DETAILED ACTION
This action is a response to an application filed on 7/22/24 in which claims 1-13, 15, 16, 18, 19, 21, 24 and 25 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yiru et al. EP4080929A1, herein Yiru.
As to claim 1, Yiru teaches a downlink channel monitoring method, performed by a user device and comprising: keeping a main transceiver in an on state for a set time period after the user device sends or receives a set message, wherein the on state of the main transceiver corresponds to monitoring of a downlink channel (Yiru [0039]-[0043] first message includes physical downlink control information DCI the first message indicates the terminal device to perform at least one of PDCCH monitoring and data transmission on the second carrier With reference to the second aspect, in a possible implementation, the preset condition includes: The first message includes indication information; or the first message includes an indication field, and the indication field indicates the terminal device to perform at least one of PDCCH monitoring and data transmission on the second carrier; or an occasion on which the network device sends the first message meets a preset rule. A terminal device receives, on a first carrier, a first message sent by a network device, where the first message indicates whether the terminal device starts a first timer on a second carrier. The terminal device starts the first timer based on the first message, and the terminal device performs at least one of physical downlink control channel PDCCH monitoring and data transmission on the second carrier in a running process of the first timer)
As to claim 24, Yiru teaches a communication device, arranged in a user device and comprising: a memory, configured to store a computer program; and a processor, configured to execute the computer program to (Yiru Fig. 19): keep a main transceiver in an on state for a set time period after the user device sends or receives a set message, wherein the on state of the main transceiver corresponds to monitoring of a downlink channel (Yiru [0039]-[0043] first message includes physical downlink control information DCI the first message indicates the terminal device to perform at least one of PDCCH monitoring and data transmission on the second carrier With reference to the second aspect, in a possible implementation, the preset condition includes: The first message includes indication information; or the first message includes an indication field, and the indication field indicates the terminal device to perform at least one of PDCCH monitoring and data transmission on the second carrier; or an occasion on which the network device sends the first message meets a preset rule. A terminal device receives, on a first carrier, a first message sent by a network device, where the first message indicates whether the terminal device starts a first timer on a second carrier. The terminal device starts the first timer based on the first message, and the terminal device performs at least one of physical downlink control channel PDCCH monitoring and data transmission on the second carrier in a running process of the first timer)
As to claim 25, Yiru teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having instructions stored therein, wherein, when the instructions are executed by a processor, the processor is caused to perform: keeping a main transceiver in an on state for a set time period after a user device sends or receives a set message, wherein the on state of the main transceiver corresponds to monitoring of a downlink channel (Yiru [0039]-[0043] first message includes physical downlink control information DCI the first message indicates the terminal device to perform at least one of PDCCH monitoring and data transmission on the second carrier With reference to the second aspect, in a possible implementation, the preset condition includes: The first message includes indication information; or the first message includes an indication field, and the indication field indicates the terminal device to perform at least one of PDCCH monitoring and data transmission on the second carrier; or an occasion on which the network device sends the first message meets a preset rule. A terminal device receives, on a first carrier, a first message sent by a network device, where the first message indicates whether the terminal device starts a first timer on a second carrier. The terminal device starts the first timer based on the first message, and the terminal device performs at least one of physical downlink control channel PDCCH monitoring and data transmission on the second carrier in a running process of the first timer)
As to claim 2, Yiru teaches the downlink channel monitoring method according to claim 1, wherein keeping the main transceiver in the on state for the set time period after the user device sends or receives the set message, comprises: in response to the user device receiving or not receiving wake-up information after sending or receiving the set message, keeping the main transceiver in the on state for the set time period (Yiru [0111] Therefore, on the premise that data can be effectively transmitted, a discontinuous reception (discontinuous reception, DRX) cycle may be configured for a terminal device in a connected state, so that the terminal device enables a receiver (for example, an antenna) to enter an active state to monitor the PDCCH only within a necessary time period)
As to claim 3, Yiru teaches the downlink channel monitoring method according to claim 1, wherein the set time period corresponds to the set message (Yiru [0117] The network device may configure a long DRX cycle for the terminal device. Optionally, the network device may alternatively configure a short DRX cycle for the terminal device. The terminal device starts a short cycle timer (short cycle timer, ShortCycleTimer) when using the short DRX cycle. A unit of the ShortCycleTimer is a quantity of short DRX cycles, and the ShortCycleTimer is used to control a duration of using the short DRX cycle)
