DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EP22154625.2, filed on 01 February 2022.
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made in that claims 19-74 and 77-80 have been canceled in the instant application presented herein.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 13-18 and 75-76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Moderator (NTT Docomo et al.:” Summary on Rel-17 TEIs”, 3GPP Draft; R1-2109722 3rd Gen Partnership Project (3GPP), Mobile Competence Centre; 650, Route DES Lucioles; F-06921 Sophia-Antipolis Cedex; France (see IDS filed on 04/08/2024).
Regarding Claim 1. Docomo teaches a wireless telecommunications apparatus for use in a wireless telecommunications network, the wireless telecommunications apparatus comprising:
communication circuitry configured to transmit or receive wireless signals; and
control circuitry configured to: control the communication circuitry to receive a first wireless signal, the first wireless signal being comprised in Downlink Control Information, DCI(p.79, “received with DCI”), and indicating a waveform to be used by the wireless telecommunications apparatus when transmitting a second wireless signal (p.80, “DCI signalling based on dynamic UL waveform switching”); and control the communication circuitry to transmit the second wireless signal using the indicated waveform (p.80 “dynamic switching of waveform in UL transmission”).
Regarding Claim 2. Docomo further teaches a wireless telecommunications apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the indicated waveform is indicated by a bit comprised in the DCI (p.80, “introducing 1 bit in DCI to indicate CP-OFDM or DFT-S-OFDM waveform to be used for PUSCH”).
Regarding Claim 3. Docomo teaches a wireless telecommunications apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the DCI is an Activation DCI and a wireless telecommunications resource used to transmit the second wireless signal is part of a Configured Grant, CG, Physical Uplink Shared Channel, PUSCH, activated by the DCI (p.123 discusses scheduling grants for PUSCH transmission with a received DCI format).
Regarding Claim 4. Docomo teaches a wireless telecommunications apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the DCI is an Activation DCI and the DCI activates a Semi-Persistent Scheduling, SPS, Physical Downlink Shared Channel, PDSCH, and a wireless telecommunications resource used to transmit the second wireless signal is a part of a Physical Uplink Control Channel, PUCCH, for carrying Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request feedback, HARQ-ACK / NACK, for the SPS PDSCH (p.4 discusses HARQ scheduling on PDSCH).
Regarding Claim 5. Docomo teaches a wireless telecommunications apparatus according to claim 1, wherein:
a wireless telecommunications resource used to transmit the second wireless signal is part of a Physical Uplink Shared Channel, PUSCH, scheduled by the DCI ((p.4 discusses HARQ scheduling on PUSCH); and
the indicated waveform is indicated by a Time Domain Resource Allocation, TDRA, index of a TDRA field of the DCI (p.80, “introducing 1 bit in DCI to indicate CP-OFDM or DFT-S-OFDM waveform to be used for PUSCH and domain frames”).
Regarding Claim 6. Docomo teaches a wireless telecommunications apparatus according to claim 1, wherein:
the DCI schedules a Physical Downlink Shared Channel, PDSCH, and a Physical Uplink Control Channel, PUCCH, for carrying Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request feedback, HARQ-ACK / NACK, for the PDSCH (p.4 discusses HARQ scheduling on PDSCH).;
a wireless telecommunications resource used to transmit the second wireless signal is a part of the PUCCH for carrying the HARQ-ACK / NACK (p.80, “DCI signalling based on dynamic UL waveform switching”); and
the indicated waveform is indicated by a PUCCH Resource Indicator, PRI, index of a PRI field of the DCI (p.91 discusses pool index with DCI configuration)
Regarding Claim 7. Docomo teaches a wireless telecommunications apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the indicated waveform is indicated based on whether the DCI is a normal DCI or a fallback DCI (“p.79. “Dynamic waveform switching is supported when different DCI formats are used to schedule UL transmission, i.e., DCI format 0_0 or 1_1” fallback DCI (DCI format 0_0).
