DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-9, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kimura (JP 2014104406).
Regarding claim 1, Kimura discloses a method for collecting a material from a photoelectric conversion panel (paragraph 0003), comprising: a crushing step of forming a crushed material by crushing a structure constituting a photoelectric conversion panel (paragraph 0032); and a specific gravity sorting step of sorting the crushed material into a first specific gravity material having at least a first specific gravity and a high specific gravity material having a specific gravity larger than the first specific gravity on a basis of specific gravity (paragraph 0034).
Regarding claim 2, Kimura discloses the specific gravity sorting step includes sorting the crushed material into the first specific gravity material, a second specific gravity material having a second specific gravity larger than the first specific gravity, and a third specific gravity material having a third specific gravity larger than the second specific gravity (paragraph 0034; separating silicon, copper, and silver by different specific gravities).
Regarding claim 3, Kimura discloses the specific gravity sorting step includes sorting the crushed material on a basis of at least one of a difference in sedimentation behavior of a material in the crushed material with respect to liquid (paragraph 0034) and a vibration of a stage on which the crushed material is placed.
Regarding claim 6, Kimura discloses the photoelectric conversion panel includes a metal containing at least copper, silicon, and a resin, and the second specific gravity material mainly contains silicon, and the third specific gravity material mainly contains copper (paragraphs 0029 and 0034).
Regarding claim 7, Kimura discloses a step of removing a glass layer from the photoelectric conversion panel before the crushing step (paragraph 0030; where the surface glass is separated from the module).
Regarding claim 8, Kimura discloses a system for collecting a material from a photoelectric conversion panel (paragraph 0003), comprising: a crushing unit that is configured to form a crushed material by crushing a structure constituting a photoelectric conversion panel (paragraph 0032); and a specific gravity sorting unit that is configured to sort the crushed material into a first specific gravity material having at least a first specific gravity and a high specific gravity material having a specific gravity larger than the first specific gravity on a basis of specific gravity (paragraph 0034).
Regarding claim 9, Kimura discloses the specific gravity sorting unit is configured to sort the crushed material into the first specific gravity material, a second specific gravity material having a second specific gravity larger than the first specific gravity, and a third specific gravity material having a third specific gravity larger than the second specific gravity (paragraph 0034; separating silicon, copper, and silver by different specific gravities).
Regarding claim 13, Kimura discloses a stage capable of vibrating so as to sort a material in the crushed material into the first specific gravity material, the second specific gravity material and the third specific gravity material (paragraph 0043).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura in view of Hoshi (JP 2021159793).
Regarding claim 4, Kimura does not disclose the claim limitations. Hoshi teaches a wind power sorting step of sorting the crushed material into a first material group and a second material group lighter than the first material group by wind power, the first material group be used in the specific gravity sorting step, and the second material group be not used in the specific gravity sorting step (paragraphs 0024 and 0025; cyclone step where one group is sent to specific gravity sorting) for the purpose of separating heavy material from dust for further separation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kimura, as taught by Hoshi, for the purpose of separating heavy material from dust for further separation.
Regarding claim 5, Kimura does not disclose the claim limitations. Hoshi teaches a wind power sorting step of sorting the crushed material into a first material group and a second material group lighter than the first material group by wind power, the first material group be used in the specific gravity sorting step, and the second material group be not used in the specific gravity sorting step, wherein the second material group includes a material that is same as a material mainly contained in the second specific gravity material, and has a smaller particle size than the material mainly contained in the second specific gravity material (paragraphs 0024 and 0025; cyclone step where one group is sent to specific gravity sorting) for the purpose of separating heavy material from dust for further separation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kimura, as taught by Hoshi, for the purpose of separating heavy material from dust for further separation.
Regarding claim 11, Kimura does not disclose the claim limitations. Hoshi teaches a wind power sorting unit that is configured to sort the crushed material into a first material group and a second material group lighter than the first material group by wind power, said first material group be used in the specific gravity sorting unit, said second material group be not used in the specific gravity sorting unit (paragraphs 0024 and 0025; cyclone step where one group is sent to specific gravity sorting) for the purpose of separating heavy material from dust for further separation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kimura, as taught by Hoshi, for the purpose of separating heavy material from dust for further separation.
Regarding claim 12, Kimura does not disclose the claim limitations. Hoshi teaches the wind power sorting unit includes a cyclone-type wind power sorter that is configured to sort a material having a small particle size from the crushed material (paragraphs 0024 and 0025; cyclone step where one group is sent to specific gravity sorting) for the purpose of separating heavy material from dust for further separation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kimura, as taught by Hoshi, for the purpose of separating heavy material from dust for further separation.
Claims 10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura in view of Bu (CN 110721977).
Regarding claim 10, Kimura does not disclose the claim limitations. Bu teaches the specific gravity sorting unit includes an ejection port that ejects liquid for sorting a material in the crushed material on a basis of a difference in sedimentation behavior (page 4, lines 15-22 where a slurry is fed out of a ball mill discharge port) for the purpose of gathering processed material of a desired specific gravity. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kimura, as taught by Bu, for the purpose of gathering processed material of a desired specific gravity.
Regarding claim 14, Kimura does not disclose the claim limitations. Bu teaches a drying unit that is configured to dries a material sorted by the specific gravity sorting unit (page 4, lines 15-22 where a slurry is fed out of a ball mill discharge port) for the purpose of gathering processed material of a desired specific gravity. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kimura, as taught by Bu, for the purpose of gathering processed material of a desired specific gravity.
Conclusion
/K.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3653
/MICHAEL MCCULLOUGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3653