As to claim 10, Yiru teaches the downlink channel monitoring method according to claim 1, wherein keeping the main transceiver in the on state for the set time period after the user device sends or receives the set message, comprises: after sending the set message, keeping the main transceiver in the on state for the set time period, wherein the set message is a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) for Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) or Downlink Control Information (DCI), the HARQ-ACK indicates negative acknowledgment (NACK), and the set time period is a seventh time period (Yiru [0039]-[0043] first message includes physical downlink control information DCI the first message indicates the terminal device to perform at least one of PDCCH monitoring and data transmission on the second carrier With reference to the second aspect, in a possible implementation, the preset condition includes: The first message includes indication information; or the first message includes an indication field, and the indication field indicates the terminal device to perform at least one of PDCCH monitoring and data transmission on the second carrier; or an occasion on which the network device sends the first message meets a preset rule. A terminal device receives, on a first carrier, a first message sent by a network device, where the first message indicates whether the terminal device starts a first timer on a second carrier. The terminal device starts the first timer based on the first message, and the terminal device performs at least one of physical downlink control channel PDCCH monitoring and data transmission on the second carrier in a running process of the first timer)
As to claim 15, Yiru teaches the downlink downlink channel monitoring method according to claim 1, wherein keeping the main transceiver in the on state for the set time period after the user device sends or receives the set message, comprises: after receiving the set message, keeping the main transceiver in the on state for the set time period, wherein the set message is a set DCI, and the set time period is a tenth time period (Yiru [0039]-[0043] first message includes physical downlink control information DCI the first message indicates the terminal device to perform at least one of PDCCH monitoring and data transmission on the second carrier With reference to the second aspect, in a possible implementation, the preset condition includes: The first message includes indication information; or the first message includes an indication field, and the indication field indicates the terminal device to perform at least one of PDCCH monitoring and data transmission on the second carrier; or an occasion on which the network device sends the first message meets a preset rule. A terminal device receives, on a first carrier, a first message sent by a network device, where the first message indicates whether the terminal device starts a first timer on a second carrier. The terminal device starts the first timer based on the first message, and the terminal device performs at least one of physical downlink control channel PDCCH monitoring and data transmission on the second carrier in a running process of the first timer)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-9, 11, 13, 16, 18, 19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yiru and Babaei et al. Pub. No.: 2022/0039072, herein Babaei.
As to claim 4, Yiru teaches the downlink channel monitoring method according to claim 1,
Yiru does not teach
wherein keeping the main transceiver in the on state for the set time period after the user device sends or receives the set message, comprises: after the user device sends the set message in random access, keeping the main transceiver in the on state for the set time period, wherein the set time period is a first time period.
However Babaei does teach
wherein keeping the main transceiver in the on state for the set time period after the user device sends or receives the set message, comprises: after the user device sends the set message in random access, keeping the main transceiver in the on state for the set time period, wherein the set time period is a first time period (Babaei [0301] The wireless device may transmit a random access preamble in response to starting a random access process. The random access process may be a four-step random access process or a two-step random access process. The wireless device may receive a random access response based on the transmission of the random access preamble. The wireless device may determine that the wireless device is in Active time from a time of the reception of the random access response and until a plurality of signals associated with a downlink control information is received)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yiru and Babaei, because Babaei teaches us [0301] The configuration parameters may further comprise DRX configuration parameters and random access configuration parameters. The DRX configuration parameters may be used by the wireless device for a DRX procedure that controls control channel monitoring by the wireless device.
As to claim 5, the combination of Yiru and Babaei teach the downlink channel monitoring method according to claim 1, wherein keeping the main transceiver in the on state for the set time period after the user device sends or receives the set message, comprises: after the user device sends the set message in four-step random access, keeping the main transceiver in the on state for the set time period, wherein the set message is msg1, and the set time period is a second time period (Babaei [0124] Msg 1 (random access preamble) )
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yiru and Babaei for the same reasons stated in claim 4.