Regarding Claim 8. Docomo further teaches a wireless telecommunications apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the indicated waveform is indicated based on a Radio Network Temporary Identifier, RNTI, used to mask the DCI (p.79, “PDCCH with CRC scrambled by CS-RNTI by CS-RNTI with NDI=1, RNTI, or MCS-C RNTI or SP-CSI-RNTI”)
Regarding Claim 9. Docomo further teaches wireless telecommunications apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the indicated waveform is indicated based on a number of repetitions of transmission of the second wireless signal scheduled by the DCI (alt DCIs based on different waveforms and gNB scheduling for the dynamic switching are discussed at p.59, p.124 and p.154).
Regarding Claim 13. Docomo further teaches a wireless telecommunications apparatus according to claim 1, wherein: a wireless telecommunications resource used to transmit the second wireless signal is part of a Physical Uplink Control Channel, PUCCH, scheduled by the DCI, the wireless telecommunications resource being part of a PUCCH Resource Set; and the indicated waveform is indicated based on the PUCCH Resource Set (p.14, “DCI formats 1_0 and 1_1 may include PRI: indicates a PUCCH resource to be used for UCI transmission” “CP-OFDM’ “DFT-s-OFDM”).
Regarding Claim 14. Docomo further teaches a wireless telecommunications apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the DCI is Group Common DCI, GC-DCI (p.36 discusses DL/UL DCI formats and PUSCH over multiple slots).
Regarding Claim 15. Docomo teaches a wireless telecommunications apparatus according to claim 14, wherein the indicated waveform is indicated based on a Slot Format Indicator, SFI, carried by the GC- DCI (p.36 discusses DL/UL DCI formats and PUSCH over multiple slots).
Regarding Claim 16. Docomo further teaches a wireless telecommunications apparatus according to claim 15, wherein:
the GC-DCI carrying the SFI based on which the indicated waveform is indicated is a first type of GC-DCI, the first type of GC-DCI having a characteristic distinguishing it from a second type of GC-DCI which does not indicate the indicated waveform (p.50 “receiving a first radio resource control, RRC, configuration profile”, p.53 “RRC configurations across all BWPs, e.g., slot format indicator”).
Regarding Claim 17. Docomo further teaches a wireless telecommunications apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the characteristic distinguishing the first type of GC-DCI and the second type of GC-DCI is a Radio Network Temporary Identifier, RNTI, used to mask the GC-DCI (p.52, “communicating in the cell according to a first uplink waveform indicated in the first RRC configuration profile”)
Regarding Claim 18. Docomo further teaches a wireless telecommunications apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the indicated waveform is indicated based on an activated bandwidth part, BWP (p.3, “the DCI includes an indication of the of the BWP associated with a target waveform selected from among the DFT-S-OFDM waveform and the CP-OFDM waveform”, “the UE configures a first bandwidth part (BWP) and a second BWP or UL resources used for UL transmissions from the UE to a base station”).
Regarding Claim 75, this method claim comprises limitations(s) substantially the same, as those discussed in claim 1 above, same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Regarding Claim 76. Docomo teaches a method of controlling a wireless telecommunications apparatus for use in a wireless telecommunications network, the method comprising controlling the wireless telecommunications apparatus to: receive a first wireless signal, the first wireless signal being comprised in Radio Resource Control, RRC (p.50 “receiving a first RRC configuration profile), signalling and indicating a waveform to be used by the wireless telecommunications apparatus when transmitting a second wireless signal (p.52 “communicating in the cell according to a first uplink waveform indicated in the first RRC configuration profile”), the indicated waveform being indicated based on a Slot Format Indicator, SFI, carried by the RRC signalling p.53 “RRC configurations across all BWPs, e.g., slot format indicator”); and transmit the second wireless signal in a slot formatted according to the SFI using the indicated waveform (p.52, “communicating in the cell according to the first uplink waveform indicated in the first RRC configuration profile”).
Conclusion
/ANTHONY MEJIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451