DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12, 14, 17, and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yabusaki et al (US# 2023/0103320).
Yabusaki et al disclose all the limitations of the instant claim including; a single wheel brake cylinder 25; a motorized piston-cylinder device 12 with an electric motor 44 and at least one piston 47 adjustable by an operation of the electric motor; and at least one hydraulic line 74 via which the wheel brake cylinder is hydraulically connected to the motorized piston-cylinder device in such a way that brake fluid is transferable between the motorized piston-cylinder device and the wheel brake cylinder using the at least one adjusted piston of the motorized piston-cylinder device. Figures 1-3.
Regarding claim 14, a maximum travel path of the at least one piston of the motorized piston-cylinder device that is adjustable by the operation of the electric motor is in each case less than or equal to 80 mm. [0098] discloses 50mm or more.
Regarding claim 17, the wheel-specific brake unit further comprises a brake fluid reservoir 50, and the motorized piston-cylinder device is hydraulically connected to the brake fluid reservoir in such a way that brake fluid from the brake fluid reservoir can be sucked into the motorized piston-cylinder device.
Regarding claim 19, Yabusaki et al disclose a brake system for a vehicle, comprising: at least one wheel-specific brake unit each including: a single wheel brake cylinder 25, a motorized piston-cylinder device 12 with an electric motor 44 and at least one piston 47 adjustable by an operation of the electric motor, and at least one hydraulic line 74 via which the wheel brake cylinder is hydraulically connected to the motorized piston-cylinder device in such a way that brake fluid is transferable between the motorized piston-cylinder device and the wheel brake cylinder using the at least one adjusted piston of the motorized piston-cylinder device.
Regarding claim 20, a control device 86 and/or 96, to which the at least one wheel-specific brake unit is electrically connected, configured and/or programmed, by taking into account at least one braking request signal provided to the control device by at least one brake actuation element sensor 92 and/or by at least one vehicle speed control mechanism 96, to output at least one control signal to the electric motor 44 [0069][0070].
Regarding claim 21, the at least one wheel-specific break unit includes a plurality of wheel-specific brake units, wherein each of the wheel-specific brake units is hydraulically separate from the at least one other wheel-specific brake unit. Figure 3.
Claim(s) 12, 16-17, and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyake et al (US# 5302008).
Miyake et al disclose all the limitations of the instant claim including; a single wheel brake cylinder 9; a motorized piston-cylinder device 6 with an electric motor 20 and at least one piston 24 adjustable by an operation of the electric motor; and at least one hydraulic line 10 via which the wheel brake cylinder is hydraulically connected to the motorized piston-cylinder device in such a way that brake fluid is transferable between the motorized piston-cylinder device and the wheel brake cylinder using the at least one adjusted piston of the motorized piston-cylinder device. Figures 1-3.
Regarding claim 16, the wheel-specific brake unit further comprises a wheel inlet valve 8/108/281/282 arranged in the at least one hydraulic line in such a way that, via the wheel inlet valve present in its closed state, a transfer of brake fluid from the motorized piston-cylinder device into the wheel brake cylinder is prevented.
Regarding claim 17, the wheel-specific brake unit further comprises a brake fluid reservoir 27, and the motorized piston-cylinder device is hydraulically connected to the brake fluid reservoir in such a way that brake fluid from the brake fluid reservoir can be sucked into the motorized piston-cylinder device.
Regarding claim 19, Miyake et al disclose a brake system for a vehicle, comprising: at least one wheel-specific brake unit each including: a single wheel brake cylinder 9, a motorized piston-cylinder device 6 with an electric motor 20 and at least one piston 24 adjustable by an operation of the electric motor, and at least one hydraulic line 10 via which the wheel brake cylinder is hydraulically connected to the motorized piston-cylinder device in such a way that brake fluid is transferable between the motorized piston-cylinder device and the wheel brake cylinder using the at least one adjusted piston of the motorized piston-cylinder device.
Regarding claim 20, a control device 11, to which the at least one wheel-specific brake unit is electrically connected, configured and/or programmed, by taking into account at least one braking request signal provided to the control device by at least one brake actuation element sensor 3 and/or by at least one vehicle speed control mechanism, to output at least one control signal to the electric motor 20 (Col. 4, Brake control with By-Wire system).
