DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 8 of the response, filed 07/28/2026, with respect to the objections to the drawings, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The informalities have been removed from the drawings; therefore, the objections to the drawings have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/28/2026, regarding the rejections made under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) and §103, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that Yasumitsu fails to disclose a cabin having a flat cross-section with a width that decreases forward toward a bow as claimed. The applicant argues that residential area 18 does not have a plan view anywhere in Yasumitsu and its cross-sectional geometry is never shown, that Figure 1 is a side elevation view of Yasumitsu and thus contains no information about the horizontal cross-sectional width of the cabin, and that, although Figure 2 shows chamfered corners of the cabin portion 20, this does not show a systematic decrease in width toward the bow as claimed, and only a single floor of the cabin is shown with said chamfered corners. In addition, the applicant argues that Yasumitsu fails to disclose the fore deck dividing an interior and an exterior of a hull and that the concession of Yasumitsu failing to disclose the fore deck forming a sunken deck is inconsistent with the position of Yasumitsu anticipating a fore deck as claimed in Claim 1. Because of these reasons, the applicant argues that the rejections should be withdrawn. The Office respectfully disagrees. First, Yasumitsu does disclose a cabin having a flat cross-section with a width that decreases forward toward a bow as claimed. Level 20 is part of the cabin 18, and level 20, as shown in Figure 2, does have a flat cross-section with a width that decreases forward toward a bow of the ship as claimed (see below).
[AltContent: textbox (Decreased Width)][AltContent: textbox (Larger Width)][AltContent: textbox (Forward towards a bow)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: ]
Yasumitsu discloses the cabin having a flat cross-section with a width that decreases forward toward a bow as claimed. The claim does not state that the width is continuously decreasing across the entire cross-section of the cabin or that the width has a “systematic decrease” as argued; the claim simply states that the cross-section has a width that decreases forward toward a bow, and the cross-section of Yasumitsu does this via the chamfered corners as shown in Figure 2. In addition, the claim does not disclose that the entire cabin has a flat cross-section with a width that decreases. Second, the main deck of the ship in the forecastle area 16 comprises the fore deck dividing an interior and exterior of the hull (see Figure 1). The portion above the main deck is the exterior of the hull, and the portion below the main deck is the interior of the hull. Finally, Yasumitsu disclosing the claimed fore deck but not a sunken deck is a consistent position. As stated above, Yasumitsu discloses a fore deck in the forecastle area; however, this fore deck is not a sunken deck in that the height does not differ over the course of the ships layout. Therefore, the disclosed deck of Yasumitsu is a fore deck in the forecastle area as claimed in Claim 1 but not a sunken deck as claimed in Claims 9 and 12. Yasumitsu discloses the ship as claimed in Claim 1. Because of this, the applicant’s arguments are not persuasive, and the rejections made under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) and §103 are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yasumitsu (JP 2017119481 A).
Regarding Claim 1: Yasumitsu discloses a ship (Figure 1, No. 10) comprising a cargo area (12) for storing cargo, a forecastle area (16) provided fore of the cargo area (Figure 1), and an aft area (24) provided aft of the cargo area (Figure 1), wherein the forecastle area comprises a fore deck dividing an interior and an exterior of a hull (Figure 1), and a cabin (18, 20) is provided on an upper part of the fore deck (Figure 1), and wherein the cabin has a flat cross-section with a width that decreases forward toward a bow (Figures 1-2).
Regarding Claim 2: Yasumitsu discloses the ship of Claim 1, wherein the cabin comprises a steering house (20F) and a residence room (18) provided in a lower part of the steering house (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 3: Yasumitsu discloses the ship of Claim 2, wherein the cabin has a shape in which, compared to a lower part forming the residence room, an upper part forming the steering house is receded (Figures 1-3).
Regarding Claim 4: Yasumitsu discloses the ship of Claim 3, wherein the cabin has a steering deck forming a floor of the steering house (Figure 1), and the lower part forming the residence room and the upper part forming the steering house are connected vertically with a step (Figure 2, No. 32) relative to the steering deck.
Regarding Claim 5: Yasumitsu discloses the ship of Claim 3, wherein the cabin has a shape in which the lower part forming the residence room has a flat cross-section that decreases upward, and the upper part forming the steering house has a flat cross- section that increases upward (Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 6: Yasumitsu discloses the ship of Claim 2, wherein the cabin further comprises a cargo management room (20A) provided aft of the steering house toward the cargo area (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 7: Yasumitsu discloses the ship of Claim 2, wherein the cabin is arranged to be spaced apart from the cargo area and at least a rear surface of the residence room provided aft of the cabin is exposed to the outside (Figure 4 - via window 42).
Regarding Claim 10: Yasumitsu discloses a ship (10) comprising a cargo area (12) for storing cargo, a forecastle area (16) provided fore of the cargo area, and an aft area (24) provided aft of the cargo area (Figure 1), wherein the forecastle area comprises a fore deck dividing an interior and an exterior of a hull (Figure 1), and a cabin (18, 20) is provided on an upper part of the fore deck (Figure 1), and wherein the cabin has at least a fore with a flat cross-section similar to the fore deck (Figures 1-2).
Regarding Claim 11: Yasumitsu discloses the ship of Claim 10, wherein the cabin is supported by a support so that a lower surface of the cabin is spaced a certain height above the fore deck (Figures 1 & 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasumitsu in
view of Bae (KR 20150005129 A).
Regarding Claim 8: Yasumitsu discloses the ship of Claim 2, wherein the residence room is provided on the fore deck (Figures 1-3); however, Yasumitsu fails to disclose at least a front surface of the residence room being exposed to the outside.
Bae teaches a ship (Figure 1) comprising a residence room (100) with a front surface exposed to the outside (Figure 1 - windows on front surface of residence room 100).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make at least a front surface of the residence room of Yasumitsu being exposed to the outside, as taught by Bae, for the purpose of allowing natural lighting in the residence room (Paragraph [0007]).
Claim(s) 9 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Yasumitsu in view of Lyu (KR 102340143 B1).
Regarding Claims 9 and 12: Yasumitsu discloses the ship of Claims 1 and 11; however, Yasumitsu fails to disclose the fore deck forming a sunken deck.
Lyu teaches a ship (Figure 1, No. 1) comprising a cabin (13) with a fore deck (131), the fore deck forming sunken deck (Figure 1).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the fore deck of Yasumitsu a sunken deck, as taught by Lyu, for the purpose of providing the ship with space for installation of a mooring device (Paragraph [0033]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to disclose the ship as claimed in Claims 1, 9, 11, and 12, wherein the sunken deck has a lower height than an exposure deck of the cargo area; wherein the forecastle area further comprises, below the fore deck in the interior of the hull, at least one of a bosun store, a pump room, a tank room, and a ballast tank; wherein the sunken deck has a lower height than an exposure deck of the cargo area; wherein the support is connected to a bulwark provided on a circumference of the fore deck, and a mooring space is provided between a lower surface of the cabin and the fore deck; and wherein the cargo area comprises an upper deck provided on an upper part of a cargo storage space formed inside the hull and exposed to the outside; a lower deck having a lower height compared to the upper deck; wherein the lower deck is disposed at the same height as the fore deck.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL L SEHN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745