DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I, corresponding to Claims 1-5 and 9-11, in the reply filed on August 4, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that a search and examination of the entire application would not place an additional burden on the Examiner. This is not found persuasive because the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification and the inventions require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes /subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Claims 6-8 and 12-19 are withdrawn from consideration. Withdrawn claims may be eligible for rejoinder so long as the claims depend from or otherwise require all the limitations of an allowable claim. See, e.g., M.P.E.P. 821.04.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites a “papermaking mat” in line 1. How is the mat used to make paper? Is the mat used to make paper? What structural limitations are implied by the mat having a papermaking function? The scope of this limitation, along with the limitations necessitated by it, is unclear.
Claim 1 recites “the first main surface including multiple raised portions each having a linear shape” in line 6. The scope of this limitation is unclear. What length and width dimensions are required relative to one another in order to provide a “linear shape” to the raised portion? Claim 1 later defines the raised portions to have a length of 5 to 200 mm and a width of 1 to 50 mm. As such, the ranges of length and width provided by Claim 1 embrace embodiments wherein the length and width are equal. Would this square configuration in the planar dimension of the raised portion be considered as satisfying the linear shape? If not, how much different would the length and width dimensions need to be to provide the linear shape? For example, would the width need to be half dimension of the length for the raised portion to be considered linear? A third of the dimension? A fourth of the dimension? The Specification does not establish the scope of what a linear shape is dimensionally. And Claim 1 clearly embraces embodiments in which the definitions of the length and the width clearly do not define a linear shape. As such, Claim 1 and its dependent claims are indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0272600 to Okabe et al. (“Okabe”) in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,674,591 to James et al. (“James”).
With regard to Claim 1, Okabe discloses a nonwoven mat comprising inorganic fibers having a first main surface and a second main surface opposite the first main surface. See, e.g., Abstract, entire document. Okabe discloses that the nonwoven mat is provided with a plurality of needle marks by needle punching and extend from the needle penetration mark to the needle protrusion mark. Paragraph [0015]. Okabe discloses that an inorganic fiber bundle is formed that includes a plurality of inorganic fibers oriented in a closed loop configuration at the needle penetration mark. Paragraph [0032]. Okabe shows that the fiber bundle in the loop comprises a raised portion and is oriented in a linear manner from left-to-right in Figure 3. Okabe teaches that the raised portion fiber bundle is twisted and crossed to provide an entangled configuration. Paragraph [0054]. Okabe does not disclose that the raised portion has a length of 5 to 200 mm, a width of 1 to 50 mm, and an average height of 0.05 to 0.50 mm, wherein the five or more raised portions are present in a 10 cm x 10 cm square. James is also related to nonwoven fabrics having a plurality of raised portions on a surface thereof. See, e.g., Abstract, Figure 8, entire document. James discloses a raised portion on a nonwoven fabric can be provided with sizing appropriate to give off a desired pattern. Column 10, lines 28-57 and column 14, lines 1-5. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to provide the raised portion disclosed by Okabe with a length of 5 to 200 mm, a width of 1 to 50 mm, and an average height of 0.05 to 0.50 mm, wherein five or more raised portions are present in a 10 cm x 10 cm square, in order to provide a visual pattern on the fabric suitable for processing. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 2, 4, 5, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okabe in view of James as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0118138 to Kumano (“Kumano”).
With regard to Claim 2, Okabe discloses the mat can further contain an organic binder and an inorganic binder. Paragraph [0063]. Okabe further discloses that the amount of organic binder can be about 1 part per 100 parts of inorganic fibers. Paragraph [0228]. However, Okabe does not disclose an amount for the inorganic binder. Kumano is also related to nonwoven mats comprising inorganic fiber, organic binder, and inorganic binder used in exhaust gas purifying products. See, e.g., Abstract, entire document. Kumano discloses that a suitable amount of inorganic binder for the inorganic fiber mats is also about 1 part per 100 parts of inorganic fiber. Paragraph [0187]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to provide the inorganic binder disclosed by Okabe in an amount of 1 part per 100 parts of inorganic fibers in order to provide the nonwoven mat with suitable binding capacity for use in an exhaust gas purifying product, as shown to be known in the art by Kumano. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955). With regard to Claim 4, Okabe discloses using an acrylic latex resin, thermoplastic styrene resin, thermosetting epoxy resin, or water-soluble organic polymer for the organic binder. Paragraphs [0227] and [0349]. With regard to Claims 5 and 11, Kumano discloses that suitable inorganic binder includes alumina sol or silica sol. Paragraphs [0047] and [0048].
Claims 3, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okabe in view of James and Kumano as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0278323 to Eguchi (“Eguchi”).
With regard to Claim 3, Okabe combined with James and Kumano does not disclose the glass transition temperature of the organic binder. Eguchi is also related nonwoven mats comprising inorganic fibers useful in the purification of exhaust gas. See, e.g., Abstract, entire document. Eguchi discloses that an effective organic binder used in combination with such fibers comprises a glass transition temperature that is less than 5 degrees C. to provide a high motility rubbery state at room temperature. Paragraph [0017]. Eguchi discloses that this allows the inorganic fibers to better hold together while the mat is being assembled in the sealing material. Paragraph [0031]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to provide the organic binder disclosed by Okabe with a glass transition temperature less than 5 degrees C. in order to provide the fibers with a high motility rubbery state at room temperature for improved processing, as shown to be known by Eguchi. With regard to Claim 9, Okabe discloses using an acrylic latex resin, thermoplastic styrene resin, thermosetting epoxy resin, or water-soluble organic polymer for the organic binder. Paragraphs [0227] and [0349]. With regard to Claim 10, Kumano discloses that suitable inorganic binder includes alumina sol or silica sol. Paragraphs [0047] and [0048].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0239602 to Furuzawa and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0227251 to Kariya et al.
JEREMY R. PIERCE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1789
/JEREMY R PIERCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789