DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fujita et al. (US PUB 2018/0006335), hereinafter Fujita.
With respect to claim 1, Fujita discloses a storage battery management device (See the device in figure 1 of Fujita) comprising: a controller (See [2] in figure 1 of Fujita) configured to acquire a current value flowing in a storage battery (See the combination of [22] and [23] in figure 1 of Fujita in view of paragraph [0040] of Fujita), a temperature of the storage battery (See [22] in figure 1 of Fujita in view of paragraph [0040] of Fujita), and a charge level of the storage battery in a target period (See [22] in figure 1 of Fujita in view of paragraph [0041] of Fujita), determine an operation mode of the storage battery in the target period based on the current value and the charge level (See paragraph [0027] of Fujita), and estimate a degree of degradation of the storage battery in the target period based on the operation mode and the temperature (See paragraph [0075] of Fujita), wherein the target period is divided by switching of operating states of the storage battery including charging, discharging, and retaining (See the “changing” [aka switching] of operating state disclosed in paragraph [0039] of Fujita).
With respect to claim 2, Fujita discloses the storage battery management device according to claim 1, further comprising: a storage unit (See [24] in figure 1 of Fujita in view of paragraph [0042] of Fujita) configured to store correspondence information on a correspondence between a condition of an operation mode in which the storage battery is operated (See paragraphs [0051] and [0088] of Fujita) and a degree of degradation of the storage battery when the storage battery is operated under the condition (See paragraph [0075] of Fujita), wherein the controller is configured to estimate a degree of degradation of the storage battery in the target period based on the correspondence information (See paragraph [0026] of Fujita).
With respect to claim 3, Fujita discloses the storage battery management device according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to determine, in the determination of the operation mode, whether the operation mode is an operating mode in which charging or discharging is performed or a retaining mode in which power is retained (See paragraph [0045] of Fujita).
With respect to claim 4, Fujita discloses the storage battery management device according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to determine a variation range of the charge level of the storage battery in the target period in the determination of the operation mode (See paragraph [0107] of Fujita).
With respect to claim 5, Fujita discloses the storage battery management device according to claim 1, wherein when the controller determines that the operating state of the storage battery is charging, the controller is configured to add an amount of change corresponding to the temperature in the estimation of the degree of degradation (See paragraphs [0065] and [0066] of Fujita).
With respect to claim 6, Fujita discloses the storage battery management device according to claim 1, wherein when the controller determines that the operating state of the storage battery is charging (See paragraph [0045] of Fujita), the controller is configured to change a rated capacity in accordance with the operation mode in the estimation of the degree of degradation (See paragraph [0044] in view of paragraph [0075] of Fujita).
With respect to claim 7, Fujita discloses a storage battery system comprising: a storage battery and a storage battery management device (See the device in figure 1 of Fujita) including a controller (See [2] in figure 1 of Fujita), wherein the controller is configured to acquire a current value flowing in the storage battery (See the combination of [22] and [23] in figure 1 of Fujita in view of paragraph [0040] of Fujita), a temperature of the storage battery (See [22] in figure 1 of Fujita in view of paragraph [0040] of Fujita), and a charge level of the storage battery in a target period (See [22] in figure 1 of Fujita in view of paragraph [0041], determine an operation mode of the storage battery in the target period based on the current value and the charge level (See paragraph [0027] of Fujita), and estimate a degree of degradation of the storage battery in the target period based on the operation mode and the temperature (See paragraph [0075] of Fujita), and the target period is divided by switching of operating states of the storage battery including charging, discharging, and retaining (See the “changing” [aka switching] of operating state disclosed in paragraph [0039] of Fujita).
With respect to claim 8, Fujita discloses a storage battery management method to be performed by a storage battery management device (See the device in figure 1 of Fujita) including a controller (See [2] in figure 1 of Fujita), the method comprising: the controller acquiring a current value flowing in the storage battery (See the combination of [22] and [23] in figure 1 of Fujita in view of paragraph [0040] of Fujita), a temperature of the storage battery (See [22] in figure 1 of Fujita in view of paragraph [0040] of Fujita), and a charge level of the storage battery in a target period (See [22] in figure 1 of Fujita in view of paragraph [0041] of Fujita); determining an operation mode of the storage battery in the target period based on the current value and the charge level (See paragraph [0027] of Fujita); and estimating a degree of degradation of the storage battery in the target period based on the operation mode and the temperature (See paragraph [0075] of Fujita), wherein the target period is divided by switching of operating states of the storage battery including charging, discharging, and retaining (See the “changing” [aka switching] of operating state disclosed in paragraph [0039] of Fujita).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US PUB 2018/0131200 discloses a method for managing battery system and realizing non-linear estimation of battery state of charge in power grids, involves determining expected performance of battery system, and transmitting operating instructions for battery system.
US PUB 2016/0375790 discloses an internal resistance estimation method for secondary battery, output control method for secondary battery, and vehicle.
/TEMILADE S RHODES-VIVOUR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/HUY Q PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858