As to claim 6, the combination of Yiru and Babaei teach the downlink channel monitoring method according to claim 1, wherein keeping the main transceiver in the on state for the set time period after the user device sends or receives the set message, comprises: after the user device sends the set message in two-step random access, keeping the main transceiver in the on state for the set time period, wherein the set message is msgA, and the set time period is a third time period (Babaei [0125] Msg A may be transmitted by the wireless device to the base station and may comprise one or more transmissions of a preamble)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yiru and Babaei for the same reasons stated in claim 4.
As to claim 7, the combination of Yiru and Babaei teach the downlink channel monitoring method according to claim 1, wherein keeping the main transceiver in the on state for the set time period after the user device sends or receives the set message, comprises: after the user device sends the set message in four-step random access, keeping the main transceiver in the on state for the set time period, wherein the set message is msg3, and the set time period is a fourth time period (Babaei [0125] Msg A may be transmitted by the wireless device to the base station and may comprise one or more transmissions of a preamble and/or one or more transmissions of a transport block. The transport block in Msg A and Msg 3)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yiru and Babaei for the same reasons stated in claim 4.
As to claim 8, the combination of Yiru and Babaei teach the downlink channel monitoring method according to claim 1, wherein keeping the main transceiver in the on state for the set time period after the user device sends or receives the set message, comprises: after receiving the set message in a random access triggered by a received paging message, keeping the main transceiver in the on state for the set time period, wherein the set message is msg4 or msgB, and the set time period is a fifth time period (Bablbei [0103] The wireless device may sleep most of the time and may wake up periodically to receive paging messages. The uplink transmission of the UE may be based on a random access process and to enable transition to the RRC_CONNECTED 706 state. [0125] In response to the transmission of Msg A, the wireless device may receive Msg B from the base station)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yiru and Babaei for the same reasons stated in claim 4.
As to claim 9, the combination of Yiru and Babaei teach the downlink channel monitoring method according to claim 1, wherein keeping the main transceiver in the on state for the set time period after the user device sends or receives the set message, comprises: after receiving the set message in a random access which is triggered by an uplink in an asynchronous state when receiving downlink information, keeping the main transceiver in the on state for the set time period, wherein the set message is msg4 or msgB, and the set time period is a sixth time period.
(Bablbei [0103] The wireless device may sleep most of the time and may wake up periodically to receive paging messages. The uplink transmission of the UE may be based on a random access process and to enable transition to the RRC_CONNECTED 706 state. [0125] In response to the transmission of Msg A, the wireless device may receive Msg B from the base station)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yiru and Babaei for the same reasons stated in claim 4.
As to claim 11, the combination of Yiru and Babaei teach the downlink channel monitoring method according to claim 1, wherein keeping the main transceiver in the on state for the set time period after the user device sends or receives the set message, comprises: after sending the set message, keeping the main transceiver in the on state for the set time period, wherein the set message is a Scheduling Request and the set time period is an eighth time period (Babaei [0226] In an example, when a DRX cycle is configured, the Active Time may include the time while: drx-onDurationTimer or drx-InactivityTimer or drx-RetransmissionTimerDL or drx-RetransmissionTimerUL or ra-ContentionResolutionTimer is running; or a Scheduling Request is sent on PUCCH and is pending)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yiru and Babaei for the same reasons stated in claim 4.
As to claim 13, the combination of Yiru and Babaei teach the downlink channel monitoring method according to claim 9, wherein the set time period does not comprise a time slot or symbol that is semi-statically configured as uplink;_or the set time period comprises at least one of: time slots or symbols that are semi-statically configured as downlink; or time slots or symbols that are semi-statically configured as downlink, and symbols that are indicated as downlink by slot form indicator (SFI) (Babaei [0300] The wireless device may start the DRX timer, with the first value, at a first timing based on the downlink control information. The first timing may be after the one or more second symbols used for reception of the second signal. For example, the first timing may be a third symbol after the one or more second symbols. The third symbol may be the earliest symbol after the one or more second symbols. The third symbol may be adjacent to the last symbol of the one or more second symbols. The wireless device may be in a DRX Active time based on the DRX timer running)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yiru and Babaei for the same reasons stated in claim 4.
