. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to and had an expectation of success because Huang discloses formulations with pHs between 2 and 11 are suitable for intravenous and intramuscular injections. Additionally, in combining these elements one would have expected nothing more than predictable results because, when combined by known methods, each prior art element would have performed the same function as it had separately. See MPEP 2143, Exemplary Rationale A.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I). In the present case, the instantly claimed ranges for pH (3.0-7.2, 4.0-7.0, 4.0-7.0 and 4-6; instant claims 1, and 12-14) and cyclodextrin (10-30% w/v, 10-25% w/v, 12-22% w/v, 15-20% w/v and 10-25% w/v; instant claims 1, 7-9 and 14) overlaps with the ranges taught by the prior art of a pH from 2-11 and 0.1-70% w/v cyclodextrin and so a prima facie case of obviousness exists for each range.
Regarding the concentration (%w/v) of bilastine, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have formulated a composition comprising bilastine within the instantly claimed amounts through routine optimization. It has been held that it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable ranges by routine experimentation where, as is here, the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to optimize the amount of bilastine in composition in order to determine the optimum workable range with respect to composition efficacy and stability. One would have had an expectation of success because US’954 discloses the amount of drug, with respect to cyclodextrin, effects drug precipitation rates which effects formulation stability. Additionally, US’954 teaches a broad acceptable range of active agent by disclosing a molar ratio of cyclodextrin to drug between 0.33 to 3.0.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have formulated an aqueous composition suitable for intravenous and intramuscular administration comprising bilastine and hydroxypropyl beta-cyclodextrin within the instantly claimed ranges, wherein the pH of the composition is within the instantly claimed ranges (instant claims 1, and 4-14). Since the prior art composition contains substantially the same components, i.e., aqueous bilastine and hydroxypropyl beta-cyclodextrin, in the same relative proportions as instantly claimed, it would be expected to inherently possess the same chemical and physical properties, such as being capable of being in a unit dose from 0.5-1.5mL and 0.8-1.2mL (instant claims 15 and 17), and being a once daily composition (instant claim 18).
Regarding instant claim 2, Orjales does not disclose a gelling agent.
US’954 discloses that “[t]he amount of polymer used should be sufficient to enhance stabilization/ solubilization/ complexation, but insufficient to cause a significant increase in viscosity upon heating. Increase in viscosity to a gel-like or near gel-like stage should be avoided when carrying out the stabilization/ solubilization/ complexation processes of the invention” [col. 15, lines 19-25].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have excluded a gelling agent from the composition because US’954 desires compositions that avoid gels or near gels. One would have had an expectation of success because Orjales does not require a gelling agent fort the function of bilastine injectable formulations. Thus, by combining the teaching of no gelling agent from US’954 with the composition taught above, a skilled artisan would have expected nothing more than predictable results. See MPEP 2143, Exemplary Rationale A.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have formulated the compositions taught by Orjales, Loftsson, US’954, and Huang, as discussed above, to not comprise a gelling agent.
Regarding instant claim 15 and 17, while it is understood that the composition taught by the prior art would have inherently been able to have a unit dose as instantly claimed, the unit doses as claimed would have also been obvious over the prior art.
US’954 discloses “the drug/ cyclodextrin/ polymer/ water formulation may be presented in a unit dose or multidose container, ready for injection” [col. 18, lines 41-44].
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation" (see MPEP 2144.05 IIA quoting In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (105 USPQ 233)). Given US’954 desires a unit dose a skilled artisan would have been motivated formulated the composition as a unit does, and to optimize the specific volume of the unit dose. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to optimize the unit dose volume because the volume of the dose impacts the total deliverable dose of bilastine. It is well within the abilities of a skilled artisan to adjust the volume of a unit dose to tune the total deliverable amount of a drug.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have formulated the compositions taught by Orjales, Loftsson, US’954, and Huang, as discussed above, as a unit dose in the instantly claimed volumes.
3) Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Orjales et al (US 5877187 A, date of patent 03/02/1999; cited in IDS 12/13/2026) in view of Loftsson (Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences, 2021, v. 110, p. 654-664), US’954 (US 5472954 A, date of patent 12/05/1995) and Huang (Drug Development & Delivery, 2021, v. 21, no. 4, p. 28-31) as applied to claims 1, 2, 4-15, and 17-18 above, and further in view of Pramanick et al. (Pharma Times, 2013, v. 45, no. 3, p. 65-77).
Orjales, Loftsson, US’954, and Huang, which are taught above, differ from the instant claims insofar as they do not explicitly disclose a parenteral formulation comprising pH adjusting agents.
Orjales desires sterilized water for parenteral formulations and discloses excipients may be added to enhance solubility [col. 6, lines 33-37].
US’954 discloses that parenteral formulations “will be in the form of an aqueous solution which is acceptable for parenteral administration, i.e., which is sterile and pyrogen-free and has been prepared in accord with accepted pharmaceutical procedures” [col. 18, lines 22-30]. US’954 also discloses that the polymers of the cyclodextrin/polymer/drug complex “increase the solubilizing effect of the cyclodextrins” (i.e., solubilizing agent) [col. 15, lines 35-36].
Huang discloses “[t]he acceptable range is pH 2–11 for intravenous and intramuscular injection” [p. 29, col. 3, para. 2].
Pramanick relates to excipients for parenteral formulations [title] and discloses that “[b]uffers are added to a formulation to adjust and stabilize pH and optimize drug solubility and stability” [p. 72, col. 1, para. 1]. Pramanick “lists buffers and chemicals used for pH adjustment and maintenance of the drug product pH range” [p. 72, col. 1, para. 1] which includes buffers and pH adjusting agent [p. 71, Table 7].
First, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combined the pH adjusting agent of Pramanick with the compositions taught by Orjales, Loftsson, US’954 and Huang. One would have been motivated to use the pH adjusting agents of Pramanick so as to reach the optimal pH with respect to solubility and stability. One would have had an expectation of success because the pH adjusting agents of Pramanick are suitable for parenteral formulations. Additionally, in combining these elements one would have expected nothing more than predictable results because, when combined by known methods, each prior art element would have performed the same function as it had separately. See MPEP 2143, Exemplary Rationale A.
Second, it is generally prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. In the present case it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have selected the sterilized water for the parenteral formulations because Orjales and US’954 both desire sterilized water for injectable compositions.
The instant application defines water for injection as “water that is purified such that is suitable for parenteral administration” (see instant specification as originally filed at page 15, lines 1-3). Therefore, the sterilized water for parenteral formulations of Orjales and US’954 reads on the instantly claimed “water for injection”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have formulated the aqueous intravenous and intramuscular compositions according Orjales, Loftsson, US’954, and Huang, as discussed above, to consist of bilastine and a C1-C6 hydoxy beta-cyclodextrin (hydroxypropyl beta-cyclodextrin), a pH adjusting agent, water for injection and a solubilizing agent (i.e., the polymer of US’954). Wherein the bilastine and cyclodextrin are present within the instantly claimed amounts and the pH is within the instantly claimed range (see rejection above).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15, 17-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-10 and 16-24 of U.S. Patent No. 11642309B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the conflicting claims and instant claims both claim an aqueous composition comprising bilastine and cyclodextrin with overlapping pH ranges [claim 1].
The exact amount of bilastine and cyclodextrin would have been obvious by routine optimization. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation" (see MPEP 2144.05 IIA quoting In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (105 USPQ 233)).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/C.T.W./ Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/WALTER E WEBB/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612