DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2002025677 A.
In regard to claim 1, JP 2002025677 A discloses a connector 10, comprising a housing 11,
the housing 11 including:
a receptable (see annotated drawing below) open forward;
a flat first surface (see annotated drawing below) formed on an outer peripheral surface of the housing 11;
a pair of wall surface portions 14 rising from both end parts in a width direction of the first surface;
a pair of projecting portions 15 projecting inward in the width direction from rising end parts of the pair of wall surface portions 14;
second surfaces (see annotated drawing below) formed on the outer peripheral surface, the second surfaces extending toward sides opposite to the projecting portions 15 from the pair of wall surface portions 14; and
a linking portion 17 coupling rising end parts of the pair of wall surface portions 14,
a front end (see annotated drawing below) of the linking portion 17 being connected to a rear end (see annotated drawing below) of the receptacle, and the second surface being arranged at a position higher than the first surface.
In regard to claim 2, JP 2002025677 A discloses the second surface is arranged at a position lower than a rising end edge of the wall surface portion.
In regard to claim 3, JP 2002025677 A discloses the projecting portion 15 has a facing surface facing the first surface, and the second surface is arranged at a position higher than the facing surface (see fig. 1 below).
In regard to claim 4, JP 2002025677 A discloses a width W (see annotated drawing below) between an inner side surface and an outer side surface in the width direction of the wall surface portion is larger than a difference between the height position of the rising end edge of the wall surface portion and that of the second surface (see drawing below).
[AltContent: textbox (front end of linking portion)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (rear end of receptacle)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (front end of receptacle)][AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: textbox (W)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (2nd surface)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (flat 1st surface)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (receptacle)][AltContent: arrow]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2002025677 A.
In regard to claim 5, JP 2002025677 A does not disclose an outer side surface in the width direction of the wall surface portion is connected to the second surface via a curved surface.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of JP 2002025677 A by having the connecting portion between the outer side surface in the width direction of the wall surface portion and the second surface with different type of configuration since applicants have presented no explanation that this particular configuration of the connecting portion are significant or are anything more than one of numerous configurations a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing connecting portion between two edges. A change in shape is generally recognizing as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
Conclusion
Tdt
7/21/2026
/THO D TA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834