Regarding claim 21, the at least one wheel-specific break unit includes a plurality of wheel-specific brake units, wherein each of the wheel-specific brake units is hydraulically separate from the at least one other wheel-specific brake unit. Figure 4, front axle.
Claim(s) 12, 17-19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hofmeister et al (US# 2017/0045105).
Hofmeister et al disclose all the limitations of the instant claim including; a single wheel brake cylinder 16; a motorized piston-cylinder device 24 with an electric motor 44 and at least one piston 38 adjustable by an operation of the electric motor; and at least one hydraulic line (short brake line [0043]) via which the wheel brake cylinder is hydraulically connected to the motorized piston-cylinder device in such a way that brake fluid is transferable between the motorized piston-cylinder device and the wheel brake cylinder using the at least one adjusted piston of the motorized piston-cylinder device. Figures 1-2.
Regarding claim 17, the wheel-specific brake unit further comprises a brake fluid reservoir 22, and the motorized piston-cylinder device is hydraulically connected to the brake fluid reservoir in such a way that brake fluid from the brake fluid reservoir can be sucked into the motorized piston-cylinder device.
Regarding claim 18, the wheel-specific brake unit further comprises a wheel outlet valve 56 arranged in at least one return line in such a way that, via the wheel outlet valve present in its closed state, a transfer of brake fluid from the wheel brake cylinder via the at least one return line into the brake fluid reservoir is prevented.
Regarding claim 19, Hofmeister et al disclose a brake system for a vehicle, comprising: at least one wheel-specific brake unit each including: a single wheel brake cylinder 16, a motorized piston-cylinder device 24 with an electric motor 44 and at least one piston 38 adjustable by an operation of the electric motor, and at least one hydraulic line [0043] via which the wheel brake cylinder is hydraulically connected to the motorized piston-cylinder device in such a way that brake fluid is transferable between the motorized piston-cylinder device and the wheel brake cylinder using the at least one adjusted piston of the motorized piston-cylinder device.
Regarding claim 21, the at least one wheel-specific break unit includes a plurality of wheel-specific brake units, wherein each of the wheel-specific brake units is hydraulically separate from the at least one other wheel-specific brake unit. [0042]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yabusaki et al (US# 2023/0103320).
Regarding claim 13, Yabusaki et al disclose all the limitations of the instant claim, with exception to a maximum receiving volume of the motorized piston-cylinder device is less than or equal to 8 cm3. Yabusaki et al disclose sizing of the device [0098][0122][0179] based on application. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the volume of the motorized piston-cylinder device through routine design and/or experimentation to provide optimum brake performance for a given application. Note MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claim 22, Yabusaki et al disclose a method for mounting a wheel-specific brake unit on a vehicle, the wheel-specific brake unit including: a single wheel brake cylinder 25, a motorized piston-cylinder device 12 with an electric motor 44 and at least one piston 47 adjustable by an operation of the electric motor, and at least one hydraulic line 74 via which the wheel brake cylinder is hydraulically connected to the motorized piston-cylinder device in such a way that brake fluid is transferable between the motorized piston-cylinder device and the wheel brake cylinder using the at least one adjusted piston of the motorized piston-cylinder device. Yabusaki et al lack the disclosure of the mounting of the motorized piston-cylinder device of the wheel-specific brake unit on a spring-loaded region of the vehicle with respect to the wheel. Yabusaki et al indicates that the motorized piston-cylinder device is not in the caliper, but in a line extending from the caliper so that it is less likely to be splashed with water, mud or the like. [0055] It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the motorized piston-cylinder device of Yabusaki et al in the sprung portion of a vehicle having suspension, as an obvious means of providing the brake in vehicle having favorable ride characteristics and in a position less likely to be splashed with water, mud or the like.
Claim 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yabusaki et al (US# 2023/0103320) in view of Katsuyama et al (US# 2015/0090540).
Regarding claim 15, Yabusaki et al disclose all the limitations of the instant claim with exception to a printed circuit board configured and/or programmed to control the operation of the electric motor arranged at and/or on the printed circuit board. Katsuyama et al teach a similar brake with a controller DRV having a printed circuit board configured and/or programmed to control the operation of the electric motor arranged at and/or on the printed circuit board. [0040]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a printed circuit board for the controller of Yabusaki et al, as taught by Katsuyama et al, as an obvious means of providing the driving circuit in a space efficient manner.
