DETAILED ACTION
The response filed on July 01,2026 is being examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Rejection of claim 1, the limitation “A wire harness comprising….the wire harness is installed in a vehicle on which a main battery and a sub-battery are mounted, the first electric wire is to be electrically connected to the main battery, and the second electric wire is to be electrically connected to the sub-battery.” Is indefinite or unclear for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter.
the preamble is deemed a claim limitation, it narrow down the scope to a single product “a wire harness comprising”; but the claim body describes positive structure of main battery and sub-battery in vehicle which is out of boundary of the a wire harness. See analogy, an airplane configure to land on an airport and an airplane lands on an airport. Bot wherein scope of first sentence limited to a structure of an airplane, while scope of second sentence has structure of an airplane and an airport; and structure of the airport does not fall under structure (or preamble of) of the airplane. “configured to” language should be used.
Also note that “a second electric wire is capable of being accommodated” interpreted as a first wire has capabilities to a second wire accommodated; it is not calming a second electric wire. And if a second wire is part of intended use, how the second wire is electrically connected to the sub-battery
Therefore, the claim 1 is indefinite or unclear.
Also not that if applicant positively claiming the main battery and sub-battery; it would change scope of original invention which was limited to a wire harness; therefore, all claims falls under in this scenario would be considered as withdrawn claims.
Rejection of claims 2-6 and 8-9, claims 2-9 are rejected by the same reason applied to rejection of claim 1 above.
Note: The rejection under USC 102 and/or USC 103 below are given to advance prosecution; however, proper clarification is required under rejection of USC 112 above to consider the rejection under USC 102 and/or USC 103
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) (whichever apply) as being anticipated by Nagahashi et al. (US20150083459, herein referred to as Nagahashi) or Sexton et al. (US8044298, herein referred to as Sexton).
Rejection of claim 1, Nagahashi (figures 6-7 of Nagahashi) or Sexton (figures 2C, 2F, and 3P of Sexton) discloses a wire harness comprising:
a tubular first electric wire configured as a hollow electric wire (43-44 in figures 6-7 of Nagahashi; or 222 in figures 2C, 2F, 3P, and 3T of Sexton); and
a protection member in which the first electric wire is accommodated wire (18, and/or 19 in figures 6-7 of Nagahashi; or 230 in figures 2C, 2F, and 3P of Sexton),
wherein the first electric wire includes a hollow portion in which a second electric wire is capable of being accommodated wire (23 in figures 6-7 of Nagahashi; or 221 in figures 2C, 2F, and 3P of Sexton)’
the wire harness is configure to installed in a vehicle on which a main battery and a sub-battery are mounted, the first electric wire is able to be electrically connected to the main battery, and the second electric wire is able to be electrically connected to the sub-battery ( This limitation do not add any structure to the wire harness; and by having claims structure in Nagahashi, it would satisfy intended use or capabilities. Note that the product is what it is, not what it does, see further MPEP).
Rejection of claim 2, Nagahashi discloses the wire harness according to claim 1, wherein the first electric wire includes a tubular hollow conductor with the hollow portion, and an insulating coating covering an outer circumference of the hollow conductor (44 in figure 6-7 of Nagahashi; also note that Sexton in view of Nagahashi under rejection of USC 103 also would satisfy this limitation in order to reduce noise, disturbance, or electromagnetic interference ).
Rejection of claims 3-4, Sexton discloses the wire harness according to wherein the first electric wire includes a flat portion having a cross section in which a width is larger than a height (claim 3) and wherein an inner circumference of a cross section of the protection member has a non-circular shape, and an outer circumference of a cross section of the first electric wire has a non- circular shape (claim 4) (see figures 2C, 2F, and 3P, or 3T of Sexton; furthermore note that Nagahashi under rejection of USC 103 also would satisfy based on that it is well known and old as well as routine skill to change the shape of cable in well-known shape such as rectangular in order to mating with adjacent component such as wall or surface of floor, wall, table, etc. A change in shape is generally recognizing as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976);and see cited arts).
Rejection of claim 6, Nagahashi discloses the wire harness according to claim 1 wherein the protection member is a shield pipe having electrical conductivity (18 in figures 6-7 of Nagahashi).
Rejection of claim 8, Nagahashi or Sexton discloses the wire harness according claim 1, The wire harness according to any one of The wire harness according to any one of wherein the second electric wire includes a second hollow portion in which a third electric wire is capable of being accommodated (21 in figures 6-7 of Nagahashi; or 210 in figures 2C, 2F, and 3P of Sexton).
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) (whichever apply) as being anticipated by Toyama et al. (US20120305308, herein referred to as Toyama).
Rejection of claim 10, Toyama (fig. 5A) discloses a wire harness comprising:
a tubular first electric wire including a first tubular hollow conductor with a hollow portion and a first insulating coating covering an outer circumference of the first tubular hollow conductor (see 24 and 29 in figure 5A of Toyama);
a second electric wire accommodated in the hollow portion and including a second conductor and a second insulating coating covering an outer circumference of the second conductor (see 30 and 31 in figure 5A of Toyama); and
a protection member in which the first electric wire is accommodated (40),
wherein a clearance is defined between an outer circumferential surface of the first electric wire and an inner circumferential surface of the protection member, and a clearance is defined between an outer circumferential surface of the second electric wire and an inner circumferential surface of the first electric wire (see figures in 5A of Toyama wherein a first gap exists between 40 and 29 , and a second gap exists between 24 and 31).
Rejection of claim 1, Toyama (fig. 5A) discloses structure of claim 1 as mentioned above in the rejection of claim 10; also, the wire harness is configure to installed in a vehicle on which a main battery and a sub-battery are mounted, the first electric wire is able to be electrically connected to the main battery, and the second electric wire is able to be electrically connected to the sub-battery ( This limitation do not add any structure to the wire harness; and by having claims structure in Nagahashi, it would satisfy intended use or capabilities. Note that the product is what it is, not what it does, see further MPEP).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (whichever apply) as being unpatentable over Nagahashi or Sexton.
Rejection of claim 4-5, Nagahashi or Sexton discloses the wire harness according claim 1, fails to discloses wherein both the protection member and the first electric wire have a polygonal tube shape (claim 5), wherein an inner circumference of a cross section of the protection member has a non-circular shape, and an outer circumference of a cross section of the first electric wire has a non- circular shape (claim 4).
Examiner make official notice that wherein both the protection member and the first electric wire have a rectangular tube shape for easily placed on flat wall surface as well as effectively placed in corner or edge of a vehicle.
It would have been obvious design choice as well as known and old before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wire harness of Nagahashi or Sexton to have rectangular structural arrangement for the reason given in the examiner official notice above. A change in shape is generally recognizing as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Pertinent Prior Arts
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent arts in the present case, all of which disclose various wire harnesses.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Response to claim 1 , the amended claim has new issue under USC 112 as mentioned above and note that any scope of invention has been changed from original claimed invention would not consider; and modified rejection under USC 102 is provided above. Additionally see figure 1 of invention wherein “w” is wire harness while 92-93 are batteries, and not part of “W”. See terminology such as if preamble is limited to boundary of a product of car; and the car is charged in a charging station (this consider to be out of scope of a boundary of the product of the car); while the car is capable of charging in a charging station (this limitation is within a scope of a product of the car ), furthermore, See MPEP. Any terminology in the preamble that limits the structure of the claimed invention must be treated as a claim limitation.
Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
/PARESH PAGHADAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847