Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings were received on 08/13/2026. These drawings are accepted.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) was/were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) was/were considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 10-12, 16, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kobes (U.S. Publication 2004/0182438).
In regards to claim 1, Kobes discloses a closing element (5) for a valve, comprising an upstream closing element side (13); a downstream closing element side (12); and a valve seat surface (7), wherein each of the upstream side (13) and the downstream side (12) of the closing element (5) have a frustoconical shape.
The structure of the closing element disclosed by Kobes is as necessitated by applicant. Accordingly, it is the office’s position that the closing element of Kobes provides a drag coefficient of each of the upstream side and the downstream side that is lower than a drag coefficient of a closing element with a side with a plate-shape or hemispherical shape.
In regards to claim 2, the valve seat surface (7) is formed on a valve plate.
In regards to claim 3, the upstream side (13) and the downstream side (12) of the closing element (5) has a conical shape.
In regards to claim 8, the valve (11) is designed as a non-return valve.
In regards to claims 10 and 11, a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP §2114.
Additionally, the office notes that the only structure associated with the proportioning system is the valve. Accordingly, it is the office’s position that the valve is the proportioning system at least to the extent that the system is positively claimed.
In regards to claim 12, the frustoconical shape has rounded edges at least to the same extent illustrated by applicant in Fig. 2b (which appears to be the only Fig. illustrating a frustoconical shape).
In regards to claim 16, Kobes discloses that the curvature as a variable radius wherein portions of the curvature have a constant radius and other portions have a variable radius. See Figs. 9-11.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 8, 10-12, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seitter et al. (U.S. Patent 11,512,7900), hereinafter “Seitter”.
In regards to claim 1, Sietter discloses a closing element (14) for a valve, comprising an upstream closing element side (141); a downstream closing element side (140); and a valve seat surface (VSS), wherein each of the upstream side (141) and the downstream side (140) of the closing element (14) have a conical shape and a bulbous shape, respectively.
The office notes that vocabulary.com define bulbous as, “bulging”; vocabulary.com goes on to define bulging as “to stick out”. It is the office’s position that portion 140 is bulbous because portion 140 sticks out from portion 142.
The structure of the closing element disclosed by Sietter is as necessitated by applicant. Accordingly, it is the office’s position that the closing element of Kobes provides a drag coefficient of each of the upstream side and the downstream side that is lower than a drag coefficient of a closing element with a side with a plate-shape or hemispherical shape.
In regards to claim 3, at least the upstream side (141) the closing element (14) has a conical shape.
In regards to claim 7, the downstream side (140) of the closing element (14) has a bulbous shape.
In regards to claim 8, the valve (1) is designed as a non-return valve.
In regards to claims 10 and 11, a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP §2114.
Additionally, the office notes that the only structure associated with the proportioning system is the valve. Accordingly, it is the office’s position that the valve is the proportioning system at least to the extent that the system is positively claimed.
In regards to claim 12, the frustoconical shape has rounded edges at least to the same extent illustrated by applicant in Fig. 2b (which appears to be the only Fig. illustrating a frustoconical shape).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6, 9, 13, 14, and 18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobes.
In regards to claim 4, a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP §2114.
In the instant case, Kobes discloses all the structural limitations necessitated by claim 4.
In regards to claims 5 and 18, Kobes does not specifically disclose the material from which the closing element is fabricated.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have constructed the closing element from plastic having the necessitated compressive strength, since it was within the general skill of a worker to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use and for the purpose of providing an inert valve member.
In regards to claim 6, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product in the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (see MPEP 2113).
In regards to claims 9, 13, and 14, a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP §2114.
Claim(s) 4-6, 9, 13, 14, and 18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seitter.
In regards to claim 4, a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP §2114.
In the instant case, Sietter discloses all the structural limitations necessitated by claim 4.
In regards to claims 5 and 18, Sietter does not specifically disclose the material from which the closing element is fabricated.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have constructed the closing element from plastic having the necessitated compressive strength, since it was within the general skill of a worker to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use and for the purpose of providing an inert valve member.
In regards to claim 6, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product in the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (see MPEP 2113).
In regards to claims 9, 13, and 14, a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP §2114.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments related to Kenny. However, Applicant’s argument s related to Kobes are unpersuasive. Additionally, it is the office’s position that Sietter discloses applicant’s invention.
Applicant states that the office’s interpretation of Kobes’ valve upstream side and downstream side is incorrect. However, the applicant does not provide any discussion as to why such an interpretation is incorrect. The office cannot find any claim limitations which limit interpreting Kobes 8 and 6 as the relative upstream and downstream portions as stated by applicant. Further, the valve seat surface identified by the office is located between the upstream and downstream sides (as discussed above). To the extent that Kobes discloses applicant’s invention it is the office’s position that Kobes further discloses that a drag coefficient of each of the upstream and downstream sides is lower than a drag coefficient of a closing element with a plate-shape or hemispherical shape.
Conclusion
/ROBERT K ARUNDALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753