Claim 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake et al (US# 5302008) in view of Katsuyama et al (US# 2015/0090540).
Regarding claim 15, Miyake et al disclose all the limitations of the instant claim with exception to a printed circuit board configured and/or programmed to control the operation of the electric motor arranged at and/or on the printed circuit board. Katsuyama et al teach a similar brake with a controller DRV having a printed circuit board configured and/or programmed to control the operation of the electric motor arranged at and/or on the printed circuit board. [0040]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a printed circuit board for the controller of Miyake et al, as taught by Katsuyama et al, as an obvious means of providing the driving circuit in a space efficient manner.
Claim 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hofmeister et al (US# 2017/0045105) in view of Katsuyama et al (US# 2015/0090540).
Regarding claim 15, Hofmeister et al disclose all the limitations of the instant claim with exception to a printed circuit board configured and/or programmed to control the operation of the electric motor arranged at and/or on the printed circuit board. Katsuyama et al teach a similar brake with a controller DRV having a printed circuit board configured and/or programmed to control the operation of the electric motor arranged at and/or on the printed circuit board. [0040]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a printed circuit board for the controller of Hofmeister et al, as taught by Katsuyama et al, as an obvious means of providing the driving circuit in a space efficient manner.
Claims 13-14 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake et al (US# 5302008).
Regarding claims 13-14, Miyake et al disclose all the limitations of the instant claims with exception to the disclosure of a maximum receiving volume of the motorized piston-cylinder device being less than or equal to 8 cm3 (claim 13) or a maximum travel path of the at least one piston of the motorized piston-cylinder device that is adjustable by the operation of the electric motor is in each case being less than or equal to 80 mm (claim 14). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the volume of the motorized piston-cylinder device through routine design and/or experimentation to provide optimum brake performance for a given application. Note MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claim 22, Miyake et al disclose a method for mounting a wheel-specific brake unit on a vehicle, the wheel-specific brake unit including: a single wheel brake cylinder 9, a motorized piston-cylinder device 6 with an electric motor 20 and at least one piston 24 adjustable by an operation of the electric motor, and at least one hydraulic line 10 via which the wheel brake cylinder is hydraulically connected to the motorized piston-cylinder device in such a way that brake fluid is transferable between the motorized piston-cylinder device and the wheel brake cylinder using the at least one adjusted piston of the motorized piston-cylinder device. Miyake et al lack the disclosure of the mounting of the motorized piston-cylinder device of the wheel-specific brake unit on a spring-loaded region of the vehicle with respect to the wheel. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the motorized piston-cylinder device of Miyake et al in the sprung portion of a vehicle having suspension, as an obvious means of providing the brake in vehicle having favorable ride characteristics and in a position which does not increase unsprung weight, thereby ensuring proper suspension performance.
Claims 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hofmeister et al (US# 2017/0045105).
Regarding claims 13-14, Hofmeister et al disclose all the limitations of the instant claims with exception to the disclosure of a maximum receiving volume of the motorized piston-cylinder device being less than or equal to 8 cm3 (claim 13) or a maximum travel path of the at least one piston of the motorized piston-cylinder device that is adjustable by the operation of the electric motor is in each case being less than or equal to 80 mm (claim 14). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the volume of the motorized piston-cylinder device through routine design and/or experimentation to provide optimum brake performance for a given application. Note MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Claim 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hofmeister et al (US# 2017/0045105) in view of Miyake et al (US# 5302008).
Hofmeister et al disclose all the limitations of the instant claims with exception to the disclosure of a control device, to which the at least one wheel-specific brake unit is electrically connected, configured and/or programmed, by taking into account at least one braking request signal provided to the control device by at least one brake actuation element sensor and/or by at least one vehicle speed control mechanism, to output at least one control signal to the electric motor. Hofmeister discloses a controller 80, but does not discuss its function in detail. Miyake et al disclose a similar brake system and further teach a control device 11, to which the at least one wheel-specific brake unit is electrically connected, configured and/or programmed, by taking into account at least one braking request signal provided to the control device by at least one brake actuation element sensor 3 and/or by at least one vehicle speed control mechanism, to output at least one control signal to the electric motor 20 (Col. 4, Brake control with By-Wire system). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the controller of Hofmeister et al, such as taught by Miyake et al, so that braking can be properly controlled according to the driver inputs.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/BRADLEY T KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
BTK