Notice of AIA Status
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, which reads on claims 1-2,5,9-10 in the reply filed on 8/10/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 3-4,6-8 are withdrawn herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2,5, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 2 and 5 are rejected as being dependent from rejected claim 1.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a control signal" in line 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, because “a control signal” is recited in line 3 so it is unclear if this is referring to the same limitation.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "a control signal" in line 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. “a control signal is recited in line 4 so it is unclear if this is referring to the same limitation.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "a control signal" in line 20. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. “a control signal is recited in line 4 so it is unclear if this is referring to the same limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2,5, and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fujita et al US 2019/0361467 (hereinafter Fujita).
Regarding Claim 1, Fujita discloses a motor control device (control parameter adjustment apparatus 1a; par 0035) to generate, on a basis of an acceleration time constant that defines an acceleration time of a drive shaft and a deceleration time constant that defines a deceleration time of the drive shaft (par 0037-0039; command value generation unit 4 and the servo control unit 3 can function to adjust an acceleration/deceleration pattern of a drive shaft), a control signal (sensor signal input 19) for a motor (2) that drives the drive shaft (par 0136-0137), the motor control device comprising:
A synchronous operation command extraction unit circuitry to extract (synchronous motor; par 0065), from within a machining program, blocks where set-point control is to be continuously commanded for a plurality of the drive shafts that synchronize, and extract synchronous operation commands included in the blocks (par 0056-0057; parameter adjustment input unit 11 receives structure parameters which includes number of drive shafts, placement of drive shafts along with other structure parameters to synchronize the operation);
an operation state computation unit (control unit 3; par 0035-0037) circuitry to compute, on a basis of the acceleration time constant and the deceleration time constant (par 0052,” the servo control unit 3 includes time-series position commands generated by subjecting the operation program Xc to acceleration/deceleration processing and filtering processing”), an operation time and consumption energy that are associated with machining to be performed with the machining program (par 0102; “The performance item is, for example, any one or more of the quadrant glitch quantity, the overshoot quantity, trajectory precision, maximum acceleration, a frequency response band, a position deviation, a moving time, a vibration amplitude, and an energy consumption”);
an optimum parameter computation unit (adjustment execution unit 13; par 083-0084) circuitry to compute, for each of the synchronous operation commands, the acceleration time constant and the deceleration time constant that result in the operation time of the drive shaft being within an allowable operation time (adjustment execution unit sets a range of a control parameter, such as acceleration time and determines whether it’s in the parameters and adjusts accordingly) and the consumption energy being minimum as optimum parameters (par 0076-0079), the allowable operation time representing an allowable time for operation ([par 0083]“A control parameter may have a different optimal value depending on a set value of another control parameter. That is, two or more control parameters may interfere with each other. In such cases, an identical value is set as the adjustment priority of such two or more control parameters that interfere with each other, and the adjustment execution unit 13 adjusts these two or more control parameters together.”); and
a motor control unit circuitry (3) to generate a control signal (signal sensor 19) for the motor (2) on the basis of the optimum parameters (par 0083; par 0089).
Regarding Claim 2, Fujita discloses the motor control device according to claim 1, wherein after computing the optimum parameters (using adjustment execution unit 13; par 0082-0087), the optimum parameter computation unit circuitry computes drive shaft-specific operation start timing that results in the consumption energy being minimum during an evaluation period (par 0102), the evaluation period being a maximum one of a plurality of the operation times of the plurality of the drive shafts (par 0056), and the motor control unit circuitry generates a control signal for the motor on a basis of the optimum parameters and the operation start timing (par 0062).
Regarding Claim 5, Fujita discloses the motor control device according to claim 1, wherein the optimum parameter computation unit circuitry generates (using adjustment execution unit 13; par 0082-0087), for each of the plurality of the drive shafts (par 0056), discrete distributions having the operation time and the consumption energy that correspond to the acceleration time constant and the deceleration time constant as variables and applies surface approximation to the discrete distributions in obtaining an approximation surface expressing one of the operation time and the consumption energy as a continuous function of another of the operation time and the consumption energy that correspond to the acceleration time constant and the deceleration time constant and computing the optimum parameters on a basis of the approximation surface (par 0038-0040; FIG. 1, “the control parameter adjustment apparatus 1a includes a parameter input unit 11, an adjustment function selection unit 12, an adjustment execution unit 13, and a storage unit 14. The parameter input unit 11, which is a receiving unit, receives the input of a design parameter that characterizes a property of the machine apparatus 5. The design parameter includes at least one of a structure parameter Cm that characterizes a structure of the machine apparatus 5 and a drive shaft parameter Cd that characterizes components that configure the drive shaft of the machine apparatus 5. The structure parameter Cm and the drive shaft parameter Cd received by the parameter input unit 11”.
