DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a gas generation device” in claims 11 and 20; “a driving device” in claim 12; “a position sensing device” in claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the opening" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there are plural instances of an “opening.”
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the outer cylinder." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (CN 205115867).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang discloses a clothing treatment apparatus, comprising: an inner cylinder, on which a ventilation hole is provided (1, 14); a ventilation member, which comprises a gas inlet and a gas outlet (4); and a gas generation device, which comprises a gas vent (6); wherein the gas vent is communicated with the gas inlet, and gas generated by the gas generation device enters a water storage area of the inner cylinder through the ventilation hole from the gas outlet (Figures 2, 3: 4, 6, 14). The limitations directed to the generation and supply of gas are intended use capable of being met by the apparatus of Zhang. The claimed intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Regarding claim 18, Zhang discloses wherein the clothing treatment apparatus further comprises a position sensing device which is set to be triggered when the inner cylinder rotates to a set position, so as to control the inner cylinder to stop rotating, so that after the inner cylinder stops rotating, the gas generated by the gas generation device can enter the water storage area of the inner cylinder through the ventilation hole from the gas outlet (13, 100; machine translation: paragraph 73). The limitations directed to the use of the clothing treatment apparatus are intended use capable of being met by the apparatus of Zhang. The claimed intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Regarding claim 19, Zhang discloses wherein the gas outlet is located between the inner cylinder and the outer cylinder of the clothing treatment apparatus, and is arranged corresponding to the ventilation hole (Figure 2: 1, 2, 4/47).
Regarding claim 20, Zhang is relied upon as above and discloses a control method for a clothing treatment apparatus, the control method comprises: controlling the inner cylinder to rotate during a washing process (machine translation: paragraphs 79-80); controlling the inner cylinder to stop rotating when the inner cylinder rotates to a set position (machine translation: paragraph 81); and controlling the gas generation device to turn on (machine translation: paragraph 85).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-15 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose, or render obvious, the clothing treatment apparatus as defined by the combination of claims 11 and 12. There is no apparent teaching, suggestion, or motivation to modify the closest prior art, Zhang et al. (CN 205115867), to further include: wherein the clothing treatment apparatus further comprises a driving device, which is connected to the ventilation member; the ventilation member can extend and retract on inner and outer sides of the ventilation hole when driven by the driving device; wherein when the ventilation member extends into the inner side of the ventilation hole, the gas outlet is located in the water storage area.
Conclusion
DAVID G. CORMIER
Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/DAVID G CORMIER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711