As to claim 16, the combination of Yiru and Babaei teach the downlink channel monitoring method according to claim 1, downlink channel monitoring method according to claim 15, wherein the set DCI comprises DCI with CRC scrambled by using C-RNTI, CS-RNTI, or MCS-C-RNTI Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) scrambled by using aCell-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI), a Configured Scheduling RNTI (CS-RNTI), or a Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS)-C-RNTI; or the set DCI does not comprise DCI with CRC scrambled by using Paging RNTI (P-RNTI), System Information RNTI (SI-RNTI), or Random Access RNTI (RA-RNTI) (Babaei [0172] The UE may monitor the DCI format with CRC scrambled by C-RNTI, CS-RNTI (if configured), and SP-CSI-RNTI (if configured))
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yiru and Babaei for the same reasons stated in claim 4.
As to claim 18, the combination of Yiru and Babaei teach the downlink channel monitoring method according to claim 1, wherein keeping the main transceiver in the on state for the set time period after the user device sends or receives the set message, comprises: after receiving the set message, keeping the main transceiver in the on state for the set time period, wherein the set message is a PDSCH and the set time period is an eleventh time period (Babaei [0211] In an example, when the UE would transmit a PUCCH with HARQ-ACK information in slot n corresponding to the PDSCH carrying the activation command, the indicated mapping between TCI states and codepoints of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ may be applied starting from the first slot that is after slot n+3N.sub.slot.sup.subframe,μ where □ is the SCS configuration for the PUCCH)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yiru and Babaei for the same reasons stated in claim 4.
As to claim 19, the combination of Yiru and Babaei teach the downlink channel monitoring method according to claim 18, wherein the PDSCH comprises a PDSCH scheduled by DCI with CRC scrambled by using C-RNTI, CS-RNTI, or MCS-C-RNTl; or the PDSCH does not comprise a PDSCH without DCI scheduling, and does not comprise a PDSCH scheduled by DCI with CRC scrambled by using SI-RNTI (Babaei [0207] decode PDSCH according to a detected PDCCH with DCI intended for the UE)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yiru and Babaei for the same reasons stated in claim 4.
As to claim 21, the combination of Yiru and Babaei teach the downlink channel monitoring method according to claim 1, wherein the set time period is configured by a network device or determined by a protocol (Babaei [0301] In an example embodiment as shown in FIG. 43, a wireless device may receive configuration parameters comprising a first RNTI. The first RNTI may be a C-RNTI. The configuration parameters may further comprise DRX configuration parameters and random access configuration parameters. The DRX configuration parameters may be used by the wireless device for a DRX procedure that controls control channel monitoring by the wireless device)
or a start time of the set time period is an end position of a symbol corresponding to the user device sending or receiving the set message, or an end position of a time slot corresponding to sending of the set message.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yiru and Babaei for the same reasons stated in claim 4.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yiru and Loehr et al. (Pub. No.: 2023/0262738 A1), herein Loehr.
As to claim 12, Yiru teaces the downlink channel monitoring method according to claim 1,
Yiru does not teach
wherein keeping the main transceiver in the on state for the set time period after the user device sends or receives the set message, comprises: after sending the set message and indicating uplink data to be transmitted, keeping the main transceiver in the on state for the set time period, wherein the set message is a Buffer Status Report (BSR), the set time period is a ninth time period, and the Buffer Status Report BSR comprises a Medium Access Control (MAC) layer BSR transmitted on a Physical Uplink Shared Control Channel (PUSCH) or a physical layer BSR transmitted on a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH)
However Loehr does teach
wherein keeping the main transceiver in the on state for the set time period after the user device sends or receives the set message, comprises: after sending the set message and indicating uplink data to be transmitted, keeping the main transceiver in the on state for the set time period, wherein the set message is a Buffer Status Report (BSR), the set time period is a ninth time period, and the Buffer Status Report BSR comprises a Medium Access Control (MAC) layer BSR transmitted on a Physical Uplink Shared Control Channel (PUSCH) or a physical layer BSR transmitted on a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) (Table 1 when a DRX cycle is configured the active time includes the time while a SL BSR MAC CE is sent on a PUSCH indicating a non-zero buffer)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yiru and Loehr because Loehr teaches us [0066] In a third embodiment, there may be an active time on a Uu interface triggered by a SL scheduling request (“SR”) and/or buffer status report (“BSR”) sent on the Uu interface (e.g., the active time is only triggered by a UE).
Conclusion
AYANAH S. GEORGE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2467
/AYANAH S GEORGE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467