Regarding Claim 9, Fujita discloses a motor control method for a motor control device to generate (using control parameter adjustment apparatus 1a; par 0035), on a basis of an acceleration time constant that defines an acceleration time of a drive shaft and a deceleration time constant that defines a deceleration time of the drive shaft (par 0037-0039; command value generation unit 4 and the servo control unit 3 can function to adjust an acceleration/deceleration pattern of a drive shaft), a control signal (sensor signal input 19) for a motor (2) that drives the drive shaft (par 0136-0137), the motor control method comprising:
a synchronous operation command extraction step of the motor control device extracting, from within a machining program (synchronous motor; par 0065), blocks where set-point control is to be continuously commanded for a plurality of the drive shafts that synchronize and extracting synchronous operation commands included in the blocks (par 0056-0057; parameter adjustment input unit 11 receives structure parameters which includes number of drive shafts, placement of drive shafts along with other structure parameters to synchronize the operation);
an operation state computation step of the motor control device computing (control unit 3; par 0035-0037), on a basis of the acceleration time constant and the deceleration time constant (par 0052,” the servo control unit 3 includes time-series position commands generated by subjecting the operation program Xc to acceleration/deceleration processing and filtering processing”), an operation time and consumption energy that are associated with machining to be performed with the machining program (par 0102; “The performance item is, for example, any one or more of the quadrant glitch quantity, the overshoot quantity, trajectory precision, maximum acceleration, a frequency response band, a position deviation, a moving time, a vibration amplitude, and an energy consumption”);
an optimum parameter computation step of the motor control device computing (adjustment execution unit 13; par 083-0084), for each of the synchronous operation commands, the acceleration time constant and the deceleration time constant that result in the operation time of the drive shaft being within an allowable operation time (adjustment execution unit sets a range of a control parameter, such as acceleration time and determines whether it’s in the parameters and adjusts accordingly) and the consumption energy being minimum as optimum parameters (par 0076-0079), the allowable operation time representing an allowable time for operation ([par 0083]“A control parameter may have a different optimal value depending on a set value of another control parameter. That is, two or more control parameters may interfere with each other. In such cases, an identical value is set as the adjustment priority of such two or more control parameters that interfere with each other, and the adjustment execution unit 13 adjusts these two or more control parameters together.”); and a motor control step (3) of the motor control device generating a control signal (signal sensor 19) for the motor on the basis of the optimum parameters (par 0083; par 0089).
Regarding Claim 10, Fujita discloses a machining method for a machining system (control parameter adjustment apparatus 1a; par 0035) to generate, on a basis of an acceleration time constant that defines an acceleration time of a drive shaft and a deceleration time constant that defines a deceleration time of the drive shaft (par 0037-0039; command value generation unit 4 and the servo control unit 3 can function to adjust an acceleration/deceleration pattern of a drive shaft), a control signal (sensor signal input 19) for a motor (2) that drives the drive shaft and perform machining (par 0136-0137), the machining system including a motor control device and a machining apparatus including the motor to be controlled by the motor control device (par 0037-0040), the machining method comprising:
a synchronous operation command extraction step of the motor control device (synchronous motor; par 0065) extracting, from within a machining program, blocks where set-point control is to be continuously commanded for a plurality of the drive shafts that synchronize and extracting synchronous operation commands included in the blocks (par 0056-0057; parameter adjustment input unit 11 receives structure parameters which includes number of drive shafts, placement of drive shafts along with other structure parameters to synchronize the operation);
an operation state computation step of the motor control device computing (control unit 3; par 0035-0037), on a basis of the acceleration time constant and the deceleration time constant (par 0102; “The performance item is, for example, any one or more of the quadrant glitch quantity, the overshoot quantity, trajectory precision, maximum acceleration, a frequency response band, a position deviation, a moving time, a vibration amplitude, and an energy consumption”), an operation time and consumption energy that are associated with machining to be performed with the machining program (par 0052,” the servo control unit 3 includes time-series position commands generated by subjecting the operation program Xc to acceleration/deceleration processing and filtering processing”);
an optimum parameter computation step of the motor control device computing (adjustment execution unit 13; par 083-0084), for each of the synchronous operation commands, the acceleration time constant and the deceleration time constant that result in the operation time of the drive shaft being within an allowable operation time and the consumption energy being minimum as optimum parameters (adjustment execution unit sets a range of a control parameter, such as acceleration time and determines whether it’s in the parameters and adjusts accordingly), the allowable operation time representing an allowable time for operation (par 0076-0079);
a motor control step (3) of the motor control device generating a control signal (signal sensor 19; par 0089) for the motor (2) on the basis of the optimum parameters; and a machining step of the machining apparatus performing the machining through operation of the motor in accordance with the control signal ([par 0083]“A control parameter may have a different optimal value depending on a set value of another control parameter. That is, two or more control parameters may interfere with each other. In such cases, an identical value is set as the adjustment priority of such two or more control parameters that interfere with each other, and the adjustment execution unit 13 adjusts these two or more control parameters together.”)
Conclusion
/MARY C HIBBERT-COPELAND/Examiner, Art Unit 3731
/VERONICA MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731