DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 19-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on November 4, 2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-18) in the reply filed on November 4, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-9, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ottenstein (U.S. 2,404,741) in view of Shimamura et al. (TW 20220909A). Regarding claim 1, Ottenstein teaches a cap 1, 2 for a container comprising a cup-shaped body 1, 2 having a skirt 2 (figure 2) which extends around an axis and a transversal wall 1 (figure 2) positioned transversally to the axis, said cup-shaped body 1, 2 on the inside defining a cavity (figure 2) interposed between an inner surface of the skirt 2 and an inner surface of the transversal wall 1, a gasket 3-6 housed in the cavity (figure 3) and engaged with at least the inner surface of the transversal wall (figure 3), said gasket 3-6 having a peripheral portion configured to couple in a fluid tight way to a mouth of the container (col. 2 lines 41-50), wherein the gasket 3-6 is made with a natural fibre-based material (“cellulose material”) comprising at least 30% cellulose by weight (layers 3, 4 are 100% cellulose).
Ottenstein discloses the claimed invention except for the modulus of compression of between 0.5 and 50 Mpa. Shimamura et al. teaches that it is known to provide a cellulose material with a modulus of compression of between 0.5 and 50 Mpa (see between 1.0 and 8.5 Mpa disclosed). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the closure of Ottenstein with the gasket having a modulus of compression of between 0.5 and 50 Mpa, as taught by Shimamura et al., in order to give the liner the desired strength and flexibility, and since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 2, said natural fibre-based material (“cellulose material”) comprises at least 70% cellulose by weight (layers 3 and 4 are 100% cellulose material).
Regarding claim 4, an adhesive layer 7 interposed between a contact surface of the gasket 3-6 on the opposite side to the mouth of the container and the inner surface of the transversal wall 1 (figure 3).
Regarding claim 5, said gasket 3-6 also comprises at least one barrier layer 5, positioned at said peripheral portion and directed towards the mouth of the container (figure 3).
Regarding claim 7, the gasket 3-6 has a disk-shaped body (figure 1), said peripheral portion (11) being defined by a circular and perimetric zone of the disk-shaped body (figure 1).
Regarding claim 8, said peripheral portion comprises an annular surface for contact with an edge of the mouth of the container (annular opening of bottle contacts annular surface of gasket).
Regarding claim 9, said peripheral portion of the gasket 3-6 is constrained by mechanical interlocking to the inner surface of the skirt 2 (see periphery of 4 which engages inwardly directed portion of 2 in figure 2).
Regarding claim 16, the cup-shaped body 1, 2 is made of metal material (figure 2).
Regarding claim 17, the skirt 2 has an undulating profile defining an annular portion in a ring configured to be plastically deformed on the mouth of the container (figure 2).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ottenstein (U.S. 2,404,741) in view of Shimamura et al. (TW 20220909A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Stieler et al. (WO 01/68466A1). Regarding claim 3, the modified closure of Ottenstein discloses the claimed invention except for the hardness of between 50 and 90 SHORE A. Stieler et al. teaches that it is known to provide a gasket with a hardness of between 50 and 90 SHORE A (see “preferably in a range from Shore A 65 to 90”). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified closure of Ottenstein with the hardness of between 50 and 90 SHORE A, as taught by Stieler et al., in order to give the liner the desired strength and rigidity, and since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ottenstein (U.S. 2,404,741) in view of Shimamura et al. (TW 20220909A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mumford et al. (U.S. 3,152,711). Regarding claim 6, the modified closure of Ottenstein discloses the claimed invention except for the annular shape of the gasket. Mumford et al. teaches that it is known to provide a gasket with an annular shape (see element 13; figure 3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified closure of Ottenstein with the gasket having an annular shape, as taught by Mumford et al., in order to save on material costs.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ottenstein (U.S. 2,404,741) in view of Shimamura et al. (TW 20220909A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wallach (U.S. 2,411,012). Regarding claims 10 and 11, the modified closure of Ottenstein discloses the claimed invention except for the hydrophobic component. Wallach teaches that it is known to provide a gasket with a hydrophobic component (see col. 3 lines 4-47). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified closure of Ottenstein with the gasket having a hydrophobic component, as taught by Wallach, in order to protect the gasket from moisture damage.
Regarding claim 12, the hydrophobic component of the closure as modified by Wallach above, is integrated inside the natural fibre-based material and/or applied as a layer, and wherein the water-soluble component is applied in a layer to be protected by said hydrophobic component (col. 3 lines 4-47 of Wallach).
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ottenstein (U.S. 2,404,741) in view of Shimamura et al. (TW 20220909A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Antrag Auf Nichtnennung (DE 102012111374B3). Regarding claims 13 and 14, the modified closure of Ottenstein discloses the claimed invention except for the cup-shaped body 1, 2 being made with a natural fibre-based material. Antrag Auf Nichtnennung teaches that it is known to provide a cup-shaped body made with a natural fibre-based material. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified closure of Ottenstein with the cup-shaped body being made with a natural fibre-based material, as taught by Antrag Auf Nichtnennung, in order to use a lightweight material that is recyclable, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Further regarding claim 13, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified closure of Ottenstein with the natural fibre-based material comprising at least 30% cellulose, in order to use a lightweight material that is recyclable, and since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 14, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified closure of Ottenstein with the cup-shaped body being made with a said natural fibre-based material having an average density greater than or equal to 0.8 g/cms3, in order to give the closure the desired rigidity, and since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 15, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified closure of Ottenstein with the cup-shaped body being made with 10% synthetic polymers and/or up to 10% additives, in order to give the closure the desired rigidity, and since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ottenstein (U.S. 2,404,741) in view of Shimamura et al. (TW 20220909A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Taliaferro (U.S. 1,806,425). Regarding claim 18, the modified closure of Ottenstein discloses the claimed invention except for the threads. Taliaferro teaches that it is known to provide a closure with threads (see figure 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified closure of Ottenstein with the closure having threads, as taught by Taliaferro, in order to provide a more connection between the closure and the container.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art is cited for the liner of the closure.
THIS ACTION IS NON-FINAL.
/NIKI M ELOSHWAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3736